Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B

Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B

Item# 1976
Designed by Elof Granberg over 35 years ago, the File-N-Joint is an industry standard for accuracy and durability. This guide allows you to file your chain right on your bar with professional accuracy. Chain Pitch in. Universal, Product Type Sharpener, Mount Type Bar. Superior manual chain saw sharpener sharpens all major saw chain pitches Allows you to perfectly match the chain manufacturer's angles Attaches to your guide bar in seconds Accurately lowers depth gauge The file size is determined by the pitch and gauge of the chain being sharpened File not included, must be purchased locally Model G-106B
Average Customer Rating:
4.213 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(61 Reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (61 reviews)
5 stars
36
4 stars
13
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
5
54 of 61(89%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
5 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B
Review 1 for Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

,
June 24, 2014
By BackcountryHunter
from Washington's Olympic Peninsula
"This product has taken all the guesswork out of chain sharpening. It takes a little figuring to get it set up the first time out of the package, but once its set up it really does an excellent job allowing you to make consistent even strokes. This little number is worth every penny and for someone who used to pay the local chainsaw shop to sharpen my chains, this little jig has more then paid for itself many times over. I would highly recommend it to anyone who has little experience sharpening chains. It literally takes all the guesswork out of it and the result is an evenly and precisely sharpened chain."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

A beginner beginning

,
May 19, 2014
By UsnoozeUlose
from NJ
"It wasn't toohard to figure out how to put this on the bar. The settings are straightforward enough. My technique needs to be adjusted, though. After I use this a few more times, I'll update this comment. For now, I think this tool makes a biig difference, because the chain I used it on went from not-so-sharp to REALLY sharp."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I like This Product It helps You Maintain a Cut

,
April 27, 2014
By Scooterbo
from Ark.
"It Has Been Very Hard To Maintain that Sharp cut like a brand new chain would straight out of the package Sent's I started Using this sharpening tool now I can maintain that Sharp Cut every time I use my chain saw it will Cut large chunks of wood now instead of saw dust like before it can be adjusted to file that factory setting you just need to know your specks for that chain. It's a little hard to figure out and set up at first but once you learn how to use it properly it will be worth the time it takes to set it up on your saw hope this was helpful"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

surprised

,
February 17, 2014
By cmor
from Long Beach, CA
"After reading some of the reviews I thought it was going to be difficult to assemble....but actually on the contrary it was simple, with a little reading & studying.
As for sharpening, u just need to get the angles within reason & u take right off. With 3 or 4 strokes of the file, the ol chain is sharp again. Make sure u wear gloves and I used the file inserted, to help line up the angles.....I don't think you can line it up without one.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy to use

,
February 4, 2014
By keeb
from crawfordsville In
"this file is easy to use. and handy when you are in the woods and need to sharpen your chain. I carry it with my saws all the time."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great product

,
February 4, 2014
By sloat125
from Maine
"the product works excellent. The angle adjustment is awkward with the wing nut just above the file, also the slide will require regular lubrication, otherwise the product works flawlessly. Very easy to use. Cant go wrong for the price"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cheaply made

,
November 15, 2013
By nconthego
from Charlotte NC
"Found this product very easy to use. Sharpened my first chain in about 10 minutes. Too bad it's made so cheap, I only made it to my second chain and the pot metal cracked and it fell apart. I was being very careful with it. It's just not made well. Worked great for one chain. I will return it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great jig after you get used to it - poor instr.

,
December 14, 2012
By OffGrid2009
from Davenport, WA
"When my small electric grinder died a year ago, I bought the Granberg G-106B. The instructions were worthless except for the pictures. Luckily there are a couple of decent how-to videos out there, so set-up went OK. Tolerances and alignment weren't quite right, it was "sticky", hard to push the bar thru the guides for a smooth, full stroke. I tweaked the alignment of one of the guide holders, used fine emery cloth on the sliding bar, and applied a touch of SuperLube grease...now it's action is smooth. I find that my chains are now sharper than they were using the grinder, and they cut faster. It doesn't take me much more time to use the Granberg than the old electric grinder. I go slow, it takes me about 20 minutes to do one chain for the 33" bar on my Stihl 044, and about 10-15 minutes to do a chain for the 16" bar on my Stihl 029. I couldn't be happier. Another plus is that I don't need to carry so many extra chains, I can sharpen a dull one right in the woods.
You need to be careful, the parts are aluminum or pot-metal, so if you bang the sharpener around in your equipment bag you can bend it - best to find or make a box to protect it. Also, the little spring-blade that serves as a stop for the chain links is pretty thin, so again, be careful. But once you get used to this little machine, it will do an amazing job on your chains.
Like other chain sharpening systems, this one doesn't address raker height, so you need a cheap depth gauge and a small flat file so you can check and adjust the raker height after 3 or 4 sharpenings. Otherwise, as the teeth get filed down they get shorter, and pretty soon you're producing fine sawdust instead of nice fat chips."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-1

