Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Poulan Pro?« Pole Saw/Trimmer - 8in. Bar, 33cc Engine, Model# PP338PT

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Poulan Pro?« Pole Saw/Trimmer - 8in. Bar, 33cc Engine, Model# PP338PT

Item# 190862
Professional pole saw features a powerful 33cc engine, and 6 foot long straight shaft that gives you an average operating height of 12 feet to help you trim and prune trees quickly. Automatic gear-driven oiler keeps 8in. bar and chain lubricated for long cutting sessions. Turn the pole saw into a curved-shaft string trimmer with the included Tap N Go head attachment. U.S.A. Common Usage Pruning, cutting, trimming, Operating Height ft. Up to 12, Includes 1 Pole saw, Displacement cc 33, Chain Length in. 8, Shaft Length in. 52, Cutting Thickness in. 6, Bar Length in. 8, Shaft Type Straight. Powerful 33cc engine helps you trim trees quickly Securely trim trees with your feet on the ground Automatic gear-driven oiler keeps 8in. bar and chain lubricated Turns into a curved-shaft string trimmer with the included Tap N Go head attachment
Average Customer Rating:
3.967 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(61 Reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (61 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
20
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
4
50 of 60(83%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Poulan Pro?« Pole Saw/Trimmer - 8in. Bar, 33cc Engine, Model# PP338PT
Review 1 for Poulan Pro?« Pole Saw/Trimmer - 8in. Bar, 33cc Engine, Model# PP338PT
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poulan Pro Pole Saw

,
June 1, 2010
By Stevethetrimmer
from Missouri
" I purchased this saw with the idea of using it in my landscaping and tree trimming business. I loaned it to a friend before I had the opportunity to use it. He said it didn't have any power. I used it the other day and he was right. I could barely cut through 1" tree limbs. I can see an advantage if you are an occasional user because of the cost of the product; however, when you are using it for a tree trimming business it cannot perform to my expectations. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Response from Northern Tool:By Product ExpertMerchandisingJune 23, 2010
Thank you for your input, Stevethetrimmer.

The lack of power that you have referred to is typically caused by 1 of the 3 things listed below :

#1 Improper fuel mixture.
#2 The chain tension is not set correctly.
#3 No chain oil in the reservoir.
Review 2 for Poulan Pro?« Pole Saw/Trimmer - 8in. Bar, 33cc Engine, Model# PP338PT
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent dual function tool

,
June 1, 2010
By Dennis352
from Central Florida
" This trimmer is one of my favorite tools to use. It cuts through limbs up to around 6 inches diameter with no trouble. It starts on the second or third pull and runs great. The auto-oiler on the chain keeps it lubed well! The unit is light enough to work with for extended periods without wearing you out. The string trimmer attachment is as well constructed as any on the market at comparable prices and performs like a champ! I recommend this product highly! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Poulan Pro?« Pole Saw/Trimmer - 8in. Bar, 33cc Engine, Model# PP338PT
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

pretty good saw

,
August 24, 2010
By JBrown
" This saw had plenty enough power to de-limb hardwoods and softer wood alike. The only neg. thing that I could say is that it seems to loose some chain lube when it is laid down horizonally or it may just be the excess from the lubrication process...not a big concern if you lay it down where you wouldn't mind the oil spot. I hang mine in the shed after use and it seems to retain all the leftover lubricant. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Poulan Pro?« Pole Saw/Trimmer - 8in. Bar, 33cc Engine, Model# PP338PT
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Poulan Pro® Pole Saw/Trimmer

,
August 29, 2010
By rdmjone
" I bought this because it was $100 cheaper than a pole saw attachment for my Stihl Kombi. And the string attachment is also included.Nice when an extra string trimmer is needed. Haven't used the string attachment yet, can't speak for it. The pole saw is powerful, cuts great right out the box, is easy to sharpen, and the unit is light and comfortable. Quality is not bad, especially for the price. My real complaint is the smaller bar and chain length and the size and position of the bar oil jug. Would have been helpful for the bar to be a couple inches longer. I've used this a couple of weeks and so far so good. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Poulan Pro?« Pole Saw/Trimmer - 8in. Bar, 33cc Engine, Model# PP338PT
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sweeeet!

