Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 2-Plaque, 10,000 BTU, Model# MD2TPA

ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 2-Plaque, 10,000 BTU, Model# MD2TPA

Item# 19852
This ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater offers 99 energy efficiency and dual fuel versatility. Use it with both natural gas or propane for cost-effective comfort. Not for sale in California or Canada. Check your local regulations on installation restrictions and requirements. Propane use requires 100-lb. tank or larger with two-stage adjustable regulator available from gas supply company. Blower Included No, Color White, Thermostat Included Yes, Includes Wall mounting bracket, Heating Capability sq. ft. 300, Dimensions L x W x H in. 6 3/8 x 14 x 19, BTU Output 10,000, Oxygen Depletion Sensor Yes, Product Style Wall heater. Easy push-button piezo ignition Installation is easy and economical with no venting or chimney required No electricity is necessary, making it perfect for power outages
Average Customer Rating:
4.2 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (15 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
13 of 15(87%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer Reviews for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 2-Plaque, 10,000 BTU, Model# MD2TPA
Review 1 for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 2-Plaque, 10,000 BTU, Model# MD2TPA
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

temperature control knob locked up

,
December 29, 2013
By tess44
from MS
"After using the heater only one winter, the temperature control knob locked up. I called and emailed ProCom and got NO help from them to fix the problem. Now I will have to replace the heater with something other than ProCom."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 2-Plaque, 10,000 BTU, Model# MD2TPA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Low price & EZ install

,
June 9, 2013
By oldandtired
from VA
"Replaces an older unit that didn't have the ceramics - both were used as secondary source w/ heat pump and as emergency heat in case the power failed. Good price and easy install -"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 2-Plaque, 10,000 BTU, Model# MD2TPA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding Source of Heat

,
January 23, 2013
By 1minutewarm
from New York, NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Very economical and it sure saves you a lot of bucks through the heating season! It can be placed in a fireplace as long as the unit has the proper clearance on all sides so heat can rise up and it must be totally anchored. I'm using this for the third winter and would definately recommend it!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 2-Plaque, 10,000 BTU, Model# MD2TPA
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

faulty thermostat?

,
January 17, 2013
By szjellybean
from texas
"I ordered this product several months ago.( I had ordered the same heater last year and am very happy, never had an issue with that heater.) However, this new heater is nothing but a headache. The fist week it worked great. Then slowly the noises it makes got louder and louder until it was keeping me up every single night(heater is in my bedroom). I was told to call ProCom. They told me," the noises are normal. its the metal contracting and expanding. it needs to be broken in". WHAT? So i endured another week. The sounds got louder, sounded literally like an alarm going off after the thermostat turns off the flame(can hear two rooms away) . Called back. Finally got a replacement. Now its been few weeks and i can tell its getting louder, same sounds again. I dont know why my older heater is so great and these newer ones are not. I doubt i will get another replacement. Might have to trash this one. i guess they somehow changed the thermostat wiring or ??? I just wanted another great heater. :( BETTER BUY THE EXTENDED WARRANTY"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
12out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 2-Plaque, 10,000 BTU, Model# MD2TPA
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

High Altitude usage

,
January 14, 2013
By Steve7929
from Hillsboro,New Mexico
"If you are buying this item and using it above 4500 feet elevation be aware that the manufacture of these and all ventless heaters DO NOT RECOMMEND their use above that altitude. In all the documentation provided by Northern Tool researching these type of heaters says nothing about this information. I had to email them when the heater would not function and was told not to use the heater above 4500 feet elevation. This would be very important information to know when researching purchasing a heater to be installed in a home at 5400 feet elevation. If you are considering purchasing a ventless heater do not rely on Northern Tool for enough valuable information. Go to the ventless heater manufacture's web site for very important information."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 2-Plaque, 10,000 BTU, Model# MD2TPA
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Procom 10k BTU wall heater

,
January 14, 2013
By RW123
from Arlington, Texas
"Good experience with Procom heaters and this one also works quite well. Install simple. Had to switch to natural gas but no big deal. I really like the thermostat control. This is my first with a control that will maintain a room at the desired temperature. This is a feature you should consider before purchasing a room heater.
Only negative about this heater is the pilot. This heater was installed in my bedroom and the pilot is very loud. You can hardly hear the pilots on my other heaters.
Overhall this is a good product and I am sure I will get used to the noise from the pilot."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 2-Plaque, 10,000 BTU, Model# MD2TPA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Backup heating at 10,000 feet

