Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Poulan Pro?« Pole Saw/Trimmer - 8in. Bar, 33cc Engine, Model# PP338PT

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Poulan Pro?« Pole Saw/Trimmer - 8in. Bar, 33cc Engine, Model# PP338PT

Item# 190862
Professional pole saw features a powerful 33cc engine, and 6 foot long straight shaft that gives you an average operating height of 12 feet to help you trim and prune trees quickly. Automatic gear-driven oiler keeps 8in. bar and chain lubricated for long cutting sessions. Turn the pole saw into a curved-shaft string trimmer with the included Tap N Go head attachment. U.S.A. Common Usage Pruning, cutting, trimming, Operating Height ft. Up to 12, Includes 1 Pole saw, Displacement cc 33, Chain Length in. 8, Shaft Length in. 52, Cutting Thickness in. 6, Bar Length in. 8, Shaft Type Straight. Powerful 33cc engine helps you trim trees quickly Securely trim trees with your feet on the ground Automatic gear-driven oiler keeps 8in. bar and chain lubricated Turns into a curved-shaft string trimmer with the included Tap N Go head attachment
Average Customer Rating:
3.967 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(61 Reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (61 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
20
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
4
50 of 60(83%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Poulan Pro?« Pole Saw/Trimmer - 8in. Bar, 33cc Engine, Model# PP338PT
Review 1 for Poulan Pro?« Pole Saw/Trimmer - 8in. Bar, 33cc Engine, Model# PP338PT
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pleasantluy surprised

,
October 15, 2012
By trythisone
from USA
"I searched the WEB, asked friends and visited retail locations to see, feel and learn about the various pole saws available. I'm a civil engineer that worked fulll time and went to college full time. I paid my way through school working as an auto mechanic Between working the trade and formal education, I know about how things should work. Quality, performance and ease of use are factors I include in an evaluation of a product prior to purchasing. While price is a consideration, I know that it's not safe nor economical to purchase tools based on lowest price.
Many of the higher priced saws were too heavy or unbalanced, less expensive ones were of poor quality and wouldn't last through the first cut. This saw seemed to be a good, intermediate but quality compromise.
It went together, from the box within a couple of minutes. All parts and good instructions were included. I did read all instructions prior to attempting assembly.
It sat in my shop for a couple of weeks before I got a chance to use it. When I finally got to pull the start cord, it revved up on the second pull and has started on second pull every time since then.
With the included strap, it is easy to maneuver, not too heavy to use for long periods an does an excellent job. It has all the power it needs as I haven't stalled it in a cut yet, it holds enough fuel and bar oil to work until you are ready for a rest.
I can't think of anything I would have a complaint about as Northern Tool is also a great company with which to do business. Actually, I've found it's the employees and not the "company" that makes the purchasing experience a pleasure or aggravation.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Poulan Pro?« Pole Saw/Trimmer - 8in. Bar, 33cc Engine, Model# PP338PT
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

user

,
October 8, 2012
By KSSI
from Buford, Ga.
"This saw works well for trimming limbs that are 2" or less, anything larger can bind or bend the bar. Stick to small stuff and you will be ok. Not a tree saw."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Poulan Pro?« Pole Saw/Trimmer - 8in. Bar, 33cc Engine, Model# PP338PT
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

You get what you pay for.

,
October 7, 2012
By FLDanny
from Melbourne, FL
"This trimmer did not last one month/four uses before
having issues. I purchase the Poulan 33cc pole saw to trim some over grown trees. The saw worked flawlessly and I was very impressed the first two timing using it. By the third time though, it unit was very difficult to start when warm. I'd have to let it sit for a 1/2 hour before restarting. The fourth and final time I used it, I turned it off to respool the trimmer head after approximately ten minute of use, then the unit would not restart at all. I was so furious and frustrated that the unit went right into the trash can. I followed the starting instructions exactly, used quality fuel, the supplied oil, and de-ethanol treatment the try to prevent starting issues, but without success. I tried to go cheap and got bit. I'll be spending more on a quality unit next time.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Poulan Pro?« Pole Saw/Trimmer - 8in. Bar, 33cc Engine, Model# PP338PT
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Poulan Pro pole saw/trimmer combo

