Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Chainsaw Sharpener - 12 Volt

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Northern Industrial Tools Chainsaw Sharpener - 12 Volt

Item# 1909
This Northern Industrial chainsaw sharpener runs at 22,000 to 24,000 RPM and features high-impact motor housing that is designed to stay cool during use. Includes one stone each of 5/32in., 3/16in. and 7/32in. Wheel Included 3 Stones included, Product Type Sharpener, Volts 12V, Rated RPM 22,000 to 24,000. Includes one stone each of 5/32in., 3/16in. and 7/32in Takes 1/8in. Diameter Stone Shank
Average Customer Rating:
3.633 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (30 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
5
21 of 30(70%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Chainsaw Sharpener - 12 Volt
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Tools Chainsaw Sharpener - 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great

,
April 23, 2013
By phrawg
from show low, AZ
"I used to cut wood all year long to sell and heat my home.This sharpener cut the time in the field by a lot. I found it very useful and anytime I need to cut again I will know I'll have a sharp chain."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Tools Chainsaw Sharpener - 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

sharpener bits

,
December 13, 2012
By t22438
from in
"the unit its self seems to have lots of RPM power,,,BUT, the first thing to do is order good replacement bits, Oregon, when you purchase this unit, 2nd throw away the bit that comes with unit, they may be ok for working on toe nails but not your chain,,I got 1 tooth short of 1/2 way thru a chain and tip broke off, throw them far far away so you can judge unit for itself fairly,,,and just in case, get 2-4 extra bits from Oregon, I`m just now ordering myself so I`m out another week."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Tools Chainsaw Sharpener - 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

12 Volt Chainsaw Sharpener

,
January 9, 2012
By redshark
from Ozark, AR
"I cut wood for 13 years, and always dreaded sharpening the chain with the hand file. It took some time, and usually cut my fingers in the process. With the 12 volt sharpener, it was a breeze. Just hold the stone to each tooth, at the angle needed, for a few seconds and they are sharp and ready to cut. The worst hassle is having to open the hood to get to the battery."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Tools Chainsaw Sharpener - 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

12volt chain saw sharpener

,
August 11, 2011
By gido
from australia
"i live in australia the same sharpener is available ,but is made out of very very poor quality brittle plastic housing which breaks very easy and often and the chuck is out of wack, hence i buy mine here because of the quality.but the stones supplied are very poor quality and break a lot,the best stones to buy are oregon DURA MAX sharpening stones and a product called COOL GRIND which is type of wax stick makes the stones last longer"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Tools Chainsaw Sharpener - 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy as 1.2.3

,
June 5, 2011
By Grandpa03
from Stanley, WI
"This tool makes life much easier. The chain is shapened twice as fast and stays sharper longer. This tool is worth its money!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Tools Chainsaw Sharpener - 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

sharpener

,
March 15, 2011
By jaxson1
from Nulato, Ak
"It worked great, especially after i hit the rocks with the bar. In Alaska, it works well when using your boat to haule wood."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Tools Chainsaw Sharpener - 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Cumbersome, but works

,
August 20, 2010
By LUMBERJACKMAN
from Burley, Idaho
"I purchased this Item in preperation for wood-cutting season this year. My product came with no instructions so it took me some time to figure out how to change the stone--and I still don't think I am doing it right. Previously I was using my dremel to sharpen blades, but the dremel did not have the 12 Volt feature. On the dremel there is a motor brake, so the motor does not turn while removing the screw on coller that holds the stone down.
I could not find any motor brake on this product--or any way to stop the motor from turning while replacing the stone. This required me to use a cumbursome process that involved a set of needle-nose pliers--to hold the motor shaft below the stone while I used the supplied wrench to tighten/loosen the screw-on coller.
Once I have replaced the stone, I am happy with the performance of the product---that is---until I have to replace the stone again.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Tools Chainsaw Sharpener - 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

All Good

,
June 3, 2010
By Dickie91
from Texas
"I really like thie product. I have used it a few times it works good."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Tools Chainsaw Sharpener - 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

12 volt Chain Saw Sharpner

,
February 15, 2010
By zharv
from Huntsville Al.
"Works great, much easier and faster than hand sharpening. Unit appears to be identical to a name brand unit except for label their sticker. Just do not over tighten the collet. It is not necessary."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Tools Chainsaw Sharpener - 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

chainsaw sharpener

,
November 2, 2009
By hookjockey
from Fayetteville, NC
"This product works great. I have been sharpening my chainsaw blades with a handfile for years and this tool makes the job so much easier. Due to the fact that I take it with me when I go log cutting, it makes sense to have the ability to use it off of my truck battery, but I would like it better if it ran on both house power as well as 12 volt power. The stone is much more durable than I expected, and I had to do quite a bit of grinding to even out my handfiling of the past."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Tools Chainsaw Sharpener - 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

chainsaw sharpener

,
October 19, 2009
By jokk
from Missouri
"I would recommend this sharpener to anyone who own's a chainsaw, it does an excellent job in the wood's, from any 12 volt battery, it is fast, easy to use with the chain on the saw, very dependable."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Tools Chainsaw Sharpener - 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

