Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"

"ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"

Item# 19857
"This ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater offers 99 energy efficiency and dual fuel versatility. Use it with either natural gas or propane for cost-effective comfort. No venting, chimney or electricity is required, making the ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater ideal for power outages. With the push of a button, the piezo ignition makes it easy to enjoy up to 30,000 BTU of comfortable warmth. Blower Included No, BTU Output 30,000, Dimensions L x W x H in. 8 x 26 5/8 x 23 1/2, Heating Capability sq. ft. 1,000, Color White, Includes Wall mounting bracket, Oxygen Depletion Sensor Yes, Product Style Wall heater, Thermostat Included Yes. Easy push-button piezo ignition Installation is easy and economical with no venting or chimney required No electricity is necessary, making it perfect for power outages Works with optional blower #173957 Use with the included wall mounting bracket or optional base legs sold separately, Item# 173958 Not for sale in California or Canada. Check your local regulations on installation restrictions and requirements. Propane use requires 100-lb. tank or larger with two-stage adjustable regulator available from gas supply company."
Average Customer Rating:
4.781 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (32 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
32 of 32(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
43 Questions | 62 Answers
Customer Reviews for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Review 1 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Set up and Day One

,
November 19, 2014
By JCham40
from Tennessee
"I purchased a new ProCon 5 panel heater and completed the connections today. I use this heater in a detached Shop. The connection was easy and I have been through a few hours of use in the shop. Everything has gone great and the heater performs as advertised. I am a satisfied customer!! I would recommend this setup to anyone needing a good heater for an open space."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Paulino

,
November 11, 2014
By Branco
from New Jersey
"i use this product on my 1200 sf open basement it work perfect. really good product. it furnace just missing a thermostat i had to work on it."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Satisfied

,
November 9, 2014
By 704abq
from Albuquerque, NM
"Very satisfied with this heater! Purchased for supplementary heat on those cold winter mornings. Product arrived in specified time, was easier to install than anticipated and lit on the first click of the igniter. With ceiling fans in every room that has distributed heat, house is warm and comfortable. I am looking forward to the next blast of artic weather to fully experience it's capabilities, but so far really good!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awsome Heater

,
November 9, 2014
By ScottQhomeowner
from Tennessee
"I am completely impressed with this heater! I would highly recommend it to anyone! I bought to put in my basement and my central heat never kicks on and the heat rises from below!! Uses less gas and no electricity! My electric bill was cut by half!A plus all around! Built in thermostat kicks it on and off ! These days of higher prices for heating and electric this unit is all you need!!!!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Winter Is Coming

,
November 7, 2014
By MRL1950
from Tulsa OK
"And if you are neither a Crow, nor a Stark, you may well need this heater. This version kept most of our house tolerably warm during a 4 week power outage. Use it to keep a cabin toasty, or a Man Cave in the garage, or the workshop. Or, be prepared for those power outages. Because Winter Is Coming. And if you need this, and do not have it, it will be too late.....
Easy enough for even me to use, and that's saying something.
If you are going to use it non-permanently, get the feet kit."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ProCom Infrared radiant heater

,
November 3, 2014
By msc734
from Craigsville, WV
"This product came loaded with all the extra features. What is great is that it is easily adaptable to either propane or natural gas. Also, it has an automatic blower fan. Also, thermostatically controlled ! Can be easily wall mounted or freestanding with included legstand kit."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Procom Model# MD5TPA 30,000 BTU Vent Free Heater

,
October 23, 2014
By RGilbert
from West Tennessee
"Purchased two of these for LP use, one for the front of home and one for the rear. Home is approximately 1,800 Square Feet so 60,000 BTU is perhaps overkill, but better to have two much than not enough. Installed easily on wall without any issue. Have ceiling fans in each room of home and keep them running on low for ventilation and distribution of heat. I have only been using these heaters for approximately one month, but they are extremely effective in quickly heating up the house and maintaining the temperature. Temperatures in Tennessee have only gotten down to the high 30's thus far, but I am interested to see how effective they are when colder weather arrives. They are extremely efficient compared to the LP based furnace that I have been using and they do not require any electricity to operate."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Garage heater

,
October 20, 2014
By Bucky02664
from Mass
"I bought this heater to heat my garage,which I just insulated.this heater puts out way more than I needed for a 14 by 24 garage with 10 foot ceilings. Could probably have gone withe three plaque heater but more is better than not enough,wish I bought it years ago.starts every time and easy to install."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Propane / Gas Heater

,
October 6, 2014
By Pinko
from New York
"I have personally bought 7 of these type of heaters from Northern Tool all different BTU's. Using in campers, basement, garage, cabin and home. I would recommend purchasing them as they are easy to install and heat recommended areas as stated. You have to prime at first to get the gas/propane up to spark but after that they click on easily."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
15out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value!

