Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Please see replacement item# 41157. Wel-Bilt Hitch-Mounted 4-Bike Rack

Please see replacement item# 41157. Wel-Bilt Hitch-Mounted 4-Bike Rack

Item# 193024
Deluxe steel carrier converts from 2- to 4-bike carrier with easy-to-use included extension. Drop down feature allows quick access to rear of most vehicles. Rubber cradles can be locked to protect bikes from theft. Mounts to 2in. receiver. Not related to WELBILT products of Enodis companies. Dimensions L x H in. 23 5/8 x 5 1/2, Finish Type Powder-coat, Foldable No, Load Capacity lbs. 120, Lockable Yes, Material Steel, Compatible With Vehicles, Mounting Type Receiver mount, Capacity 2-4. Easily converts from carrying 2 to 4 bikes Fold down feature allows quick access to rear of most vehicles Lockable bike mounts for extra security
Average Customer Rating:
3.321 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (28 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
9
3 stars
4
2 stars
6
1 star
3
18 of 28(64%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer Reviews for Please see replacement item# 41157. Wel-Bilt Hitch-Mounted 4-Bike Rack
Review 21 for Please see replacement item# 41157. Wel-Bilt Hitch-Mounted 4-Bike Rack
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

kinda wobbley

,
September 17, 2013
By Captureman
from Alabama
"Instructions were very poorly written, but I finally figured it out after an hour of frustration. some of the bolts are NOT the size described.
The concept is great, but not very sturdy. The "soft" cushions that are supposed to prevent marring up your bike come off very easily.
The whole thing kinda wobbles around alot while you are driving. I ended up using some HEAVY DUTY bungee cords to secure my two mountain bikes
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Please see replacement item# 41157. Wel-Bilt Hitch-Mounted 4-Bike Rack
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

wasted money

,
April 15, 2013
By jpsiii
from Rock Hill, SC
"I used the bike rack one time to haul two bicycles to Myrtle Beach. Both bikes were brand new. My bike was scratched up due to the poor quality of the rack. I bought the bike rack last year and have not used it since. I purchased different bike rack a few weeks ago and am very satisfied with it. I will probably give the Wel-Bilt carrier away or use the metal for something else."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Please see replacement item# 41157. Wel-Bilt Hitch-Mounted 4-Bike Rack
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

sturdy but parts do not fit

,
February 14, 2013
By Bw513
from lewisville ,texas
"I hope I got the only lemon that got through the QC - I really think that the factory was angry with Northern Tool because this is a pile of junk that will not fit together to make a bike rack. Not able to assemble because the tubes ends are the wrong size to mate together. I followed the steps and was quickly frustrated because the inside diameter and outside of diameter of the tubes are sized wrong. Step one revealed that the bolts are not the correct length to successfully assemble the unit. Wel -Bilt is lower priced and substandard quality - I understood I was not getting a high quality unit. What is obvious to me is that the designer of this product is not setting the right tolerances to enable the factory to make a unit that results in acceptable quality. I am returning this and going to buy another brand but lost my 2 hours of trying to make this one work. I measured the components with a caliper gauge and the tubes will never fit together without further machining. 1 star because this was not a successful project."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Please see replacement item# 41157. Wel-Bilt Hitch-Mounted 4-Bike Rack
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Check the type of bikes you have first

,
January 26, 2012
By robh2000
from Miami, FL
"I bought this carrier but had to return it. Reason was I own 5 bikes all of which only one could be carried by this rack. If you own aluminum frame bikes which are thicker than your regular 1" tube steel bikes don't buy it. Also the double suspension design on one of the bikes interfered with mounting if I would have been able to fit the frame thickness on the clamps. My son and daughter's bike could not be secured unless the yellow plastics are removed but then you scratch the paint. Only my wife's bike steel 1in tube $100 bike could be carried safely and without paint damage. Other than that it worked well, my 2011 4runner's hatch door opened fine and it seems strong enough to carry a few steel bikes. Just do your homework, it is not designed to fit most modern bikes designs, especially more expensive mountain bikes."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Please see replacement item# 41157. Wel-Bilt Hitch-Mounted 4-Bike Rack
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

wel bilt hitch mounted bike rack

,
January 9, 2012
By Alkath
from Allenton Michigan
"it works good on some bikes but not all we have a lady's giant bike it is hard to mount you will need to figure a way but the mount is very sturdy and heavy duty"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Please see replacement item# 41157. Wel-Bilt Hitch-Mounted 4-Bike Rack
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Quality suffers

,
March 28, 2011
By Rogy
from Maryland
"The fit was sloppy when I assembled the tubes together, so I had to put a cross-section of bike inner tube (like a wide rubber band) around some of the end pieces to help tighten them up. I'm hoping this collective looseness does not cause excessive sway. I've not yet tried attaching bikes although I have concerns about my wide-tube bikes since the brackets are designed for traditional thin-tube types. I'll update this after a few uses with bikes actually attached."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Please see replacement item# 41157. Wel-Bilt Hitch-Mounted 4-Bike Rack
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

OK, But Not for All Bikes

,
March 14, 2011
By Northern1
"This rack is OK for the sale price... IF it fits your bike. Would not pay full price for it.
Be forwarned that this rack will not really accomodate bikes that do not have a straight center bar. Bikes with curved bars, step-through frames, etc., do not sit well on this rack, if at all.
It is functional for an inexpensive rack, but not up to the standards of some of the better racks out there... you get what you pay for here."
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Please see replacement item# 41157. Wel-Bilt Hitch-Mounted 4-Bike Rack
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cheaply Made

,
March 14, 2011
By Mike4777
"Did not work for me as bikes fall from mount. Poorly Built. Returned to Northern."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-28 of 28