Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Powerhorse Mini Cultivator - 10in. Tilling Width, 43cc Viper Engine"

"Powerhorse Mini Cultivator - 10in. Tilling Width, 43cc Viper Engine"

Item# 191170
"The Powerhorse Mini Cultivator is a master of weeding, working with fertilizer and mixing soil. Its small size, light weight, and adjustable 7in. attached wheels and drag stake make it easy to maneuver through rows without damaging plants. While other mini-tillers struggle to make their way through soil, the Powerhorse Mini Cultivator glides through rows with ease. Tine Type Hardened steel, Displacement cc 43, Tire Size in. 7, Engine Viper, Application Cultivator, Overall Width in. 18, Depth in. 4, Working Width in. 6-10, Engine Type 2-cycle, Tines qty. 4. Four 7in. hardened steel tines for durability 250 RPM tine rotation Adjustable depth 7in. wheels and drag stake Foldable handles for easy storage Low-vibe grips for added comfort"
Average Customer Rating:
4.182 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (22 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
18 of 22(82%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Powerhorse Mini Cultivator - 10in. Tilling Width, 43cc Viper Engine"
Review 1 for "Powerhorse Mini Cultivator - 10in. Tilling Width, 43cc Viper Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I needed!!

,
June 21, 2015
By JBinBama
from Alabama
" This thing works great! Yea, it's small. And yes, you're not going to plow 4 acres with it, but, you can't beat it for what it's made for. I've used it 4 times to "weed" the garden. It's easy to control in previously plowed dirt. If you're expecting to break up hard, un-plowed dirt, don't buy it. That's not what it's for. This thing is much easier than hoeing. Like I said, it's a cultivator, not a 12 hp tiller. I have recommended it to several friends, and would recommend it to you also. Just remember what it's actually made for. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Powerhorse Mini Cultivator - 10in. Tilling Width, 43cc Viper Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

No Problems

,
June 3, 2015
By TillerSMK
from Berks, PA
" Once I received my Mini Cultivator, it was very easy to put together and get started with. I have a garden about 20x40 feet and it ate right through anything and everything, mixing the dirt up real good. I even used it to start a new planting area for grapes and raspberries. It chopped up the grass with ease. The only thing I found to be a small problem is that roots do tend to get tangled in-between the blades where every once in a while you will need to clear them from the blades, but I guess this is normal. It never lost power though, I just thought it might cause problems as the roots and vines were getting tangled. But, otherwise a very good cultivator for the average gardener. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Powerhorse Mini Cultivator - 10in. Tilling Width, 43cc Viper Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect Mini Tiller

,
May 17, 2015
By cmcdo
from Bunkie La
" Size is perfect for all my projects around the yard. Easy to learn to use. Just an awesome lil machine. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Powerhorse Mini Cultivator - 10in. Tilling Width, 43cc Viper Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very impressed

,
May 13, 2015
By Gmos
from Southern Maine
" Bought this unit only for keeping the walkway aisles clear of weeds in our 60' x 40' garden. after a quick assembly, fueled it up and it started and ran fine. I was surprised at how much power the little 2 stroke has. After, I noticed the plastic cover over the air cleaner was broken. I called the manufacturer and they shipped another to me which I received in a matter of days. Very satisfied with this equiptment! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Powerhorse Mini Cultivator - 10in. Tilling Width, 43cc Viper Engine"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Zero stars...

,
April 20, 2015
By Beatcoaster
from Snohmish, WA
" Product worked well the first time we used it last year, and we learned to work through it's quirks. After using it for probably 4 hours total last year, it was winterized and stored for the remainder of the year inside our garage. Just this past weekend we gassed and started it up, and it worked great for about an hour. All of the sudden while tilling loose soil it started making a squeaky metal on metal sound and completely seized up before I could even let off the throttle. Gas/oil mix is fine, used same batch in chainsaw and weed eater with zero issues. I can't even pull the cord because the piston is locked up. What we thought was a decent tool at a good price indeed turned out to be a complete waste of money and since we are just past the 1 year warrant mark, we are completely out of our money. What a waste/joke/etc. DO NOT BUY and save your money for a decent model!!! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Response from Northern Tool:By Northern ToolMay 18, 2015
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the less than positive experience with your tiller. It appears that you have contacted our Customer Service Department and had your concerns addressed. If we can assist in the future with your tiller please contact us at 800-222-5381.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Powerhorse Mini Cultivator - 10in. Tilling Width, 43cc Viper Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tiller