,
August 25, 2012
By TurboTimmy
from Raleigh, NC
"I was in need of a good trimmer after my 4 cycle trimmer from a popular home improvement store decided it didn’t want to do the job anymore and waiting 4 weeks to get a warranty repair wasn’t acceptable.
I decided on the Poulan Pro combo pole saw/trimmer after extensive research. Its 33cc engine provides more than enough power to get the job done, the ability to change out to different tools provides greater flexibility than a fixed trimmer or pole saw and it’s reasonably lightweight and well balanced. The 2 cycle engine is noisier than a 4 cycle but the power is unmatched. I’ve used both attachments so far and am very pleased with how they function.
I only gave it four stars because it needed a little “tweaking” right out of the box. Assembly was easy and it took about 5 minutes to get it put together fueled up and running.
Now about that running part……
I immediately noticed it seemed shady from idle to about half and picked up to a good run to about ¾ throttle but bogged down and tried to stall all the way to wide open throttle. I knew right off the bat that the mixture screws weren’t set properly. After about 35 minutes of adjustment of both high and low speed screws and some throttle screw adjustments I got it purring like a kitten with a belly full of milk. It ran like a champ afterwards and hasn’t given a problem since but I’ve only been using it for about a week now. We will see how it does in the long run.
I recommend this product but like any tool purchase it doesn’t hurt to do a little research before deciding on what’s right for you. I also purchased the extended warranty due to the fact that “they don’t make them like they used to”. I own other Poulan Pro products and am very happy with them as well."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Poulan Pro?« Pole Saw/Trimmer - 8in. Bar, 33cc Engine, Model# PP338PT
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pole saw

,
August 13, 2012
By sunbird43
from GA
"I purchased the Poulan-Pro pole saw & have used it along with the weed eater attachment several times. It has performed flawlessly every time I've used it. I would recomend this product to anyone who likes to use good quality & reliable tools."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Poulan Pro?« Pole Saw/Trimmer - 8in. Bar, 33cc Engine, Model# PP338PT
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great saw for the price

,
May 15, 2012
By nctony
from Fayetteville, NC
"After alot of research I purchased this Pole Saw from Northern Tool. To begin with, I could not be happier with the customer service I received at the Northern Store here in Fayetteville, NC.
The saw has exceeded my expectations! The 33cc engine is powerful and has started easily everytime.
I've trimmed over a dozen 2-4" limbs and several that were in the 6-8" diameter and this saw hasn't missed a beat. Being able to remove the extension makes the saw that much easire to use when not having to trim branches 10 feet or higher and although it is a bit more cumbersome when trimming with the extension attached it still is a better balanced pole saw than some I've used in the past, especially some of the electric saws which tend to be end heavy at the cutting head.
I haven't used the trimmer attachment but it appears to be well made.
Just make sure to keep the chain sharp and the chain and bar adjusted properly and this saw will also exceed your expectations.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Poulan Pro?« Pole Saw/Trimmer - 8in. Bar, 33cc Engine, Model# PP338PT
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Try one more time

,
April 18, 2012
By jaketc
from Florida
"I have the predecessor to this unit. It worked fine for 4 hours and was never the same again. I have worked and worked on this thing I and I know something about gas powered tools. I ended up buying a complete new fuel system. Carb, lines, filters, everything. Put it together and it ran fine for an hour. Then right back to pull the throttle and it starves out. Lift over 45 degree and it shuts off. I am going to try one more time with this unit as I know Northern Tool will stand behind what they sell. If I get burned again on this one, I will never buy another Poulan product."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Poulan Pro?« Pole Saw/Trimmer - 8in. Bar, 33cc Engine, Model# PP338PT
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Extended warranty paid off

,
April 11, 2012
By H2OSkier
from NC
"On 9/2009 I bought the older version of this model now discontinued, smaller 31cc engine.
Did a little sawing, but more string trimming and edging. The attachment connection did get sloppy.
Poulan's warranty is 2 yrs, guess what just 3 months after the 2 yrs it won't start. Has gas, no spark, Poulan says it is an ignition module. I rarely buy warranties, but this one was $20 for REPLACEMENT not just repair... 2 yrs beyond Poulan so total of 4 yrs. Called them today, no muss, no fuss, said just go into Northern and get a new one even though it is discontinued... I could even get a credit for another Northern purchase if I didn't want this unit again."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Poulan Pro?« Pole Saw/Trimmer - 8in. Bar, 33cc Engine, Model# PP338PT
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good but-----

,
January 16, 2012
By SoCalcountryguy
from Southern California
"First, I'd like to say that for the price, this is a great little set-up. The thing is a BEAST!!! The 33cc motor makes this thing a bit on the heavy side and starting it requires some muscle to pull it. Now for the positive stuff, the thing can cut through anything and the power of the motor is awsome. The trimmer head is NOT the easiest thing to work with. It is VERY hard to take apart and reload line in. Bottom line is, I like the unit, I would recommend it for the price and the power, but would like it more if it were lighter and esaier to start and easier to load the trimmer head."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Poulan Pro?« Pole Saw/Trimmer - 8in. Bar, 33cc Engine, Model# PP338PT
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great buy

,
January 16, 2012
By Bourg
from Louisiana
"Very pleased with this polw saw.Great quality and value."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Poulan Pro?« Pole Saw/Trimmer - 8in. Bar, 33cc Engine, Model# PP338PT
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good product for homeowner use and cutting limbs

,
January 10, 2012
By carlm
from Indiana
"This product is a good unit. I cut limbs out of 10 trees with the unit and it did a good job of cutting the limbs. The trimmer part of the unit is ok. It doesnt like to rev up when you have alot of string out on the trimmer head. Other than that if you need a good pole saw to use casually this is your product."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Poulan Pro?« Pole Saw/Trimmer - 8in. Bar, 33cc Engine, Model# PP338PT
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value for a great price.

