Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode

Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode

Item# 19056
This lightweight, solar-powered high-impact nylon helmet is designed for both welding and grinding applications. A large 3.86in. x 1.73in. viewing area allows you to see more of the workpiece at once. The lightning fast 1/25,000-second switch time automatically darkens the lens the instant you start welding. Plus, the helmet acts as a protective shield when grinding by preventing the lens from darkening. Meets ANSI Z87.1-2003/CSA Z94.3 standards. Packed with a host of features comparable to the leading brands at a fraction of the cost. CSE/CE Standard Yes, Variable Shades 9-13, Welding Processes MIG, Arc, Flux, TIG, Grinding, Switch time sec. 1/25,000, Power Supply Solar, Adjustable Fit Yes, Adjustable Sensitivity Yes, ANSI Approved Yes, Low Battery Indicator Yes, Battery Included Yes, 2 AAA, UV/IR Coated Lens Yes, Auto Darkening Yes, Product Type Welding helmet, View Area W x H in. 3 7/8 x 1 3/4. Solar-powered auto-darkening lens with 2 replaceable AAA batteries Excellent lower amperage TIG responsce &ge5 Amps High-level, quality LCD ensures the welding spot appears more clearly and protects your eyes from fatigue after extended use 2 independent arc sensors Variable shades 9-13 auto-darkening with sensitivity and delay adjustment Adjustable ratcheting headgear with replaceable sweatband Stylized flame graphics Includes extra lens, AAA batteries and low-battery alarm ANSI/CSA approved
Average Customer Rating:
4.904 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (52 reviews)
5 stars
47
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
52 of 52(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Review 21 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Welding Helmet

,
October 14, 2012
By dwro
from Lake Charles, La
"I have used this product one time while welding & the lense did great. I was amazed at how well it worked. Would recommend this to any welder."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great helmet worth the money

,
October 10, 2012
By welder1600
from Marion,Ohio
"This works very well, viewing area was better than I expected. Fit is great, Adjustable sensitivity is as good as the much more expensive Helmets, and the grind feature is great don’t have to switch from welding helmet to face shield. I welded about all day with it and was amazed how clear it was I recommended to all my coworkers and will to anyone for all kind of welding jobs. This is a very good welding Helmet!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great helmet!!

,
October 10, 2012
By Wildcat75
from Pikeville, KY
"This helmet has darkening speed faster than higher priced competitors. My wife bought me this helmet for our anniversary, and it has never failed to perform flawlessly. Buy this helmet over the competitors and get a better helmet and use the money you save to buy something else."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Deal

,
October 8, 2012
By J5000
from Eaton, Ohio
"This works very well, Fit is great, Adjustable sensitivity is as good as the much more expensive Helmets, as are all of the features. Viewing area was better than I expected. This is a very good welding Helmet ! I welded a car trailer together in a weekend with no problems of arch flash delay. I would recommend to anyone for all kind of welding jobs.
Cons: None
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good value for entry level hood

,
October 8, 2012
By DaveinNoVA
from Northern VA
"I've been welding for a couple years using a traditional static helmet. At first the cost was preventing me: why buy a new helmet when my old one was doing its job. Then it was a safety concern: my eyes are precious, and I was concerned about getting flashed.
The convenience that this helmet brings is amazing. Setting myself up for a weld is so much easier now, no more fumbling around in the dark, starting an arc in completely the wrong place and drifting over to the weld joint. The lens darkens so fast- during the transition you're aware of the arc, but it never causes any discomfort.
I rate this product as excellent and a good value for the money. I have not tried any other AD hoods, and would like to try one with a larger viewing area, but I will say if you're still using a static hood and thinking about making the jump, this is a good helmet to start with. This would make a great gift for a welder, for instance."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

love it

,
October 8, 2012
By Duk3
from Hereford, UK
"This is a fabulous helmet, the specs are as good as those costing many times the price, and I can't fault it at all. Even the headgear is better than my old helmet. Fits comfortably, lifts nice and high, and doesn't come creeping slowly down."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great helmet

