Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NOCO Genius Wicked Smart Multipurpose Battery Charger - 3.5 Amp, 6/12 Volt, Model# G3500

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

NOCO Genius Wicked Smart Multipurpose Battery Charger - 3.5 Amp, 6/12 Volt, Model# G3500

Item# 19843
The G3500 NOCO Genius Wicked Smart Charger is a smart, 8 Step, fully automatic switch-mode battery charger and maintainer. The G3500 restores batteries to their original capacity, recovers slightly sulfated batteries, charges batteries in cold climates, rescues drained batteries and provides maintenance charging to increase battery life. A versatile battery charger that provides charging modes for both large and small batteries from 1.2-120Ah, such as cars, RVs, boats and trucks, as well as for motorcycles, ATVs, jet skis or snowmobiles. Power Cord ft. 6, Recharge Time hours at amps 1 hr. at 1.2Ah-21 hrs. at 120Ah, Charges Multiple Batteries qty. Not recommended to charge multiple batteries, Amps 3.5 3500mA, Clamp Material Copper, Trickle Recharge Time hours at amps 1 hr. at 1.2Ah-21 hrs. at 120Ah, Polarity Reversal Protection Yes, Settings qty. 6V Norm, 12V Norm, 6V Cold/AGM, 12V Cold/AGM, Small 6V Norm, Dimensions L x W x H in. 9 x 3.8 x 2.4, Cable Gauge 16 AWG, Works With Wet, MF, AGM and gel batteries, Case Material Plastic IP65 rated, Amp Charge Rate 3.5, Overcharge Protection Yes, Volts 6, 12, Charger Type Switch mode, fully-automatic, Cable Length in. 78. Multiple Battery Chemistry Safety allows you to safely charge wet, Gel and AGM batteries Auto-memory feature - returns to last selected mode when restarted Fully interactive - automatically adjusts itself to changing current needs Cold/AGM mode - optimized charge mode for cold weather or AGM batteries Rapid charging technology - charges batteries 2X faster than traditional linear battery chargers Variable input compensated - 100 full charge, even with varying A/C input voltages Recovery mode - recovers deeply discharged and sulfated batteries with pulse charging Designed for safety - protects against reverse polarity, short circuit, open circuit, spark proof, overheat, overcurrent and overcharge Abnormality Protection - automatically shuts off if charger remains in bulk charge mode for an extended period of time Extendable connectors - plug-n-play connectors for easy accessory changes Small battery mode - charge smaller capacity batteries without overcharging VosFX Processor - a revolutionary smart processor utilizing sophisticated levels of intelligence to alter the charge process based on organic feedback from the battery to extend battery life
Average Customer Rating:
4.615 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (13 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
12 of 13(92%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NOCO Genius Wicked Smart Multipurpose Battery Charger - 3.5 Amp, 6/12 Volt, Model# G3500
Review 1 for NOCO Genius Wicked Smart Multipurpose Battery Charger - 3.5 Amp, 6/12 Volt, Model# G3500
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does what it is designed for

,
January 14, 2013
By PMSATX
from TX
" I purchased the G3500 to keep the battery charged in a vehicle that is stored most of the year. The charger is simple to operate and allows for use with smaller batteries, which is a plus. The construction is adequate, but I would not want to drop-test it since the case does not seem quite as rugged, or rather shock resistant, as the pics imply. The real test will be how the battery holds up over the long term but so far, so good. The alligator clips seem to be comparable to what you will find on other chargers and the charger has a quick disconnect to allow you to switch to the included terminal lugs or add an extra-length cord (not included).
After purchasing, I read some of the reviews for the other Genius charges and started to notice a similarity in writing style. Out of 33 reviews posted for the 1100, 3500, and 7200 chargers over a 22 month period, 26 of those reviews were posted during Oct and Nov 2011. Although I am happy with the charger, it would seem that most of those reviews are suspect. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 2 for NOCO Genius Wicked Smart Multipurpose Battery Charger - 3.5 Amp, 6/12 Volt, Model# G3500
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wicked Smart Charger

,
August 13, 2012
By Ga7ry
from Bay City, Mi
" This product is true to its name! It charges both 6 volt and 12 volt batteries, It shows the % charged and automatically switches to "maintain" mode when charge is complete. It is compact in size, and does everything
I want it to do....plus!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for NOCO Genius Wicked Smart Multipurpose Battery Charger - 3.5 Amp, 6/12 Volt, Model# G3500
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Float Voltage Inconsistent, Sometimes Too High

,
May 17, 2012
By SlideRuleSam
from NH
" Used the G3500 to maintain a pair of large (appx. 120 a-h) flooded lead-acid start batteries for a Detroit Diesel engine. After being on the batteries for months, the float voltage was 13.78 volts. That is unacceptably high in my opinion. On other batteries, it performed as I believe it should but on one other battery it floated at 13.52v, which is also too high, in my opinion. Various sources give the proper float voltage for a flooded lead-acid battery to be 13.2 volts (e.g., Progressive Dynamics, Trojan Battery). Long-term storage with an excessive float voltage applied can result in loss of water and corrosion, shortening the life of the battery. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+11points
16out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 4 for NOCO Genius Wicked Smart Multipurpose Battery Charger - 3.5 Amp, 6/12 Volt, Model# G3500
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GENIUS G3500 CHARGER

,
December 8, 2011
By RicardaOC
from San Diego, California
" I ordered this charger to keep a battery maintained in my garage that is only used a couple times a year. It was very easy to hook up and use. The manual provided with the charger was extremely helpful and gives you additional information on understanding what the LED's indicate. The 4 charge LED's make it really easy to tell the battery's SOC. Been working great since my purchase, zero problems with my battery. I would recommend this charger to anyone. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for NOCO Genius Wicked Smart Multipurpose Battery Charger - 3.5 Amp, 6/12 Volt, Model# G3500
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very easy to use

