Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chainsaw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"

"Granberg Bar-Mount Chainsaw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"

Item# 1976
"Designed by Elof Granberg over 35 years ago, the File-N-Joint is an industry standard for accuracy and durability. This guide allows you to file your chain right on your bar with professional accuracy. Product Type Sharpener/Grinder, Chain Pitch in. Universal, Mount Type Bar. Superior manual chainsaw sharpener sharpens all major saw chain pitches Allows you to perfectly match the chain manufacturer's angles Attaches to your guide bar in seconds Accurately lowers depth gauge The file size is determined by the pitch and gauge of the chain being sharpened File not included, must be purchased locally Model G-106B"
Average Customer Rating:
4.228 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(79 Reviews) 79
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (79 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
19
3 stars
6
2 stars
2
1 star
6
70 of 79(89%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chainsaw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Review 1 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chainsaw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good purchase

,
December 7, 2015
By
from NJ
Grandberg chainsaw sharpening tool works as described. Little tricky to set up initially, but after referring to the installation drawing a few times I was up and sharpening shortly.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chainsaw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well

,
November 9, 2015
By
from South Carolina
Works as expected, decent quality. I brought a couple of old chains back to life in short order. It took a few minutes to figure out the directions
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chainsaw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

good product

,
November 3, 2015
By
from Kentucky
It does a good job on sharpening my chainsaw. Price was right too. Delivery was quick also.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chainsaw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tool

,
November 1, 2015
By
from Va.
This hand sharpener works geat it's the best I have used yet. I have been sharpening my own chains for a long time now. With this one you can get every tooth the same and very sharp and it is easy to use too.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chainsaw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great chain sharpening assistance

,
July 14, 2015
By
from SC
Good tool to produce consistant results when sharpening a chainsaw chain. I'm a complete novice and knew I wouldn't be able to be consistent hand sharpening a chain. This thing, with a little setup and a little foreknowledge (Wranglerstar on youtube has a decent video on this tool, only motorized. Same concept.) and a little patience, works to produce good results for even a novice like me.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chainsaw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

gramberg chain saw sharper

,
July 6, 2015
By
from melrose
this is the best and easiest to use it is completely accurate and the price can not be beat. i checked out many and nothing conpares.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chainsaw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Jig

,
April 16, 2015
By
from Kennebunk, Maine
Good jig for the price. Does a lot better job than doing it by eyeballing the angles and filing by hand. All metal construction, better than others that use plastic components.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chainsaw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

chainsaw sharpener

,
March 28, 2015
By
from Judsonia,AR.
I finally got sharpening my chain right with this product thank you for still selling them. after 3 chains and 1 bar.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chainsaw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Broke on first use

,
February 19, 2015
By
from Missouri
Made with cheap pot metal. The clamp that holds the guide bar snapped the first time we used it.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-3points
2out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chainsaw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Chain saw sharpener

,
January 9, 2015
By
from Millington Tn.
Ya get what cha pay for !! Kinda flimsy - hard to find the proper angle - it "IS" better than nothing - but not a lot
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chainsaw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

sharpener pretty good

,
December 13, 2014
By
from Monroe, WA
This tool is a bit hard to keep level, but does a good job once you do. You have to get the hang of it, but after a short time, you are a pro.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chainsaw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast and easy

,
November 23, 2014
By
from oregon
This sharpener is the best device I have used and I have tried all types. Because I don't have to remove the chain from the bar it saves a lot of time. It also allows me to keep the exact angle I need for the sharpest chain. It really is fast and easy.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chainsaw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Granberg Bar mounted sharpener

,
November 14, 2014
By
from Northwest,Georgia
The Granberg Bar Mounted sharpener is well constructed .The instructions are best understood if you search on You Tube for how to use the Granberg.Getting the Granberg on the bar is the key to a easy professional sharpening job.The guide puts you on the correct sharpening angle as well as the height for each cutter once set.This way of sharpening make the chain last longer and saves time when you do it yourself in the woods.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chainsaw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

worked great

,
November 11, 2014
By
from columbus,oh
The product Shipped fast. The product worked great, it was easy to install. And easy to use
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chainsaw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

chainsaw sharpener

,
October 31, 2014
By
from R.I.
Easy-to-use,quick to setup, great tool. Will keep your chainsaw sharp with ease
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chainsaw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bar-Mount Chain Saw Sharpener

,
October 30, 2014
By
from Longview, TX
Greatest thing since the file was invented! Took all other sharpeners and put in the pail marked "Items for Garage Sale." The only thing you'll ever need. Sharpens like a brand new chain and leaves the prettiest curls at your feet.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chainsaw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Money Saver and Accurate

,
October 4, 2014
By
from Rougemont, NC
I purchased this product with the intention of a quick sharpening of the chain while out in the field cutting fire wood. I heat with wood and use my chainsaw a lot. After a little practice, I was able to see just how sharp this tool makes my chains and does it quickly. This will save me money by not having to purchase new chains as often. I used a chain grinder for years and always seemed to replace the chain sooner due to the amount of metal the grinder takes off. This Sharpener is easy to use and makes your chains very sharp which makes short work on wood. Not to mention less work on your saw. Sharpen your chains quickly and accurate every time. I will purchase again.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chainsaw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

How to save a chain saw chain

,
September 22, 2014
By
from Jasper Ga.
It took me a few moments to figure out the installations, they could have been a little clearer. After playing with the jig for a few minutes it became easier and faster to go from one link to the next. To test the jig I took a chain that had given up the ghost and would not cut at all. After about 20 minutes work I tested it on the stump of a tree I had cut down the week before. It cut as well as the new chain I used to drop the tree. This jig will keep me from having to buy as many chains in the future
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chainsaw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent product

,
June 24, 2014
By
from Washington's Olympic Peninsula
This product has taken all the guesswork out of chain sharpening. It takes a little figuring to get it set up the first time out of the package, but once its set up it really does an excellent job allowing you to make consistent even strokes. This little number is worth every penny and for someone who used to pay the local chainsaw shop to sharpen my chains, this little jig has more then paid for itself many times over. I would highly recommend it to anyone who has little experience sharpening chains. It literally takes all the guesswork out of it and the result is an evenly and precisely sharpened chain.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Granberg Bar-Mount Chainsaw Sharpener, Model# G-106B"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

A beginner beginning

,
May 19, 2014
By
from NJ
It wasn't toohard to figure out how to put this on the bar. The settings are straightforward enough. My technique needs to be adjusted, though. After I use this a few more times, I'll update this comment. For now, I think this tool makes a biig difference, because the chain I used it on went from not-so-sharp to REALLY sharp.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.