Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Remington Versa Saw Electric Chain Saw - 16in. Bar, Model# RM1635W

Remington Versa Saw Electric Chain Saw - 16in. Bar, Model# RM1635W

Item# 190690
The Remington Versa Saw Electric Chain Saw has a full wrap handle for cutting at all angles. The 12 Amp motor drives a 16in. Oregon bar and chain with low kickback. Bar Length in. 16, Chain Pitch in. 3/8, Chain Saw Type Electric, Oil Capacity oz. 9, Oil Pump Flow Automatic. 12 Amp motor Easy view oil window allows you to monitor the chain saw's oil level 265 mL oil capacity with automatic oiling
Average Customer Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (8 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
6 of 8(75%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Remington Versa Saw Electric Chain Saw - 16in. Bar, Model# RM1635W
Review 1 for Remington Versa Saw Electric Chain Saw - 16in. Bar, Model# RM1635W
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

It's more than I thought

,
May 30, 2014
By WiseTurtle
from Genoa, WI
"I purchased this saw to cut 2" to 4" diameter limbs, and it works perfectly. I cook exclusively with wood in my smoker grill. I recently had carpel tunnel surgery, and the vibration from my gas 16" chainsaw was too much for my wrists. This saw is smooth as a goat! Of course, the rpm's are less, but they are adequate. My landscaper came over and cut a couple of 10"-12" trunks with it! That's not what it's made for, but it was up to the task. Works better than my reciprocating saw for yard work."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Remington Versa Saw Electric Chain Saw - 16in. Bar, Model# RM1635W
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Remington 16“ ele. chainsaw

,
May 2, 2014
By Woody64
from Missouri
"Had an old 12“ that bit the dust after years of service.
Use it to prepare logs for wood turning on the lathes. Wont use a gas chainsaw inside the wood room for health reasons. Stepped up to the 16“ bar so can use the chains from my other gas saws. This Remington fit the bill for my operation and my pocket book.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Remington Versa Saw Electric Chain Saw - 16in. Bar, Model# RM1635W
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Remington Electric 16 inch Chainsaw

,
December 7, 2012
By Pepo
from Bedford, TX
"After (2) two tornadoes wiped out (2) two huge Oak Trees, the Remington Chainsaw out preformed two Gasoline powered chainsaws.
The Remington Chainsaw comes with a Progressive cutting blade the requires very light pressure to cut through the largest tree trunks -- by large I am talking about tree trunks that three men couldn't reach around -- of course we had too make several pie shaped cuts to get the 16 inch blade to handle the job.
The saw will work of a Generator or House Electric Power when you have it.
I am about to purchase a couple of more of these saws as Christmas Gifts -- they are that good."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Remington Versa Saw Electric Chain Saw - 16in. Bar, Model# RM1635W
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

what a saw.

,
May 14, 2012
By CATTOOTH8
from EAST TENN.
"I HAVE USED THE SAW FOR OVER A YEAR ON A LOT OF DIFFERENT SIZE TREES. FROM ONE INCH TO 16 OR BETTER INCHES, AND NEVER DID IT FAIL ME. IT IS WELL WORTH THE MONEY I PAID FOR IT. AND IF AND WHEN IT BREAKS DOWN, I'LL BUY ONE JUST LIKE IT, IF I CAN. JUST REMEMBER IT'S NOT FOR CUTTING GRASS OR CLAY OR FENCE WIRE."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Remington Versa Saw Electric Chain Saw - 16in. Bar, Model# RM1635W
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

plastic parts

,
April 19, 2011
By joe23
"too much plastic used for the gear driving assembly. mine went bad with minimum and light use."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
15out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Remington Versa Saw Electric Chain Saw - 16in. Bar, Model# RM1635W
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

work well

,
November 24, 2010
By taxman
"I just purchased to cut an old log to big to manually saw. It worked great! I love the idea of not having to worry about trying to starta gas engine every few months I need it."
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Remington Versa Saw Electric Chain Saw - 16in. Bar, Model# RM1635W
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Bad Chainsaw

,
October 26, 2010
By Rolf
from Kentucky
"I bought one of these and the first day the chain tensioner screw bent! It is definitely not steel but a cast metal. After I used it after 10 hours the chain drive gear's teeth stripped out as it was made of plastic. (The motor drive gear was metal) This is definitely not a serious users chainsaw. I would not recommend it to anyone. I would not give it any stars!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Remington Versa Saw Electric Chain Saw - 16in. Bar, Model# RM1635W
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

EASY TO USE

,
August 31, 2010
By ssrsam
from Illinois
"FILL IT WITH OIL AND PLUG IT IN AND CUT SOME TREE'S DOWN.NOT TO HEAVY."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.