Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Wood Blaster Log Splitter Wedge

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Wood Blaster Log Splitter Wedge

Item# 19789
Steel wedge helps you split logs faster and easier. Application Splitting, Material Steel.
Average Customer Rating:
4.27 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (37 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
2
32 of 37(86%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wood Blaster Log Splitter Wedge
Review 1 for Wood Blaster Log Splitter Wedge
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wood Blaster Log Splitter Wedge

,
May 7, 2012
By Baiyoboi
from Boston, MA
" OMG! I take a log and Ax and cross shape groove on top 3/4 inch deep than place this Splitter Wedge in the middle and use the sledge hammer side of the Ax. 2 out of 3 times the log is split in 4 pieces. Amazing! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Wood Blaster Log Splitter Wedge
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
May 7, 2012
By cgirl
from North Carolina
" This product works great and cuts the time it takes to split wood in half. I loved the product so much that I bought 3 more to give to my sons. I also loaned mine to a friend and he went out and bought one he liked it so much! I would highly recommend this product to family and friends who split alot of wood for heat in the winter.. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Wood Blaster Log Splitter Wedge
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic little tool

,
February 6, 2012
By dorsey
from Gillette, NJ
" I bought an original Oregon Wood Grenade about 22 years ago, and wore it out. I then bought one of these about ten years ago and wore that one out just today. Follow the two usage tips about grenade orientation and placement relative to the center of the log. You won't be sorry buying one of these if you follow that advice. I'm about to order two more so I can split some 36" diameter Red Oak logs.
FYI - by "wore it out", I mean that even after grinding off the top peening several times (a safety thing to keep shards from flying off), they just keep on going. In both cases (and after ten years heavy use each), the tips broke off about one inch up. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Wood Blaster Log Splitter Wedge
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

thunbs up Wood Blaster

,
January 9, 2012
By jeepster
from Long Island, NY
" I have been splitting alot of wood the last few years but only recently bought this wood blaster. I use it to split large diameter (18-24") hardwood. This thing works great. My only complaint is that it sometimes will bounce out of green wood. I can't believe I waited this long to buy this....could have saved me alot of work if I had it two years ago. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Wood Blaster Log Splitter Wedge
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Wedges Made

,
October 11, 2011
By Dutchie31
from Crossville, TN
" I have been using these wood blaster wedges for over four years. I am a 80 year old male and have split oak 28 inches in diameter and 24 inches long. My wife of 76 years also spits with these wedges. I have also reccommended these wedges to several of my friends. There is a particular way to use these wedges in order to be able to split the wood with the least bit of effort. The very first feature to be noted about these wedges is that there are two flat sides and two peaked sides. The wedge should be placed on the log about halfway between the outside edge and the center of the log, the peaked sides of the wedge should be one facing to the outside of the log and the other to the center. I use a 10 lb. maul and I just tap the wedge lightly until the the two flat sides enter the wood, then commence heavier blows until the wood shows it's splitting pattern, I then do the same operation for the other side. When both wedges have entered the wood about the same amount I then alternate blows from one wedge to the other until the wood splits completely. It should be noted that it would be best to have two wedges on hand at all times as two will be needed for the larger diameters. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Wood Blaster Log Splitter Wedge
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

useful tool

,
June 16, 2011
By robert99
from Marietta, Georgia
" Not a miracle worker but a very good addition to the tools for wood splitting. Starting with a conventional wedge, then using the Wood Blaster worked well on 18" diameter oak. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Wood Blaster Log Splitter Wedge
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does what it says!

,
March 22, 2011
By JoeRH
from Roanoke, VA
" This was my first time purchasing a wedge and I am very pleased with the Wood Blaster. It's so easy to use...does it's job well...and makes splitting wood a breeze. It seems like the diamond shape head helps much more than other flat wedges. Great product! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Wood Blaster Log Splitter Wedge
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

wood blaster

,
November 17, 2010
By marc941
from long Island, NY
" It works great. I was able to split logs two feet long and 18 inch's wide with the aid of a good sledge hammer. Once the log is split the wedge wil do the rest. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Wood Blaster Log Splitter Wedge
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Log grenade

,
August 30, 2010
By HSKell
" Great product, very useful at a great price. Super fast shipment, and a very durable product. I would recommend, and buy again. "
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wood Blaster Log Splitter Wedge
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Wood Splitter

,
February 15, 2010
By TDogg
from Chandler, OK
" These are really great for the little cost involved.
I had one of a different brand that was a different type of metal and a different color that broke. The one that broke had plenty of use on it before it broke.
I would recommend this tool to anyone who splits wood on a regular basis. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Wood Blaster Log Splitter Wedge
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

wood grenade

,
January 14, 2010
By Jack433
from new york
" I've used a wood grenade for years and just broke my last two the other day. Like another user said it was cold out about 25 and it's probably why it broke. I ordered the wood blaster and used it on the very same tree within a few days of breaking the wood grenade. Elm cut in 18-20" lenghts. The wood blaster worked just about as well as the wood grenande. It will bounce out on fresh cut wood but if you just don't hit it as hard on the first few strikes it's less likely to pop out. These wedges do break after a while but they tend make splitting easier. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wood Blaster Log Splitter Wedge
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Wood Blaster Log Splitter

