Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder

Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder

Item# 193020
Versatile unit can be mounted on your workbench or wall for best results when sharpening your saw chain. Adjustable angle and large handle allow easy operation. Sharpens chains from 1/4in. to 3/4in. pitch. 110V, 60 Hz motor operates at 3600 RPM. 230 Watt motor input power. Includes lamp and disc guards and three grinding discs at 1/8in., 3/16in. and 1/4in. thickness. Bolt Hole Shape Round, Bore Diameter in. 7/8, Arbor Size in. 7/8, Volts 110, Watts 230, Wheel Diameter in. 5 11/16, Chain Pitch in. 1/4-3/4, Product Type Grinder, Rated RPM 3,600, Assembly Required Yes, Motor 60 Hz, Wheel Included Yes 3, Mount Type Bench/wall. Large handle for better control while sharpening Protective shield for added safety 15W light for better visibility while sharpening Easy adjustment knobs for different pitches and chain gauges Chain must be removed from saw before sharpening
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (16 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 of 16(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
29 Questions | 92 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Shapening

,
May 20, 2014
By 1Jas
from NH
"I set this grinder up to sharpen blades for my Saw Mill Band Saw. It does a great job sharping the teeth for the 1.5 inch x 144 inch band saw blades. It cuts a 16 foot board out of a log in about 30 seconds, just like new blades."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

performance review

,
May 4, 2014
By Donallen
from Brookville, PA
"Instructions for setting up was a little unclear but any one with reasonable mechanical ability will figure it out. There is left to right play in the pull down so be sure to pull down and away from the tooth till you get use to the play. I sharpened a chain that I was ready to throw out and the chain cut like a new chain and performed well through three full takes of fuel through my saw. That was three face cord of wood. I resharpened that chain 2 more times and got the same performance. Now I am sharpening chains for friends and they are pleased with the performance of the chains I have sharpened using my Northern Tool Chainsaw sharpener!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Industrial Sharpener

,
April 13, 2014
By WoodHoarder
from Iowa
"Works great. We have the $400 Oregon sharpener at work that I use frequently & this one works just AS GOOD! However there are 3 things that I wish were a little better:(1) the chain vise/clamp. When you clamp the chain in place it is done by swinging a lever which wedges the chain tight. Kinda clunky but works fine, just could use some refinement. (2) needs a stop for how far the motor can swing up. The spring that keeps the cutting head from resting on the table is heavy duty & takes the motor all the way up as far as it can go, which causes you to reach for it on every grind. I put a string on it which only lets it raise up half way & eliminated a lot of reaching. Again no big deal. & (3) the table locking screw/knob that you use to tighten the table down is made of pretty cheap plastic. In order to get the table saddle secure you have to tighten the knob pretty good, after a few times the nut that is embedded in the plastic knob will come out. I just took the nut out & use a wrench to tighten the table down now & tossed the plastic knob. The table doesn't have to be super tight but tight enough to keep it from moving so you get a consistent cut on the chain. Again these aren't a deal breaker by any means. Side by side with the expensive Oregon unit, I would still recommend this one all day long!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Money Saver

,
October 8, 2012
By tinmanbts51
from Fowlerville, Mi.
"After using the Northern Industrial bench or wall mount chain grinder I've come to realize that this tool will save me at least 7 dollars per chain that I would be paying somebody to sharpen. Also i'm not driving 11 miles to drop my chains off, then go home, wait for the call that there done. Drive back 1 to 3 days later. Go pick up the chains, then drive home again .That's 44 miles!! This tool sharpens my chains to the point of as good as a new chain. The company that was doing my chains were obviously hand sharpening. I am very pleased with this product. It was money well spent. I had to get help from a friend to show me how to use this product. The directions just confused me. After about 20 minutes I mastered the process. I'm glad I made the investment in this tool. It doesn't feel cheaply made, it looks and feels very durable."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

