Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "Ardisam Earthquake Earth Auger Powerhead - 43cc, Model# E43"

"Ardisam Earthquake Earth Auger Powerhead - 43cc, Model# E43"

Item# 191162
"One-person high-performance auger powerhead has a Viper 2-cycle, 43cc gas engine that gives you the power to drill fence posts, road signs, decks, tree planting and more Fits all Earthquake earth augers auger sold separately. Auger Speed RPM 250, Product Type Auger powerhead, Torque ft./lbs. 47, Engine Type Viper 2-cycle, Gear Ratio 301, Engine Displacement cc 43. 47 ft.-lbs. of torque for post hole digging Bit turns up to 250 RPM to move earth quickly and easily See-through 1/4-gal. gas tank for quick fuel checks Quick-start primer button Antivibration foam-grip handlebars to reduce fatigue Easy-to-grip finger tip throttle control Muffler guard Solid steel, heat-treated alloy gears Works with 2in. to 10in. Earthquake augers"
Average Customer Rating:
4.164 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (55 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
4
47 of 55(85%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Ardisam Earthquake Earth Auger Powerhead - 43cc, Model# E43"
Review 1 for "Ardisam Earthquake Earth Auger Powerhead - 43cc, Model# E43"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Powerful

,
July 29, 2015
By
from Sacramento CA
" Fired right up and worked well for digging post holes with a 6" auger. Next task is to use the 10" auger for planting. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Ardisam Earthquake Earth Auger Powerhead - 43cc, Model# E43"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Seedling Tree Planting

,
May 31, 2015
By
from Bakersfield, VT
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" Have had my auger for a while now, works great, I got the 8" auger bit, I have planted over 600 Christmas tree seedlings, a huge time saver. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Ardisam Earthquake Earth Auger Powerhead - 43cc, Model# E43"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great auger powerhead

,
May 23, 2015
By
from central illinois
" got this for the spouse. We are putting in 60 trees. by augering in 3 holes (imagine a rack on a pool table) at the 3 points in the rack/circle, then coming back with a spade only took about 2 mins. Total time augering holes and getting a tree in/filled was 15 mins. A substantial savings in time and on the back! He loves the auger. Found out early that cleaning the tip after the first hole makes the next one like cutting butter. great product. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Ardisam Earthquake Earth Auger Powerhead - 43cc, Model# E43"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does the Job

,
May 14, 2015
By
from KS
" I bought this to replace the one I've had for over 10 years, which still ran, but needed retired. From sandy loam, to black, compacted soil, this auger does the job.
I've used it to set telephone pole corner and gate posts, to making holes in compacted soil for trees with no complaints. Sure beats using a post hole digger and shovel.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Ardisam Earthquake Earth Auger Powerhead - 43cc, Model# E43"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Earthquake Post hole digger

,
May 4, 2015
By
from KCMO
" Worked fine for digging holes in loose clay for planting trees. The shaft was a little smaller that my old one, but shims were added and it fit. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Ardisam Earthquake Earth Auger Powerhead - 43cc, Model# E43"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great so far

,
April 18, 2015
By
from ny
" been diggin fence poles did 5 alot more to go we will c "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-5points
2out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Ardisam Earthquake Earth Auger Powerhead - 43cc, Model# E43"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for fence post holes

,
April 14, 2015
By
from Gibsonia, PA
" This replaced my Earthquake 8900 model which was 16 years old and had seen better days. I am 62 years old and have a few hundred feet of split rail fence that need replaced, The fence was last installed using the old Earthquake auger. The new model reflects 16 years of change and works well. Good for residential use by one person. Works best in soft or moist soil. As with the old model larger rocks need a digging bar to remove them and not this auger. Larger tree roots need removed with a small hand saw. Does not always start the first time but the old one had the same issue even though it had a different brand of engine. I added the 36" long 8" auger and a 12 inch extension so once I was 3 feet into the ground I did not have to bend over very far. Friends and neighbors will borrow the E43 Auger for their fencing needs and from time to time to plant small shrubs. This one is quieter than the old 8900 but perhaps because it is new. Regardless with ear protection the noise level does not matter. For the price it does the job. I would say for light duty work around the home it is ideal. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Ardisam Earthquake Earth Auger Powerhead - 43cc, Model# E43"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great one person post hole drill

,
January 19, 2015
By
from atlanta georgia
" Bought this to drill 3 1/2 foot holes to put 200 lb. railroad ties in . This thing has worked great. Don't know if it will hold up long term. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Ardisam Earthquake Earth Auger Powerhead - 43cc, Model# E43"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

hole in the Ground

,
November 25, 2014
By
from NC
" Followed written direction and engine started right up. Bored 2 holes with 6 inch auger and 18 inch extensions with no problem. Drained gas out of tank and ran gas out of carburetor. Limited use so far...time will tell. Happy so far. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Ardisam Earthquake Earth Auger Powerhead - 43cc, Model# E43"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I dig this post hole digger

,
August 29, 2014
By
from Sacramento
" I purchased the Ardisam Earthquake Earth Auger Powerhead - 43cc, Model# E43, it arrived in a couple days, I attached the auger to the 10" drill, added fuel and it started right up. I was afraid that it might be too much for this almost 60 year old to handle but it was a piece of cake. I dug the holes for our new fence in a matter of minutes. Soooo much easier than digging by hand. I love it. I am looking for other reasons to dig. I feel like a kid in a sandbox. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Ardisam Earthquake Earth Auger Powerhead - 43cc, Model# E43"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ardisam Earthquake Earth Auger Powerhead - 43cc, M

