Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chainsaw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"

"Granberg Bar-Mount Chainsaw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"

Item# 1976
"Designed by Elof Granberg over 35 years ago, the File-N-Joint is an industry standard for accuracy and durability. This guide allows you to file your chain right on your bar with professional accuracy. Chain Pitch in. Universal, Product Type Sharpener/Grinder, Mount Type Bar. Superior manual chainsaw sharpener sharpens all major saw chain pitches Allows you to perfectly match the chain manufacturer's angles Attaches to your guide bar in seconds Accurately lowers depth gauge The file size is determined by the pitch and gauge of the chain being sharpened File not included, must be purchased locally Model G-106B"
Average Customer Rating:
4.244 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(82 Reviews) 82
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (82 reviews)
5 stars
48
4 stars
20
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
6
73 of 82(89%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chainsaw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Review 1 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chainsaw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tool

,
May 28, 2016
By
from Kansas
The Granberg G-106B file guide is a great tool. I've never been able to get my chains this sharp before. I do some milling and the effort saved using ultra sharp chain paid for the cost of the guide within a few minutes.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chainsaw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Makes sharpening easy

,
May 16, 2016
By
from Camano Island
Fitting the bar to the sharpener was not any more difficult than assembling any new product. The end result was a quick and easy way to get accurate sharpening.
The key is a secure vise to clamp your bar in and you're in business. I'd recommend this to anyone struggling to do it by hand .
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chainsaw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Finally

,
April 27, 2016
By
from Spokane,wa
I had purchased another type from another company and it was junk. It was plastic, and it would not stay true. This one is rock solid. It takes a little time to get it set up but we'll worth it. So much I bought 2 one for me and one for an uncle who I cut wood with.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chainsaw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good purchase

,
December 7, 2015
By
from NJ
Grandberg chainsaw sharpening tool works as described. Little tricky to set up initially, but after referring to the installation drawing a few times I was up and sharpening shortly.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chainsaw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well

,
November 9, 2015
By
from South Carolina
Works as expected, decent quality. I brought a couple of old chains back to life in short order. It took a few minutes to figure out the directions
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chainsaw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good product

,
November 3, 2015
By
from Kentucky
It does a good job on sharpening my chainsaw. Price was right too. Delivery was quick also.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chainsaw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tool

,
November 1, 2015
By
from Va.
This hand sharpener works geat it's the best I have used yet. I have been sharpening my own chains for a long time now. With this one you can get every tooth the same and very sharp and it is easy to use too.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chainsaw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great chain sharpening assistance

,
July 14, 2015
By
from SC
Good tool to produce consistant results when sharpening a chainsaw chain. I'm a complete novice and knew I wouldn't be able to be consistent hand sharpening a chain. This thing, with a little setup and a little foreknowledge (Wranglerstar on youtube has a decent video on this tool, only motorized. Same concept.) and a little patience, works to produce good results for even a novice like me.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chainsaw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

gramberg chain saw sharper

,
July 6, 2015
By
from melrose
this is the best and easiest to use it is completely accurate and the price can not be beat. i checked out many and nothing conpares.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chainsaw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Jig

,
April 16, 2015
By
from Kennebunk, Maine
Good jig for the price. Does a lot better job than doing it by eyeballing the angles and filing by hand. All metal construction, better than others that use plastic components.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chainsaw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

chainsaw sharpener

,
March 28, 2015
By
from Judsonia,AR.
I finally got sharpening my chain right with this product thank you for still selling them. after 3 chains and 1 bar.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chainsaw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Broke on first use

,
February 19, 2015
By
from Missouri
Made with cheap pot metal. The clamp that holds the guide bar snapped the first time we used it.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-4points
2out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chainsaw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Chain saw sharpener

,
January 9, 2015
By
from Millington Tn.
Ya get what cha pay for !! Kinda flimsy - hard to find the proper angle - it "IS" better than nothing - but not a lot
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chainsaw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

sharpener pretty good

,
December 13, 2014
By
from Monroe, WA
This tool is a bit hard to keep level, but does a good job once you do. You have to get the hang of it, but after a short time, you are a pro.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chainsaw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast and easy

,
November 23, 2014
By
from oregon
This sharpener is the best device I have used and I have tried all types. Because I don't have to remove the chain from the bar it saves a lot of time. It also allows me to keep the exact angle I need for the sharpest chain. It really is fast and easy.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chainsaw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Granberg Bar mounted sharpener

,
November 14, 2014
By
from Northwest,Georgia
The Granberg Bar Mounted sharpener is well constructed .The instructions are best understood if you search on You Tube for how to use the Granberg.Getting the Granberg on the bar is the key to a easy professional sharpening job.The guide puts you on the correct sharpening angle as well as the height for each cutter once set.This way of sharpening make the chain last longer and saves time when you do it yourself in the woods.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chainsaw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

worked great

,
November 11, 2014
By
from columbus,oh
The product Shipped fast. The product worked great, it was easy to install. And easy to use
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chainsaw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

chainsaw sharpener

,
October 31, 2014
By
from R.I.
Easy-to-use,quick to setup, great tool. Will keep your chainsaw sharp with ease
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chainsaw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener

,
October 30, 2014
By
from Longview, TX
Greatest thing since the file was invented! Took all other sharpeners and put in the pail marked "Items for Garage Sale." The only thing you'll ever need. Sharpens like a brand new chain and leaves the prettiest curls at your feet.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chainsaw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Money Saver and Accurate

,
October 4, 2014
By
from Rougemont, NC
I purchased this product with the intention of a quick sharpening of the chain while out in the field cutting fire wood. I heat with wood and use my chainsaw a lot. After a little practice, I was able to see just how sharp this tool makes my chains and does it quickly. This will save me money by not having to purchase new chains as often. I used a chain grinder for years and always seemed to replace the chain sooner due to the amount of metal the grinder takes off. This Sharpener is easy to use and makes your chains very sharp which makes short work on wood. Not to mention less work on your saw. Sharpen your chains quickly and accurate every time. I will purchase again.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.