Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder

Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder

Item# 193020
Versatile unit can be mounted on your workbench or wall for best results when sharpening your saw chain. Adjustable angle and large handle allow easy operation. Sharpens chains from 1/4in. to 3/4in. pitch. 110V, 60 Hz motor operates at 3600 RPM. 230 Watt motor input power. Includes lamp and disc guards and three grinding discs at 1/8in., 3/16in. and 1/4in. thickness. Watts 230, Wheel Included Yes 3, Chain Pitch in. 1/4-3/4, Wheel Diameter in. 5 11/16, Rated RPM 3,600, Mount Type Bench/wall, Volts 110, Motor 60 Hz, Assembly Required Yes, Bore Diameter in. 7/8, Bolt Hole Shape Round, Product Type Grinder, Arbor Size in. 7/8. Large handle for better control while sharpening Protective shield for added safety 15W light for better visibility while sharpening Easy adjustment knobs for different pitches and chain gauges Chain must be removed from saw before sharpening
Average Customer Rating:
4.536 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(493 Reviews) 493
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (493 reviews)
5 stars
308
4 stars
159
3 stars
14
2 stars
6
1 star
6
475 of 493(96%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
29 Questions | 91 Answers
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Review 21 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well

,
February 4, 2014
By Waterdude
from ky
"This item works very well and has already paid for itself. I use my chainsaw to cut up old houses. I routinely hit nails and wiring. Being able to sharpen chains at home has been great."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great tool!

,
February 4, 2014
By BirdieLouise
from Texas
"This sharpener works great and has saved me many hours of frustration with dull chain saws. It's takes a little time to set up initially and figure out the technique but then it is awesome. Get it!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

sharpener

,
February 4, 2014
By Bucksavage
from Wichita, Kansas
"The best move I ever made buying this product I cut a lot of wood and this helps me get it done. Saves a lot of money on chains."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good quailty

,
February 4, 2014
By Mickeymouse1666
from Stony point, New York
"I own my own landscaping company and I have to chain saw with three chains for each saw at the end of the month we sharpen all our chains. It can get quite expensive if u hire out for this, this sharpen allows us to save money and to not brake the bank of a super heavy duty sharpener. For us this was a great buy"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chain Sharpener

,
February 4, 2014
By Rob64
from North Central PA
"I purchased this sharpener in November 2013. I was skeptical and researched several models. I have an outside wood burner @ home that I cut wood for and we have a camp. I cut about 20 cords of wood a year so my saw gets used fairly hard. I just replaced my chain prior to purchasing this unit. I kept my old chain which was in rough shape. After assembly and mounting the unit to my work bench. I first used the unit on my old chain that I thought was wore out. It did an excellent job reviving the old chain. I am still using the old chain and it cuts like new. I rotate the old & new chains between sharpenings. It is quick & easy. From start to finish is less than 5 minutes which includes removing the chain from the bar and reinstalling it after sharpening. I usually get about 4 tanks of gas between sharpenings. So it does a decent job holding an edge on the teeth."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great set up

,
February 4, 2014
By stryker82nd
from NY
"I cut around 8-10 full cords of wood a year and my father in law the same or more and we both use this for all of our saws. It works great and keeps us going. is easy to use as others have stated and the set up is easier if you use the you tube video."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Tool

,
October 30, 2013
By Outpost22
from Oregon
"Very nice tool. As everyone has stated, the instructions are useless. Go to YouTube for the correct way to set up the tool. This tool should have a DVD with it for first time users. Assuming that everyone that buys this tool only needs a minimal uninformative manual is a mistake.
After watching a video, I bolted the tool to an 18"- 2x4. This way it can be placed in a bench vise and be rock solid when used, and easy to store when not. I drilled a 1" hole into the end of the board and just hang it on a "J" hook on the shop wall. No sense taking up valuable counter room when not in use. Evidently it can also be wall mounted, but I chose not to.
The tool itself will do a nice job of taking care of your sharpening needs. It really doesn't take much time at all once you have your settings adjusted.
I recommend it for the DIY person.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Tool

,
September 23, 2013
By Camoski
from VA
"This is my first shot at owning/using an electric chainsaw chain sharpener. Decent tool once set-up. As others have already said, the instructions are useless, but there are a few good videos available on youtube that show proper use of the grinder. Sharpened three chains in about 10 minutes, could have gone faster, but had no reason to. Chains went from throwing sawdust before sharpening to throwing nice wood chips after sharpening. My only complaint is the table tilt/angle adjustment; it does not swivel easily and is difficult to adjust both the angle and tilt at the same time."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
10out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does what it says it will do

,
September 17, 2013
By Jabroni131
from Pennsylvania
"Fairly solid for the price that you will pay for this. People complain about the directions being vague, I'm not sure as I didn't read them. If you have any mechanical ability, which you should if you are running a chainsaw, you can figure out how she goes together. The only paper you need from the box is the settings for each chain manufacture and size. Had a couple old chains hanging in the garage that I had given up on and this brought them back to life."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well when you get it set up

