Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode

Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode

Item# 19056
This lightweight, solar-powered high-impact nylon helmet is designed for both welding and grinding applications. A large 3.86in. x 1.73in. viewing area allows you to see more of the workpiece at once. The lightning fast 1/25,000-second switch time automatically darkens the lens the instant you start welding. Plus, the helmet acts as a protective shield when grinding by preventing the lens from darkening. Meets ANSI Z87.1-2003/CSA Z94.3 standards. Packed with a host of features comparable to the leading brands at a fraction of the cost. Switch time sec. 1/25,000, Adjustable Fit Yes, Adjustable Sensitivity Yes, Auto Darkening Yes, ANSI Approved Yes, Low Battery Indicator Yes, Power Supply Solar, Product Type Welding helmet, UV/IR Coated Lens Yes, Battery Included Yes, 2 AAA, CSE/CE Standard Yes, Welding Processes MIG, Arc, Flux, TIG, Grinding, Variable Shades 9-13, View Area W x H in. 3 7/8 x 1 3/4. Solar-powered auto-darkening lens with 2 replaceable AAA batteries Excellent lower amperage TIG responsce &ge5 Amps High-level, quality LCD ensures the welding spot appears more clearly and protects your eyes from fatigue after extended use 2 independent arc sensors Variable shades 9-13 auto-darkening with sensitivity and delay adjustment Adjustable ratcheting headgear with replaceable sweatband Stylized flame graphics Includes extra lens, AAA batteries and low-battery alarm ANSI/CSA approved
Average Customer Rating:
4.877 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(57 Reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (57 reviews)
5 stars
50
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
57 of 57(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Packaging is terrible!

,
August 11, 2014
By Bina
from Dallas
"The helmet works well and have no problem with its performance, but if you buy one of these, have the store manager remove it from the heavy plastic armor before leaving the store. It's one of those shells that can not be removed with a scissor, knife, razor or jack hammer. I was totally frustrated with the product before I could actually touch it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cheap $ not quality

,
July 22, 2014
By Iceman700
from Chi Town
"For the price this helment blows anything away and rivals the higher dollar helmets. In fact, it even has options the higher priced don't have. Love it"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

,
June 28, 2014
By RayN
from Tex
"I am using it everyday and it's great. I like how the changes within helmet when being used. What I wanted."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great buy

,
June 9, 2014
By derfunk
from Mt. Jackson, VA
"Helmet works as described, and range of shades available covers stick,mig and tig welding perfectly. Totally satisfied."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

part time welder

,
April 23, 2014
By whatmoredoyouwant
from Central Texas
"Does what I wanted it to do and more. I would recommend it to everyone who welds."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

New to Welding but not Quality

,
February 7, 2014
By BrutalTim
from Asheville, NC
"I have used the helmet for about 12 hrs. of welding time so far and have not had a flash get through the auto dark lens. I'm impressed with the quality esp. for the price."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far so good...

,
February 5, 2014
By Anonymous
from Bonita Springs, FL
"This is a great value for the money. It's lightweight, fits well and does what it's supposed to."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great

,
February 5, 2014
By DCExcitement
from Spfld. MA
"cant really find anything wrong with it after using it for about 6 months. worth every penny"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Best Welding Helmet That I've Had So Far !

,
February 4, 2014
By Jkayrey
from Pearsall
"I've Had A Few Helmets But This Has So Far Been The Best Helmet I've Had . For The Amazing Price , It Does Have A Wonderful Quality . Love The Grinding Mode ."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for the price!

,
February 4, 2014
By Aaron312
from Evanston, IL
"Most auto-darkening helmets are really expensive, this is not conducive to the educational environment. I purchased a few of these to put in the shop for my students to use. They have been great so far and needless to say safer and easier to use than the old style helmets. I would buy them again should the need arise. I've had these for over a year now and they are still going strong."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Welding Helmet---Great Performance

,
February 4, 2014
By dm11
from Vermilion, Oh
"I purchased this welding helmet for a very reasonable price and am extremely happy with the quality. Item # 19056. I would definitely recommend this item to others."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Helmet!

,
November 23, 2013
By Ryan78
from Springfield Mo.
"I've only had this helmet a few weeks but it works great. It's light, more compact than my last helmet. Sensitivity is great. Great price for a nice helmet. Grind mode is nice for DIY projects but I still switch to my face shield at work cause the clean up has to be nice. But I weld 4-6 hours a night. It's been great the graphics are nice and it's holding up well. The clarity and vision out of the lens seems to be way better then most helmets I've tried, even with a dirty lens cover. Won't regret this purchase. Get one!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding

,
September 17, 2013
By tstorm61
from Osceola, AR
"I Really like this helmet, the grind mode is great. Great looking helmet, and made well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good basic welding helment.

,
September 17, 2013
By Terry265
from Lewis, KS
"Helment works good and built good for the price paid for it. Grinder mode is nice except with heavy gloves it's a little hard to get to the switch with the helment on. Would be nice for the grinder mode switch to be on the outside of the helment for easy access. Good value for the price."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Welding Hood

,
September 12, 2013
By SjScottJarhead
from Provo, UT
"This is my first auto darkening hood and I've had it for a couple months now and everything is great, easy setup, and use. Very happy with it!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good helmet for the money

,
May 11, 2013
By Bust7015
from Shoreline CT
"I do quite a bit of mig welding at home and work. This helmet is very good considering the cost... which is also good if you break it. Cheap to replace! But I haven't broken it and it just plain gets the job done!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Not Too Bad!

,
April 23, 2013
By shuvlhed76
from Huntington,WV
"This is a pretty good little hood for the price. I let my dad use this and he was so impressed he bought his own (he had only used the old fixed shade hoods). Now, with that said, don't expect a real heavy duty industrial hood. This is not it. But if you want something in the garage for your weekend warrior projects, this is it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

,
April 23, 2013
By jwd54
from Gig Harbor, Wa
"It works great and is very comfortable to wear. What more can you ask for in a helmet?"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

JOIN THE PARADE!

,
April 23, 2013
By Stephen39
from Napa, California
"I bought this auto-darkening helmet from Northern Tool because I was sick of trying to master flipping down my old helmet and then stabbing in the dark to strike an arc with my wire welder. Also, I saw a video on YouTube where the welder gave an unqualified "thumbs up" for this particular helmet. It's a great helmet and a great value. I was amazed at my ability to actually see the work just before I struck an arc and started the wire feeding. I thought there might be a dangerous delay which could injure my eyes from the flash, but it's fine; practically instantaneous darkening. Plus, you can regulate the amount of darkness for low-current welding. I really can't say enough about the performance of this helmet. My welds are much improved as a result. The hardest habit to break is the tendency to want to flip the helmet down all the time. You can leave it down and still see the work!
Service from Northern Tool was great as well. Mine was backordered, but when it came in, it shipped right away. I'm totally satisfied with my helmet and I know you will like it too. It's the only way to weld, in my opinion."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

BUY IT! You won't be disappointed.

,
April 23, 2013
By youtubephd
from McAllen, TX
"YOU ONLY HAVE ONE PAIR OF EYES PROTECT THEM!
You can spend a lot more money and not get as many features as this hood offers. Its best feature is the response time. Most welding helmets under $150 have a 1/10,000 or 1/12,000 of a second response time; this hood offers 1/25,000 of a second response time. It's designed well and convenient to replace both the inside and outside clear shields.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.