awful instruction manual

,
January 12, 2012
By mvintx
from Beattie, TX
"The sharpener appears to be pretty well made. Assembly was easy and I was sharpening my first chain as soon as I figured out what settings I had to use. I keep several new chains on hand and none of them had any information as to the sharpening angles or depth. The table in back of the manual was of little or no help. Fortunately my Echo chain saw manual had the specs and then using an Oregon manual, I was able to set up the machine. The Northern Industrial manual is very hard to read because of the tiny print and the small photos are of little help in assembling or operating the machine. I went to Oregon's website and downloaded their manual for what looks like an identical sharpener. The instructions were much better written and the many pictures and illustrations helped me understand how to operate the machine.
There are basically two operations when you sharpen a chain. First, you sharpen the teeth and second, you grind down the depth guide. That's basically it. I've sharpened only one chain so far and I'll update this review after I've used it.
3 stars for the crummy instruction manual."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
GilA
Concordia, MO 
 
Please wait while more information about GilA is loaded.
Additional information about GilA could not be loaded.
Sharpener manual
January 31, 2012
"Agree, that it comes with a VERY POOR instruction manual. Print way too small and instruction not very clear. I also downloaded the Oregon manual and a Stihl manual, both are much better. Stihl is the best. Oregon and Stihl units are very similar to this unit but much more costly. Just purchased this unit and it seems to be the best for the price available, and I checked out many. Used it once and so far very good results."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Simple and quick to use

,
October 17, 2011
By jiron
from Snyder, Tx
"The Northern Industrial chain saw sharpener is simple to assemble and easy to use. I put it together in less than thirty minutes. I have sharpened over fifty chains with it and have had no problems. I would recommend cleaning chains before sharpening."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saw Chain Sharpener

,
August 30, 2010
By woodshopfun
from Powell, WY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"We use an upwards of 10 cords of firewood a year, so using and taking care of a chain saw is up on my priority list. I had been sharpening my own chains for years, using a bar mounted sharpener. This works pretty fair, but after a few sharpenings, I would have to take the chain in to the local saw shop and get it touched up.
After reading many reviews, and looking at various brands of bench mounted sharpeners, I settled on the Northern Industrial model. I purchased this sharpener about a year ago, and used it many times during the winter cutting season. Set up was fairly easy, and after sharpening a couple of chains, the sharpener was quite easy to use. I feel that this sharpener is well worth the money, maybe it doesn't compare to a professional sharpener, but for heavy home use it rates at the top of my list.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Saw Chain Sharpener

,
June 4, 2010
By weekendwoodsmen
from se wi
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"sharpener worked well,directions are not clear.
once set up it takes 10 minutes to sharpen 20 in chain.
Works much better than any files I have used,gets the chain angles right every time.used this sharpener for A year good value.
I would buy it again
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Idustrial Bench/wall chain sharpener

,
May 31, 2010
By patriot134129
from Greenville, S.C.
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"To the facts. I have always been skepticle about reviews. However before I purchased this sharpener, I read the reviews & tried to read between the lines. Most were good reviews. But! Not until I received my sharpener did I know I had made a good purchase, & really did I not know until I had tried out the first old chain I sharpen that had long been thrown to the side. It was as good cutting as any new chain I've ever used. And, I thought setup would be a work in progressive intervals, NOT SO, this unit went together for me like I had acquired a new thought process. Setting the blade to the chain was as simple as eating hot apple pie. Staying to point here; This unit, especially for the money is as good as it gets for positive results.
I am a skilled tradesman and know the benefit of good equipment. This unit will play an important part with my works and I believe for those that have purpose for sound investment in quality/economy tools this unit will standout. I mounted mine to a 2x8 board that could be moved easily wherever I needed it & clamp down for use. All fact, hope it helps you.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Everyone needs one!