,
October 8, 2012
By Anonymous
from VA
"Bought this as a second auto darkening helmet for my farm shop. As good as a more expensive unit. I use it with my mig, stick and even my plasma cutter. Using an auto-darkening helmet will make you a better welder for sure. Havent tried the grinding feature yet. Great deal. Thanks."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great helmet for the price and features

,
October 8, 2012
By Donnie6791
from FL
"I bought this helmet to do some MIG and stick welding and it works great. Fits nice and auto darkens like should. Grind feature, that keeps the shield from darkening, works well too. I would definitely buy this helmet again."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

,
October 2, 2012
By BRW123
from WV
"Great product. Worked excellent!! I am a beginner and it made learning to weld much easier. The features worked as advertised. Would definitely buy another!!!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value

,
August 20, 2012
By Carter5150
from Fargo,ND
"this helmet is a great product for the price. has all the feature that are needed but at a good value. worked great out of the box. quick shade response. I do recommend a helmet bag to keep it in good condition"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great helmet for this price

,
August 20, 2012
By Ribmaster
from florida
"For the price, you wont beat this helmet, Its great for home hobby welding, its comfortable, vision is great, and unless your a professional and need to spend the $300 or better for a professional helmet, this will work just fine."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Helmet!!

,
August 14, 2012
By Mitch30
from Pikeville, KY
"My wife bought me this helmet as an anniversary gift. I have used it several times, and it has never failed to work as advertised. The grind feature makes this helmet even better. It has a quicker darkening time than most other helmets out there, some much more expensive than this one. You absolutely can't go wrong with this helmet!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Auto Darkening Welding Helmet

,
August 13, 2012
By gomerpyle
from Louisiana
"Does the job as well as helmets costing much more. I am impressed"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
May 18, 2012
By oldtech
from South Haven, MN
"I have had the predecessor to this unit for about 2 years and think it is great. As several other people have commented it has really improved the quality of my welds mainly because you can see so well when starting your burn. You can place your electrode right where it needs to be and go, no guesswork. I agree with one other reviewer that bright lights or sunlight reflections can trigger the lens and be quite annoying but I think that will happen with any of them. It's not the unit control it's the level of light that makes it darken. Would I buy it again? Absolutely."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for the money

,
May 14, 2012
By Earlswrench
from Atlanta, GA
"The flame graphics are bit silly, but the helmet itself is great. One of the better auto-darkening helmets out there...certainly the most affordable. I have been told that more expensive helmets have better ratchet straps for your head. If I were going to weld for 8 hours a day, 5 days a week, I might spring for a more comfortable helmet. For use with my home mig, this works great."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

welding helmet

,
May 7, 2012
By Stven67
from U.S.A
"really like the helmet how it change so fast in and out to weld. never used one like it . found it much better to weld with. i would definitly recommend this product to a friend"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

welding helment

,
May 7, 2012
By hardhead
from houston texas
"works great ,light weight,need a larger viewing area."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

this is better than i expected

,
May 7, 2012
By oespinoza
from Santa Maria, CA
"i was not expecting this helmet to be this great. i thought this helmet was going to be confusing to use with controls with the lens but i was wrong.i like the self charging helmet, and the test button to make sure you have the right shade before welding. there is nothing wrong that i have found, its perfect."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome hood

,
May 7, 2012
By rw67327
from Bedord KY
"I am new to welding. This hood has made the learning experience so much easier."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Northern Industrial Welders Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handy as it gets

,
May 1, 2012
By TracerZX2
from MO-KAN
"I have been looking at auto-dark helmets for a while now to replace my standard helmet as I am doing a lot more fine welding than I used to. This one works fantastically for this purpose over the past 6 months.
I have spent as much as 9 hours straight mig welding and grinding and had no problem, didn't feel like my eyes were flash fried in any way, and my welds were overall much neater.
The grind feature is awesome, but I will still grab my grinding shield if I am going to do a lot of grinding, I just like the larger vision better, that is just a personal preference.
For what I do, I just couldn't justify the extra for the larger viewing area or for the brand name ones. Price point and quality are great for home use."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.