,
December 17, 2009
By robertp4
from Southern Connecticut
" As someone mentioned, I had the log grenade also. It had the same shape as the Wood Blaster, though it seemed to have a shape that caused it to stay in once it got started. I used it through a cold winter, and believed that is the reason it broke toward the bottom. It was beautiful. I got so much use out of it with such ease and efficiency, I would buy it again even if I knew it would break again. If the Grenade comes back again, please let me know. It never popped out the way the Wood Blaster does on wet wood. I still think the Wood Blaster is a good wedge and well worth having. It is much easier to get started than a conventional wedge, and gets the job done a lot easier than a conventional wedge.
I will try using two on the wet wood.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Wood Blaster Log Splitter Wedge
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wood Blaster Log Splitter Wedge

,
October 19, 2009
By WoodBlaster
from Westchester, ny
" Best workout I've had in years. Made splitin logs real easy "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Wood Blaster Log Splitter Wedge
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

WOOD BLASTER LOG SPLITTER WEDGE

,
October 19, 2009
By HOSS2020
from WASHINGTON
" NOT GOOD FOR WET WOOD, ONE HIT AND IT BOUNCES OUT. I'M 6'4" 275lbs AND CAN DO A BETTER JOB WITH JUST A REGULAR WEDGE AND A 8lb MALL "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Wood Blaster Log Splitter Wedge
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

still use std splitter

,
October 19, 2009
By Johnnygoodguy
from Maywood, NJ
" Not satisfied with this splitter. I used it a few times but had to go back to the standard flat splitter. I will try to sharpen the tip on this one to see if that helps. If the tip was sharper, I believe it would work better getting the log split started then split. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Wood Blaster Log Splitter Wedge
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

so-so splitting

,
July 20, 2009
By swany
from Coventry, RI
" Using the Wood Blaster Splitter is about the same as using a splitting maul. I had the aching and pain as using the maul. I do recommend buing 2 as if one gets stuck, you could use the other to split the log. I do have logs that are 18+ inchs in diameter and don't think I can split all the wood I have (6-8 cords). It is cheaper than a $1,000+ hydraulic splitter, but with the labor and time, it would not be wourth the effort. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wood Blaster Log Splitter Wedge
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

works fantastic

,
March 28, 2009
By mrbigwalt
from Olive Branch, MS
" Some reviewers point out that the wood blaster pops out of large logs. It does indeed, but here's how to solve this problem. Get two of these Wood Blasters (you need two anyway for various reasons as you'll find out). Get a 16 pound sledgehammer. Put one blaster along the crack in the log in the normal off-center location and put the other blaster a few inches from the edge along the same crack. Then just hit each blaster in an alternating fashion. They should not continue to pop out (if one does, just hammer it back in) and they will split the log easier and faster using this method. I had some large logs of hickory (27" dia and up to 27" long), and I was almost sure that I was going to have to rent a splitter. But these 2 blasters are doing the job and it's way more fun than a using a splitter. Swinging that big sledgehammer is good exercise and great therapy and gets the testosterone flowing. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wood Blaster Log Splitter Wedge
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Jumps out of large logs

,
March 23, 2009
By Donjuan
from Norwell, MA
" This is the second cone shaped wedge I've owned, The first one was called a "wood Grenade" and had a narrower taper to its point. It split logs well making several pieces out of large logs and saving work. Alas however, the tapered point broke off after about 50 logs. I saw this wedge had a thicker point which is less likely to break, unfortunately, this is also its downfall. Because the point is thick it doesn't bite into the large logs very well. I found that in thick logs (20 inches or more in diameter) the spike will only sink in about an inch, then the next hit with the sledge hammer will make it pop out of the log. This happens very consistantly and is frustrating as well as dangerous. I wish the "wood grenade" was still available, but I've never found it since. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Wood Blaster Log Splitter Wedge
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

,
December 6, 2008
By 596larry0
from BLOOMINGDALE MI
" THIS WEDGE WORKS FAR BETTER THEN ANY OTHER WEDGE I'VE EVER USED "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Wood Blaster Log Splitter Wedge
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it!

,
November 13, 2008
By mjkerkau
from Gainesville, FL
" I love this thing. Bought two last year, one for me and one for my father-in-law after trying his.
I'm a 5'2" 110 lb woman,...... not real helpful for log splitting purposes, but this wedge makes all the difference for me. It gets right down into that checked wood and splits easily.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.