WORKS WANDERFULL

,
July 21, 2009
By WOLFOFWINTER
from winter park COLORADO
"for now easeest way fast and good condicion to sharp chain."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Tools Chainsaw Sharpener - 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

portable chainsaw sharpener

,
July 13, 2009
By dickdickjr
from ohatchee,al
"the chainsaw sharpener works great, it is lightweight and very portable, i can take it to the work site and connect the alligator clips to the truck battery and in a quick moment the chain is sharp and ready to use--great timesaver!!! when sharpening multiple chains in my shop i connect to a battery on workbench and leave a charger on trickle.. with continuous use the housing will heat up but never had a motor failure. i have recommended to a number of people and even puchased two more for family members"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Tools Chainsaw Sharpener - 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice tool

,
March 16, 2009
By Brewski
from Swanton,VT
"this tool makes sharpening you saw so much easier and so much fun doing it. Before you would have to do it all by hand and took forever and some time it wasn't right."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Tools Chainsaw Sharpener - 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Works like intended

,
March 16, 2009
By Monki
from Space Coast, FL
"So far this works like advertised and makes quick work of sharpening my chainsaw blades. I didn't rate it higher than 3 stars, because part of good tool design is not only the ability to do its job, but the ability to last awhile. The housing is flimsy and made of inferior plastic. Handle with care, because I don't think it would last one drop to the floor. I have serious doubts about it longevity. It does work, and that is the best I can say."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial Tools Chainsaw Sharpener - 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

just not worth it

,
January 6, 2009
By anoroks2
from ma
"As you saw from many posts the tool itself is very low grade. It is only good for a few sharpens and then the collet breaks. My choice would be a small hand file or spend the 100.00 and get a real tool."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Northern Industrial Tools Chainsaw Sharpener - 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Chainsaw Sharpener-12 Volt

,
August 15, 2008
By clance
from Ruidoso, NM
"There were no sharpening stones or instructions with unit I received. Northern Industrial Tools Offered to send me a complete new unit. Unit comes with one each of three different sizes. They only stock packages of 5 of each size. The cost of 3 packages plus shipping was the same as a new unit. The choice was mine.
While waiting for a new unit to arrive I tried a sharpening stone from a brand named rotary tool. It was a tight fit and I broke the collet in half when trying to remove it. Be careful. The collet is thin and easily broken.
When the supplied stones arrived I found they were slightly smaller then I had used. The unit works as advertized with their stones. It is easy to use and will sharpen the chain on the saw. Just be careful when changing the stones.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Northern Industrial Tools Chainsaw Sharpener - 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

chainsaw sharpener

,
August 12, 2008
By jonf
from New York, NY
"I've used this product at other jobsites and was happy with the results. However I decided to buy one for myself and the sharpening stones broke apart on the very first use. The the motorized unit works fine and you can buy extra sharpening stones, but it still shouldnt break on the first use."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Northern Industrial Tools Chainsaw Sharpener - 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

SAW SHARPENER

,
August 11, 2008
By FKLOGGING
from KALISPELL MONTANA
"THE 12V SAW SHARPENER I PURCHASED IS OF VERY POOR QUALITY AND MALFUNCTIONED THE SECOND TIME I USED IT. I HAD TO TAKE IT APART AND INSTALL SHIMS TO KEEP THE MOTOR IN ALIGNMENT. SINCE THE HOUSING IS GLUED TOGETHER I NOW HAVE IT TAPED TOGETHER TO MAKE IT WORK. I AM HOPING TO MAKE IT LAST LONG ENOUGH TO GET MY MONIES WORTH BUT IT IS NOT LOOKING VERY GOOD AT THIS POINT."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Northern Industrial Tools Chainsaw Sharpener - 12 Volt
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Right Price

,
January 17, 2008
By lj374
from Wyoming
"I had recently purchased a chain saw sharpener at a local store. Being the only one avaliable and being desperate I knew I paid too much at $ 69.95. Imagine my feeling when I saw the same product in my Northern Tool catalogue for less than twenty dollars. I returned the other tool and ordered from Northern. This is not a high quality tool, but is very simple to use. I have made a mess of my saw chain with a file or hand sharpener on many occasions and with much effort. Two words.... Quick and sharp. I have had to purchase higher quality stones elsewhere. The stones I recieved from Northern came apart sending pieces flying....Wear safety glasses!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.