,
May 31, 2010
By nhtim
from New Hampshire
"Last year I was helping a friend clear some land, we would go there everyday and at the end of each day, came the job of filing the chain saws, which always took forever as most days we had to do it several times in the woods... I purchased the Northern Industrial Bench- or Wall-Mount Saw Chain Sharpener and life seen to instantly become better. Now we only needed to sharpen the saws once a day as it was so sharp, they lasted for hours of continuious cutting. Days end would only take about 15 minutes to sharpen all the four saws we each used. Awesome product..."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saw Chain Sharpener

,
May 24, 2010
By jammer
from N.E. Okla
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This tool is the greatest! A little hard to set up due to the instructions but well worth the time. I have only sharpened 3 chains but they cut better than when I had them professionally sharpened. At this rate it will pay for itself this year."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bang for the Buck

,
February 19, 2010
By lambomt2
from Belgrade, MT
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I purchased this tool a few years ago, and it has not let me down. I cut fire wood for my own residential use, so in terms of use - this sharpener sees a chain about 3-4 times per year. I typically will even up the chain every 2 cords of firewood.
So far wear is very good, no vibration issues. Quality is stout. For the money I see little room for improvement. For this reason - 5 stars.
Though the assembly instructions were lacking, if you're the type of person to take a grinder to your own chain, then you'll be able to figure this out.
The only issue I encountered (and this was mostly due to lack of practice and familiarity with the tool) was the depth adjustment can move on you if you do not tighten it sufficiently. In addition, when switching edges, ensure you are consistent from side to side, on the adjustments. These are really not deficits though - simply items that I became more proficient with as I used the tool more.
I also wanted a way to temporarily mount the grinder to a vice. I simply mounted a 2x2 board to the base and it works like a champ - making this tool a bit more portable."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Simply "Rocks" w/ this Sharpener!

,
July 20, 2009
By JimmerJKM
from Richford, Vermont
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"1st off, NORTHERN STANDS BEHIND THIER PRODUCT!
I ordered this sharpener and sharpened my first chain ever not using a file! It was like buying a whole new chain saw! I kid you not! If you carefully set it up with the depth settings and angles (pretty easy to do) you can make that chain like new in about 5 min or so, WITHOUT loosing half of your chain as is the perception.
I live off grid up in the mountians, using lots of items from Northern, and my sharpener arrived w/ a slight wobble in the grind disc, and they sent a new unit, "No Questions Asked"! AND because of my remote location, gas prices and traveling to a UPS store, even sent the new one to exchange with the delivery driver!
Not once have I ever been dissapointed with the product purchased from Northern. I can rest assured that if I was, it would not be a problem with a refund, exchange or repair. Northern simply ROCKS!
-Jimmer, Northern Vermont on the Canadian border!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

jbach

,
August 11, 2008
By arden
from Lombard, Illinois
"Just received my new Northern Industrial Bench or Wall-Mount Saw Chain Sharpener. This tool works better than I expected. Setup is easy for sharpening. The first chain sharpened took a little while to finish but after the tenth one could do blindfolded. I used to send mine out for service but no more. The outside service changed the angle and that cut down on the cutting speed and time the blade stayed sharp. I have showed this unit to a couple people and sure one of them is getting his own."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Fast & Easy

,
April 15, 2008
By GarageMechanic
from Hughesville, MD
"Recently bought the Northern Industrial Bench / Wall-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener to eliminate taken my 12 chains (various lengths & sizes) out for sharpening. Great deal on sale and results where better than expected. Now I sharpen family, friends and neighbors chains. Easy to use."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

,
January 14, 2008
By deweye
from Versailles, Ky.
"I had looked at other saw chain sharpeners, but they all appeared very cheap and fragile. Mostly plastic. I was very pleased with the Northern Industrial Bench or Wall-Mount Saw Chain Sharpener that I received recently. It is very well constructed, very solid. One of the sharpening wheels was broken when I received it. But, it only took an email to your customer service department and I had a replacement in no time. All in all I am very pleased with my purchase and would not hesitate to recommend it to some of my friends. Thanks."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.