Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"

"Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"

Item# 1976
"Designed by Elof Granberg over 35 years ago, the File-N-Joint is an industry standard for accuracy and durability. This guide allows you to file your chain right on your bar with professional accuracy. Chain Pitch in. Universal, Product Type Sharpener, Mount Type Bar. Superior manual chain saw sharpener sharpens all major saw chain pitches Allows you to perfectly match the chain manufacturer's angles Attaches to your guide bar in seconds Accurately lowers depth gauge The file size is determined by the pitch and gauge of the chain being sharpened File not included, must be purchased locally Model G-106B"
Average Customer Rating:
4.29 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(69 Reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (69 reviews)
5 stars
43
4 stars
14
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
5
62 of 69(90%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Review 1 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

sharpener pretty good

,
December 13, 2014
By paloma
from Monroe, WA
" This tool is a bit hard to keep level, but does a good job once you do. You have to get the hang of it, but after a short time, you are a pro. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast and easy

,
November 23, 2014
By Tsaw
from oregon
" This sharpener is the best device I have used and I have tried all types. Because I don't have to remove the chain from the bar it saves a lot of time. It also allows me to keep the exact angle I need for the sharpest chain. It really is fast and easy. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Granberg Bar mounted sharpener

,
November 14, 2014
By Thespringer
from Northwest,Georgia
" The Granberg Bar Mounted sharpener is well constructed .The instructions are best understood if you search on You Tube for how to use the Granberg.Getting the Granberg on the bar is the key to a easy professional sharpening job.The guide puts you on the correct sharpening angle as well as the height for each cutter once set.This way of sharpening make the chain last longer and saves time when you do it yourself in the woods. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

worked great

,
November 11, 2014
By bubba171
from columbus,oh
" The product Shipped fast. The product worked great, it was easy to install. And easy to use "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

chainsaw sharpener

,
October 31, 2014
By Seapro401
from R.I.
" Easy-to-use,quick to setup, great tool. Will keep your chainsaw sharp with ease "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener

,
October 30, 2014
By TED7
from Longview, TX
" Greatest thing since the file was invented! Took all other sharpeners and put in the pail marked "Items for Garage Sale." The only thing you'll ever need. Sharpens like a brand new chain and leaves the prettiest curls at your feet. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Money Saver and Accurate

,
October 4, 2014
By BL5799
from Rougemont, NC
" I purchased this product with the intention of a quick sharpening of the chain while out in the field cutting fire wood. I heat with wood and use my chainsaw a lot. After a little practice, I was able to see just how sharp this tool makes my chains and does it quickly. This will save me money by not having to purchase new chains as often. I used a chain grinder for years and always seemed to replace the chain sooner due to the amount of metal the grinder takes off. This Sharpener is easy to use and makes your chains very sharp which makes short work on wood. Not to mention less work on your saw. Sharpen your chains quickly and accurate every time. I will purchase again. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

How to save a chain saw chain

,
September 22, 2014
By spiceman
from Jasper Ga.
" It took me a few moments to figure out the installations, they could have been a little clearer. After playing with the jig for a few minutes it became easier and faster to go from one link to the next. To test the jig I took a chain that had given up the ghost and would not cut at all. After about 20 minutes work I tested it on the stump of a tree I had cut down the week before. It cut as well as the new chain I used to drop the tree. This jig will keep me from having to buy as many chains in the future "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

,
June 24, 2014
By BackcountryHunter
from Washington's Olympic Peninsula
" This product has taken all the guesswork out of chain sharpening. It takes a little figuring to get it set up the first time out of the package, but once its set up it really does an excellent job allowing you to make consistent even strokes. This little number is worth every penny and for someone who used to pay the local chainsaw shop to sharpen my chains, this little jig has more then paid for itself many times over. I would highly recommend it to anyone who has little experience sharpening chains. It literally takes all the guesswork out of it and the result is an evenly and precisely sharpened chain. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

A beginner beginning

,
May 19, 2014
By UsnoozeUlose
from NJ
" It wasn't toohard to figure out how to put this on the bar. The settings are straightforward enough. My technique needs to be adjusted, though. After I use this a few more times, I'll update this comment. For now, I think this tool makes a biig difference, because the chain I used it on went from not-so-sharp to REALLY sharp. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I like This Product It helps You Maintain a Cut

