Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Oregon Bench-Mount Chain Grinder, Model# 511AX

Oregon Bench-Mount Chain Grinder, Model# 511AX

Item# 193070
This grinder is a durable machine built with the quality and features needed for frequent high-volume chain sharpening. Comes with 1/8in., 3/16in. and 1/4in. grinding wheels for sharpening chain pitches up to 3/4in. Also includes built-in light, wheel-dressing brick and a template for pitch, depth-gauge setting and wheel contour. Upgrades from Item# 19304 include new adjustment capabilities for accurate grinds as the wheel wears and self-centering vise for equal grind angles without adjustment. Meets ANSI standards. Bore Diameter in. 7/8, Chain Pitch in. 1/4-3/4, Wheel Diameter in. 5 3/4, Motor 3/8 HP, 3A, Wheel Included Yes, Product Type Grinder, Rated RPM 3,400, Mount Type Bench. See-through safety shield makes sharpening setup easier Built-in light makes it easier to monitor your work 3-ft. cord with 3-prong plug Works with all chain pitches from 1/4in. to 3/4in. Grinding wheel wear adjustment feature allows user to adjust for worn grinding wheels to achieve a properly ground chain Large indexing chain stop provides a larger surface area, accommodating large chain types Motor head can be raised to create more space for filing depth gauges Self-centering vise provides equal grind angles without adjustment, clamping to all chain sizes from 1/4in. to 3/4in. pitch Sliding vise compensates for grinding wheel material reduction Includes 1/8in., 3/16in. and 1/4in. grinding wheels Additional wheels sold separately 1/8in. Item# 193041, 3/16in. Item# 193042, 1/4in. Item# 193043, 5/16in. Item# 193044 Tripod stand Item# 193069 sold separately
Average Customer Rating:
4.533 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (15 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 of 15(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Oregon Bench-Mount Chain Grinder, Model# 511AX
Review 1 for Oregon Bench-Mount Chain Grinder, Model# 511AX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

511AX sharpener

,
July 16, 2014
By ww06
from Irvine, KY
"Took some effort and time assemble. Once assembled works great and easy to use."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Oregon Bench-Mount Chain Grinder, Model# 511AX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wish I would have done this sooner

,
July 5, 2014
By wandawood
from Tabernash, Co
"This is a great help with my logging business, it is easy to use and store. Adjustments are quick to make with the chains worn at different levels."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Oregon Bench-Mount Chain Grinder, Model# 511AX
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Sharpener

,
June 13, 2014
By WolverineSharpening
from Minnesota
"This has been a great sharpener, the instructions are a little to be desired for assembly but that is probably the worst part of this grinder. Guess my only gripe with this sharpener is the front handle makes it a little difficult to see tha angular markings to set your top plate angle. Overall, a very good purchase."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Oregon Bench-Mount Chain Grinder, Model# 511AX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sharp Alot

,
February 4, 2014
By BearMountain
from Carlisle Pa
"I heat my 2300 sq ft house with wood and I use up a lot of chains this sharpener is quick and easy to learn. I sharpen my chains about 100 tine in a year and at 5.50 per chain this pays for itself in no time. If you cut a lot of woos dont waste your money on someone else sharpening youe chains."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Oregon Bench-Mount Chain Grinder, Model# 511AX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

What's owning professional grade worth to you?

,
May 7, 2012
By Sabooo
from Allentown, PA
"I cut 6 cords of wood on average per year, so keeping sharp chains is important to me. I was a sworn advocate of hand filing for years, thinking I could do as good of a job as the shops would do for no money. I was wrong.
My biggest issue was that my angles were inconsistent across the chain. This would lead to quite a bit of vibration, and issues with not cutting straight. Once I realized that, I started taking my chains to a shop twice a year. While I loved the way they cut, it became obvious that the guy at the sharpening shop wasn't concerned with how long my chains might last. He took quite a bit of the tooth with each sharpening, reducing the lifespan of the chain.
I checked out what some of my friends were using, and recognized that the investment in a good bench grinder would pay me back over time. The Oregon 511ax is a professional unit. That means that while it is not the least expensive model out there, it is made to last. All of the parts are replaceable by Oregon, which means repairs are simple.
I recognize that the instructions leave a bit to be desired if you've never touched one of these before, but realistically it can only go together one way. I would recommend purchasing a chain grinder stand as a partner for this unit unless you have a portion of your workbench to dedicate to it.
Use caution setting up your angles on the three adjustments - Oregon may list angles for chains in a different format from your chain's manufacturer.
Not included in the box are the m8 hardware of appropriate length to secure the grinder to your stand or bench. Plan on purchasing 4 m8 bolts, washers and nuts.
One thing I dont like is that the handle for the vice interferes with seeing the angle markings for setting the chisel angle. Not a show stopper, but it seems that there should be a better way.
in response to the issues with the vice handle breaking, I noticed that new units now have a spare handle included in the package. Also included is a spare chain stop.
This is very possibly more grinder than you need, but you can safely expect a long life from the tool, and purchase it knowing it will stand up to almost anyone's chain sharpening workload."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
15out of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Oregon Bench-Mount Chain Grinder, Model# 511AX
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Grinder

