Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 2-Plaque, 10,000 BTU, Model# MD2TPA"

"ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 2-Plaque, 10,000 BTU, Model# MD2TPA"

Item# 19852
"This ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater offers 99 energy efficiency and dual fuel versatility. Use it with both natural gas or propane for cost-effective comfort. Not for sale in California or Canada. Check your local regulations on installation restrictions and requirements. Propane use requires 100-lb. tank or larger with two-stage adjustable regulator available from gas supply company. Oxygen Depletion Sensor Yes, Product Style Wall heater, Includes Wall mounting bracket, Dimensions L x W x H in. 6 3/8 x 14 x 19, Thermostat Included Yes, BTU Output 10,000, Heating Capability sq. ft. 300, Blower Included No, Color White. Easy push-button piezo ignition Installation is easy and economical with no venting or chimney required No electricity is necessary, making it perfect for power outages"
Average Customer Rating:
4.36 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (25 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
23 of 25(92%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer Reviews for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 2-Plaque, 10,000 BTU, Model# MD2TPA"
Review 1 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 2-Plaque, 10,000 BTU, Model# MD2TPA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works great

,
January 30, 2015
By Our12
from Huntsville Alabama
" Bought to warm the Master bath for my wife. The electric unit did not wrk near as well. A warm woman is a hppy woman. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 2-Plaque, 10,000 BTU, Model# MD2TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great small space heater

,
January 21, 2015
By MikeyCG
from Park City, UT
" Efficient, easy to install, great output-- use to heat 200 sq/ft attached sunroom. Perfect for this application 24hrs-- shuts off when sun is out and heats to desired temp at other times. Unit is slightly noisy when heating but not a distraction. Would buy again-- "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 2-Plaque, 10,000 BTU, Model# MD2TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product

,
January 2, 2015
By Merr
from MN
" I had a 3 ceramic burner from Procom in a small fish house and only needed it to run on low to keep it toasty and warm and after many years had to replace it. This 2 ceramic burner is perfect with new controls compared to the older model I had. I still only need a lower setting to be warm and comfortable. Great product!!! "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 2-Plaque, 10,000 BTU, Model# MD2TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Infrared Radiant Wall Heater

,
December 29, 2014
By keygoken
from arkansas
" Two years of trying to find a heat source for an outdoor music studio and I turned to propane. Finally, I can rest at night knowing my musical equipment is at a temperature that is safe. Plus, I can spend several hours in there on the coldest of days and be warm! "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 2-Plaque, 10,000 BTU, Model# MD2TPA"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Does its job

,
December 25, 2014
By Curtisbd
from Grand Rapids, MI
" Heats well, ignitor stoppped working first week we had it. Easy enough to light pilot with an aim and flame we decided not to go through the hassle of returning it. Easy to instal. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 2-Plaque, 10,000 BTU, Model# MD2TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Space heating

,
November 19, 2014
By vdonnal
from Chelsea, Ok
" good source of heat, great for areas without optional heat source, purchased to heat two rooms, and always good idea to have gas heat source in event electric is off during winter storms. Very easy to install, only requirement was gas line purchase of 12 dollars at local hardware storm. This is our 3rd ProCom product purchase, always pleased with performance. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 2-Plaque, 10,000 BTU, Model# MD2TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love It

,
November 1, 2014
By N5UGE
from Poplarville, MS
" Finally! A small propane heater with a thermostat!!
This is just what I've been looking for. It was simple to install, and works great. The only negative is that it makes a low buzzing sound when the burners are on. Some may find this annoying, but I don't mind it at all. I will buy another one in the near future.
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 2-Plaque, 10,000 BTU, Model# MD2TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall H

,
October 3, 2014
By Workinggirl
from Canton, North Carolina
" This is the second one, bought the first one 10 years ago and it still works great! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 2-Plaque, 10,000 BTU, Model# MD2TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good value-good heater

,
September 24, 2014
By NTtmreview
from north carolina
" since I have done quite a lot of various gas appliance installation, this was easy for me and should not be a problem for most people unless they are simply scared of working with gas. the only thing I would say about what is supplied for the wall mount is don't used the plastic "hollow" wall anchors. I have never liked them. get you some old fashion "#10 toggle bolts". makes life much easier. I like the heater and it is going to be just what we need on our 17x10 glassed in porch.. very little "new odor" burn off during the initial lighting. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
15out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 2-Plaque, 10,000 BTU, Model# MD2TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Backup Heater

,
September 9, 2014
By fernwood18
from Fernwood Idaho
" Simple and easy to install..so happy to see a adjustable thermostat this was the main feature for our purchase drcision "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 2-Plaque, 10,000 BTU, Model# MD2TPA"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

temperature control knob locked up

,
December 29, 2013
By tess44
from MS
" After using the heater only one winter, the temperature control knob locked up. I called and emailed ProCom and got NO help from them to fix the problem. Now I will have to replace the heater with something other than ProCom. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
13out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 2-Plaque, 10,000 BTU, Model# MD2TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Low price & EZ install

,
June 9, 2013
By oldandtired
from VA
" Replaces an older unit that didn't have the ceramics - both were used as secondary source w/ heat pump and as emergency heat in case the power failed. Good price and easy install - "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 2-Plaque, 10,000 BTU, Model# MD2TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Source of Heat

,
January 23, 2013
By 1minutewarm
from New York, NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" Very economical and it sure saves you a lot of bucks through the heating season! It can be placed in a fireplace as long as the unit has the proper clearance on all sides so heat can rise up and it must be totally anchored. I'm using this for the third winter and would definately recommend it!!! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
8out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 2-Plaque, 10,000 BTU, Model# MD2TPA"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

faulty thermostat?

