Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Steel Skidding Tongs - 23in. Jaw Opening

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Northern Industrial Steel Skidding Tongs - 23in. Jaw Opening

Item# 19795
These sturdy 23in. Northern Industrial Steel Skidding Tongs are manufactured from high-carbon steel. A quick and easy way to grab hold of poles and logs for skidding and dragging operations. Jaw Opening in. 4 1/2-23, Ring Size in. 3/4, Product Type Tong, Material Carbon steel. Made with heavy-duty high-carbon steel Jaw opens from 4in. to 23in. to accommodate logs of various sizes 3/4in. ring to attach behind a tractor or ATV
Average Customer Rating:
4.302 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (43 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
4
38 of 43(88%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Steel Skidding Tongs - 23in. Jaw Opening
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Steel Skidding Tongs - 23in. Jaw Opening
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Performed as Promised

,
October 15, 2012
By Anonymous
from Fremont, IN
"Aside from having several large trees to move around my property, I had a very large sunken log in the swimming area of our beach in several feet of water that I could not extract. I sharpened the points of the tongs, dropped it down, and secured the log by pulling on the rope I had attached. When I pulled with my truck, the tongs held, and removed a huge ancient log buried in the depths of the lake.
The tongs are great for general use, and definitely solved a problem that had been haunting me for years. The quality is great, and the price is very reasonable. I would recommend them."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Steel Skidding Tongs - 23in. Jaw Opening
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Retired professional logger

,
October 2, 2012
By STUDDLY
from Greaeagle, CA
"As a log loader, on the Oregon coast, I used tongs for many years. I always wanted a smaller pair for my ranch. I find the tongs a great back saver and saw saver too as the log is off the ground and easy to lift. When not in field use, I hang it on the wall of my log home surrounded by other logging stuff and it brings back fond memories of loading the big fir."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Steel Skidding Tongs - 23in. Jaw Opening
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

skidding tongs

,
August 13, 2012
By vinnyjv
from athens al
"these skiddingtongs are heavy & solid they open big & grab the biggest logs, & half the porice of any other this size"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Steel Skidding Tongs - 23in. Jaw Opening
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

gets the job done

,
May 7, 2012
By carver
from Lincoln County, TN
"We have a small farm and use these on our 3pt boom pole, to move logs, and to set sections on end for chainsaw carving. They work great! We did not sharpen the points, but it would probably be a good idea. Very good quality for the price. Maybe if you are in the logging industry, you'd need something more industrial. For the farmer or home owner, these are a great value!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Steel Skidding Tongs - 23in. Jaw Opening
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent

,
June 16, 2011
By TPInc
from Indiana
"I've spent years digging to get a chain around logs. With these tongs you just hook take up the slack and go."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Steel Skidding Tongs - 23in. Jaw Opening
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Grapplig with skidder tongs

,
June 6, 2011
By septicbob
from Dunstable, MA
"I use my togs with the backhoe of my 855 John Deere. Pulling logs from a grapple load of logs, cutting to length and piling the cut logs is a cinch with the tongs. I also use them to load heavy to lift logs on to the table of my splitter.
My bad back has avoided aggravation thanks to the tongs."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Steel Skidding Tongs - 23in. Jaw Opening
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Steel Skidding Tongs

,
March 14, 2011
By psychtx47
from North Alabama
"For years my wife and I have struggled to move railroad crossties for landscaping and erossion control...not good for older backs...wow, with the tongs, a chain, and either the backhoe or tractor with boompole it's a piece of cake. We also cut firewood and plan to use the tongs to move and support the logs in the process. I did sharpen the tips with an angle grinder pryor to using, as another reviewer had suggested. They worked great. Now I need to order a hook/handle to roll the crossties for leveling."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Steel Skidding Tongs - 23in. Jaw Opening
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Steel Skidding Tongs

,
November 20, 2010
By mitch64
"These tongs work great, very well constructed and do an excellent job gripping and holding logs. I use mine on my tractor boom pole and are easily able to lift the log up out of the dirt and this is better on my chainsaw since there is basicily no dirt on the log. These tongs are awesom, thanks Northern Tool."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Steel Skidding Tongs - 23in. Jaw Opening
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

skidding tongs

,
August 30, 2010
By Dj11
from Wahpeton, ND
""These tongs ended up being more useful then I expected, from pulling
to lifting to unloading, alot easier then wrapping a chain!
Dj"
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Northern Industrial Steel Skidding Tongs - 23in. Jaw Opening
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great with just a small tweak

,
June 3, 2010
By obnoxs1
from MI
"These tongs are constructed well, obviously heavy duty; the only problem is the points that stick into the log are rounded & dull, making grabbing the log difficult; a bench grinder sharpening improves their function greatly;"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Northern Industrial Steel Skidding Tongs - 23in. Jaw Opening
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Excellent tool