,
August 31, 2010
By http
from mississippi
" I did not have to speed a lot of money to get a pole saw that would suite my needs as a homeowner. The saw has ample power and is light enough that I can use it for an extended period of time without tiring out. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Poulan Pro?« Pole Saw/Trimmer - 8in. Bar, 33cc Engine, Model# PP338PT
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good product, good price

,
September 1, 2010
By dougf
from western colorado
" it starts easy, after I adjusted the carb screws for my 7000 ft. elevation, which was tricky. While not a wood eater, it cuts well. It's hard to extend out away from your body. i saved quite a bit of money not hiring someone to cut a troublesome branch away. The trimmer is better than expected also. I have a large professional trimmer, but find myself grabbing the Poulan for quick, light chores. It's a good deal, too. The price from Northern is about what you will pay regardless of shopping. A big box store has one just a bit cheaper, but it's a model with a smaller engine and it doesn't have the trimmer-don't get it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Poulan Pro?« Pole Saw/Trimmer - 8in. Bar, 33cc Engine, Model# PP338PT
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT EQUIPMENT

,
September 1, 2010
By Treetrimmer
from LOUISIANA
" I recently purchased this tree trimmer and it has been great. I took it right out of the box and immediately began using it with no problems. I have purchased several poulan products in the past and they have all performed well. The only thing I find not so great about this one is it's weight. It is a little heavy when it comes to cutting tree limbs that are above your head. The weed trimmer is great because you can use the harness to carry some of the weight. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Poulan Pro?« Pole Saw/Trimmer - 8in. Bar, 33cc Engine, Model# PP338PT
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good trimmer

,
November 23, 2010
By homeowner1
from Indiana
" I've used this saw quite a few times without any problems. I would recommend this pole saw to anyone that has trees to upkeep on their property. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Poulan Pro?« Pole Saw/Trimmer - 8in. Bar, 33cc Engine, Model# PP338PT
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great; powerful product!

,
November 23, 2010
By lj17
" Bought this for my parents in the summer, and they are obsessed! They've already used it multiple times and said it works great. No issues at all. They've cut various sizes of branches with no struggle at all; very powerful and great reach. I know they're looking forward to using it for many years going forward. "
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Poulan Pro?« Pole Saw/Trimmer - 8in. Bar, 33cc Engine, Model# PP338PT
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Grounds Upkeep

,
March 14, 2011
By VOW1
" We currently use this product for a senior living complex where I manage maintenance and grounds. This pole trimmer saves an extreme amount of labor costs due to decrease in man hours to keep our grounds looking great. Also reduces the need to contract our tree trimming out. We currently maintain 23 acres of property with this tool. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Poulan Pro?« Pole Saw/Trimmer - 8in. Bar, 33cc Engine, Model# PP338PT
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pro Poulan pole saw/trimmer

,
March 15, 2011
By Sunn
from Phx.Az
" I have used this pole saw /trimmer on Pecan, Blackwalnut and almond trees, branches in widths up to 4" to 6" diameter with no problems. Be sure to cut underside first and cut a wedge, in order to avoid binding. Could be a little more cc. or power. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Poulan Pro?« Pole Saw/Trimmer - 8in. Bar, 33cc Engine, Model# PP338PT
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hunting Club

,
March 23, 2011
By JKnight
from Baton Rouge,La.
" The manual was easy reading to understand the safety concerns as well as getting started. The shoulder strap made it easy to hold the unit. The saw cut very well in any position that we put it in. I like the extension you can remove for shorter reach and lighter weight. The saw fully extended gets heavy after 45 minutes too and hour. It's good to have the weed eater attachment so you can use the machine more often than in the fall getting ready for hunting season. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Poulan Pro?« Pole Saw/Trimmer - 8in. Bar, 33cc Engine, Model# PP338PT
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Decent Saw / Terrible Grass Trimmer

