Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode

Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode

Item# 19056
"This lightweight, solar-powered high-impact nylon helmet is designed for both welding and grinding applications. A large 3.86in. x 1.73in. viewing area allows you to see more of the workpiece at once. The lightning fast 1/25,000-second switch time automatically darkens the lens the instant you start welding. Plus, the helmet acts as a protective shield when grinding by preventing the lens from darkening. Meets ANSI Z87.1-2003/CSA Z94.3 standards. Packed with a host of features comparable to the leading brands at a fraction of the cost. Switch time sec. 1/25,000, Adjustable Fit Yes, Adjustable Sensitivity Yes, Auto Darkening Yes, Product Type Welding helmet, UV/IR Coated Lens Yes, Welding Processes MIG, Arc, Flux, TIG, Grinding, Variable Shades 9-13, View Area W x H in. 3 7/8 x 1 3/4, ANSI Approved Yes, Battery Included Yes, 2 AAA, CSE/CE Standard Yes, Low Battery Indicator Yes, Power Supply Solar. Solar-powered auto-darkening lens with 2 replaceable AAA batteries Excellent lower amperage TIG responsce &ge5 Amps High-level, quality LCD ensures the welding spot appears more clearly and protects your eyes from fatigue after extended use 2 independent arc sensors Variable shades 9-13 auto-darkening with sensitivity and delay adjustment Adjustable ratcheting headgear with replaceable sweatband Stylized flame graphics Includes extra lens, AAA batteries and low-battery alarm ANSI/CSA approved"
Average Customer Rating:
4.817 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(60 Reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (60 reviews)
5 stars
51
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
59 of 60(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Review 21 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great

,
April 23, 2013
By jwd54
from Gig Harbor, Wa
"It works great and is very comfortable to wear. What more can you ask for in a helmet?"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

JOIN THE PARADE!

,
April 23, 2013
By Stephen39
from Napa, California
"I bought this auto-darkening helmet from Northern Tool because I was sick of trying to master flipping down my old helmet and then stabbing in the dark to strike an arc with my wire welder. Also, I saw a video on YouTube where the welder gave an unqualified "thumbs up" for this particular helmet. It's a great helmet and a great value. I was amazed at my ability to actually see the work just before I struck an arc and started the wire feeding. I thought there might be a dangerous delay which could injure my eyes from the flash, but it's fine; practically instantaneous darkening. Plus, you can regulate the amount of darkness for low-current welding. I really can't say enough about the performance of this helmet. My welds are much improved as a result. The hardest habit to break is the tendency to want to flip the helmet down all the time. You can leave it down and still see the work!
Service from Northern Tool was great as well. Mine was backordered, but when it came in, it shipped right away. I'm totally satisfied with my helmet and I know you will like it too. It's the only way to weld, in my opinion."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

BUY IT! You won't be disappointed.

,
April 23, 2013
By youtubephd
from McAllen, TX
"YOU ONLY HAVE ONE PAIR OF EYES PROTECT THEM!
You can spend a lot more money and not get as many features as this hood offers. Its best feature is the response time. Most welding helmets under $150 have a 1/10,000 or 1/12,000 of a second response time; this hood offers 1/25,000 of a second response time. It's designed well and convenient to replace both the inside and outside clear shields.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cant beat it

,
April 23, 2013
By JWfromNC
from NC
"For the price you cant beat this helmet. I have some high quality miller helmets and I have to say this helmet is almost as good as the $300 and $400 ones I have And it is light weight too."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Money well spent.

,
April 23, 2013
By blown84
from Cape cod, Ma.
"This helmet has surpased my expectations. The price being so good concerned me a bit at first that quality would be lacking. But I have found that the quality is very good. I would not hesitate to buy another one."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

really nice

,
April 11, 2013
By 1979999
from kokomo, indiana
"im a student and have used this often and have had it a yr now and still working great . for me its been flawless for all processes- stick, mig and tig . the grinding feature is really nice to have"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great!