,
January 9, 2012
By cabillen
from Oklahoma City, OK
"Researched a long time for an affordable but durable saw on a pole. This one fit the bill for moderate use with minimal maintenance. Am very pleased with it overall - may order another one for the farm property as well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Poulan Pro?« Pole Saw/Trimmer - 8in. Bar, 33cc Engine, Model# PP338PT
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Poulin Pole Saw

,
January 9, 2012
By farmer68
from Pittsburgh, PA
"The saw was easy to assembly from the package and directions. It came with bar oil to install and the chain was sharp. Once assembled it started right up and ran well. I trimmed 2,000 feet of woods line in about 2 1/2 hours. It wooked fantastic, I recommend this product to anyone."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Poulan Pro?« Pole Saw/Trimmer - 8in. Bar, 33cc Engine, Model# PP338PT
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pole Saw vs Step Ladder, Chainsaw & Emergency Room

,
October 17, 2011
By GreyGhost44
from Southern Oregon
"Pricing was a big issue with comparables twice as much. Having received an email alert from NT by coincidence at the time that I needed such a saw, it has proven its worth and value. I too thought the 12' height misleading, and I had a problem with the oiler. When first used the worm drive wasn't initially dispensing the bar oil, but now that it is, I can't get it to stop while the saw is in storage. Not quite sure why the saw weighs so much, but an excellent affordable buy."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Poulan Pro?« Pole Saw/Trimmer - 8in. Bar, 33cc Engine, Model# PP338PT
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

poulan

,
October 10, 2011
By chefjohn
from Marquette Height, il
"Saw is quick and easy to use, cleared deer shooting lanes in half the time. Switched to trimmer and quieted my walk in path. Very user friendly and quickly switches attachments"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Poulan Pro?« Pole Saw/Trimmer - 8in. Bar, 33cc Engine, Model# PP338PT
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Useful

,
June 13, 2011
By JohnJohnR
from Fairfax, Virginia
"It's easy to cut limbs above your head. I used to lean a ladder against the tree, climb up four or five rungs, and use a standard chain saw to cut limbs, but with the pole pruner I can just stand on the ground, be stable, and hold the pruner with both hands.
The pole pruner is eight feet long. Advertising 12' cuts is misleading. The 12 foot length includes 4 feet of the users height.
The price was right, in comparison to other manufacturers.
Happy pruning!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Poulan Pro?« Pole Saw/Trimmer - 8in. Bar, 33cc Engine, Model# PP338PT
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Poulan pole saw

,
June 13, 2011
By johndeere
from Glen Rose TX
"The saw worked good trimming limbs up to 3 in. in dia...The problem was the pull starter was defective and broke after 6 or 7 pull starts. Took it back to Northern and they replaced it ....no hassel ....For the price and for home use this saw is OK....jdmo"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Poulan Pro?« Pole Saw/Trimmer - 8in. Bar, 33cc Engine, Model# PP338PT
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

POULAN POLE SAW

,
June 6, 2011
By GOLLYD
from Phoenix, Arizona
"It is truly a pleasure dealing with Northern Tool. This pole saw has worked perfectly since the day we got it, and customer service is excellent. We buy a lot of products from Northern Tool and never have a problem. We have only had a couple of returns due to product failure with no problem at all. I would highly recommend that EVERYONE buy the extended full replacement warranty."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Poulan Pro?« Pole Saw/Trimmer - 8in. Bar, 33cc Engine, Model# PP338PT
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Decent Saw / Terrible Grass Trimmer

,
June 6, 2011
By JMAYTX
from North Texas
"Thought buying a combo trimmer-saw would save me some room in my garage. The saw attachment leaks oil on the floor and the trimmer feature is a piece of junk. Awkward to hold, bump feed doesn't work, poor trimming performance. I had to pull my old trimmer out of the trash because this one did not replace it. As a pole saw it works as advertized. But don't buy it thinking you're getting a dependable trimmer. It's just an average pole saw."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Poulan Pro?« Pole Saw/Trimmer - 8in. Bar, 33cc Engine, Model# PP338PT
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hunting Club

,
March 23, 2011
By JKnight
from Baton Rouge,La.
"The manual was easy reading to understand the safety concerns as well as getting started. The shoulder strap made it easy to hold the unit. The saw cut very well in any position that we put it in. I like the extension you can remove for shorter reach and lighter weight. The saw fully extended gets heavy after 45 minutes too and hour. It's good to have the weed eater attachment so you can use the machine more often than in the fall getting ready for hunting season."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.