Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode

Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode

Item# 19056
"This lightweight, solar-powered high-impact nylon helmet is designed for both welding and grinding applications. A large 3.86in. x 1.73in. viewing area allows you to see more of the workpiece at once. The lightning fast 1/25,000-second switch time automatically darkens the lens the instant you start welding. Plus, the helmet acts as a protective shield when grinding by preventing the lens from darkening. Meets ANSI Z87.1-2003/CSA Z94.3 standards. Packed with a host of features comparable to the leading brands at a fraction of the cost. Switch time sec. 1/25,000, Adjustable Fit Yes, Auto Darkening Yes, Power Supply Solar, Grind Mode Yes, Low Battery Indicator Yes, View Area W x H in. 3 7/8 x 1 3/4, Product Type Welding helmet, Adjustable Sensitivity Yes, UV/IR Coated Lens Yes, Welding Processes MIG, Arc, Flux, TIG, Grinding, Variable Shades 9-13, CSE/CE Standard Yes, ANSI Approved Yes, Battery Included Yes, 2 AAA, Arc Sensor qty. 2. Solar-powered auto-darkening lens with 2 replaceable AAA batteries Excellent lower amperage TIG responsce &ge5 Amps High-level, quality LCD ensures the welding spot appears more clearly and protects your eyes from fatigue after extended use 2 independent arc sensors Variable shades 9-13 auto-darkening with sensitivity and delay adjustment Adjustable ratcheting headgear with replaceable sweatband Stylized flame graphics Includes extra lens, AAA batteries and low-battery alarm ANSI/CSA approved"
Average Customer Rating:
4.771 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(83 Reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (83 reviews)
5 stars
66
4 stars
16
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
82 of 83(99%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice hood

,
August 21, 2015
By
from miami
" really nice for the price haven't try any other
little slow reaction
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Auto darkening helmet

,
August 12, 2015
By
from California
" Got this to go with the new welder I purchased. Helmet seems to be quality construction and I like the fact it has a grinding option - very happy with product. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far so good

,
July 31, 2015
By
from Monmouth, Oregon
" I bought this helmet because of the Grinding Mode it had available. So far the helmet fits nicely, works very well, and has not disappointed. We will have to see how well it holds up to student use over the next season or two. My past "budget" helmets have not held up so well, and the nicer more expensive ones only held up slightly better because students didn't want to damage the "expensive" helmet. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Welding helmet

,
July 9, 2015
By
from San Jose, Ca
" Just starting out with welding and this helmet works great. At first was not sure what was going to happen when i first started to weld if my eyes were really protected but after the first strike, wow it works and it works great!! After a few adjustments i'm able to see what i'm welding a lot better. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Full feature and options list

,
June 23, 2015
By
from Chattanooga, TN
" There are a number of helmets available in this price range.
What sets this model apart is operation at low amperage. That allows you to weld thin metal.
The option that I like is the full set of magnifying lenses and lens covers on the rack next to the helmets. My instructor says that you can't weld it if you can't see it.
One caution is the shape of the helmet. It's not as long as more expensive commercial models. You have to cover your torso to avoid welder's tan anyway. The drape just has to come farther up. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good buy

,
June 23, 2015
By
from Rural Texas
" This is very good auto darkening hood for the money. Visibility is great and the on/off response time is fine. I needed a hood that works well, but not too expensive to have to worry about it getting beat up. This is it. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great helmit for price

,
May 12, 2015
By
from canfield, Oh
" Fits great, responds great to flash, for price it can't be beat. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far, so good!