,
June 2, 2010
By MacGyver1701
from Chrisney, IN
"I love this tool for use when log splitting and clearing. This tool is excellent for picking up cut timber from a tractor 3-point hitch. Simply attach it to the lift using a chain, back over the log, lower the lift, and then pick it back up with the log in toe. To release, lower, then drive off of it.
On my log splitter, this works just as well. I have a crane/boom on the splitter that I use to lift large logs into the machine. I do not think I have ever had one fall off yet.
My only complaint is that it is very heavy, so using it by hand will wear you out. But then again, I think the heavy is what makes it work well.
I highly recommend this to anyone wanting to do some serious firewood or logging work."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Northern Industrial Steel Skidding Tongs - 23in. Jaw Opening
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

tongs

,
June 1, 2010
By browning
from Maine
"exactly what I was expecting. Worked great for moving some logs around my yard. was able to use with cable and ran through a pulley up in a tree to help lift and stack the logs. Much easier with two people but can be managed by one."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Northern Industrial Steel Skidding Tongs - 23in. Jaw Opening
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

skidding tongs

,
June 1, 2010
By kdhthatsme
from Sierra Nevada Mts. California
"I purchased this skidding tong to use with my tractor for moving old power poles destined for retaining walls. I have a 40 HP John Deere and I have moved poles up to 30 feet long and 20 inch diameter with this tong. I am convinced this tong will handle anything the tractor has the power to move. With proper placement on the pole it will never pull off under tension. A great tool. It is also great for moving downed timber after winter storms."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Northern Industrial Steel Skidding Tongs - 23in. Jaw Opening
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

tongs

,
May 25, 2010
By gandrimp
"This product works good with 2 people. 1 person can do it but it can be a real pain. As other have stated these tongs need sharpened. I use tongs to lift and drag wood blocks to my wood splitter."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Northern Industrial Steel Skidding Tongs - 23in. Jaw Opening
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Strong but could be improved

,
February 22, 2010
By Sawyer1950
from South Carolina
"These are heavy, strong grabs. I would like to see them sharper and with a chain hook instead of a ring."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Northern Industrial Steel Skidding Tongs - 23in. Jaw Opening
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

satisfied

,
February 22, 2010
By nutman
from quincy , florida
"These tongs are very heavy duty and are well made . I have huge mature pecan trees and occasionally one will blow down and I have to cut it up in sections that I can handle with my tractor . I have lifted sections of these trees as large as 36in. in diameter with no problem whatsoever . These tongs will definitely do the job they were designed to do ."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
BayBoomer1
Newington, NH 
 
Please wait while more information about BayBoomer1 is loaded.
Additional information about BayBoomer1 could not be loaded.
Skidding Tongs
November 23, 2010
"Great quality, better than I expected at this price. Ring is 3/4", arms are 1" forged. Nice mid-size but built like a beast. You may want to sharpen them to bite quicker.
I am happy with these.
"
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Northern Industrial Steel Skidding Tongs - 23in. Jaw Opening
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

NI Steek Skidding Tongs

,
October 19, 2009
By Kenny59
from Waynesboro, MS
"I bought these along with the fiberglass handled Timberjack. Like some others, I have had difficulty in getting the points to bite into the log. I finally took a grinder and ground the points sharper and that helped some. I now keep an axe or small sledge hammer to knock the points into the log. It is more time consuming and a little more frustrating but once you get them to bite they will allow you to pull the log. The tongs are heavy well made. I have no complaints about that. I would advise anyone who purchases these to sharpen the points before ever using them to save frustration (especially if you are working alone) and keep an axe or hammer on hand."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Northern Industrial Steel Skidding Tongs - 23in. Jaw Opening
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Steel Skidding Tongs

,
October 19, 2009
By Jack107
from Northern Virginia
"These tongs were far more solid and sturdy than they looked in the picture. These guys will drag anything you can find in the forest and then some. Strong, well-constructed, I have used these tongs with my garden tractor (22 HP) to drag fallen trees from where they fell to where I can cut them up and stack the wood, saving me hours of work hauling the cut-up logs by cart to the back of my property. No shed or barn should be without these tongs that have multiple purposes and are extra strong. Don't forget to buy a length of 3/16ths or larger chain and some connecting hooks for dragging trees, etc. with these tongs. You might also use steel cable or even web strapping. These tongs come with a large connecting ring that will accomodate just about any fasterner you have."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Northern Industrial Steel Skidding Tongs - 23in. Jaw Opening
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Industrial Steel Skidding Tongs

,
August 6, 2009
By handyman123
from St. Louis, MO
"These tongs were reasonably priced and are made of quality material. I use these tongs to drag logs in areas that I can't reach with my truck and splitter. They work very well and I would recommend them to all."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Northern Industrial Steel Skidding Tongs - 23in. Jaw Opening
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

This works great!

,
July 21, 2009
By Hobiewan1260
from Butler Center, NY
"If you're like me, you read reviews on things you're not sure about. I read the reviews on these tongs, and thought I'd give them a try. I'm glad to report that the reviews I read are right on the mark! One of the folks had mentioned to sharpen the tips before you head off into the woods, and that was right too! I mounted mine on the 3 point hitch multi use bar. What's nice is how fast it make skidding a log! A quick positioning of the tongs to pick the log up, and most times, just lowering the log down will release them, no need to get out of the seat. I only wish I had discovered them years ago!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.