,
November 26, 2012
By Slipstick
from Fairplay. Colorado
"We heat primarily by wood in an off-grid home, but at times we needed supplemental heating to take the chill off the cabin, like when the wife first gets up in the morning or if we leave the place overnight (and do not want to drain the pipes and other winterization steps). The concern, like most mountain folk, is whether the oxygen sensor/thermostat will work at high altitude, and in our case we are exactly at 10,000 feet elevation. We bought three of these, to put into cold corners farthest away from the wood stove, and they come on at the lowest setting, which is about 55 deg F. We don't keep all three pilot lights lit, so its an as needed basis. The outside temp this AM was 16 deg F, and the1728 sq ft cabin was at 58 deg F. We removed an Empire 30,000 btu heater that was a devil to light as it was vented to the outside and sucked propane like a drunkard in a beer barrel. We have neighbors (all about a half mile apart) that have the 5 plaque heaters and the Fairplay American Legion has the 30K btu blue flame version. All work fine, if they work at all. We could not get a 30K blue flame to light which got replaced by a 2 plaque infrared, and one of our 2 plaque heaters did not have an operable thermostat (it was on or off, nothing automatic). Northern Tools swapped them out with no problem, giving us RMA numbers. You can trust these guys. Easy to install with a 3/8 flexible gas line and a power screw driver to attach to our log walls. The plug in the propane hole takes some torque to get out."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 2-Plaque, 10,000 BTU, Model# MD2TPA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Success from May3 until Sept 7, 2012

,
October 10, 2012
By Fixitfil
from New Pine Creek, OR
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"We purchased 2 of these units to heat our 40 foot toy hauler. 1 is installed in the main living area to provide quiet heat without the noisey factory furnace, it does great. The 2nd is installed in the 14x8 garage area which is separated from the main area by a sliding glass door--has 2 beds, TV and easy chairs from the factory but no heat.from the factory. This was an easy fix so we can enjoy the extra living space when we get there and the toys are outside. Quiet, affordable and easy to do. Works great, saves money. Used every night."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 2-Plaque, 10,000 BTU, Model# MD2TPA
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Propane heater

,
May 7, 2012
By 1701D
from Beverly, WV
"This heater is small but well worth the price, I use as back up heat just for emergancy, but it heats my 3 room 8 by 32 foot hone addition well."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 2-Plaque, 10,000 BTU, Model# MD2TPA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesone little efficient Heater!

,
January 17, 2012
By Rudder2
from Niceville, FL
"I'm using this in my 30 foot travel tailor. The internal furnace was vary inefficient and eventually gave up the ghost. So I ordered one of these. I run on 30 lbs bottles and I was able to heat my place a long time on a single bottle! It's been running about 4 days on a partial bottle. It cycles on and off so it's not a 100% drain. Sitting in front of it put off the heat of a fireplace the infrared plates just radiate heat.
Defanetly make sure that nothing is too close to front of heater it radiates enough heat to combust something. Haven't don it but just be warned!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 2-Plaque, 10,000 BTU, Model# MD2TPA
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Propane heat

,
January 9, 2012
By Trentb
from Provo, Utah
"These come setup for propane or natural gas. Simple to install with easy instructions. Great looking units and not too bulky. Great option for secondary heat source. Very affordable for the quality."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 2-Plaque, 10,000 BTU, Model# MD2TPA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works perfect for me.

,
January 9, 2012
By Hillclimber
from Ohio
"I installed it in a 7' x 14' enclosed trailer which I live in a few weekends a month while ATVing. I leave the thermostat on the 1st setting and it works perfect. I keep a side vent and the roof vent cracked open around a 1/2" for ventilation. If one or the other is closed, it will keep turning off, as it it supposed to, for lack of oxygen. 1 20lb. propane tank lasts from Friday to Sunday with no problem with the temperatures between 25 and 40 degrees and me going in and out often."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 2-Plaque, 10,000 BTU, Model# MD2TPA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

New Purchase

,
November 16, 2011
By Chris27249
from Tulsa, OK
"Just bought the heater and it works great. I like how it turns off when the desired temperature is reached. I can leave this own while I'm at work now and not come back to a cold house or a house that is to hot."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 2-Plaque, 10,000 BTU, Model# MD2TPA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ProCom 10k btu propane heater - Model# MD2TPA

,
November 9, 2011
By RogerNC
from North Carolina
"Great thermostat heater at a great price - much cheaper than Lowes, etc. Replaced a single brick non-thermostat kitchen heater with this one - maintains temperature within a 3 degree range (66-69) once set. Brings room up to temp fast. Will definately recommend heater & Northern to friends and family."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 2-Plaque, 10,000 BTU, Model# MD2TPA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little heater

,
October 17, 2011
By Anonymous
from Alexander,Maine
"This is a nice looking little heater. It takes up very little wall space.It works really well, and I have already recommend it to family and friends."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+10points
16out of 22found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.