Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Oregon Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Saw Chain Grinder, Model# 108181

Oregon Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Saw Chain Grinder, Model# 108181

Item# 193061
This Oregon Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Saw Chain Grinder is an excellent choice for homeowners. A quality tool that delivers precision results in a very small space. Wheel Diameter in. 4 1/8 max., Arbor Size in. 7/8, Bolt Hole Shape Round, Bore Diameter in. 7/8, Watts 85, Chain Pitch in. 0.325, 3/8, Assembly Required Yes, Wheel Included Yes, additional are sold separately, Motor 60 Hz, Product Type Grinder, Mount Type Bench/wall, Rated RPM 5,000, Volts 115. Safety shield helps prevent injury Cam lever chain clamp holds chain steady Durable, long-lasting aluminum base Fixed motor angle for consistent grinding Includes 3/16in. grinding wheel for sharpening 325in.-pitch and standard 3/8in.-pitch 72/73/75 series chains Additional wheels sold separately 1/8in. Item# 193071, 3/16in. Item# 193081, 1/4in. Item# 193082 Tripod stand sold separately Item# 193069
Average Customer Rating:
4.583 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (48 reviews)
5 stars
36
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
46 of 48(96%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Oregon Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Saw Chain Grinder, Model# 108181
Review 1 for Oregon Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Saw Chain Grinder, Model# 108181
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Oregon Chainsaw sharpener

,
February 5, 2014
By badger14
from Boscobel,Wi
"I've been looking for a chainsaw chain sharpener for a period of time and decided to purchase the Oregon #108181. It works great and the price was write. Of course there are always "better" products on the market but this sharpener works great for all my chainsaw sharpening needs. I only wish I purchased it sooner. Thanks for a great and affordable product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Oregon Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Saw Chain Grinder, Model# 108181
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Disappointing

,
October 4, 2013
By Dieselboot
from Macon, GA
"The grinder is made of plastic and very thin metal castings. The plastic arm frame has a lot of flex. The motor is very small. Results could be made to vary based on how much weight I allowed my hand to exert on the grinder. I was very disappointed with this machine."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Oregon Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Saw Chain Grinder, Model# 108181
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sharpen chains all day

,
September 19, 2013
By RHH1973
from Cumming,Ga
"Purchased it last year I bought a smaller wheel for smaller chains. Takes a minute to change. Can sharpen all my chains under an hour. A little practice and you are on your way."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Oregon Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Saw Chain Grinder, Model# 108181
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Oregon Chainsaw Chain Grinder

,
April 23, 2013
By Psdelisle
from Massachusetts
"Very usefull tool well worth its price. After reading the instructions I set the sharpener and started. After reading the instructions I also went to youtube to watch a video to see if there was any pointers, also very helpful. I have about 20 chains laying around the garage because it was easier to buy new ones then sharpen them by hand. Now with the Oregon grinder it takes me about 5 to 7 minutes per chain."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
10out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Oregon Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Saw Chain Grinder, Model# 108181
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Item for our shop, Quality machine.

,
August 13, 2012
By Cooltechmd
from Maryland
"Very nice unit, took less then 3 minutes to set up, and sharpen first chain perfect and it only took about 7 -8 minutes to do. Very nice unit, will be buying several more for my shop. We employ disable veterans, and need good tools and equipment that will be simple to use, but that will perform. This tool was better then expected."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-9points
24out of 57found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Oregon Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Saw Chain Grinder, Model# 108181
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chain Saw Sharpener

,
May 14, 2012
By meredithnh
from New Hampshire
"An excellent piece of machinery that will pay for itself quickly. It allows full sharpening jobs, and your chains will last longer than if you send them out. As well, it's easy to touch up after any number of usages to have the chainsaw operating at maximum efficiency. I highly recommend this product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Oregon Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Saw Chain Grinder, Model# 108181
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Doing it right!

,
March 14, 2011
By Gunshow
from Newburg, Pa
"After years of "sharpening" by hand, I now am doing it much faster and with better results. This sharpener pays for itself by prolonging chain life as well as helping to speed up saw time. I've even taken an old chain which I "butchered", and cleaned it up as good as knew. Easy to assemble and use. Did not even need instructions."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
17out of 34found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Oregon Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Saw Chain Grinder, Model# 108181
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sharpen the chain saw!

