Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 42cc, 18in. Bar, Model# PP4218AVX

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 42cc, 18in. Bar, Model# PP4218AVX

Item# 190985
The Poulan Pro 18in. chain saw features a DuraLife 42cc 2-cycle gas engine with easy-start system, Oregon guide bar, tool-less chain tensioning system and more. U.S.A. Bar Length in. 18, Fuel Capacity oz. 11.4, GasOil Fuel Mix Ratio 40 1, Oil Capacity oz. 6.8, Low Vibration Handle Yes, Noise Level dB 108, Tool-Less Chain Tensioning Yes, Chain Pitch in. 3/8, Chain Gauge in. 0.050, Chain Saw Type Gas, Oil Pump Flow Automatic, Case Included Yes, Tool Weight lbs. 11.8, Engine Displacement cc 42, Chain Brake Yes, Primer Bulb Yes. DuraLife 42cc 2-cycle gas engine Heavy-duty forged crankshaft and connecting rod for longer engine life Effortless Pull Starting system Super Clean air filter system Oregon 18in. guide bar with pro-style chain Patented tool-less chain tensioning system
Average Customer Rating:
4.467 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (15 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
14 of 15(93%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 42cc, 18in. Bar, Model# PP4218AVX
Review 1 for Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 42cc, 18in. Bar, Model# PP4218AVX
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

It works

,
November 7, 2012
By TheDude78
from New Jersey
"I grew up in the boondocks of PA. We heated with wood. Have experience with saws.
Sandy blew through. Neighbors tree ended up in my yard. Decided on this saw to solve the problem.
The first chain didn't make it through an entire tree before it was as dull as a spoon. The second chain didn't finish the job before it was as dull as the first. The tree isn't exceptional in size, maybe 18" at the base.
Both I believe were Oregon Chains.
My advice to you, get different chains for this saw and it may be what you are looking for."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 42cc, 18in. Bar, Model# PP4218AVX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
October 15, 2012
By SEJustice
from Ohio
"Great chainsaw, and it has a tool-less chain tightening system that is very convenient. It comes with a case, an extra chain, and a small bottle of 2-cycle oil. I had no problem getting this started by following the instructions, cuts very well."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 42cc, 18in. Bar, Model# PP4218AVX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Buster

,
January 16, 2012
By kyman
from KENTUCKY
"I have purchased 2 of these over the years. The 1st
one lasted several years(about 9), still using the 2nd one(3 years). I cut about 12 to 15 good pick-up
truckloads of firewood a year, plus some tree trimming throughout the year. Would recommend!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 42cc, 18in. Bar, Model# PP4218AVX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great saw

,
August 23, 2011
By MnWeekender
from Danbury, WI
"I'm on my second saw of this model. First one went about 3 years but the oil port got plugged (I was using used atv oil as bar oil...bad idea). Love this saw, as does my wife (she can use it for a couple hours at a time). The anti-vibration is fantastic, starts and runs good. Best part is the chain tension adjuster...NO TOOL REQUIRED. When this saw eventually dies (and I can't fix it from the parts left over from my 1st saw), I'll buy another."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 42cc, 18in. Bar, Model# PP4218AVX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Poulan 18"

,
March 21, 2011
By briarpatche
"This is my second one of these. Wore the first one out after a few years.
Very happy
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 42cc, 18in. Bar, Model# PP4218AVX
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Purchase matched Description

,
November 23, 2010
By DanielEng
from St Paul, Minnesota
"I bought this saw because of the percieved value. After looking at it in person at the store, I purchased it to take home for my upcoming "dead ash" project. This saw is exactly as advertised and reviewed by previous owners. Owners manual is complete and understandable with a good warranty to back up the saw. The saw starts well, especially for a 2-stroke, has plenty of power for any size wood that fits the bar, and isn't too heavy for it's capacity like some. It's good to purchase a product these days that is as good as expected, good saw!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 42cc, 18in. Bar, Model# PP4218AVX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great saw for the money

,
November 23, 2010
By quagmireOU812
"My poulan pro chainsaw starts everytime. Anti-vibration handle is great. I've cut several oak trees for firewood with no problem. With my old chainsaw, my hands would shake after I was done, from all the vibration."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 42cc, 18in. Bar, Model# PP4218AVX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Poulan' Great !!