,
July 18, 2014
By
from CA
" ordered this to install a fence. this unit worked as advertised. started easily and gave no problems. save me alot of time during this project. i used it with the 6" auger. i will be adding the 18" extension and possibly 1 or 2 additional augers. i highly recommend this unit. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Ardisam Earthquake Earth Auger Powerhead - 43cc, Model# E43"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ardisam earthquake earth auger model# e43

,
May 20, 2014
By
from spruce grove alberta canada
" This is a great little unit. I had no problems setting it up and getting it in action, started on the 3rd pull right off the bat!. It augered a 3" hole in the blink of an eye, no kickback or straining. Thank you. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Ardisam Earthquake Earth Auger Powerhead - 43cc, Model# E43"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

If tools are you life then.....

,
March 21, 2014
By
from TX
" If tools are your life and what brings the bread home then this auger is not for you. I was able to complete 3 out of 7 pier left after my old auger went to tool heaven. However this was the biggest waste of miles and time I have ever seen. Lucky for me as only having used it one day the great people of NT told me to return it for refund as my job is now completed using a rental until my new ordered auger comes in. I would hate to blame all these augers on what could be a lemon but I have a 100% rating and its not that hard good quality products for good people. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-6points
6out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Ardisam Earthquake Earth Auger Powerhead - 43cc, Model# E43"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value Overall

,
September 18, 2013
By
from Keweenaw Peninsula, MI
" I've used many augers over the years, but this is the first one I've bought. I just couldn't resist the great price. True, large rocks and roots can stall it out, but what do you expect from a unit of this size and power? It does the job it was designed for exceptionally well and is easy to start and handle. I'm using it with a 6" auger in relatively soft soil with occasional small to medium rocks, and it works great. Just don't expect it to do the job of big, two-man auger! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Ardisam Earthquake Earth Auger Powerhead - 43cc, Model# E43"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Auger

,
September 17, 2013
By
from Virginia Beach, Va
" We use this to put fence posts in. It handled the job easily, the conditions we pretty ideal, soft moist ground. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Ardisam Earthquake Earth Auger Powerhead - 43cc, Model# E43"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Average powerhead

,
July 11, 2013
By
from California
" I use this powerhead with 6in Auger (model EA6F).
The head works, but man, this thing is very demanding!
While cold it starts well, but due to a design flaw the carburetor heats up during normal operation and while hot/warm the head is next to impossible to restart due to the vapor lock in the fuel lines. I use a spray bottle to spray water on the carburetor to make it cool down between drilling. Even then you should expect a couple minute cool-down time before restart is possible.
Another thing is that it seems like the engine maximum power is reached only in a very narrow RPM range. so you have to constantly adjust down pressure to make it drill efficiently. It is manageable, but annoying especially if you have roots or small rocks in your soil (I have both).
On the positive side this head can produce quite a bit of torque and the slip clutch is tuned quite nicely for this engine (does not stall the engine when auger gets stuck while not tearing your arms off).
Overall this is a cheap powerhead that does the job if you work around its deficiencies.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
17out of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Ardisam Earthquake Earth Auger Powerhead - 43cc, Model# E43"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Needs ideal conditions

,
June 10, 2013
By
from Houston, TX
" I had absolutely no success with this product. Anytime the drill touched a rock, all progress stopped. Apparently my land is too rocky because I never got any deeper than about 4". Based on the initial performance, I doubt it would work in Houston black clay, which is fairly dense and compacted. If you are digging in sandy soil (think beach), it would probably work just fine. For my purpose, it was a complete waste of time and money. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Ardisam Earthquake Earth Auger Powerhead - 43cc, Model# E43"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Think Twice

,
December 15, 2012
By
from Arcadia, LA
" When the auger 'finally' gets started it runs fine; but a chore getting it started. Also, don't pull the starter cord too far out or it'll break fairly easy! Have had the 'pull start mechanism repaired once; did't last long before the spring got unsprung! Just paid the "big bucks" to order replacement pull starter and the shipping costs are even more unreasonable!! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Ardisam Earthquake Earth Auger Powerhead - 43cc, Model# E43"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Effective

,
October 15, 2012
By
from upnorth, MI
" I bought the one man model with an 8 inch auger. Works well as long as you let the machine do the work in hard soil. In sand, it digs a 30 inch deep hole in about 30 seconds. I woulod hesitate to place a 10 inch auger on this 43 cc model unless only used in sand. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Ardisam Earthquake Earth Auger Powerhead - 43cc, Model# E43"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerhead

,
August 13, 2012
By
from Utah
" Bought this as a replacement powerhead for my ice auger. This one is bigger and heavier than the old one but bolted perfectly to my ice auger shaft. This option of replacing just the powerhead turned out to be about $150 - $200 less than a new ice auger of the same engine size. Followed the instructions and it started on the 3rd pull. My old powerhead did not have a primer bulb like this one and was becoming a bear to start especially when the temp dropped below 10 degrees. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.