,
April 27, 2014
By Scooterbo
from Ark.
" It Has Been Very Hard To Maintain that Sharp cut like a brand new chain would straight out of the package Sent's I started Using this sharpening tool now I can maintain that Sharp Cut every time I use my chain saw it will Cut large chunks of wood now instead of saw dust like before it can be adjusted to file that factory setting you just need to know your specks for that chain. It's a little hard to figure out and set up at first but once you learn how to use it properly it will be worth the time it takes to set it up on your saw hope this was helpful "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

surprised

,
February 17, 2014
By cmor
from Long Beach, CA
" After reading some of the reviews I thought it was going to be difficult to assemble....but actually on the contrary it was simple, with a little reading & studying.
As for sharpening, u just need to get the angles within reason & u take right off. With 3 or 4 strokes of the file, the ol chain is sharp again. Make sure u wear gloves and I used the file inserted, to help line up the angles.....I don't think you can line it up without one.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

easy to use

,
February 4, 2014
By keeb
from crawfordsville In
" this file is easy to use. and handy when you are in the woods and need to sharpen your chain. I carry it with my saws all the time. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great product

,
February 4, 2014
By sloat125
from Maine
" the product works excellent. The angle adjustment is awkward with the wing nut just above the file, also the slide will require regular lubrication, otherwise the product works flawlessly. Very easy to use. Cant go wrong for the price "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Cheaply made

,
November 15, 2013
By nconthego
from Charlotte NC
" Found this product very easy to use. Sharpened my first chain in about 10 minutes. Too bad it's made so cheap, I only made it to my second chain and the pot metal cracked and it fell apart. I was being very careful with it. It's just not made well. Worked great for one chain. I will return it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great jig after you get used to it - poor instr.

,
December 14, 2012
By OffGrid2009
from Davenport, WA
" When my small electric grinder died a year ago, I bought the Granberg G-106B. The instructions were worthless except for the pictures. Luckily there are a couple of decent how-to videos out there, so set-up went OK. Tolerances and alignment weren't quite right, it was "sticky", hard to push the bar thru the guides for a smooth, full stroke. I tweaked the alignment of one of the guide holders, used fine emery cloth on the sliding bar, and applied a touch of SuperLube grease...now it's action is smooth. I find that my chains are now sharper than they were using the grinder, and they cut faster. It doesn't take me much more time to use the Granberg than the old electric grinder. I go slow, it takes me about 20 minutes to do one chain for the 33" bar on my Stihl 044, and about 10-15 minutes to do a chain for the 16" bar on my Stihl 029. I couldn't be happier. Another plus is that I don't need to carry so many extra chains, I can sharpen a dull one right in the woods.
You need to be careful, the parts are aluminum or pot-metal, so if you bang the sharpener around in your equipment bag you can bend it - best to find or make a box to protect it. Also, the little spring-blade that serves as a stop for the chain links is pretty thin, so again, be careful. But once you get used to this little machine, it will do an amazing job on your chains.
Like other chain sharpening systems, this one doesn't address raker height, so you need a cheap depth gauge and a small flat file so you can check and adjust the raker height after 3 or 4 sharpenings. Otherwise, as the teeth get filed down they get shorter, and pretty soon you're producing fine sawdust instead of nice fat chips. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-1

,
December 8, 2012
By Lightning6430
from NC
" Hard to set up. Instructions are useless and appears to be a piece of junk. Wasted money "
Describe Yourself: Professional
-4points
4out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Horrible Instructions

,
November 23, 2012
By Straitshooter57
from UT
" The instructions with this product are absolutely the worst of any product I've ever purchased -- period. They are worse than useless because the tool comes out of the box in a backward position.
I've yet to make the thing work for me because I'm guessing at every setting.
Only buy this product if you already know how to sharpen a chainsaw. Otherwise, you are in for a frustrating experience. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Finally

,
October 16, 2012
By golf3369
from pembroke, nh
" I bought this because my dad had one that he used for his saws. I tried another one but it was all plastic.
This sharpener got very good reviews which prompted me to try it as I have been looking for one for a while. Out of the box it was awfull. The directions to me were worse than awfull. It came packaged reverse of the way it should be set up. The only thing that saved me from sending it back were the pictures and from them I could put it together. Using it started off very slow but got easier as I learned how. All in all it puts a very good edge on my chains and I do now like it. Better directions are a must!!!!!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Granberg Chain Saw Sharpener

,
October 8, 2012
By kar250
from VA
" The sharpener works well once you figure out how to set it up. It would be nice if better instructions were included. However, it is worth the price. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.