,
August 30, 2010
By TREETIPPER
from Raleigh,NC
"Even for a refurbished item the Poulan Pro PP4218AVX was easy to assembly and fired up like a brand new saw! It has a bar knob used to tighten and loosen the chain fast and easy with a adjusting wheel. Light weight,fun and easy to use!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 42cc, 18in. Bar, Model# PP4218AVX
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Poulan Pro 18' Chain Saw

,
August 30, 2010
By 52779
from Pittsburgh,PA
"The saw is always easy to start.The automatic oiler keeps the chain well lubricated and sharp.I would buy another one of these in a heartbeat."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 42cc, 18in. Bar, Model# PP4218AVX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

most hours performed

,
June 3, 2010
By emjay
from TEXAS
"As a maintinance specialist in the bill board advertising industry, I have a 100 hours a month, 6 months a year with a chain saw in my hand. I have purchased and used many brands and models.
For all around usability, this poulan pro model 42 cc has proven my favorite.
Its reliability under all conditions is excellent.
It always starts up with ease. Its easy on a chain, oils well maintinance is an ease.
FOR THE BUCK THIS IS THE SAW TO OWN.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 42cc, 18in. Bar, Model# PP4218AVX
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Dissatified customer

,
November 2, 2009
By crazecreekwoman
"We bought this chainsaw about two years ago and have problems with it everytime we use it. It won't stay running. We serviced the unit the way the instruction stated and still doesn't work. Even took the chainsaw to a poulan shop and it won't run properly. I thought it was my hustand for a while but the serviceman said no that wasn't the problem. We tighten the chain and slipped also. I've been having a lot of problems with all gas handtools and wonder if the gasoline we used is the right gas. If your not to use ethnol gas than your instruction book should state that. We are lucky to have at least two regular gas with tno ethnol. Please advice abou the gas."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-21points
2out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 42cc, 18in. Bar, Model# PP4218AVX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good saw

,
October 28, 2009
By GrizzlyGregg
from Colorado Springs, CO
"Originally bought the remanufactured Poulan WildThing (see that review), but was not able to get it to run consistently at high speed, even after various adjustments recommended by other reviewers. Sent it back and got this Poulan Pro saw. I've run two tanks of gas through it, and other than an idle speed adjustment, it performed flawlessly. Good power (though I'm only cutting pine and scrub oak), and starts very easily. Tooless adjustment works well. Chain is super sharp right out of the box. Others have said they needed to richen up the high speed, but I've not had to (probably due to living at high altitude). Anti-vibration system works well. Been having so much fun I kind of wish I needed to put up more wood this year..."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 42cc, 18in. Bar, Model# PP4218AVX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chainsaw

,
July 20, 2009
By wildmouse216
from Rifle Colorado
"This is a good saw. More power than the WIldthing. Used and abused by me it still runs well after three years. I have two."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 42cc, 18in. Bar, Model# PP4218AVX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

poulan pro

,
March 27, 2009
By bigboy123
from arlington,Tx
"I had a chain saw before and had things go bad on it( oil leaks, lose chain,hard to start ). The brand went out of busness. I got the Poulan pro Chain saw 18in.42cc. after reading reviewers of 3 to4 other chain saws. This one has done ever thing i needed doing. easy to start , easy to ajust chain."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Poulan Pro Chain Saw - 42cc, 18in. Bar, Model# PP4218AVX
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far, So good

,
December 26, 2008
By Anonymous
from Bigfork, MT
"Only complaint I had about this saw was it needed a high idle adjustment right out of the box. It would bog down when trying to cut a log, but after adjustment, which was very difficult due to the nature of the plastic guard over the adjusters, it cut a cord in no time."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.