Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 46cc 20in., Model# PP4620AVX

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 46cc 20in., Model# PP4620AVX

Item# 190984
Heavy-duty chain saw can tackle the big jobs. 2.8 cu. in. DuraChrome™ extended life engine has Super Clean™ air filter system, dual counterweight crankshaft. Features 20in. long bar, gear-driven automatic chain oiler, quick-adjust chain tensioning system, anti-vibe handle. Includes carrying case. U.S.A. Chain Saw Type: Gas, Engine Displacement (cc): 46, Chain Pitch (in.): .325, Chain Gauge (in.): .050, Bar Length (in.): 20, Oil Pump Flow: Automatic, Low Vibration Handle: Yes, Tool-Less Chain Tensioning: Yes, Case Included: Yes, Tool Weight (lbs.): 10 DuraLife™ engine for longer engine life Super Clean™ air filter system extends the life of the air filter Automatic chain oiler extends the life of the saw chain and guide bar Effortless Pull Starting™ system
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(24 Reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (24 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
3
18 of 24(75%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 46cc 20in., Model# PP4620AVX
Review 1 for Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 46cc 20in., Model# PP4620AVX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pouland Pro Chain Saw--46cc 20in

,
August 19, 2008
By Lester1951
from North Branch, MN
" Very good saw for the money. Excellent for home use. I've cut about 17 rather large trees with it so far. Runs and cuts smooth. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 46cc 20in., Model# PP4620AVX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

read the manual

,
October 17, 2011
By sxviper
from rochester, mn
" It is a nice saw but the first time I went to start it I never read the manual. I did a full choke and pulled till my arm was ready to fall off.
I finally got out the manual and it was the first time I have heard of pulling it 5 times on full choke and then putting it in one click so at 3/4 but I did this and it started right off and has worked great since.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 46cc 20in., Model# PP4620AVX
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

A must for the farm

,
April 17, 2011
By Meco
from LeSueur MN
" Didn't expect much out of this saw. It proved me wrong.It out preformed my other medium duty saws. Easy starting to both winter and summer. I'm going all poulan saws from now on. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 46cc 20in., Model# PP4620AVX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

wood

,
March 24, 2011
By andyjeff
" Great saw at a great price. Had mine for 7 years and it takes a beating and keeps on going. Easy to start, light weight, low maintenance. Handles 7 - 10 cord of wood for me every year. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 46cc 20in., Model# PP4620AVX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Poulan Pro chainsaw 46cc20in

,
March 15, 2011
By Ldbug
from Huntsville, AR
" I was very impressed with the Poulan Pro 46cc. It more than exceded my expectations. The tool less chain tensioner works great. Great price for that size of chainsaw. Its always starts up on 3rd pull. Seems to have more than enough power for a saw that size "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 46cc 20in., Model# PP4620AVX
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Poulan Pro Chain Saw Gas Issue

,
March 14, 2011
By thecnckid
from San Antonio TX
" I have been well pleased with its performance and extremely impressed with its simple and easy assembly instructions. For the quality and performance the saw has a reasonable price. The only questionable information given in the instructions was not to use Ethanol in the saw, only unleaded gas. I live in Texas and all of our gas may contain Ethanol. I called Poulan support and they said it is OK to burn Ethanol and that it wouldn't void the warranty. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 46cc 20in., Model# PP4620AVX
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

says pro but its not pro

,
January 19, 2011
By HILLBILLY2006
from McMinnville TN.
" i got this saw last year from northern tool and it has always ran good. what i don't like about this saw is the way you ajust the chain. that part of the saw is a joke. and the chain that comes with it, you just get rid of it. go out and get yourself a good chain for it. and one other thing the anti-vibe system has springs in the handleand its so loose that if you apply any pressure while cutting the saw will not cut strait. i cut alot of fire wood each year and i wished this saw was as good as the woodshark by poulan that i have used for 5 years. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 46cc 20in., Model# PP4620AVX
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cheap Saw

,
October 29, 2010
By TwinsguyOO
from Eden Prairie, MN
" This saw does a poor job. You will need to buy a second if you plan using it. Garbage! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-12points
3out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 46cc 20in., Model# PP4620AVX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Deal

,
August 30, 2010
By Knuckleduster
from Tennessee
" I purchased this saw for for the occasional need for a larger saw. I unpacked the saw fueled it up and it fired right up. Has plenty of power for the 20" bar. I am very pleased so far and seems to be a great saw for the money. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 46cc 20in., Model# PP4620AVX
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