,
March 26, 2013
By BAM6
from San Diego
"Works perfectly. I've been using it for over a year now. Can't beat it for the price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great helmet for the average welder

,
October 16, 2012
By douger2
from media pa
"great product for the price. plenty comfortable enough to wear around the garage. auto darkening works perfectly and the grinding feature is nice to have when the sparks are flying. Nice sized viewing area as well. The adjustable head strap works good and is pretty comfortable although I don't think you would want to wear this helmet for eight hours a day."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
8out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Welding Helmet

,
October 14, 2012
By dwro
from Lake Charles, La
"I have used this product one time while welding & the lense did great. I was amazed at how well it worked. Would recommend this to any welder."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
5out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great helmet worth the money

,
October 10, 2012
By welder1600
from Marion,Ohio
"This works very well, viewing area was better than I expected. Fit is great, Adjustable sensitivity is as good as the much more expensive Helmets, and the grind feature is great don’t have to switch from welding helmet to face shield. I welded about all day with it and was amazed how clear it was I recommended to all my coworkers and will to anyone for all kind of welding jobs. This is a very good welding Helmet!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great helmet!!

,
October 10, 2012
By Wildcat75
from Pikeville, KY
"This helmet has darkening speed faster than higher priced competitors. My wife bought me this helmet for our anniversary, and it has never failed to perform flawlessly. Buy this helmet over the competitors and get a better helmet and use the money you save to buy something else."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Deal

,
October 8, 2012
By J5000
from Eaton, Ohio
"This works very well, Fit is great, Adjustable sensitivity is as good as the much more expensive Helmets, as are all of the features. Viewing area was better than I expected. This is a very good welding Helmet ! I welded a car trailer together in a weekend with no problems of arch flash delay. I would recommend to anyone for all kind of welding jobs.
Cons: None
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good value for entry level hood

,
October 8, 2012
By DaveinNoVA
from Northern VA
"I've been welding for a couple years using a traditional static helmet. At first the cost was preventing me: why buy a new helmet when my old one was doing its job. Then it was a safety concern: my eyes are precious, and I was concerned about getting flashed.
The convenience that this helmet brings is amazing. Setting myself up for a weld is so much easier now, no more fumbling around in the dark, starting an arc in completely the wrong place and drifting over to the weld joint. The lens darkens so fast- during the transition you're aware of the arc, but it never causes any discomfort.
I rate this product as excellent and a good value for the money. I have not tried any other AD hoods, and would like to try one with a larger viewing area, but I will say if you're still using a static hood and thinking about making the jump, this is a good helmet to start with. This would make a great gift for a welder, for instance."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

love it

,
October 8, 2012
By Duk3
from Hereford, UK
"This is a fabulous helmet, the specs are as good as those costing many times the price, and I can't fault it at all. Even the headgear is better than my old helmet. Fits comfortably, lifts nice and high, and doesn't come creeping slowly down."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great helmet

,
October 8, 2012
By Anonymous
from VA
"Bought this as a second auto darkening helmet for my farm shop. As good as a more expensive unit. I use it with my mig, stick and even my plasma cutter. Using an auto-darkening helmet will make you a better welder for sure. Havent tried the grinding feature yet. Great deal. Thanks."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great helmet for the price and features

,
October 8, 2012
By Donnie6791
from FL
"I bought this helmet to do some MIG and stick welding and it works great. Fits nice and auto darkens like should. Grind feature, that keeps the shield from darkening, works well too. I would definitely buy this helmet again."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

,
October 2, 2012
By BRW123
from WV
"Great product. Worked excellent!! I am a beginner and it made learning to weld much easier. The features worked as advertised. Would definitely buy another!!!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value

,
August 20, 2012
By Carter5150
from Fargo,ND
"this helmet is a great product for the price. has all the feature that are needed but at a good value. worked great out of the box. quick shade response. I do recommend a helmet bag to keep it in good condition"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great helmet for this price

,
August 20, 2012
By Ribmaster
from florida
"For the price, you wont beat this helmet, Its great for home hobby welding, its comfortable, vision is great, and unless your a professional and need to spend the $300 or better for a professional helmet, this will work just fine."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Northern Industrial Welders Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet with Grind Mode
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Helmet!!

,
August 14, 2012
By Mitch30
from Pikeville, KY
"My wife bought me this helmet as an anniversary gift. I have used it several times, and it has never failed to work as advertised. The grind feature makes this helmet even better. It has a quicker darkening time than most other helmets out there, some much more expensive than this one. You absolutely can't go wrong with this helmet!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.