Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Norwood Log Hog Log Skidder Tractor Attachment, Model# 41255 Log Hog

Norwood Log Hog Log Skidder Tractor Attachment, Model# 41255 Log Hog

Item# 190617
Skid logs easily and securely out of your woodlot with your tractor and the Log Hog 3-pt. Category 1 hitch log-skidding attachment. The Log Hog raises the ends of logs off the ground and keeps the load closer to the tractor for increased maneuverability, cleaner logs and less damage to the woodlot floor. Easy to install and use, the Log Hog makes hauling large logs or multiple logs, depending on terrain and tractor size quick and easy. Material Steel, Product Type Tractor attachment. Constructed of heavy-gauge square tubular steel with a powder-coat finish for maximum rust resistance Comes standard with three choker locations choker chain Item# 190613 sold separately Some assembly required Note Front-mounted counterweights recommended Operation on hilly or mountainous terrain not recommended
Average Customer Rating:
4.769 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (13 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 of 13(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Norwood Log Hog Log Skidder Tractor Attachment, Model# 41255 Log Hog
Review 1 for Norwood Log Hog Log Skidder Tractor Attachment, Model# 41255 Log Hog
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Useful Tool

,
June 6, 2011
By Bob201102
from Edwardsburg, MI
"Works great to pick up logs and drag them. Very solid and sturdy. The hook attach loops started to show some signs of wear after a few uses, but I might not have tightened it completely when I assembled it. Overall all, very happy with this product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Norwood Log Hog Log Skidder Tractor Attachment, Model# 41255 Log Hog
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

3 pt. log skidder

,
March 14, 2011
By Squire
from Graniteville, Vt
"Unless you are going to invest in a mechanized log winch, this is the most useful attachment for skidding timber out of the woods. It keeps the front end off the ground and puts maximum weight on the rear wheels of the tractor."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Norwood Log Hog Log Skidder Tractor Attachment, Model# 41255 Log Hog
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cost effective log skidder

,
August 30, 2010
By JGsOutOnALimb
from Kent Cliffs, NY
"I own a professional tree removal service and use the Norwood Log Hog on my 23hp diesel tractor to skid smaller whole trees out of sensitive areas that my larger skidder just will not get into. Every time I use the Log Hog, customers and other professionals are impressed with its' performance as soon as they see it in action. If you own any type of tractor with a 3 point hitch this product is a fantastic way to turn it into a mini skidder!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Norwood Log Hog Log Skidder Tractor Attachment, Model# 41255 Log Hog
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Log Hog worth every dollar...

,
August 23, 2010
By LogginLarry
"I purchased the Log Hog because of my annual need of 15+/- cords of wood. I have a lot of ground to cover and the easiest way to get the job done is by dragging the logs to the wood pile and cutting and splitting there. This Log Hog is pretty simple, but worth the money. I would recommend to anyone who has the need to move several trees."
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Norwood Log Hog Log Skidder Tractor Attachment, Model# 41255 Log Hog
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Multi-purpose tool

,
July 20, 2009
By Hogleg
from Salem, Il
"Of course, this works well for hauling logs. I regularly can pull a 15-18inch hardwood logs 10-15' in length with this tool and my Ford 2000 Tractor (36hp).
What I have also used this for is a towing hook to haul a small lawn tractor that was disabled. Worked very well to lift the back end by the hitch and tow the lawn tractor back to be repaired in the garage. Slick!
I also use it to pull t-posts out of the ground. Just lower it next to the post, give the chain 2 wraps, and lift the post out of the ground.
This is one useful tool!
I thought that it was a bit pricey when I bought it but now think that given the labor-saving work that I can do with it, it was a steal.
John W."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Norwood Log Hog Log Skidder Tractor Attachment, Model# 41255 Log Hog
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome logging tool

,
July 13, 2009
By Michiganwoodworker
from Michigan
"The tool is GREAT. I use it all the time. After I cut the tree down, I cut the top off and haul the whole tree to the barn. I have had no problems at all. I have cut and split 24 full cords of firewood this year and hauled all of the trees to the barn with the Log Hog."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Norwood Log Hog Log Skidder Tractor Attachment, Model# 41255 Log Hog
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Log Hog does the job

,
November 18, 2008
By LogDog
from Fremont, NH
"The Norwood Log Hog is a good value and I am happy with it. A friend dropped 12 oak trees in his woods so we could get some lumber for a future project. Most had 10 to 12 feet of beautiful saw logs at the bottom so I needed to drag out very heavy and large pieces by myself (not recommended!). I put the log hog on my 28hp massey ferguson tractor and pulled out the big logs with few problems then winched them up on to my trailer. I then dragged the upper parts of the the trees closer to my trailer to cut up.
The height of the hook and the amount of lift from the 3pt hitch really made it easy. It's nice to be able to back down on the logs rather than trying to get them with a chain off the front end loader. Dragging from the receiver hitch is too low and the log gets stuck or caked with mud.
Anyway, I was sore for a week but the lumber is drying in my shed and is beautiful!
**The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that it is somewhat expensive and the packaging it shipped in had broken open spilling bolts inside the box."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Norwood Log Hog Log Skidder Tractor Attachment, Model# 41255 Log Hog
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

log hog review

,
April 24, 2008
By Markthelogger
from upper Michigan
"I have used this product for the last week . So far I am impressed with it's workability. Would and have recommended this product to friends. Takes the work out of firewood."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Norwood Log Hog Log Skidder Tractor Attachment, Model# 41255 Log Hog
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Skidding Logs

,
April 23, 2008
By seabinder
from Montville, Maine
"This is a good tool and fairly easy to attach and use. Works great on the Kubota to move logs-just be sure to have enough counter weight on the front end! Made my life a whole lot easier. I highly recommend this Hog!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Norwood Log Hog Log Skidder Tractor Attachment, Model# 41255 Log Hog
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well made product

,
April 14, 2008
By Bostonny
from Boston, NY
"Purchased this for pulling logs with a Kubota compact tractor with a cat. 1 3 point hitch. The skidder attachement is well made, needed only a minor amount of bolt together assembly and seems plenty strong enough. You will need to add your own lenght of chain but once all set up being able to lift the front of the log makes skidding a whole lot easier."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Norwood Log Hog Log Skidder Tractor Attachment, Model# 41255 Log Hog
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Log Hog Review

,
January 14, 2008
By genehopper
from Alabama
"The Log Hog is an outstanding product that saves me much time hauling timber out of the woods. I have another brand log skidder attachment for my tractor which is huge, difficult to attach to my tractor, hard to use, and awkward to manuver in the woods. Although the Log Hog cost far, far less than that attachment, I find myself almost always using the Log Hog, unless I need the winch on the other one, because of its ease of attachment and the increased manuverability of my tractor when using it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Norwood Log Hog Log Skidder Tractor Attachment, Model# 41255 Log Hog
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Product

,
October 29, 2007
By BrianD
from Jordan,NY
"My father and I purchased one of these and life got easier. It performs very well, built good and makes it a lot easier to get the logs out of the woods with the kubota. There is no more problems with the butt end digging in when hauling over uneven terrain and less load on the tractor. If you move logs around I would not go another day without one of these."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Norwood Log Hog Log Skidder Tractor Attachment, Model# 41255 Log Hog
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good quality

,
October 16, 2007
By newell
from Colorado
"This is a well made tool that has worked well for me.
Keep in mind though, you need a hitch pin, hooks, chain and pins for the 3 point conections (the two lower ones on the swing arms). This is a smaller 3 point conection so you will need two bushings if you have a larger tractor for these conections.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.