,
June 6, 2011
By JMAYTX
from North Texas
" Thought buying a combo trimmer-saw would save me some room in my garage. The saw attachment leaks oil on the floor and the trimmer feature is a piece of junk. Awkward to hold, bump feed doesn't work, poor trimming performance. I had to pull my old trimmer out of the trash because this one did not replace it. As a pole saw it works as advertized. But don't buy it thinking you're getting a dependable trimmer. It's just an average pole saw. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Poulan Pro?« Pole Saw/Trimmer - 8in. Bar, 33cc Engine, Model# PP338PT
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

POULAN POLE SAW

,
June 6, 2011
By GOLLYD
from Phoenix, Arizona
" It is truly a pleasure dealing with Northern Tool. This pole saw has worked perfectly since the day we got it, and customer service is excellent. We buy a lot of products from Northern Tool and never have a problem. We have only had a couple of returns due to product failure with no problem at all. I would highly recommend that EVERYONE buy the extended full replacement warranty. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Poulan Pro?« Pole Saw/Trimmer - 8in. Bar, 33cc Engine, Model# PP338PT
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Poulan pole saw

,
June 13, 2011
By johndeere
from Glen Rose TX
" The saw worked good trimming limbs up to 3 in. in dia...The problem was the pull starter was defective and broke after 6 or 7 pull starts. Took it back to Northern and they replaced it ....no hassel ....For the price and for home use this saw is OK....jdmo "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Poulan Pro?« Pole Saw/Trimmer - 8in. Bar, 33cc Engine, Model# PP338PT
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Useful

,
June 13, 2011
By JohnJohnR
from Fairfax, Virginia
" It's easy to cut limbs above your head. I used to lean a ladder against the tree, climb up four or five rungs, and use a standard chain saw to cut limbs, but with the pole pruner I can just stand on the ground, be stable, and hold the pruner with both hands.
The pole pruner is eight feet long. Advertising 12' cuts is misleading. The 12 foot length includes 4 feet of the users height.
The price was right, in comparison to other manufacturers.
Happy pruning! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Poulan Pro?« Pole Saw/Trimmer - 8in. Bar, 33cc Engine, Model# PP338PT
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

poulan

,
October 10, 2011
By chefjohn
from Marquette Height, il
" Saw is quick and easy to use, cleared deer shooting lanes in half the time. Switched to trimmer and quieted my walk in path. Very user friendly and quickly switches attachments "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Poulan Pro?« Pole Saw/Trimmer - 8in. Bar, 33cc Engine, Model# PP338PT
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pole Saw vs Step Ladder, Chainsaw & Emergency Room

,
October 17, 2011
By GreyGhost44
from Southern Oregon
" Pricing was a big issue with comparables twice as much. Having received an email alert from NT by coincidence at the time that I needed such a saw, it has proven its worth and value. I too thought the 12' height misleading, and I had a problem with the oiler. When first used the worm drive wasn't initially dispensing the bar oil, but now that it is, I can't get it to stop while the saw is in storage. Not quite sure why the saw weighs so much, but an excellent affordable buy. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Poulan Pro?« Pole Saw/Trimmer - 8in. Bar, 33cc Engine, Model# PP338PT
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Poulin Pole Saw

,
January 9, 2012
By farmer68
from Pittsburgh, PA
" The saw was easy to assembly from the package and directions. It came with bar oil to install and the chain was sharp. Once assembled it started right up and ran well. I trimmed 2,000 feet of woods line in about 2 1/2 hours. It wooked fantastic, I recommend this product to anyone. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Poulan Pro?« Pole Saw/Trimmer - 8in. Bar, 33cc Engine, Model# PP338PT
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value for a great price.

,
January 9, 2012
By cabillen
from Oklahoma City, OK
" Researched a long time for an affordable but durable saw on a pole. This one fit the bill for moderate use with minimal maintenance. Am very pleased with it overall - may order another one for the farm property as well. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.