,
May 29, 2014
By DougI
from Harlan Ind
" I have had a small cultivator in the past and it worked well for 4 years but it did not have the power this one has.
The Powerhorse Mini Cultivator starts easy and really walks right through even rough ground. I always wanted to get an edger for my old unit but never thought it had enough power where this one does. This Powerhorse Mini has wheels on the back where my old one didn't and that will help me run an edger. I have never taken the time to write a review and didn't really believe most of them anyhow, but I feel this unit is worth the time.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Powerhorse Mini Cultivator - 10in. Tilling Width, 43cc Viper Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

lil tiller

,
May 25, 2014
By fcs2658
from Afton, Ok.
" Works great keeping soil loose very powerful for its size no complaints. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Powerhorse Mini Cultivator - 10in. Tilling Width, 43cc Viper Engine"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good tiller

,
May 23, 2014
By dthandyman
from New Albany, MS
" Tiller is very light weight & for the weight, it can hang with the best of them. Tills right through normal dirt but of course, heavy clods or packed dirt is too much for it to handle. It is not designed for heavy dirt. Easy to handle & use. I would recommend this for any normal garden or shrub needs. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Powerhorse Mini Cultivator - 10in. Tilling Width, 43cc Viper Engine"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Mini Culivator

,
May 21, 2014
By gld33
from Miller, S.D.
" Great little machine and I used it to till new soil that had been in grass. I'm very pleased with this unit. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Powerhorse Mini Cultivator - 10in. Tilling Width, 43cc Viper Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Replaced dead Mantis

,
May 19, 2014
By gone
from Finlayson MN
" First of all the Mantis died but not before a life of hard starts and carb adjustments. The Powerhouse starts easy and does the job. I debated the 2 cycle vs. the 4 cycle but went w/ the 2 cycles because I always have mixed fuel for the chainsaws, trimmers, blowers, etc. It is slightly loud and I use ear protection. I'm 5' 11" and I wish the handles were a bit longer, especially in my raised beds where the planting soil tends to be very soft. This is the first use of the cultivator but I'm very happy...and happy that this will replace a lot of time spent with my bigger tillers, too. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Powerhorse Mini Cultivator - 10in. Tilling Width, 43cc Viper Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerhorse mini cultivator

,
May 14, 2014
By spoondawg
from NC
" This is what I was looking for. Something small but sturdy for a little garden spot ( 10 x 30 ft.). worked well and use it every week to till between rows. Well fit for my needs. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Powerhorse Mini Cultivator - 10in. Tilling Width, 43cc Viper Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great tiller

,
April 2, 2014
By dogear49
from ms
" had a mantis before buying this little tiller. power is remarkly better,starts easily, and gets the job done with ease. only drawback is the vibration but this is expected with a 2 cycle engine. for the price and quality of this product you can,t beat it. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Powerhorse Mini Cultivator - 10in. Tilling Width, 43cc Viper Engine"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

disappointed

,
August 13, 2012
By seniorcitizen
from new york
" The item is overpriced. Not so easy to use because the engine is heavy which makes it un-stable and front heavy. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
-13points
8out of 29found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Powerhorse Mini Cultivator - 10in. Tilling Width, 43cc Viper Engine"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

powerhorse

,
May 14, 2012
By adam24
from Tyler, TX
" i was in need of something fast and easy to use, and this product exceeded my expectations. i tilled a 3' x 20' area for a flower bed,.. St. Augustine that was planted 2 years ago wasn't easy to cut through,. the ground was damp and the run's wrapped around the shaft making it hard to clean up after. but it powered through, never stopped or stalled. i ran for 45 minutes straight,.. 2 weeks later, cranked on second try and same results,. good product,.. would suggest it to anyone with the same project. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Powerhorse Mini Cultivator - 10in. Tilling Width, 43cc Viper Engine"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product and value

