Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "Ardisam Two-Person Briggs & Stratton-Powered Earth Auger Powerhead - 190cc Briggs & Stratton Engine, Model# 9800B"

"Ardisam Two-Person Briggs & Stratton-Powered Earth Auger Powerhead - 190cc Briggs & Stratton Engine, Model# 9800B"

Item# 191163
"190cc Briggs & Stratton engine with low gear ratio provides the power and durability needed to do really big jobs. Perfect for posthole digging, landscaping, tree planting and more with two people. Features Isovibe shock spring technology to absorb ground shock and improves control. Powerhead only. Auger bits sold separately. Engine Displacement cc 190, Auger Speed RPM 121, Gear Ratio 30 1, Product Type Auger powerhead, Torque ft./lbs. 203, Engine Type Briggs & Stratton Intek OHV engine. Powerful Briggs & Stratton Intek OHV engine Solid steel, heat-treated alloy gears for strength Isovibe technology combines power with superior handling See-through 1/4-gal. fuel tank for quick fuel checks 3in. heavy-duty centrifugal clutch Easy-to-grip fingertip throttle control on reinforced steel handlebars Auger bits sold separately"
Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (11 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 of 11(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Ardisam Two-Person Briggs & Stratton-Powered Earth Auger Powerhead - 190cc Briggs & Stratton Engine, Model# 9800B"
Review 1 for "Ardisam Two-Person Briggs & Stratton-Powered Earth Auger Powerhead - 190cc Briggs & Stratton Engine, Model# 9800B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Auger cuts the workload

,
June 29, 2014
By Cr10
from Ct
"Seems to be a well built product, works very well. I am happy with this purchase. I just installed 800+ ft of split rail with the help of my son. We used a spring loaded auger bit which was nice as it had a little play when hitting a rock or root."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Ardisam Two-Person Briggs & Stratton-Powered Earth Auger Powerhead - 190cc Briggs & Stratton Engine, Model# 9800B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

OIL CAPACITY = 18 oz.

,
June 22, 2014
By Scott26
from Tucson
"There. Hope that helps.
I haven't even used the unit yet, but I find it ridiculous that NOWHERE do they tell you how much oil this engine takes. They provide you with a quart of oil, and a clear admonishment NOT to overfill... But without a clue what the oil capacity is, you have to spend 20 minutes adding a couple ounces at a time, letting it settle, then checking the dipstick. Repeat. Would it be so hard to put a little note in the manual?
"OIL CAPACITY: Approx. 18 oz. (525 ml)"
Well, there. I've done it for you. You're welcome."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Ardisam Two-Person Briggs & Stratton-Powered Earth Auger Powerhead - 190cc Briggs & Stratton Engine, Model# 9800B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Product

,
February 4, 2014
By 36272
from Piedmont, AL
"Great piece of equipment. Makes fence building much easier and faster. Would have been a five star but it is hard to get it to idle until its warmed up."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Ardisam Two-Person Briggs & Stratton-Powered Earth Auger Powerhead - 190cc Briggs & Stratton Engine, Model# 9800B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This review is for the girls...

,
December 3, 2013
By bcMac
from Upstate SC
"My husband purchased this auger to install some gates and fencing on our property. I don't think he was too convinced that I would be able to help him.
Other than the auger being on the heavy side, the two of us were able to handle it just fine. I work in an office and I'm not really the outdoorsy type but I was able to hold my own. Just install the handles and the bit, and you're ready to go. I didn't have any problems pulling the auger and dirt from the hole. This is a great tool, and it beats using post hole diggers any day!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Ardisam Two-Person Briggs & Stratton-Powered Earth Auger Powerhead - 190cc Briggs & Stratton Engine, Model# 9800B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellant machine

,
April 10, 2012
By 19capehorn
from veince, louisiana
"I bought this auger for the sole use of planting pilings for my camp. I built an "A" frame and attached my Northern tool (1500lb) electric winch to it. I would spot the the holes and punch a 6" hole in the ground. The ground is mostly hard clay. I used a bucket of water to would lube the ground. The clutch makes some racket but does what its suppose to do. Upon reaching 5' feet i would hoist the bit out of the ground and re-attach my 10" bit. Same thing, i would lube it with water and procede to drilling. I would make several up and down trips with the winch. The first hole i went to fast/deep (12") into the ground with the 6" bit and made the winch struggle to get it out. 25 holes no problem, starts on the first pull everytime, did not use any oil, and sips gas. It took my son and I, 3 days to drill these. Thanks Northern?Ardison !!!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Ardisam Two-Person Briggs & Stratton-Powered Earth Auger Powerhead - 190cc Briggs & Stratton Engine, Model# 9800B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Auger Power Head

,
June 1, 2010
By John67
from Surprise, AZ
"This Auger has the power to get the job done! I have had no problems after countless holes!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Ardisam Two-Person Briggs & Stratton-Powered Earth Auger Powerhead - 190cc Briggs & Stratton Engine, Model# 9800B"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

good auger

,
October 19, 2009
By Micheel
from washington
"powerfurll and starts easil. Had no problems with aguer head
I would recommend this to anyone that need an auger head system.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Ardisam Two-Person Briggs & Stratton-Powered Earth Auger Powerhead - 190cc Briggs & Stratton Engine, Model# 9800B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Help

,
March 4, 2009
By Bernieeee
from VA
"This is a super machine. We've drilled hundreds of holes with it and encountered no problems. I seem to have misplaced my operating manual. When trying to start the engine to get ready for spring planting, we were unable to turn the engine over bypulling on the starter cord. If I remove the spark plug, it turns easily. This makes me think that the engine's compression is the problem. Can someone tell me if there is a pressure relief valve which must be opened in order to start it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Ardisam Two-Person Briggs & Stratton-Powered Earth Auger Powerhead - 190cc Briggs & Stratton Engine, Model# 9800B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy digging

,
April 18, 2008
By laidpack
from Raymond Ca
"this was the greatest investment i was able to plant 18 trees in less the 5 hours without this tool it would have taken me all day at least 10 to 11 hours. i recamend this to anyone who loves to plant trees but hate the manuel digging."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Ardisam Two-Person Briggs & Stratton-Powered Earth Auger Powerhead - 190cc Briggs & Stratton Engine, Model# 9800B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Briggs Stratto Earth Auger

,
October 30, 2007
By RanchMan
from Columbus, TX
"Got this honey at Northern Tools along with the 6" auger. My buddy and I were setting fence posts on the ranch and this auger did everything we asked it to. It even churned up rocks and roots and God knows what else. It's a little heavy to hustle from hole to hole but it's got the horsepower to do the job. Starts first time every time. Just remember to shut off the gas and let the gas in the carb burn out if you're going to store it for more than a couple of weeks. That way the gas won't turn into sludge and require a clean out.
RanchMan,
Austin County, Texas
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Ardisam Two-Person Briggs & Stratton-Powered Earth Auger Powerhead - 190cc Briggs & Stratton Engine, Model# 9800B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ardisam 2 man earth auger with B&S engine

,
July 10, 2007
By Blacky
from Central Illinois
"Recently purchased this item from Northern Tool Co.This unit is a real workhorse,the unit is equiped with a Briggs and Straton engine that starts with little effort, digs rapidly, and doesn't try to wrench itself out of your hands when a tree root or other obstacle is encountered.the ground that we were diging was very hard and dry, but the unit went right into the ground with no problems.The auger went right through tree roots approximately one inch in diameter.The biggest problem with this unit is it wore the two sixty + operators to a frazzle in the 90+ weather."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.