Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Ingersoll Rand Hammerhead Impactool - 3/8in., 180 Ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# 2015MAX

Ingersoll Rand Hammerhead Impactool - 3/8in., 180 Ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# 2015MAX

Item# 19216
The Ingersoll Rand 3/8in. Hammerhead Impactool offers the power of an impact wrench with the reach of a ratchet. With 180 ft.-lbs. of torque and 7100 RPM, Hammerhead offers more than twice the power of the leading competitor's ratchet. Feather-touch trigger, 2-position power regulator and conveniently located forward/reverse ring provide precise control. Head height under 2in. and reactionless torque allow you to safely use this powerful tool in tight spaces. Inlet Size in. 1/4, Max. Torque ft.-lbs. 180, Min. Hose Size in. 3/8, Noise Level dB 96.6, Reversible Yes, Speed - No Load RPM 9,000, Variable Speed Yes, Average Air Consumption CFM 3.5, CFM at Load 19, Drive in. 3/8, Hammer Mechanism Advanced metallurgy, Impacts Per Minute IPM 2,100, Tool Length in. 13 1/8, Tool Weight lbs. 3.4, Working Torque ft.-lb. 45-160. Feather-touch trigger, 2-position forward power regulator, forward/reverse ring Head height under 2in. and reactionless torque for safe use in tight spaces Ergonomically sound rear exhaust system
Average Customer Rating:
4.8 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (10 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 of 10(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ingersoll Rand Hammerhead Impactool - 3/8in., 180 Ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# 2015MAX
Review 1 for Ingersoll Rand Hammerhead Impactool - 3/8in., 180 Ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# 2015MAX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This thing is really awesome

,
July 30, 2013
By CaptainAmerica
from Central IL
"This thing has serious strength. It hits hard like a impact and it is small like a ratchet. had enough power to tighten spring compressor during a Jeep Cherokee lift kit install."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ingersoll Rand Hammerhead Impactool - 3/8in., 180 Ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# 2015MAX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for tight spaces

,
April 23, 2013
By KrazyKarl
from TX
"After spending many afternoons trying to get a breaker bar into tight spaces to work loose stuck bolts on my car, I'd long wished for a tool like this, assuming it didn't exist. Then, I stumbled upon it and snatched it up and boy was that a great decision. This does a great job as a light-duty impact wrench, but will also completely replace your air ratchet, as it's about a billion times faster than any air ratchet I've ever used. This was invaluable for replacing the thermostat on my car, as well as working on suspension components in tight spaces. Every time I use it, I wonder how I ever lived with out it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ingersoll Rand Hammerhead Impactool - 3/8in., 180 Ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# 2015MAX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

the real hammer head!

,
October 15, 2012
By cintronot
from daytona beach, fl
"spent so much money and time finding the all around impact that will fit tight spaces and did not brake the harware. FOUND IT! for over a year i have been using the 3/8 hammerhead and sometimes with a 3/8 to 1/2 adapter. removing automotive bumper bolts where sometimes a hand can not fit. have also done a lot of suspension work where once again fit is the key. the brutal setting has removed lug nuts and even time to time some AXLE NUTS, yet the lighter setting manages small 1/4-20 with care. if you have good common sense this tool can be the only impact/ratchet you will need to buy. specialy recommend to the DIYer at home, for those that love to own/use lazy tools. works with any compressor, I know."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ingersoll Rand Hammerhead Impactool - 3/8in., 180 Ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# 2015MAX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent tool

,
August 20, 2012
By scooter10572
from pittsburgh pa
"This is a very handy tool to have for working on cars,it takes a lot of work away from the tech breaking loose bolts. Its very good for engine and drivetrain work it has plenty of power and is small enough to get into most places."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ingersoll Rand Hammerhead Impactool - 3/8in., 180 Ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# 2015MAX
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

IR 2015MAX REVIEW

,
May 7, 2012
By Zomz
from Pittsburgh, PA
"This is a great concept, and can't believe it wasn't created (or at least I didn't know about it) sooner! This is perfect since it fills the gap between a conventional impact gun and an air ratchet. Has great power for what it is, and at this point hasn't been stalled by normal use (no rusty siezed fastners).
The only negative I see, and the reason for 4 stars, is that it is a little larger than I had expected and still can be large to fit into some places. Glad I got the 3/8" and am able to use smaller sockets."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ingersoll Rand Hammerhead Impactool - 3/8in., 180 Ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# 2015MAX
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Good Tool

,
January 21, 2012
By DrkMtnDew
from Pocatello, ID
"I am not a big fan of air ratchets because the are loud and lack speed. this isn't quiet but it is sooo much faster. loosens almost every bolt you put in on, but there have been a few lug nuts that stopped it cold."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ingersoll Rand Hammerhead Impactool - 3/8in., 180 Ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# 2015MAX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awsome tool

,
January 19, 2012
By jskay435
from Chickamauga, GA
"I wish I had one of these a long time ago. Great tool and powerful. I've been working on heavy equipment for 15 years."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ingersoll Rand Hammerhead Impactool - 3/8in., 180 Ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# 2015MAX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

3/8 inch IR Hammerhead Impact Tool

,
October 10, 2011
By Lostsol75
from Montana
"I just would like to say that I love the ability to tighten/loosen things that would otherwise defeat an air-ratchet, and to be able to do so without cracking my knuckles is an extra treat! I also love the ability to regulate the power, this trigger is excellant! That's the long and short of it, Outstanding Product!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ingersoll Rand Hammerhead Impactool - 3/8in., 180 Ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# 2015MAX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

What Every Mechanic Always Wanted

,
October 10, 2011
By BigEarl
from Vancleave, MS
"This tool provides extremely fast removal of engine accessory brackets and other automotive and machinery hardware in tight quarters. This is the perfect solution if you have ever wanted to use your impact wrench, but it just would not fit lengthwise where needed. It has a great feel, and it can be throttled with the trigger valve.
Just remember banged knuckles with air ratchets, or the frustration of limited room to swing a ratchet wrench--this tool solves those problems. There is almost NO noticeable reaction to hammering on a bolt, so no dinged knuckles or fingers. It is capable of immediately loosening most automotive hardware such as mounting brackets, exhaust system hangers, spark plugs, some injectors, transmission and engine pan bolts, cover plate bolts, safety guard mounting bolts--and the list goes on.
Furthermore, except for extremely small hardware, it will not twist off bolts in the forward direction like an impact wrench might. Spin-off and spin-down are extremely fast. If you use pneumatic tools in your shop, this will quickly become a favorite, and will get plenty of use. I would expect this tool to last decades using relatively dry air, daily oil, and grease as directed in the literature. In case you can't tell, I'm delighted with the “Hammerhead.”
The only down side is price, but you will never be sorry you bought the tool whether you are a do-it-yourselfer or a professional. It will quickly pay for itself in business.
I operate a service-type business and have to maintain all my equipment myself to make a profit. This includes tractor & attachments, track hoe, stump grinders, wheel loader, hydraulic mowing and clearing attachments, bucket/chip truck, trailers, diesel air compressor and pickup trucks. This tool is well suited where there is no time to waste on repairs."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ingersoll Rand Hammerhead Impactool - 3/8in., 180 Ft.-Lbs. Torque, Model# 2015MAX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

pheonom

,
June 13, 2011
By Woodzy
"This is the fastest most powerful air ratchet you can get. If head size does not matter do not hesitate to get one of these. I have had this since it was released. now i have two of them one of each size 3/8 and 1/2 drive size.
hands down beats all other air ratchets
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.