,
January 19, 2012
By CTDog
from Bethany,CT
"This is a very good sharpener, well built and solid. The only problem was the assembly. The directions were very poor which made it difficult to assembly. For the price I paid it should have been already put together or at least came with better directions."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Oregon Bench-Mount Chain Grinder, Model# 511AX
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

set up instructions vague

,
August 1, 2011
By phildan1
from Greeneville Tn
"I had a great deal of difficulty setting this unit up. The instructions are completely useless. I eventually figured it out by looking at the pictures to see how to attach the two seperate pieces. I used a wire tie to colapse and hold the spring while connecting the seperate assemblies. I believe you will find this as difficult as I did. It is simple after several hours of trying to figure it out. The instruction come in 3 different languages and I must assume the other two are just as sorry as the English version! I have sharpened 2 chains and find this product to be good so far. I would have rated 5 stars except for the sorry instructions!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Oregon Bench-Mount Chain Grinder, Model# 511AX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Oregon Bench-Mount Chain Sharpener

,
July 11, 2011
By Pegleg
from Michigan
"If your need the BEST Sharpener out there, look no further. Very accurate and is repeatable at the same setting. It pays for itself."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Oregon Bench-Mount Chain Grinder, Model# 511AX
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

i found that it was a good investment

,
July 9, 2011
By BEZ2
"i only had one problem with it the hand tightener messed up on me to keep chain tight in the vise while sharpening try to find were to get another one at"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Oregon Bench-Mount Chain Grinder, Model# 511AX
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worth the Buy

,
September 1, 2010
By Rath
from Lake View, IA.
"Easy to use. Instructions are user friendly. Has made my side income of tree removal and stove/campfire wood sale to atleast pay for operational expenses. This sharpener has more than paid for itself and then some."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
5out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Oregon Bench-Mount Chain Grinder, Model# 511AX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Oregon 511AX Chain Sharpener

,
June 2, 2010
By ELF1
from RED LION, PA.
"Very happy with this sharpener. Simple set up with easy to follow instructions. Controls are handy and easy to operate. If you want a fast and simple to use sharpener. This machine is for you."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Oregon Bench-Mount Chain Grinder, Model# 511AX
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Grinder

,
February 24, 2010
By PAJMN
from Minnesota
"I have the earlier version of this grinder and am satisfied with it. Needed a little clean up on the castings and the angle scales are off a bit, so not a '5'. This version has a self centering vice and handles up to 3/4" pitch chain without an adaptor so I would prefer this one. Better quality than the cheaper ones, the Oregon name means that parts are available and keeps its resale value, and worth the additional money."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Oregon Bench-Mount Chain Grinder, Model# 511AX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Sharpener and great customer service.

,
February 22, 2010
By Kreij
from Central Wisconsin
"I was looking for a chain sharpener that would be good for all the various saws I own. This one sharps everything from my wife's little rechargable, battery saw to a three foot monster.. Easy to set-up and easy to use, but takes a liltle practice.
When I originally started using it, one of the wheels shattered and destroyed the entire vise assembly (thankfully the wheel guard did its job and I was not hit by debris). Oregon replaced everything promptly and with no cost to me. Kudos to Oregon for outstanding customer service."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Oregon Bench-Mount Chain Grinder, Model# 511AX
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Oregon Bench-Mount Chain Shapener

,
March 16, 2009
By Theadirondackjack
from Up state NY,
"This is my second sharpener for chainsaw chains. This one is far superior to the last one. Once set up for the chain, it does all the work. It came with three wheels, two for sharpening and one to grind the rakers. It came with an allen wrench to change the wheels and it is easy to make the changes. The only improvement I could suggest is makeing the marker for setting the angles easier to see.
I would recommend this to anyone except those who I charge to sharpen their blades
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Oregon Bench-Mount Chain Grinder, Model# 511AX
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sharpen

,
August 18, 2008
By woodi2
from Kansas
"Easy to use and sharpens chains in no time. Works good for reseting gage teeth"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.