,
January 17, 2013
By szjellybean
from texas
" I ordered this product several months ago.( I had ordered the same heater last year and am very happy, never had an issue with that heater.) However, this new heater is nothing but a headache. The fist week it worked great. Then slowly the noises it makes got louder and louder until it was keeping me up every single night(heater is in my bedroom). I was told to call ProCom. They told me," the noises are normal. its the metal contracting and expanding. it needs to be broken in". WHAT? So i endured another week. The sounds got louder, sounded literally like an alarm going off after the thermostat turns off the flame(can hear two rooms away) . Called back. Finally got a replacement. Now its been few weeks and i can tell its getting louder, same sounds again. I dont know why my older heater is so great and these newer ones are not. I doubt i will get another replacement. Might have to trash this one. i guess they somehow changed the thermostat wiring or ??? I just wanted another great heater. :( BETTER BUY THE EXTENDED WARRANTY "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
16out of 24found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 2-Plaque, 10,000 BTU, Model# MD2TPA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

High Altitude usage

,
January 14, 2013
By Steve7929
from Hillsboro,New Mexico
" If you are buying this item and using it above 4500 feet elevation be aware that the manufacture of these and all ventless heaters DO NOT RECOMMEND their use above that altitude. In all the documentation provided by Northern Tool researching these type of heaters says nothing about this information. I had to email them when the heater would not function and was told not to use the heater above 4500 feet elevation. This would be very important information to know when researching purchasing a heater to be installed in a home at 5400 feet elevation. If you are considering purchasing a ventless heater do not rely on Northern Tool for enough valuable information. Go to the ventless heater manufacture's web site for very important information. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 2-Plaque, 10,000 BTU, Model# MD2TPA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Procom 10k BTU wall heater

,
January 14, 2013
By RW123
from Arlington, Texas
" Good experience with Procom heaters and this one also works quite well. Install simple. Had to switch to natural gas but no big deal. I really like the thermostat control. This is my first with a control that will maintain a room at the desired temperature. This is a feature you should consider before purchasing a room heater.
Only negative about this heater is the pilot. This heater was installed in my bedroom and the pilot is very loud. You can hardly hear the pilots on my other heaters.
Overhall this is a good product and I am sure I will get used to the noise from the pilot. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 2-Plaque, 10,000 BTU, Model# MD2TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Backup heating at 10,000 feet

,
November 26, 2012
By Slipstick
from Fairplay. Colorado
" We heat primarily by wood in an off-grid home, but at times we needed supplemental heating to take the chill off the cabin, like when the wife first gets up in the morning or if we leave the place overnight (and do not want to drain the pipes and other winterization steps). The concern, like most mountain folk, is whether the oxygen sensor/thermostat will work at high altitude, and in our case we are exactly at 10,000 feet elevation. We bought three of these, to put into cold corners farthest away from the wood stove, and they come on at the lowest setting, which is about 55 deg F. We don't keep all three pilot lights lit, so its an as needed basis. The outside temp this AM was 16 deg F, and the1728 sq ft cabin was at 58 deg F. We removed an Empire 30,000 btu heater that was a devil to light as it was vented to the outside and sucked propane like a drunkard in a beer barrel. We have neighbors (all about a half mile apart) that have the 5 plaque heaters and the Fairplay American Legion has the 30K btu blue flame version. All work fine, if they work at all. We could not get a 30K blue flame to light which got replaced by a 2 plaque infrared, and one of our 2 plaque heaters did not have an operable thermostat (it was on or off, nothing automatic). Northern Tools swapped them out with no problem, giving us RMA numbers. You can trust these guys. Easy to install with a 3/8 flexible gas line and a power screw driver to attach to our log walls. The plug in the propane hole takes some torque to get out. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 2-Plaque, 10,000 BTU, Model# MD2TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Success from May3 until Sept 7, 2012

,
October 10, 2012
By Fixitfil
from New Pine Creek, OR
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" We purchased 2 of these units to heat our 40 foot toy hauler. 1 is installed in the main living area to provide quiet heat without the noisey factory furnace, it does great. The 2nd is installed in the 14x8 garage area which is separated from the main area by a sliding glass door--has 2 beds, TV and easy chairs from the factory but no heat.from the factory. This was an easy fix so we can enjoy the extra living space when we get there and the toys are outside. Quiet, affordable and easy to do. Works great, saves money. Used every night. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 2-Plaque, 10,000 BTU, Model# MD2TPA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Propane heater

,
May 7, 2012
By 1701D
from Beverly, WV
" This heater is small but well worth the price, I use as back up heat just for emergancy, but it heats my 3 room 8 by 32 foot hone addition well. "
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 2-Plaque, 10,000 BTU, Model# MD2TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesone little efficient Heater!

,
January 17, 2012
By Rudder2
from Niceville, FL
" I'm using this in my 30 foot travel tailor. The internal furnace was vary inefficient and eventually gave up the ghost. So I ordered one of these. I run on 30 lbs bottles and I was able to heat my place a long time on a single bottle! It's been running about 4 days on a partial bottle. It cycles on and off so it's not a 100% drain. Sitting in front of it put off the heat of a fireplace the infrared plates just radiate heat.
Defanetly make sure that nothing is too close to front of heater it radiates enough heat to combust something. Haven't don it but just be warned!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
2out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.