,
November 17, 2010
By MountainLesli
from Forest Ranch, CA
"We live in the mountains of Northern California, and my husband cuts 6 cords of wood each year. Obviously, his chain saw needs frequent attention, and when we were unable to find the grinding disc for his present sharpener (that his Dad had bought 30-40 yrs ago!) we looked and looked for the best tool, for the best price. We purchased the Oregon Bench Mount sharpener. My husband went right to it, just as soon as it was delivered...and WOW! What a great tool. He is more than happy with the ease of working the product, as well as the success that he felt immediately. He feels as though it did such a great job, that he won't have to sharpen it as often."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
14out of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Oregon Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Saw Chain Grinder, Model# 108181
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome sharpener

,
November 16, 2010
By heatmorhelper
"Easy to use does an awsome job on my chains...its so easy I sharpen my chain gas, and oil my saw every time I use it.... You have so much control just a lite touch its right back to like new. I have had my friends ask to sharpen theirs they said it so sharp they can't belive it their saw. I was going to buy the DR sharpener till I saw it was this brand they are shipping out... I cut 40 face cord to feed my Heatmor another awesome stove.....thanks for making my life that much easier...."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Oregon Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Saw Chain Grinder, Model# 108181
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

over priced

,
November 16, 2010
By jmw642
from Montana
"This sharpener compares to a sharpener at one forth the cost. but at a very inflated cost. It comes with one wheel and has one adjustment for sharpening and made of plastic. When sharpening a saw chain there is 3 important angels not just one. Does have a good motor. Very unhappy sent it back."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
12out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Oregon Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Saw Chain Grinder, Model# 108181
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

AWESOME product, assembly instructions need work

,
September 9, 2010
By Scrap5000
from New York, NY
"Awesome product, but I did not like the assembly instructions (they should be more detailed, and with better pics), and it does not include the nuts and bolts for mounting (you need large ones, at least 1/4 inch thick x 2 inches long; the holes are even thicker than 1/4 inch, but I did not measure the exact diameter), and it does not include some other parts for grinding the guides on the chain instead of just sharpening the cutters. For these reasons I gave it a 4 instead of a 5.
For example in regards to the instructions: The arbor came unattached to the drive shaft, but it is not included in the picture & list of assembly parts, nor as part of the assembly instructions. Therefore, they don't tell you that youhave to attach it to the drive shaft. OK, this is common sense, but it still takes a bit of thinking about it. PLUS, it turns out that the arbor will fit on the drive shaft VERY loosely at first, with no screw or anything to hold it tightly in place on the shaft. But then it tightens up automatically onto the shaft once you first turn it on with the grinding wheel attached, so all the while you're worrying about how the heck the arbor will stay attached to the drive shaft since there is nothing to hold it in place initially, until you turn it on and see that it has self tightened. A bit of unnecessary anxiety that could have been avoided with better instructions.
Also, they don't tell you that the on/off switch will not lock into the on position when the product is not plugged into an outlet, so initially you think that the switch must be broken & you start worrying about having to send it back. But then you plug it in and turn it on & the switch stays in the on position. A nice feature since it prevents you from plugging it in with the switch inadvertedly turned on, but again, better instructions would have been appreciated.
Also, they don't tell you that you should attach the operating handle BEFORE attaching the grinding wheel and the cover...then when you realize this yourself, you have to take it apart again and re-attach everything. It doesn't take very long, but it is a bit annoying and something they can easily improve upon.
And the cover assembly instructions could have been better, with a close up pic of how it attaches, and where the screw goes.
And the spring loaded guide to keep the chain from traveling to the left could have been explained better, as well as how to set the depth guide on it and on the grinding wheel too. But you just have to use common sense and figure that out yourself.
If you want to attach this to a vise instead of directly to a table, then be sure to get the separate mounting bracket. It would be nice if the sharpener and the bracket came with the nuts and bolts for mounting, but no, you have to get them separately. As stated above, at least 1/4 inch x 2 inches is what you need, and even thicker than that is better. Also, the mounting bracket is a bit too short and narrow; it doesn't extend the full width of the bottom of the unit, and if it was a bit wider then it would support the unit better. I am thnking of adding a piece of wood or thick sheet metal between it and the unit so that it extends to the full width of the bottom of the unit and holds it up better.
If you want to file down the guides on the chain then you need to separately buy a second griding wheel (the larger size one), a guide, and a file.
OK, apart from all of that (and I know it sounds like a lot, but it only took away 1 star from my rating of it) the product is pretty awesome once you get it assembled & figure everything out. It will sharpen a 20 inch bar chain in 5 minutes, and put a niiiiice, sharp edge on it, and save you lots of money in the long run.
I would definitely recommend it; just keep everything I wrote above in mind when you get it (or even to prepare ahead of time) and you'll be fine."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
11out of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Oregon Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Saw Chain Grinder, Model# 108181
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

light touch

,
August 23, 2010
By Irine
from Tennessee
"Great product that produces great results.
Be careful - excessive time or presure when grinding chains takes away a lot of the chain and you could end up buying more chains more often.
Did not ship with any grinding wheels, but company sent them later at no charge."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Oregon Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Saw Chain Grinder, Model# 108181
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gets the job done fast