,
November 25, 2011
By BrettLakeside
from Salt Lake City UTAH
" I really like this charger as it is very easy to use. It is accompanied with a nice manual that provides all the information you need using all the charger features. Been using this on my Ford PU and its has been working as advertised. The desulafion mode which is called recover is an added bonus. A little bit more expensive than other charger options, but worth the extra $$$ in my option. Good quality charger for anyone. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for NOCO Genius Wicked Smart Multipurpose Battery Charger - 3.5 Amp, 6/12 Volt, Model# G3500
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GENIUS G3500 BATTERY CHARGER

,
November 17, 2011
By BOBBIDEISEL
from ATLANTA, GA
" the battery on my can-am commander 1000 wont hold a charge. instead of purchasing a new battery, i decided to try this charger out because it apparently can bring a bad battery back to life. plugged it in and let it charge overnight, everything seemed to be working well. i have been keeping it connected to the battery for a couple weeks now, and still no problems. nice charger and has been treating me well. worth the money. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-5points
4out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 7 for NOCO Genius Wicked Smart Multipurpose Battery Charger - 3.5 Amp, 6/12 Volt, Model# G3500
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NOCO G3500 Wicked Smart Charger

,
November 14, 2011
By KenTheAutoMan
from Ontario, California
" Recently purchased this G3500 battery charger for my Ford Pickup. This is by far one of the better battery chargers I have ever owned. High quality and easy to use.
The Good:
-Comes with a desulfation mode
-Good charging current at 3.5 amps
-Works with AGM batteries, including Optima batteries
-Durable construction and solid waterproofing
-Can charge 6v and 12v batteries
The Bad:
-It costs more than most other chargers, but it also has better performance and features
Conclusion:
If you are looking for a high quality battery charger that actually works, the G3500 is it.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for NOCO Genius Wicked Smart Multipurpose Battery Charger - 3.5 Amp, 6/12 Volt, Model# G3500
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice charger

,
November 12, 2011
By CindiG
from Ogden, Utah
" I purchased this charger for my husbands birthday, because he needed a new charger. I do not know alot about chargers, but I choose this model because it look neat and seemed to have alot of features. My husband was very happy and said it was a high quality charger. He's happy so i gave it 5 stars. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
-9points
4out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NOCO Genius Wicked Smart Multipurpose Battery Charger - 3.5 Amp, 6/12 Volt, Model# G3500
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Genius G3500 Smart Charger

,
November 10, 2011
By ColleenS
from State College
" I purchased this charger to keep in my garage because my car battery tends to die from time to time. I know I might need a new battery, but I wanted to see how these smart chargers would do instead of the old cheap chargers. The main reason I choose this brand was because it had a built-in desulfation mode. Connected this charger to my battery and let it charge overnight, and it worked great. I have had no issues with my battery since. This charger saved me from purchasing a new battery. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
7out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 10 for NOCO Genius Wicked Smart Multipurpose Battery Charger - 3.5 Amp, 6/12 Volt, Model# G3500
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Charges everything!

,
October 25, 2011
By CardsFan
from Arizona
" I recently purchased the G3500 charger for charging my Ford F150 pickup that sits in my driveway most the week. Keeps my battery fully charged and ready to go. I started experimenting with this charger, and this charger charges just about anything. Charged my john deere GX255 tractor, my ranger 800 polaris atv, and my tracker fisherman 16 boat. Been very impressed with this charger. Easy to use and I really like the battery meter. If you are looking to charge multiple vehicles then this is a great charger, just might wan to invest in some additional accessories. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
11out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 11 for NOCO Genius Wicked Smart Multipurpose Battery Charger - 3.5 Amp, 6/12 Volt, Model# G3500
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A+ battery charger

,
October 20, 2011
By DennisK
from Penn
" I got this charger for my 1972 Ford Ranchero GT to keep the battery fully charged. It does an excellent job. I could have gone for a lower amp charge model, but I wanted to charge faster so I went with the G3500. I love the simplicity of this charger. I can quickly determine the health of my battery. The built-in desulfation feature is nice too. Came with everything I needed to charge my battery. Very well packaged. I rate this as an A+ charger. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
9out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 12 for NOCO Genius Wicked Smart Multipurpose Battery Charger - 3.5 Amp, 6/12 Volt, Model# G3500
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use, nice charger

,
October 17, 2011
By GregPA
from pa
" I got this to keep my Bruteforce 750 camo ATV battery charged during the week. Several times i have had a dead battery and decided it was time for a charger. This genius charger was prefect and easy to use and no more dead battery. Came with everything i needed to connect to the battery. The desulfation feature is also very nice. I may go back and get the extension cable though, so i can connect to the battery almost anywhere in my garage. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
10out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 13 for NOCO Genius Wicked Smart Multipurpose Battery Charger - 3.5 Amp, 6/12 Volt, Model# G3500
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great charger, saved my battery

,
October 11, 2011
By CarsRMe
from FL
" This could be one of the best chargers i have ever owned. Works great, just as described. I have an old mustang and a polaris razor that i dont use often enough, so i need to keep them maintained. This charger works great for both. I installed the eyelet terminals on both vehicles so connecting to the is super easy. The charger only comes with one set of eyelet terminals, so if you need to charge another vehicle grab another set. Both my batteries are 12 volt agm's. The charger remembers the last charge mode, so all i have to do is plug and connect. The easiest charger ever made. Glad NT carries this! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
13out of 20found this review helpful.