,
May 14, 2012
By KMack1
from Atlanta, GA
" This Powerhorse mini cultivator is a great tool for creating a garden bed or keeping one in good condition. It`s a great value equal to machines costing hundreds of dollars more. I would recommend this to anyone who what to make easy work of cultivating small to medium sized garden areas. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Powerhorse Mini Cultivator - 10in. Tilling Width, 43cc Viper Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Cultivator

,
January 19, 2012
By usnretired2001
from Virginia
" I don't know what those other people were so negative about this cultivator. It was so easy to put together and started right up. I'm not professional at all just a regular home owner. My wife has been very ill this past summer and our flower beds were in rough shape. I could not have gotten it done without this cultivator. Great product A+++ "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Powerhorse Mini Cultivator - 10in. Tilling Width, 43cc Viper Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product for the price.

,
August 22, 2011
By Roytheman
from Hudson, Fl
" This was my first time using a mini cultivator and I was supprised at how well it did its job. Prime it pull one time and it starts. The first time I used it I only did about 100 sq feet and it worked so well that I did the remaining 1200 sq feet the next week. No job to small no job to big. If you have a small or big yard this is the tool for you. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Powerhorse Mini Cultivator - 10in. Tilling Width, 43cc Viper Engine"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

junk!!

,
May 7, 2011
By nhbear
" Followed ALL directions for assembly, and start-up,this product ran for less then 10 minutes,stopped and after preforming ALL fixes on the trouble shooting guide, STILL has not run again since!!!! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-5points
5out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Powerhorse Mini Cultivator - 10in. Tilling Width, 43cc Viper Engine"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Dose not work as advertised

,
May 2, 2011
By PetrykJA
from Warren, MI
" I expected better quality from Norther Tool. Thge piece of equipment is not worth it's weight in scrap metal. I have had it for a week and used once and it has failed multiple times. I have gotten a total of a 4'x4' patch of dirt turned over in 6 hours due to this unit running for 10 min and requiring an hour to cool down to run. Personally would not suggest this item to anyone. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-3points
6out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
turbolarry
columbus ohio 
 
Please wait while more information about turbolarry is loaded.
Additional information about turbolarry could not be loaded.
i hope its an problem with the unit
April 8, 2012
" I cant say this is your issue, but far too many people buy 2 cycle engines and dont realize they need to mix oil with the gas or it will run a few minutes and sieze the piston due to lack of lubrication.This is a 2 cycle engineon this mini tiller. ive been working on lawn equip for 20 years and seen this too many times. sometimes they resart when they cool down but far too often the engine is ruined for good. not saying this is your case.but all 2 cycle engines require oil mixed in proper ratio to fuel to not sieze up.I`ve had this argument with people too many times on chainsaws and weed eaters. you test the gas in the unit No Oil. thier stupidity is not my error. its clearly states in the manual to mix the fuel with 2 cycle oil and the correct ratio for the unit. "
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Avatar
nhbear
New Hampshire 
 
Please wait while more information about nhbear is loaded.
Additional information about nhbear could not be loaded.
does not work as advertised
May 7, 2011
" I've had the same problem! Mine only ran for less than 10 min. stopped,and have not been able to get it running again at all!
not worth anything even for scrap! I may turn it into an expensive lawn ornament with a NORTHERN TOOL sign on it!
"
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comments (2)
Review 20 for "Powerhorse Mini Cultivator - 10in. Tilling Width, 43cc Viper Engine"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great For Small Jobs

,
March 21, 2011
By Truman
from Fort Worth, TX
" This culitvator was easy to put together and very easy to start. Used it on my 8' x 16' garden which had some grass a weeds. It had no problems with the grass or the soil. Also, used it on a small flower bed with compacted soil, again no problems. Easy to take apart and clean. Right now can't see any negatives for this product. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.