Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode

Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode

Item# 19056
"This lightweight, solar-powered high-impact nylon helmet is designed for both welding and grinding applications. A large 3.86in. x 1.73in. viewing area allows you to see more of the workpiece at once. The lightning fast 1/25,000-second switch time automatically darkens the lens the instant you start welding. Plus, the helmet acts as a protective shield when grinding by preventing the lens from darkening. Meets ANSI Z87.1-2003/CSA Z94.3 standards. Packed with a host of features comparable to the leading brands at a fraction of the cost. Auto Darkening Yes, Adjustable Sensitivity Yes, UV/IR Coated Lens Yes, ANSI Approved Yes, Battery Included Yes, 2 AAA, Low Battery Indicator Yes, Welding Processes MIG, Arc, Flux, TIG, Grinding, Variable Shades 9-13, CSE/CE Standard Yes, Switch time sec. 1/25,000, Adjustable Fit Yes, View Area W x H in. 3 7/8 x 1 3/4, Power Supply Solar, Product Type Welding helmet. Solar-powered auto-darkening lens with 2 replaceable AAA batteries Excellent lower amperage TIG responsce &ge5 Amps High-level, quality LCD ensures the welding spot appears more clearly and protects your eyes from fatigue after extended use 2 independent arc sensors Variable shades 9-13 auto-darkening with sensitivity and delay adjustment Adjustable ratcheting headgear with replaceable sweatband Stylized flame graphics Includes extra lens, AAA batteries and low-battery alarm ANSI/CSA approved"
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(70 Reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (70 reviews)
5 stars
58
4 stars
11
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
69 of 70(99%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

welding

,
February 23, 2015
By guppy6913
from Hardin, Mt
" Great helmet does everything advertised. Great for welding and grinding. Protects the eyes very well and still lets you see what your doing. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Helmet

,
February 11, 2015
By Jweld
from Atlanta Ga
" Tinting adjustments are great. I've had no problem with adjusting it to tint properly if room lighting is in front or behind me. Visibility is very good when adjusted properly. Skull harness adjustments hold well and are comfortable. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Everything I need in a helmet

,
February 8, 2015
By MRHIGHSPEED
from Edge of Nowhere, MN
" My son and I have used this auto-darkening welding helmet for grinding, cutting, and TIG welding. It's easy to use and offers great functionality. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Welding Helmet

,
February 4, 2015
By reddog45
from phx,Az
" This welding, protective helmet is very great in it's size with the viewable lenses. I could easily place it on and off without any fuss or time involved. I would definitely recommend this helmet, for its adequate size, coloration on the outside and fitting adjustments features. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great

,
January 16, 2015
By Reconstruct
from Eugene,OR
" I have used two similar hoods from a different company for the last ten years,this hood is by far the best. it is not only solar powered,but also has battery backup. it fits well and is comfortable. grind mode is a nice feature,but I prefer to use a full face shield that is untinted and also safety glasses when grinding. I wear reading glasses when I weld and have no clearance problems with the hood. plenty of adjustment on headband "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Mask

,
January 8, 2015
By MaJo
from Philadelphia, Pa.
" I purchased this for my son and he loves it! The adjustment holds well. The mask is comfortable on his head and the speed w/ which it darks and lightens is amazing! Great purchase and I would recommend to anyone who does more than periodic welding. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good for the price

,
January 7, 2015
By ArgyleForge
from The Great State Of TEXAS
" I liked the price! I purchased this as an extra helmet to use when I teach welding, now its used at least 50% of the time. A few draw backs are the adjustment for the helmet off set (space from nose to glass) does not go far enough back, and no I don't have a Durantee nose... Be careful with the manual adjustment, if you don't adjust between different applications it will stay on the 5 setting you used for torch when you crank up the welder. You may even be amazed at how well the new helmet allows you to see your pool until it starts to hurt..... Same caution with the grind mode, however I don't like using this for grinding, still dark enough to obscure finish work. Set it for welding and forget it, you will have a good helmet for the price. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Points from experience

,
January 6, 2015
By giveitago
from Texas
" I am an experienced professional welder/ welding eng. from the largest contractor based in the USA for the last 40 years, so I have used many a welding hood. These are great, especially for the price and occasional user. You don't need a "bigger" lenses, if you can't see out just adjust the hood so you see straight thru the lens. Old and need a "cheater", HELLO just wear reading glasses under the hood. The grind mode only keeps the lens from darkening from sparks, but remember it is still 3.5 or like dark sunglasses so probably need a clear grinding faceshield anyway. Enjoy and don't pay a lot more for so-called features that won't add any useability! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GOOD

,
December 15, 2014
By ren2009
from FLORIDA
" This product is perfect for beginners
easy to use and great protection
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

nice little hood

,
December 14, 2014
By snowlover6
from warfield, KY
" Got this for my husband for christmas. I know he will love it. Its very light weight. He will also love the colors! He has always wanted an auto darkening one, so I sure hope this one does exactly as its supposed to. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Did not work when using a Plasma welder

,
October 12, 2014
By CE10
from Ma
" This helmet may work great with stick and mig welders, but did not work with a plasma welder. Auto darkening feature would initially engage, but would not stay engaged, probably not enough light coming off welding torch. Set the sensitivity to max. did not fix problem. Will investigate another auto darkening helmet with 3 sensors, instead of 2, to see if that fixes the problem. helmet itself seems very well made, and will try it next time I use the Mig welder. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

need a good helmet?

,
October 3, 2014
By gman8er
from williamsport,pa
" Bought this as a spare to give to people leaning in to watch what I was doing and ended up making my much more expensive helmet be the loaner. Nice placement of switches so as to not accidentally switch to grind. Very lightweight and nice wrap not to close to your face. All made sturdy yet a quite inexpensive helmet but not cheap made. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product for the Price

,
September 1, 2014
By ds2014
from Conway, AR
" I needed to be able to see better while learning to weld. This replaced my non auto darkening helmet. It greatly helped my welding, but I did add a diopter to it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Packaging is terrible!

,
August 11, 2014
By Bina
from Dallas
" The helmet works well and have no problem with its performance, but if you buy one of these, have the store manager remove it from the heavy plastic armor before leaving the store. It's one of those shells that can not be removed with a scissor, knife, razor or jack hammer. I was totally frustrated with the product before I could actually touch it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cheap $ not quality

,
July 22, 2014
By Iceman700
from Chi Town
" For the price this helment blows anything away and rivals the higher dollar helmets. In fact, it even has options the higher priced don't have. Love it "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

,
June 28, 2014
By RayN
from Tex
" I am using it everyday and it's great. I like how the changes within helmet when being used. What I wanted. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great buy

,
June 9, 2014
By derfunk
from Mt. Jackson, VA
" Helmet works as described, and range of shades available covers stick,mig and tig welding perfectly. Totally satisfied. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

part time welder

,
April 23, 2014
By whatmoredoyouwant
from Central Texas
" Does what I wanted it to do and more. I would recommend it to everyone who welds. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

New to Welding but not Quality

,
February 7, 2014
By BrutalTim
from Asheville, NC
" I have used the helmet for about 12 hrs. of welding time so far and have not had a flash get through the auto dark lens. I'm impressed with the quality esp. for the price. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
6out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far so good...

,
February 5, 2014
By Anonymous
from Bonita Springs, FL
" This is a great value for the money. It's lightweight, fits well and does what it's supposed to. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.