Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Ardisam Earthquake Earth Auger Powerhead - 43cc, Model# E43

Ardisam Earthquake Earth Auger Powerhead - 43cc, Model# E43

Item# 191162
One-person high-performance auger powerhead has a Viper 2-cycle, 43cc gas engine that gives you the power to drill fence posts, road signs, decks, tree planting and more Fits all Earthquake earth augers auger sold separately. Engine Displacement cc 43, Product Type Auger powerhead, Engine Type Viper 2-cycle, Auger Speed RPM 250, Gear Ratio 301, Torque ft./lbs. 47. 47 ft.-lbs. of torque for post hole digging Bit turns up to 250 RPM to move earth quickly and easily See-through 1/4-gal. gas tank for quick fuel checks Quick-start primer button Antivibration foam-grip handlebars to reduce fatigue Easy-to-grip finger tip throttle control Muffler guard Solid steel, heat-treated alloy gears Works with 2in. to 10in. Earthquake augers
Average Customer Rating:
4.07 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (43 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
4
35 of 43(81%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ardisam Earthquake Earth Auger Powerhead - 43cc, Model# E43
Review 1 for Ardisam Earthquake Earth Auger Powerhead - 43cc, Model# E43
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

If tools are you life then.....

,
March 21, 2014
By Foundationguy
from TX
"If tools are your life and what brings the bread home then this auger is not for you. I was able to complete 3 out of 7 pier left after my old auger went to tool heaven. However this was the biggest waste of miles and time I have ever seen. Lucky for me as only having used it one day the great people of NT told me to return it for refund as my job is now completed using a rental until my new ordered auger comes in. I would hate to blame all these augers on what could be a lemon but I have a 100% rating and its not that hard good quality products for good people."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ardisam Earthquake Earth Auger Powerhead - 43cc, Model# E43
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value Overall

,
September 18, 2013
By Anonymous
from Keweenaw Peninsula, MI
"I've used many augers over the years, but this is the first one I've bought. I just couldn't resist the great price. True, large rocks and roots can stall it out, but what do you expect from a unit of this size and power? It does the job it was designed for exceptionally well and is easy to start and handle. I'm using it with a 6" auger in relatively soft soil with occasional small to medium rocks, and it works great. Just don't expect it to do the job of big, two-man auger!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ardisam Earthquake Earth Auger Powerhead - 43cc, Model# E43
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Auger

,
September 17, 2013
By ctp1
from Virginia Beach, Va
"We use this to put fence posts in. It handled the job easily, the conditions we pretty ideal, soft moist ground."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ardisam Earthquake Earth Auger Powerhead - 43cc, Model# E43
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Average powerhead

,
July 11, 2013
By kossack
from California
"I use this powerhead with 6in Auger (model EA6F).
The head works, but man, this thing is very demanding!
While cold it starts well, but due to a design flaw the carburetor heats up during normal operation and while hot/warm the head is next to impossible to restart due to the vapor lock in the fuel lines. I use a spray bottle to spray water on the carburetor to make it cool down between drilling. Even then you should expect a couple minute cool-down time before restart is possible.
Another thing is that it seems like the engine maximum power is reached only in a very narrow RPM range. so you have to constantly adjust down pressure to make it drill efficiently. It is manageable, but annoying especially if you have roots or small rocks in your soil (I have both).
On the positive side this head can produce quite a bit of torque and the slip clutch is tuned quite nicely for this engine (does not stall the engine when auger gets stuck while not tearing your arms off).
Overall this is a cheap powerhead that does the job if you work around its deficiencies.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
7out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ardisam Earthquake Earth Auger Powerhead - 43cc, Model# E43
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Needs ideal conditions

,
June 10, 2013
By SamHouston
from Houston, TX
"I had absolutely no success with this product. Anytime the drill touched a rock, all progress stopped. Apparently my land is too rocky because I never got any deeper than about 4". Based on the initial performance, I doubt it would work in Houston black clay, which is fairly dense and compacted. If you are digging in sandy soil (think beach), it would probably work just fine. For my purpose, it was a complete waste of time and money."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ardisam Earthquake Earth Auger Powerhead - 43cc, Model# E43
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Think Twice

,
December 15, 2012
By J22ARCADIA
from Arcadia, LA
"When the auger 'finally' gets started it runs fine; but a chore getting it started. Also, don't pull the starter cord too far out or it'll break fairly easy! Have had the 'pull start mechanism repaired once; did't last long before the spring got unsprung! Just paid the "big bucks" to order replacement pull starter and the shipping costs are even more unreasonable!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ardisam Earthquake Earth Auger Powerhead - 43cc, Model# E43
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Effective

,
October 15, 2012
By farmerwantobe
from upnorth, MI
"I bought the one man model with an 8 inch auger. Works well as long as you let the machine do the work in hard soil. In sand, it digs a 30 inch deep hole in about 30 seconds. I woulod hesitate to place a 10 inch auger on this 43 cc model unless only used in sand."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ardisam Earthquake Earth Auger Powerhead - 43cc, Model# E43
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerhead

,
August 13, 2012
By IceAngler
from Utah
"Bought this as a replacement powerhead for my ice auger. This one is bigger and heavier than the old one but bolted perfectly to my ice auger shaft. This option of replacing just the powerhead turned out to be about $150 - $200 less than a new ice auger of the same engine size. Followed the instructions and it started on the 3rd pull. My old powerhead did not have a primer bulb like this one and was becoming a bear to start especially when the temp dropped below 10 degrees."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ardisam Earthquake Earth Auger Powerhead - 43cc, Model# E43
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works just fine!

