Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for NorthStar Edger/Trencher - 200cc Honda GX Engine

NorthStar Edger/Trencher - 200cc Honda GX Engine

Item# 191185
"This NorthStar Edger/Trencher is ideal for installing irrigation systems, underground cable and wiring, and for general landscaping. Powerful dual belt-driven trencher/edger offers 3-position adjustable blade depth, start/stop hand control, 14-gauge steel guards for safety, 4-wheel cart with 10in. pneumatic tires, powder-coat enamel finish and more Works as close as 9in. away from a building or fence. Not designed for edging sidewalks. Application Edger/trencher, Blade Size in. 1 1/2, Cutting Depth in. 7, Engine Honda GX200 OHV, Dimensions L x W x H in. 65 1/2 x 26 x 36 1/2, Frame Material Steel, Max. RPM 1,850, Tire Size in. 10, pneumatic. Dependable Honda GX200 Engine Cast iron sleeve for long-lasting quality Low oil shutdown protects engine 3-position adjustable cutting depth Carbide tip teeth on blade with 3/8in. thick blade body 3/4in. solid steel axles 10in. pneumatic tires roll over varying terrain 14 gauge steel guards for safety Hand control to start and stop the blade Sealed shaft bearings Carbide-tipped blade cuts a trench 7in. deep and 1 1/2in. wide with the blade supplied Blade speed 1850 RPM Dual belt drive system with idler pulley"
Average Customer Rating:
4.222 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (9 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
7 of 9(78%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
8 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for NorthStar Edger/Trencher - 200cc Honda GX Engine
Review 1 for NorthStar Edger/Trencher - 200cc Honda GX Engine
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

not a good show

,
January 21, 2014
By yarddr1
from bismarck ND
"this edging machine was the worst buy I have ever made in my 35 years! you can not use it on any side hill it shuts down because of the oil shut level. It also does not have enough power to cut any ground that is packed down or hard. Also the belts haven been replaced already wiith under 3hrs on this machine all and all its a BIG S SHOW"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for NorthStar Edger/Trencher - 200cc Honda GX Engine
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Belts are the weak link

,
July 11, 2013
By WyoGuy
from WY
"Used it for about 2 hours, cut about 200 feet of trench, and now the belts are so loose that I can no longer take up the slack. This unit need a much larger range of tension adjustment for the belts. The trencher works fine in very dry soil, but has problems in clay, especially when cutting a deep trench."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for NorthStar Edger/Trencher - 200cc Honda GX Engine
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Product, Does what it claims to!!

,
September 1, 2012
By sillymantoolsr4girls
from Hereford, AZ
"bought this trencher because I was so sick of digging trenches with a shovel. Where I live the ground is very hard clay. I just got through using it to dig a trench from my house to my horse corral, about 250 ft. and got the trench dug within 30 minutes and wasn't even breathing hard when I was through. As other reviews said, take your time, let the machine do the work .
All in all great product, will save me a lot of time and will help me get many projects finished that I have been putting off due to not wanting to break my back shoveling.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for NorthStar Edger/Trencher - 200cc Honda GX Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NorthStar Edger/Trencher

,
May 7, 2012
By GuyB
from Mechanicsville, VA
"I have used this piece of equipment as a trencher and it is the real deal. It may be slow but it sure beats digging a trench by hand. It tears through roots and stumps with ease. Just take your time. Use it as if you are getting paid by the hour."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for NorthStar Edger/Trencher - 200cc Honda GX Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Trencher

,
February 22, 2010
By RJS1
from Corpus Christi, TX
"The trencher was purchased to trench hard caliche soil for installing snake fencing and PVC irrigation. It arrived without a scratch. Easily assembled. Started with the first pull and went to work cutting easily through dirt which could not be hand dug."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for NorthStar Edger/Trencher - 200cc Honda GX Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

edger

,
March 17, 2009
By redfishking
from mississippi
"i have used the edger twice and after replacing the original belt it works like a charm, i really like it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for NorthStar Edger/Trencher - 200cc Honda GX Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northstar Edger /Trencher- 6.5 HP

