Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Plastic Felling Wedge - 5 1/2in.

Plastic Felling Wedge - 5 1/2in.

Item# 19718
"Durable plastic felling wedges can make all the difference in placing a falling tree exactly where you want it U.S.A. Application Felling, Length in. 5 1/2, Material Plastic. 5 1/2in.L x 2 3/4in.W x 1in. thick"
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (12 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 of 12(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Plastic Felling Wedge - 5 1/2in.
Review 1 for Plastic Felling Wedge - 5 1/2in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nothing like giving a tree a wedgie

,
June 9, 2014
By LcdrDan
from Northern VA
"Used 4 wedges to help fell a 24"-diameter cherry tree. Not only worked well, but the plastic took the damage and protected the chain saw blade when it made contact. Also have used them as a table saw splitter when ripping thick boards."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Plastic Felling Wedge - 5 1/2in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gotta have'm

,
February 4, 2014
By SkidderLA
from LA
"It's a must to have a set of these wedges when felling trees around your house or property, they are light weight but durable. You can put em in your back pocket and not pull your pants down."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Plastic Felling Wedge - 5 1/2in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

doesthejob

,
January 12, 2012
By gladtohavethis
from Kalamazoo, MI
"Great value, essential to keep slabs from pinching the blade when crosscutting."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Plastic Felling Wedge - 5 1/2in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

PL Felling wedge

,
October 11, 2011
By cowboy81125
from Colo.
"works great & will not damage your chain when falling timber"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Plastic Felling Wedge - 5 1/2in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Backyard Logger

,
June 1, 2010
By Thomasis1
from Noth Bend , Ohio
"Great product,everyone that owns a chainsaw should have a pair of these. They are light weight, strong, and fit in your back pants pocket."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Plastic Felling Wedge - 5 1/2in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Buy two

,
May 24, 2010
By SilentH
from Long Island, NY
"These have many uses, but if you're taking down trees, you absolutely need them. Light enough to keep in your pocket and, they won't dull your chain if you accidently hit one."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Plastic Felling Wedge - 5 1/2in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

5 1/2in. Wedge

,
February 22, 2010
By slither
from WI
"This little wedge is great. I would highly recommend for beginners and professionals."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Plastic Felling Wedge - 5 1/2in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saw Saver

,
December 23, 2009
By 06SuperDuty
from Southern Indiana
"If you have never used plastic felling wedges then you don't known what you are missing. These make the felling process much safer and prevent lots of stuck saws. I also use them when limbing and bucking large trees that are in a bind to keep my bar from getting pinched.
The plastic obviously does not damage the chain when the saw kicks back or the wedge comes in contact with the blade. These are very sturdy and you can use them to jack a tree over if needed.
I don't pick up my saw anymore without throwing a couple of these in my back pocket.
If it matters to you, the wedges I received are yellow instead of orange.
Happy Cutting - Be safe!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Plastic Felling Wedge - 5 1/2in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use.

,
January 14, 2008
By Tom4me
from Litchfield, NH
"I used one right away to take a tree in my yard down. The tree seemed like it was leaning the way I wanted it to fall, but the wedge gave me that extra piece of mind. Can't go wrong at that price!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Plastic Felling Wedge - 5 1/2in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A must for felling a tree

,
January 14, 2008
By Chip
from Pleasantville, Pennsylvania
"Tapping this wedge in the cut behind the chainsaw with a hatchet directs the fall of the tree with amazing acuracy and also stops the tree from settling back and binding the bar of the chainsaw. Should you drive the wedge in too deep or back the saw into it ...... no problems, it's plastic! It's bright color also makes it easy to find should you misplace it. I find it fits perfectly in the "knee pocket" of my cover-alls were it is easy to get to."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Plastic Felling Wedge - 5 1/2in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

firewoodman

,
July 9, 2007
By firewoodman
from Harleysville, PA
"One of the most invaluable tools for cutting trees/logs. This inexpensive tool saves the pinching of chainsaw bars, and also aids in felling trees. Just a tap with your palm on the top of the wedge in the cut after the chain clears, and you never have to worry about stuck saws or ruined cutting chains/bars. I cut anywhere from small to 3 1/2/ diameter trees, and carry (2) of these wedges in my back pocket , and use them even if there is a remote chance of pinching."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Plastic Felling Wedge - 5 1/2in.
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Wedge

,
March 7, 2007
By rrkjr
from Alabama
"This is a great little wedge for the money I find it very easy to keep a couple in my pocket while cutting the can be slipped in by hand just for safety but hold up good when driven hard."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.