Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"

"Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"

Item# 1976
"Designed by Elof Granberg over 35 years ago, the File-N-Joint is an industry standard for accuracy and durability. This guide allows you to file your chain right on your bar with professional accuracy. Product Type Sharpener, Chain Pitch in. Universal, Mount Type Bar. Superior manual chain saw sharpener sharpens all major saw chain pitches Allows you to perfectly match the chain manufacturer's angles Attaches to your guide bar in seconds Accurately lowers depth gauge The file size is determined by the pitch and gauge of the chain being sharpened File not included, must be purchased locally Model G-106B"
Average Customer Rating:
4.227 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(75 Reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (75 reviews)
5 stars
45
4 stars
16
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
6
66 of 75(88%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Review 1 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great chain sharpening assistance

,
July 14, 2015
By
from SC
" Good tool to produce consistant results when sharpening a chainsaw chain. I'm a complete novice and knew I wouldn't be able to be consistent hand sharpening a chain. This thing, with a little setup and a little foreknowledge (Wranglerstar on youtube has a decent video on this tool, only motorized. Same concept.) and a little patience, works to produce good results for even a novice like me. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

gramberg chain saw sharper

,
July 6, 2015
By
from melrose
" this is the best and easiest to use it is completely accurate and the price can not be beat. i checked out many and nothing conpares. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Jig

,
April 16, 2015
By
from Kennebunk, Maine
" Good jig for the price. Does a lot better job than doing it by eyeballing the angles and filing by hand. All metal construction, better than others that use plastic components. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

chainsaw sharpener

,
March 28, 2015
By
from Judsonia,AR.
" I finally got sharpening my chain right with this product thank you for still selling them. after 3 chains and 1 bar. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Broke on first use

,
February 19, 2015
By
from Missouri
" Made with cheap pot metal. The clamp that holds the guide bar snapped the first time we used it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Chain saw sharpener

,
January 9, 2015
By
from Millington Tn.
" Ya get what cha pay for !! Kinda flimsy - hard to find the proper angle - it "IS" better than nothing - but not a lot "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

sharpener pretty good

,
December 13, 2014
By
from Monroe, WA
" This tool is a bit hard to keep level, but does a good job once you do. You have to get the hang of it, but after a short time, you are a pro. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast and easy

,
November 23, 2014
By
from oregon
" This sharpener is the best device I have used and I have tried all types. Because I don't have to remove the chain from the bar it saves a lot of time. It also allows me to keep the exact angle I need for the sharpest chain. It really is fast and easy. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Granberg Bar mounted sharpener

,
November 14, 2014
By
from Northwest,Georgia
" The Granberg Bar Mounted sharpener is well constructed .The instructions are best understood if you search on You Tube for how to use the Granberg.Getting the Granberg on the bar is the key to a easy professional sharpening job.The guide puts you on the correct sharpening angle as well as the height for each cutter once set.This way of sharpening make the chain last longer and saves time when you do it yourself in the woods. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

worked great

,
November 11, 2014
By
from columbus,oh
" The product Shipped fast. The product worked great, it was easy to install. And easy to use "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

chainsaw sharpener

,
October 31, 2014
By
from R.I.
" Easy-to-use,quick to setup, great tool. Will keep your chainsaw sharp with ease "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener

,
October 30, 2014
By
from Longview, TX
" Greatest thing since the file was invented! Took all other sharpeners and put in the pail marked "Items for Garage Sale." The only thing you'll ever need. Sharpens like a brand new chain and leaves the prettiest curls at your feet. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Money Saver and Accurate

,
October 4, 2014
By
from Rougemont, NC
" I purchased this product with the intention of a quick sharpening of the chain while out in the field cutting fire wood. I heat with wood and use my chainsaw a lot. After a little practice, I was able to see just how sharp this tool makes my chains and does it quickly. This will save me money by not having to purchase new chains as often. I used a chain grinder for years and always seemed to replace the chain sooner due to the amount of metal the grinder takes off. This Sharpener is easy to use and makes your chains very sharp which makes short work on wood. Not to mention less work on your saw. Sharpen your chains quickly and accurate every time. I will purchase again. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

How to save a chain saw chain

,
September 22, 2014
By
from Jasper Ga.
" It took me a few moments to figure out the installations, they could have been a little clearer. After playing with the jig for a few minutes it became easier and faster to go from one link to the next. To test the jig I took a chain that had given up the ghost and would not cut at all. After about 20 minutes work I tested it on the stump of a tree I had cut down the week before. It cut as well as the new chain I used to drop the tree. This jig will keep me from having to buy as many chains in the future "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

,
June 24, 2014
By
from Washington's Olympic Peninsula
" This product has taken all the guesswork out of chain sharpening. It takes a little figuring to get it set up the first time out of the package, but once its set up it really does an excellent job allowing you to make consistent even strokes. This little number is worth every penny and for someone who used to pay the local chainsaw shop to sharpen my chains, this little jig has more then paid for itself many times over. I would highly recommend it to anyone who has little experience sharpening chains. It literally takes all the guesswork out of it and the result is an evenly and precisely sharpened chain. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

A beginner beginning

,
May 19, 2014
By
from NJ
" It wasn't toohard to figure out how to put this on the bar. The settings are straightforward enough. My technique needs to be adjusted, though. After I use this a few more times, I'll update this comment. For now, I think this tool makes a biig difference, because the chain I used it on went from not-so-sharp to REALLY sharp. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I like This Product It helps You Maintain a Cut

,
April 27, 2014
By
from Ark.
" It Has Been Very Hard To Maintain that Sharp cut like a brand new chain would straight out of the package Sent's I started Using this sharpening tool now I can maintain that Sharp Cut every time I use my chain saw it will Cut large chunks of wood now instead of saw dust like before it can be adjusted to file that factory setting you just need to know your specks for that chain. It's a little hard to figure out and set up at first but once you learn how to use it properly it will be worth the time it takes to set it up on your saw hope this was helpful "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

surprised

,
February 17, 2014
By
from Long Beach, CA
" After reading some of the reviews I thought it was going to be difficult to assemble....but actually on the contrary it was simple, with a little reading & studying.
As for sharpening, u just need to get the angles within reason & u take right off. With 3 or 4 strokes of the file, the ol chain is sharp again. Make sure u wear gloves and I used the file inserted, to help line up the angles.....I don't think you can line it up without one.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy to use

,
February 4, 2014
By
from crawfordsville In
" this file is easy to use. and handy when you are in the woods and need to sharpen your chain. I carry it with my saws all the time. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great product

,
February 4, 2014
By
from Maine
" the product works excellent. The angle adjustment is awkward with the wing nut just above the file, also the slide will require regular lubrication, otherwise the product works flawlessly. Very easy to use. Cant go wrong for the price "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.