,
December 8, 2012
By Lightning6430
from NC
"Hard to set up. Instructions are useless and appears to be a piece of junk. Wasted money"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
4out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible Instructions

,
November 23, 2012
By Straitshooter57
from UT
"The instructions with this product are absolutely the worst of any product I've ever purchased -- period. They are worse than useless because the tool comes out of the box in a backward position.
I've yet to make the thing work for me because I'm guessing at every setting.
Only buy this product if you already know how to sharpen a chainsaw. Otherwise, you are in for a frustrating experience."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Finally

,
October 16, 2012
By golf3369
from pembroke, nh
"I bought this because my dad had one that he used for his saws. I tried another one but it was all plastic.
This sharpener got very good reviews which prompted me to try it as I have been looking for one for a while. Out of the box it was awfull. The directions to me were worse than awfull. It came packaged reverse of the way it should be set up. The only thing that saved me from sending it back were the pictures and from them I could put it together. Using it started off very slow but got easier as I learned how. All in all it puts a very good edge on my chains and I do now like it. Better directions are a must!!!!!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Granberg Chain Saw Sharpener

,
October 8, 2012
By kar250
from VA
"The sharpener works well once you figure out how to set it up. It would be nice if better instructions were included. However, it is worth the price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Did not work for me

,
August 20, 2012
By Towman
from Ayer MA
"I tried to use the product per the instructions but the file would not engage the tooth on the blade properly. I was also not happy with the way the chain was advanced. I stopped using the product and went back to doing it by hand."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Granberg chainsaw sharpening tool

,
August 13, 2012
By 6367afa
from North Carolina
"While not the best built of tools (all cast die metal) it does work with some patience. I recommend looking at the set-up pictures on the package over using the directions at first. There is also a lengthy review that may help someone. It worked fine and once I mastered the set up I did 2 chains in 10 minutes. I spent the bulk of my time getting the chain properly adjusted on my Stihl 250 so I am definitely a novice fixing a chainsaw. You will learn a lot about your saw and the chain using the tool."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great tool terrible instruction sheet/set

,
June 11, 2012
By bobbiejohn
from Oak Ridge, TN
"The tool works very well, but the instructions set/sheet was totally incomprehensible. If I had not used one of the bar mounted chain saw sharpening tool before I would not have been able to set it up and use it using the direction provided with the tool. It would have been a 5 star rating but the instruction set pulled it way, way down."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
Christopher007
Wappingers Falls, NY 
 
Please wait while more information about Christopher007 is loaded.
Additional information about Christopher007 could not be loaded.
Help us please?
July 1, 2012
"Can you make a short you tube video using your iPhone showing us what the directions don't?"
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does a great job

,
May 7, 2012
By allynii
from Solon, Me
"Simple, well built, and easy to use - once you figure out how to use it (which is the hard part). I find it works best when you put your bar in a vise, set it up and do all the teeth on one side, then all the teeth on the other. Know your size file and the angles to hit. It is especially good at keeping the file focused on the upper, biting part of the tooth."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Granberg Chain Saw Sharpener

,
January 16, 2012
By Danly
from Texas
"Makes for a steady consistant angle on the blades. As a result the vibration level during operation is diminished markedly."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Granberg Bar Mount Saw Sharpener - Model G-106B

,
January 9, 2012
By Dreamthief
from California
"I bought this to be able to put a very sharp edge on my chain saw blades. I currently have the hand grinding sharpener but it only does a so-so job on resharpening. The Granberg is easy to set up and there is even a U-tube video on how to use it. The bench grinder is good for reshaping but this jig will put a very sharp edge back on your blades and it is quick to use. I would buy it again"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good

,
October 10, 2011
By Cowsnone
from New Jersey
"Works pretty good. I use to do my chain free hand between taking in to a shop for sharpening. Work better this way keeps them consistant."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Worth the money

,
September 8, 2011
By Marshmanjr
from Millington, TN
"When the directions are followed it will sharpen your blade better than you can have done at a place that sharpens them. Plus you can be out in the middle of the woods and do it. And the people at Granberg are extremely helpful when I lost my directions they sent me a new set.
WORTH TWICE THE PRICE"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.