Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder

Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder

Item# 193020
Versatile unit can be mounted on your workbench or wall for best results when sharpening your saw chain. Adjustable angle and large handle allow easy operation. Sharpens chains from 1/4in. to 3/4in. pitch. 110V, 60 Hz motor operates at 3600 RPM. 230 Watt motor input power. Includes lamp and disc guards and three grinding discs at 1/8in., 3/16in. and 1/4in. thickness. Mount Type Bench/wall, Bore Diameter in. 7/8, Wheel Diameter in. 5 11/16, Watts 230, Motor 60 Hz, Arbor Size in. 7/8, Volts 110, Rated RPM 3,600, Bolt Hole Shape Round, Assembly Required Yes, Wheel Included Yes 3, Product Type Grinder, Chain Pitch in. 1/4-3/4. Large handle for better control while sharpening Protective shield for added safety 15W light for better visibility while sharpening Easy adjustment knobs for different pitches and chain gauges Chain must be removed from saw before sharpening
Average Customer Rating:
4.536 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(493 Reviews) 493
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (493 reviews)
5 stars
308
4 stars
159
3 stars
14
2 stars
6
1 star
6
475 of 493(96%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
28 Questions | 91 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

chaingrinder

,
April 16, 2014
By qwerty123456ggfr
from Pittsburgh
"For the price the quality and function are better than I would have expected.
The manual is very poor. Not clear and leaves out needed info.
That being said I was able to use it with very good results in about 1/2 hour of setup
Does the job and I will expect it to last a long time
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Industrial Sharpener

,
April 13, 2014
By WoodHoarder
from Iowa
"Works great. We have the $400 Oregon sharpener at work that I use frequently & this one works just AS GOOD! However there are 3 things that I wish were a little better:(1) the chain vise/clamp. When you clamp the chain in place it is done by swinging a lever which wedges the chain tight. Kinda clunky but works fine, just could use some refinement. (2) needs a stop for how far the motor can swing up. The spring that keeps the cutting head from resting on the table is heavy duty & takes the motor all the way up as far as it can go, which causes you to reach for it on every grind. I put a string on it which only lets it raise up half way & eliminated a lot of reaching. Again no big deal. & (3) the table locking screw/knob that you use to tighten the table down is made of pretty cheap plastic. In order to get the table saddle secure you have to tighten the knob pretty good, after a few times the nut that is embedded in the plastic knob will come out. I just took the nut out & use a wrench to tighten the table down now & tossed the plastic knob. The table doesn't have to be super tight but tight enough to keep it from moving so you get a consistent cut on the chain. Again these aren't a deal breaker by any means. Side by side with the expensive Oregon unit, I would still recommend this one all day long!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

best product ever

,
February 7, 2014
By vr1964
from shingle springs ca
"I bought this sharpener for home use, then got one for the 2 golf courses I work for because of the quality and ease of use and operation, would definitely recommend to anyone"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
6out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

versatile machine

,
February 6, 2014
By timberking1
from salisbury, nc
"I have tried chain grinders from other sources and found none have even come close to the quality of this product. I am a "hobby" logger with a number of chain saws and a bandsaw saw mill. I use this grinder for all my chains and found it does a really nice job. Instructions are not a problem if you have any mechanical ability. I also use this grinder to sharpen my bandsaw blades (with an attachment I made). Thinking of buying a second so I can use one for each purpose."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good

,
February 6, 2014
By leej
from Holyoke
"This works great I have two of them for the price can't beat it"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good home sharpener

,
February 5, 2014
By NJfarmer
from Central, NJ
"This sharpener was easy to set up although the instructions were a little weak. I was able to set it up and sharpen my first blade in 15 minutes and am very happy with the results. It feels a little light for heavy duty use but I have used it to cut a dozen blades so far."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Sharpener

,
February 5, 2014
By Arizhandyman
from Eagar,AZ
"Purchased this sharpener two years ago and have used it to sharpen my 25 inch Stihl and my 20 inch Husquvarna does a great job as good as the more expensive ones and just as reliable."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best chain sharpener

,
February 4, 2014
By Afiesta
from Texas Panhandle
"I have used different ways to sharpen chain saw chains, and this is by far the best I have ever used. It is fast, and it is accurate. My chainsaw chains have never been so sharp. Should have had one years ago."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
February 4, 2014
By CK74
from Beaufort SC
"Love this sharpener! I heat during the winter with my wood stove insert, and had been hand sharpening or taking the chains to the shop, now I just spend a few minutes a chain and get just as good or better results then my local shop. Takes a little time to get used to it, but wish I would have bought it years ago."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chain sharpner