LIght duty only

,
July 19, 2010
By Lysne
" light duty saw that I have owned for 3 years now. I also have a Husky and 2 stihls. This saw is light and is an OK little simbing saw, but will not withstand hard use. Issues in the past with Carb and also wiht chain gear. Screws seem to fall out of this model for no reason and next thing you know, a guard comes off when cutting. It's a cheapo saw, and if you cut 1 tree a year, it will do the job, but it's not good for much more. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
5out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 46cc 20in., Model# PP4620AVX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

poulan chainsaw

,
February 24, 2010
By jsimp2861
from North Carolina
" These are very dependable saws, we have used one for several years for the family farm cutting firewood,timber and any other chores that was needed to do. We recently purchased a new saw due to the reliability and service that we recieved from the one we had. It is still in operation and starts on the 2nd or 3rd pull. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 46cc 20in., Model# PP4620AVX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

chainsaw

,
February 23, 2010
By jfdf620
from chincoteague,va.
" starts easy, runs great ,very little vibration and no kick back. the no tool adjustment is a great feature. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 46cc 20in., Model# PP4620AVX
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Weak

,
November 2, 2009
By abc11111
from Atlanta, Ga
" Saw motor too weak for blade and runs poorly.
Have taken back to origional store with no satifaction.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 46cc 20in., Model# PP4620AVX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good value, good saw

,
November 2, 2009
By zbretman
from Warsaw, MO
" A few months back my Stihl ms250 started running bad. At well over $300 (16") I expected it to last more than one firewood season (personal firewood only), but it didn't. Now I have a PP 20" for about half the price and am very pleased. It does take a couple more pulls to start but always does. For the first few trees it requires you to adjust the chain fairly often as the new chain stretches, it only takes about 15 seconds to do so it isn't a deal breaker. The chain did come off once when I waited too long to adjust it, but it doesn't require tools to put it back on, so not a deal breaker either. The fuel and oil levels stay even & the caps do not require tools. Runs strong and cut faster then my old saw.
I havn't used it for logging yet but its been a perfect saw for clearing dense hardwood trees off a couple acres of forest where I'm planting fruit trees & garden. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 46cc 20in., Model# PP4620AVX
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poulan chain saw

,
October 23, 2009
By Cedarwhacker
from Dallas, TX
" For occassional home use this saw is not a bad value. The chain tighting mechanism is poorly designed and it throws chains way more than it should. Due to starting problems and the cheap design, this is the last Poulan product I will ever buy. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 46cc 20in., Model# PP4620AVX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Chain Saw for Price

,
October 19, 2009
By GKNY
from Huntington, NY
" It's handy and reliable. Easy to use and to tighten chain. It's had some long days with me and has held up exceptionally well. I'd easily recommend it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 46cc 20in., Model# PP4620AVX
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not really Pro quality

,
September 22, 2008
By ralph4444
from Rural, near Houston TX
" I have used this off and on for about two years now. I also have a Stihl of the same size. Yes the Stihl costs twice as much but believe me it is worth it. The Poulan is always needing repairs, throws chains, and is very difficult to adjust the chain tension properly because the tensioning device will not hold until you can tighten the nuts. Also the fuel and oil caps need pliers to remove. The chain needs resharpening almost continously compared with the Sthil. It is also hard to start much of the time and wore out the starting spindle. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 46cc 20in., Model# PP4620AVX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

work horse

,
August 18, 2008
By bebi
from new york
" this product unleashes a powerful potential for new saw users, it combines simple operating skills with low maintenance techniques to allow for safe handling and prolonged service. the chain adjusting mechanism on the bar is a winner for quick adjustments. have a productive time. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 46cc 20in., Model# PP4620AVX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Poulan Chain saws

,
April 26, 2008
By Landscaper111
from Texas
" I own a Landscaping & tree Trimming &Removal Buisness I personaly use a Poulan a Wild Thing Right now but I am in the Process of Replacing All of my Chain saws,Pole Pruners,& Trimmers with the Poulan Pro Line I Like the pro line equipment very much! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 46cc 20in., Model# PP4620AVX
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Second Time's a charm!

,
January 24, 2008
By 16228
from Ohio
" Received chain saw and couldn't get it to stay running. Found out the engine was blown before we got it. Poulan replaced the engine in it at their cost and now it runs like a dream! It is great for intermediate cutting, nothing too large though. After the rough start we had, it was worth the money. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.