,
August 13, 2012
By Certified2300
from Oklahoma City
"I was worried about such a small motor doing a major task of spinning a 8" auger - but if you "drive it like it is stolen" it works great. Oklahoma has clay and rocks. Take your time and go slow (vertically) but go wide open with the throttle and you get a hole in quick order. Not nearly as fast as the bigger power units, but lite enough to tote around with one arm and for just a few holes a week I need around the race track, I can recommend this one easily!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ardisam Earthquake Earth Auger Powerhead - 43cc, Model# E43
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Earth Auger

,
May 15, 2012
By Hoka
from Goldendale., WA
"We have hard-pan clay here and it has been dry. I purchased this product to set fence posts and to plant trees. This machine does the job well! It is easy to start, has enough torq and power to do the job, and the price didn't hurt too bad."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ardisam Earthquake Earth Auger Powerhead - 43cc, Model# E43
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

little small

,
May 14, 2012
By watjack
from Ca
"Works good with the small augers. With the bigger sizes it struggles with the torque. But all around a good buy just dont think your going to drill 10 inch postholes."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ardisam Earthquake Earth Auger Powerhead - 43cc, Model# E43
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Does the job

,
May 7, 2012
By TRPeterson
from Columbia, SC
"If you have reasonable expectations for this auger you will be very happy with it. It's a one-man powerhead so don't expect enough torque to bust through a 1" root... hence your tendons would bust first. If you have ground you could dig with a landscaping shovel but want to work faster and easier, this auger will do it. If you have tennis ball sized rocks or roots bigger than 1/2", you'll fight the auger, have soar forearms and still be pulling out your shovel or post-hole diggers to finish the job."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ardisam Earthquake Earth Auger Powerhead - 43cc, Model# E43
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wish i would have bought this years ago!

,
May 7, 2012
By caking76
from Northern Kentucky
"Great auger!! I bought and run the 8" bit with no issues (other than rocks). Starts everytime by the third pull, runs great never have any issues with it stalling or being sluggish.
Ran this now for 3 months or so and put in over 30 fence posts with minimal hand digging (to pull out big rocks). Works as advertised if not better in my opinion."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ardisam Earthquake Earth Auger Powerhead - 43cc, Model# E43
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Hard to start and lacks power

,
January 16, 2012
By Zeke96
from Greenwood, SC
"I bought this unit in the spring of 2011. It has been pretty difficult to start, but does run ok once started. The main problem with it is the lack of torque. I am using a 6" auger and there is barely enough torque for it to be usable. Even without any down force on the auger, the clutch slips and the auger constantly stalls and does not develop enough rpm to actually pull any dirt out of the hole. Because of this, you must constantly lift the auger out of the hole, shake off the dirt, and repeat. Very tiring. Owner's manual says the clutch will slip for the first 2 hrs, but I haven't seen any improvement yet. Overall a disappointment, especially since most reviews here are very positive."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ardisam Earthquake Earth Auger Powerhead - 43cc, Model# E43
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worked Great

,
January 12, 2012
By Cree
from West Ky.
"I've drilled maybe 30 holes with this unit and a 6" drill and love it. It's a heavy unit and will give one man a pretty good workout especially if there's a few small rocks in the way. With two of us working it, it was great. Took a little bit of cranking to get it to fire off the first time but was fine after that. I bought a 3" auger and have used it to drill the first hole in rocky ground and then finish up with the 6" and it seems to do well for me."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ardisam Earthquake Earth Auger Powerhead - 43cc, Model# E43
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

digging dirt

,
January 9, 2012
By tojoe
from Bay Area, Ca.
"Used this to put up new fence posts and was impressed with the ease that it drilled thru hard pack dirt, and 1 person operation. I used the 6 " auger bit, i will never hand dig again."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ardisam Earthquake Earth Auger Powerhead - 43cc, Model# E43
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Exceeded expectations

,
November 17, 2011
By Sabes2
from Hammondsport, NY
"I took a chance on this auger knowing full well that you pay for what you get, however I was extremely impressed with this deal. I have a heavily wooded lot in upstate NY and have to dig 41" deep holes to pour concrete form tubes to support a cabin. This little auger starts right up, and drills down well. With the hard soil I was dealing with, I had to stop drilling from time-to-time and loosen up the soil with a digging bar. I also drilled through stones and some 4" thick roots. The auger actually dug right through the roots with a little torque kickback, but not bad. You may have to apply a little pressure down on it, but all in all, if you just let it drill down with its own weight, it does a good job. I would recommend this to anyone before buying a more expensive one."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ardisam Earthquake Earth Auger Powerhead - 43cc, Model# E43
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best of Four

,
October 17, 2011
By HoleDigger
from Port Allen, La
"I had three augers from a local company before I bought this auger from Northern. When I received this auger and started working with it, I could not believe the difference it had over all the others. With the knowledge and experience I have with this machine I will continue buying this brand when/if I ever have to get another. I recommended this auger to all who needed and was shopping for an auger."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ardisam Earthquake Earth Auger Powerhead - 43cc, Model# E43
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very handy tool!!!

,
June 15, 2011
By DGRIZZZ
from Sutter Creek, Ca
"I bought this not feeling it could have the power to do the job. Well let me tell you...this thing runs great. I needed to do 6 inch hole so I bought a 6inch auger. It was fine on soft dirt but tough on hard clay. So I ordered the 4 inch and it cut the clay then I ran the 6 inch right down. So now I have both sizes that work great for just post in dirt and post with concrete. Do yourself a favor and drain fuel and run empty if you are going to store it for any length of time."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ardisam Earthquake Earth Auger Powerhead - 43cc, Model# E43
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

The little auger that could

,
May 7, 2011
By Pete13
from Kansas
"Bought this to dig footings for a new deck. Plenty of power for the10" bit. Easy to use except when a large rock is in your drilling path ( not the auger's fault though). Seems well built, and runs well. Highly reccommend."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.