,
February 4, 2014
By IWas
from Evans City, PA.
"It takes a little tinkering but once you figure the best way to us it works great. First chain I sharpened is still on my saw and I have cut down and cut up 3 med, sized trees (about a pick-up load) with it and it was still cutting great.
when I finished
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Save time and money

,
February 4, 2014
By Mechanic1946
from Fredericksburg, TX
"I purchased this product mainly because of the price. I soon found out that it preforms just as well as the name brands. I was a little leary at first; reading some of the reviews got me nervous about assembling it, but if you are any kind of handyman you can figure it out. They package different thicknesses of grinding wheels and with the adjustability of the machine, you can sharpen almost any chain. There is nothing else to buy to be able to sharpen your chain within minutes. The motor doesn't strain and is reasonably quiet. I have paid for it many times over. Thanks Northern for another quality product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Tool chain sharpener

,
February 4, 2014
By macrjohna8krh
from Hemet, Ca.
"I read reviews before purchase, and decided to purchase. The chain sharpener is easy to assemble, and after I figured out how to correctly put chain in the guide, it worked well and was very nice to have. Will surely get the intended use out of it. After a little over a month, it has already paid for its self."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good sharpener

,
February 4, 2014
By abcdetg
from north carolina
"Great for small production. Larger scale not so good. Easy to use. I like it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good buy for the price

,
February 4, 2014
By Farmforfun
from Iowa
"While I read other reviews on this sharpener long before I purchased it and I agree with others, yes it takes a little to get it set up and maybe the instructions are a little unclear do not let that be the reason you over look this sharpener. I am no professional, just a farmer that uses my chainsaw on a weekly basis and I got tired of paying $5 to $8 a chain to have them sharpened. I purchased this sharpener and mounted it on a sturdy table and set up a chair where I could be comfortable and I have had this tool for about 4 months and I actually look forward to sitting down and sharpening a few chains. This tool has already paid for itself and is a great addition to my shop."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy to use

,
February 4, 2014
By throbak
from Indiana
"After receiving the sharper,I became very familiar with it and watched a video a few times, went to the barn, set it up and went to work, no problems, even the first time using it.Going over it before use and knowing each parts function was the key. Would recommend it to any one Waited too long getting this machine."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bench-Wall Mount Saw Chain Sharpener

,
February 4, 2014
By Wallymortar
from Pennsylvania
"I owned a cheaper, less sophisticated sharpener that was fine for dressing up saw chains but I wanted a more sophisticated sharpener like the professional sharpener I used in my youth in my uncle's saw sharpening shop. This sharpener has precision adjustments for all parameters required to professionally sharpen saw chains like stone pitch angle and saw chain tilt in addition to normal saw chain sharpener adjustments. Adjustment knobs are professional grade, making adjustments and operation easy. Chains sharpened on this sharpener are sharpened with professional results."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

nice addition

,
February 4, 2014
By hermy2374
from iowa
"I have 5 saws I run and hand sharpen all my own chains.
This works very good for a chain if you have hit something on on one side and the saw is cutting sideways. This unit sharpens both sides evenly to get it back cutting straight. I have already reworked around 50 chains for myself and my buddies that would have otherwise been thrown away.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

My chain grinder

,
February 4, 2014
By bbeforec
from 30707
"I mounted my grinder on a 2' 2"x10" which I clamp to my saw horses when in use. I have owned the grinder for three years and am very satisfied with the easy of use and results. I keep three or more chains for my saw and when I get to the last one I set-up and in short time have sharp chains ready for their next job."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chain Saw Chain Sharpener - Great !!

,
February 4, 2014
By Tommybill
from Indiana
"I have had problems in the past keeping my chains for my chain saws sharp. Always buying new chains as I could not keep them sharp. Tried the manual file sharpener and small electric you put on the chain. I could never consistently get them sharp and with right angle. Purchased this sharpener and it works wonders. My chains are sharp every time and consistent. The only trick was to understand the angle settings to get the right angles and having the right thickness grinding wheels. I have 2 different size chain saws and by simple adjustments I can quickly switch from one to the other. This is great for the non-professional chain saw user. Have had no issues with it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great value

,
February 4, 2014
By tomtarr
from cookeville tn
"i am really pleased with this saw sharpner.it saves me a lot money on new saw chains.it is easy to use and saves a lot of work from hand sharpning.great product"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.