,
June 1, 2010
By leroychipper
from new york
"I was extremely satisfied with the power,fine detail,and quickness to complete the job of this chainsaw sharpener. It is very easy to use and takes up very little bench space. As we all have very little of that when the tools start adding up. I sharpen my chain saw more often between uses than I ever did by having this product available to me. I have had this product for 5 years without a problem with it. I highly recommend this product for every tool bench!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Oregon Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Saw Chain Grinder, Model# 108181
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good deal would buy another one

,
February 16, 2010
By dene
from st henry ,ohio
"This grinder is the do it yourself kind of tool you dont have to read the any thing to use it . works real good no probelms as of yet got 15 chains done with great results . i did notice one thing about have this you know what kind of job the guys at the shop did for you not good .the only thing i found bad about it was the frame is a little on the weak side .for the money good deal i was paying $5 a chain to get them done at the shop so do the math paid for its self some time next year"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Oregon Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Saw Chain Grinder, Model# 108181
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Chain Sharpener

,
November 2, 2009
By TheAlchemist
"Best tool I've ever purchased! Having to buck loads of oak dulls out chains quickly. Having the ability to sharpen these in-house is a big time and money saver"
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Oregon Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Saw Chain Grinder, Model# 108181
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Don't know how I lived without it.

,
November 2, 2009
By captb
from Charlotte Hall, Maryland
"After our local chain sharpener closed shop I purchased this tool. I no longer have to use blades until they are shot. Sharpening is quick and easy and I always have several sharp chains ready in my shop. Even the neighbors come by to use my sharpener. Maybe I should charge them a fee!"
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Oregon Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Saw Chain Grinder, Model# 108181
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Oregon Chain Sharpner

,
October 19, 2009
By HOGFLTK
from Aroostook County, Maine
"I cut my own firewood. At times it is muddy when the wood is skidded out. This results in a lot of dirt in the wood. When sawing the wood it doesn't take long before the chain is dull and will not cut. I prviously would need to drive 12 miles to a local shop to get my chains sharpened. I now can do it at home. I have 5 spare chains so when they all become dull I set my Oregon sharpener up in a vise and sharpen the chains. It sets up very easy and is very easy to operate. In no time I have my chains sharpened and can go back to work. A real time saver for me."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Oregon Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Saw Chain Grinder, Model# 108181
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT PRODUCT !

,
July 15, 2009
By medmo
from poplar bluff , mo.
"I had never sharpened a chain before I bought this grinder. It cost me $3.00 a chain and the trouble of going to the shop. Then waiting for it to be sharpened.
This grinder is so easy to use any one could read the book and be shapening chains within an hour. This product saves me both time and money. I have found my chains stay sharp longer and cut better than before. It was well worth the price.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Oregon Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Saw Chain Grinder, Model# 108181
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Saw Sharpener

,
July 13, 2009
By Phileno
from Martville, NY
"The device works exactly as advertised. I have use it several times and the saw chains come out sharp. It saves a lot of time if the other alternative is to have a professional do it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Oregon Bench- or Wall-Mount Chain Saw Chain Grinder, Model# 108181
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Fine Little Tool

,
April 8, 2009
By LilBear
from Southern Colorado
"I got one of these to see if I could refurbish about 30 chains my son uses in his firewood business. I followed the instructions and set it up in about ten minutes, then experimented with the first chain. Within about five minutes, I had the process down and started grinding chains as I had time. So far I have reground ten of those chains to "good as new" condition, saving about $25 per chain over throwing them out. The unit is easy to use, fairly straightforward to set up and does a fine job grinding chains. I will have paid for the grinder by the time I have gone through the pile of dull chains on my bench. I would recommend getting a spare grinding wheel if you plan on doing as many chains as I am doing, since they do wear a tiny bit with every chain. Well worth the price."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.