,
August 26, 2008
By Handymanjoe
from Texas
"Recived the trencher was packed in box to give protection all was well packed and all parts were in box. All iinstructions were easy to read and were in box with unit.
Test run unit worked very good, engine starts easy all cables were conected and tight. Trencher does every thing I expected and have been more than pleased a very good machine. It is very easy to move during operation and dirt is piled along side unit as trench is diging making it easy to cover after doing work. This trencher digs a little slow and only 1 1/2" wide but a very good machine a good investment on my part.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for NorthStar Edger/Trencher - 200cc Honda GX Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Trencher

,
June 10, 2008
By Jackhammer
from Naples, FL
"Okay , here’s my take on this trencher. I retired to Southern Florida about 5 years ago and have 6 rental homes with good-sized lots to maintain. The lawns are st. augustine grass, which is the toughest grass made and has vines that are thick and tough. All homes down here have underground sprinkler systems. When the sprinkler systems were installed at my homes, obviously the drought conditions that we now have were not anticipated, and many more sprinkler heads are now required, especially with the water restriction of 1-2 days per week. I had several estimates to install additional sprinklers and was floored at the cost. My neighbors hired landscape companies to add to their sprinklers, which consisted of teams of men with broad shovels to dig the necessary trenches. It reminded me of the railroad section gang I worked on as a boy. When they were done it looked like a completed sewer project. I figured I’d go to a rental outlet and rent a trencher. Huge machines, big bucks to rent. Then I saw this trencher online and read the one and only review. The guy seemed to know what he was talking about so I ordered one. It came, I put it together...very easy. Only one thing wrong with the assembly instructions…the nut that secures the blade requires a 1-1/2” wrench, not 1-1/4”. It’s tight quarters under there, so I bought a 1-1/2” socket and a ¾”adapter for my ½” socket wrench, as the big socket is a ¾” drive. You know, it’s hotter than the dickens down here and I’ve dug trenches before, and between the tougher than tripe grass and the heat, it’s just not human to go out there by myself and start digging by hand. Anyway, I have dug several hundred feet so far with this trencher and it is a godsend. The machine is along the lines of something the top tiller manufacturer would make, as it is sturdy. The blade is something to behold. I took it out and inspected it and it is something I would defy you to break or bend. I’m a farm boy and appreciate good equipment. This is good equipment and has already paid for itself. What else can I say? For a single homeowner maybe it would be too much, but for me it’s as essential as a good mower. It’s pretty heavy and pushing or pulling it any distance in thick grass will wear you out. Any distance and I easily load it into my tilt yard cart and pull it to the next job with my lawn tractor. Hey, I play the game."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for NorthStar Edger/Trencher - 200cc Honda GX Engine
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Looks Like My Money's Worth

,
May 10, 2008
By HappySoFar
from Ben Lomond, CA
"I was worried about making this purchase. I couldn't find any reviews online and it's a lot of money. I've used many styles of trenchers in the past; from tractor mounted to ditch witches to irrigation / wiring trenchers like this one. North Star was the best price by far but I'd never used the brand before.
First impression is great. Very well packaged (bolted down to a wooden crate with solid cardboard box around it). Excellent paint job (I was pained to even get it dirty) and easy to assemble. I think the wheels should be of a little higher quality for the price but trenchers move slow so it shouldn't be a problem. They look plenty sturdy, just not precision-aligned through the center / bearings. The welds and very clean and the tubular steel is thick. And you can't beat a Honda engine.
The trencher is about 25% bigger than I thought it was going to be; that's a good thing. And I love the basic design: wheeled steel tray, engine, rotary digging blade; easy to run, easy to maintain and repair. My experience is that the rotary blade style works in a greater variety of soil conditions that does the much more expensive digging disk style (i.e. Groundsaw). I also believe this simple design is sturdier than the top-heavy Trenchmaster style. The drive belts are also more safely / completely enclosed than on the Trenchmaster.
I added engine oil / gas and the Honda engine started up instantly. I have several hundred yards of irrigation and underground wiring to install this summer. Looks good so far. I will post again once I've trenched a while.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.