,
August 3, 2013
By Tretiak
from Getzville, NY
"Per the other 400+ reviews that say the users manual is useless, that is 100% accurate. The only thing it is really good for is the chain angle/grinder settings. Lots of stuff was loose when I set this up and many things worked loose the first time I sharpened an 18" Husqvarna chain. The locking nut on the cam lock for the chain holder came loose. BE CAREFUL if you have to take this carriage apart - there are two small ball bearings underneath that could easily bounce away and they are NOT shown in the schematic in the lame owners manual.
I used some red thread lock on the top and bottom cam lock nuts and had to use a screwdriver to tighten the top nut back into place - it's about 1/8" thick and no wrench on earth would fit that tight of a space and the cam lock handle looked like a real pain to remove. Once I got that fixed and figured out the settings, the unit worked well. It's a good idea to quickly review settings every few sharpenings as things can move around. Overall, it works well and I would agree with other reviewers that buying the Oregon wheels would be a good idea. The ones that came with the unit were chipped. Bottom line is that it's sort of a pain to set up, but it rocks once you figure it out. No more 3 days of downtime and paying $6 per chain at the hardware store. I was able to sharpen 5 chains in less than 15 minutes when I got rolling so it will speed up a lot of jobs that get interrupted by dull chains."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good value for the price

,
June 16, 2013
By jpjac
from Storrs, CT
"Overall this grinder works rather well for the price. The user guide could be written better and could be difficult for someone not used to sharpening chains. The depth stop could be designed better as with a little extra pressure one can easily push the grinding wheel deeper, best if just done by eye. The spacers in the chain rail are too wide and when you go to lock the chain in place it rocks/tips, I replaced the spacers with two flat washers and now the chain stays upright. Another issue is the turn knob for the tooth stop, each time the stop is flipped up to advance the chain the knob also moves and loosens, a quick fix was to put teflon tape on the threads. The bottom line is this sharpener once set-up works very well and very fast."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tried and True

,
April 25, 2013
By OkieWoodcutter
from Pawnee, OK
"I normally cut between 10 and 15 ricks of firewood each season. As an old firewood cutter, I have always touched up my chainsaw chains in the woods, using a file. That works fine for a few times, but if your not an expert, you will eventually have uneven cutters, and need to have them trued up by a chainsaw shop. I have been paying $5.00 per chain to have my chains sharpened by a professional. I decided that at this price, I would give it a try. It takes about 15 minutes to assemble and adjust the sharpener, and a little more, if you mount it on a bench, as I have done. I did a trial run on a chain which I thought was beyond use. I goofed on the first cutter, and made it too short. After getting the hang of it, I sharpened the rest of that chain in a couple of minutes. It became addictive, and I sharpened 5 more chains in less than 10 minutes. The guide keeps everything straight, and all of the cutters come out the same. I saved nearly a quarter of the cost of the sharpener in less than an hour. Now my friends bring their chains to have them trued up, and sadly for me, I don't charge anything. If I charged for my service, I could have paid for the tool many times. If your goal is to have a proffesionally sharpened, straight cutting chainsaw, look no further. This tool works as well as any I have seen in the chainsaw shops, and since they are my chains, I take the time to get a better job. Next on my wish list is a chain breaker, and rivet spinner. My wife may have to come to the woods, if she wants to see me."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

chain sharpner

,
April 24, 2013
By motoman55
from collinsville il
"I use this sharpner quite often.it was fairly easy to set up and it serves my needs well. i have sharpend well over fifty chains.I am very happy with this product and would recommend it for everyone that wants to sharpen their own chains.
motoman
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very handy but not quite great

,
April 23, 2013
By Weasel11
from Dickson TN
"I have had this sharpener for a couple of years now. It is smooth running has a quite motor and sharpens my chains with ease. My only complaint is the piece on the bottom that keeps the angle from moving around. Mine will not stay tight. I have to constantly check to make sure that it has not slipped. Machine is almost perfect but not quite."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good but not the best

,
April 23, 2013
By catfishdan
from corning, KS
"i have had my sharpener for three years cut about 30 or more cords of wood a year. it works well for the quality there are many other brands desinged the same i have used a couple for the money this product is the best buy it workes just as well as the carlton one i used and alot cheeper it has minor flaws but a good choice for me"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works as good as Oregon

,
April 23, 2013
By persimmon
from Bruce, Ms.
"We have an Oregon grinder at our business. I needed something cheaper at home. This does a very good job. I would recommend it to any one. Been sharpening chains with an Oregon over 40 years."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product

,
April 23, 2013
By mbro14
from Central, NJ
"Great tool to have. Easy to use and saves a lot of money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good for the price

,
April 23, 2013
By plastic423
from tennessee
"good product, but the instructions are really bad. After putting it together it took a while to figure out how to use it properly because the instructions are so bad. After some practice, i can sharpen chains as good or better than i can by hand, but much faster. Its comparable to the much more expensive oregon sharpener, but with cheaper materials and finish."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product

,
April 23, 2013
By anotabar
from NJ
"This is a great product that works well for a reduced price. I have used more expensive models and this one works just as well for a fraction of the price. I would have given it 5 stars but the documentation is lacking. It also had some wrong settings for my Stihl chains. Northern is a great company to purchase from. Easy and helpful."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Northern Industrial Tools Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Grinder
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice, but with a little issue

,
April 23, 2013
By a003
from NC
"Bought this to replace an older, less expensive sharpener. Unit does a nice job sharpening due to the numerous stops that can be set up.
Did have to replace the unit after 1 month- one of the metal rotational hinges snapped and made the unit unusable. Returned for a replacement- seems that the hinge may be an issue on this sharpener. Have to keep on eye on the metal pin that is involved with the hinge. It will back out on it's own and when it does, one more rotation to sharpen and snap the hinge goes. I did notice this prior to the hinge having an issue and will keep an eye on the metal pin / hinge."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.