,
April 22, 2015
By
from Midwest
" I bought this helmet to replace a slower reaction helmet (1/20,000). This was a noticeable improvement. So far, so good! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Welding Helmet

,
April 21, 2015
By
from Punxsutawney,PA
" I purchased this helmet when I bought my welder. It looks great but performs even better. I purchased it for odd jobs here around the farm and it does the job. It took a few adjustments before I had the shading set right, I started too dark. A great price for a great helmet. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Welding helmet

,
April 17, 2015
By
from idaho
" Short period of use (about 20 hrs). Have recommended to fellow welders as a good buy for the features. Looked at much more expensive hoods with very similar features. If it has good long life (yet to be seen) I will say that it is a really good hood. The only feature I would like to have that it does not is the ability to install a cheater lens as my eyes are not young. Do not need the flames but had no choice. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Outstanding value

,
March 29, 2015
By
from Southern California
" You cannot buy a better helmet for the price. Comfortable and fast response time. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

As good as any other

,
March 9, 2015
By
from Minot, ND
" I am behind mine 40 hours a week as a production welder, and used this as a fabricator before that.
I bought mine 4 years ago and it shows its age, especially as it has become my standard helmet, it's replaced my Jackson, Forney, and Speedglas on a day-to-day basis.
As long as you replace both the inner and outer protective lenses regularly, it is a clearer view than both the Jackson and speedglas, but it's still the (albeit very light with this one) green tint, when you need a really good view I use my Forney with the yellow tint, or just a plain #11 gold fixed shade.
Batteries last a long time, even HF cheapos last months, don't bother using the rechargeables, they aren't worth the aggravation of them losing power from sitting between uses, or from extreme temperatures.
I beat, batter, and abuse this thing, I wear it all day and smack it on overhead bars, toss it in the back of the truck, and throw it onto hot parts when I take it off for a break.
Would I recommend this helmet? Dang right I would.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Recharge?

,
February 28, 2015
By
from Manteno,Il.
" Great product for the price. Looks and works great. Only concern is if the solar panel is supposed to recharge the batteries, why do they send non rechargeable alkaline batteries? I will invest in some ni-cads to correct this oversight. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

welding

,
February 23, 2015
By
from Hardin, Mt
" Great helmet does everything advertised. Great for welding and grinding. Protects the eyes very well and still lets you see what your doing. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Helmet

,
February 11, 2015
By
from Atlanta Ga
" Tinting adjustments are great. I've had no problem with adjusting it to tint properly if room lighting is in front or behind me. Visibility is very good when adjusted properly. Skull harness adjustments hold well and are comfortable. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everything I need in a helmet

,
February 8, 2015
By
from Edge of Nowhere, MN
" My son and I have used this auto-darkening welding helmet for grinding, cutting, and TIG welding. It's easy to use and offers great functionality. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Welding Helmet

,
February 4, 2015
By
from phx,Az
" This welding, protective helmet is very great in it's size with the viewable lenses. I could easily place it on and off without any fuss or time involved. I would definitely recommend this helmet, for its adequate size, coloration on the outside and fitting adjustments features. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great

,
January 16, 2015
By
from Eugene,OR
" I have used two similar hoods from a different company for the last ten years,this hood is by far the best. it is not only solar powered,but also has battery backup. it fits well and is comfortable. grind mode is a nice feature,but I prefer to use a full face shield that is untinted and also safety glasses when grinding. I wear reading glasses when I weld and have no clearance problems with the hood. plenty of adjustment on headband "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Mask

,
January 8, 2015
By
from Philadelphia, Pa.
" I purchased this for my son and he loves it! The adjustment holds well. The mask is comfortable on his head and the speed w/ which it darks and lightens is amazing! Great purchase and I would recommend to anyone who does more than periodic welding. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good for the price

,
January 7, 2015
By
from The Great State Of TEXAS
" I liked the price! I purchased this as an extra helmet to use when I teach welding, now its used at least 50% of the time. A few draw backs are the adjustment for the helmet off set (space from nose to glass) does not go far enough back, and no I don't have a Durantee nose... Be careful with the manual adjustment, if you don't adjust between different applications it will stay on the 5 setting you used for torch when you crank up the welder. You may even be amazed at how well the new helmet allows you to see your pool until it starts to hurt..... Same caution with the grind mode, however I don't like using this for grinding, still dark enough to obscure finish work. Set it for welding and forget it, you will have a good helmet for the price. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.