,
October 5, 2014
By marsue
from NW Ohio
"The price for this 30,000 BTU unit was great! The unit lit right up on the first attempt and has worked well since. It's quiet and it's looks are appealing!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pro Com Vent Free Heater

,
September 17, 2014
By Kat80
from Tenino, WA
"I bought this product a year ago. I loved it so much I bought one for my son few weeks ago. It is the warmest heat ever and works great!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tons of heat, and humidity......

,
December 27, 2013
By nyckid
from Queens NY
"This is my 4th winter using this heater in my garage, and it is still working great. HOWEVER, you may want to think twice about buying this heater because of the “oxygen depletion sensor” and the extreme high humidity it creates in a room that is air tight.
For the first 3 winters I had this heater in a un-insulated and EXTREMLY drafty garage. The heater is so powerful it kept my garage at 70degF when it was 20degF outside. During these first 3 years, I had no problems.
This summer I finally got a chance to re-model my garage. I replaced the garage door, and fixed all the drafts. My Garage is now air tight. Making the Garage air tight caused 2 problems.
The 1st is that the “oxygen depletion sensor” would knock out the pilot light over night, every night.
I fixed this by running a fresh air vent near the heater. Now the heater has stayed on for a month straight with out a problem.
The 2nd problem I found is that I am now growing tons of mold on the bottom of my walls. The walls are un-insulated, so condensation is being formed on them and the Mold is loving it!!
The oxygen depletion sensor Is a great safety device, but if you have an air tight space you want to heat, it will keep shutting down.
One of the byproducts of Natural Gas combustion is millions of free Hydrogen molecules. Once the Hydrogen molecules hit the air in the room they combine with the free oxygen molecules in the room and create H20 vapor, which results in high humidity. For me, this means Mold and rusty tools. It's a real shame that for this heater to work well you need to pump in massive amounts of fresh air. This seams very inefficient. Bottom line though, this thing will work forever, and make more heat then you could ever ask for. It would be the perfect heater for a VERY-WELL ventilated space, or a space you will only need to heat for a few hours a week.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+29points
31out of 33found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not too bad

,
November 4, 2013
By Chuckar
from Utah
"Price was good, use and functions are good, and the overall heating done by this little panel heater is great. The spark igniter worked for one click, and one click only. But, if you just leave the pilot light on all the time, it isn't a big issue.
I have several other brands of these types of heaters, and find this to be as good as or better quality than any of the others. I also like the radiant type heaters over the blue flame heaters. It's a personal choice, but they just seem to be better at heating overall.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+17points
29out of 41found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Infrared VS Blue Flame

,
November 1, 2013
By TJBJR58
from Massachusetts
"I could not decide between the 30,000 BTU infrared or the blue flame. After much home work, decided on the infrared. This unit is amazing, heats my whole house with a warm wood stove like heat, very comfortable. I did test it out using a 20 lbs tank and an old regulater which I took off a gas grill from the local land fill, works fine and it is the right size fitting, 3/8". Love the dual fuel option since I have nutural gas and a large LP tank. I would recommend this unit to any one, very cost affective, you will love it. I did purchase the optional fan, love that also.. Every one who feels the heat is purchasing one with out question.. No more oil heat.."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+24points
25out of 26found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great unit!

,
October 31, 2013
By not2ez
from Whitehouse Station, N.J.
"Had it for 3 years now, had the fan option but quite last year, not worth the money anyway. The push button starter quite also, not a big deal, made a small hole in the screan at the bottom and get it going with a long nose fire starter, on natural gas it is cheep to run, you can heat your house when the power gos out, very dependable, no need for any other heat until dead winter, and I have a 5 bedroom house, not a cabin and the unit is downstairs.. Thermostate works great. The main heating system in my house can stay off until Jan."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
17out of 24found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

owner of business

,
April 23, 2013
By gettrrdunn
from Pomeroy ohio
"This heater is the best I have ever used it heats our 6 office rooms in a building 42 ft X 32 ft and keep them comfortable, and uses less LP gas than other models. We have tried the 30,000 blue frame but it do not do the job as this heater does. You can not go wrong with this heater, BEST BUY EVER."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
27out of 44found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

ProCom-5 plaque-30,000 BTU-Model# MD5TPA

,
February 9, 2013
By BadWrench
from Columbia, SC
"This heater does a great job of heating my 800 sq ft (with 25 ft ceiling) un-insulated garage, I do not have the fan option, but you can feel the radiant heat from 20ft away. My only complaint, and the reason for the 4 star rating, is that the piezo ignitor failed after approximately a dozen uses. I'm using fireplace matches until I can attempt a repair."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highly recommended

,
December 7, 2012
By Jed51
from Albuquerque, NM
"Excellent heater, good price, outstanding customer service from Northern -- what's not to like? Heater performs well, is very efficient. Easy installation if you know how to run a black pipe gas line or have one existing. I would have liked slotted holes in the mounting bracket, and like another reviewer used my own wall anchors. Those provided are good for sheet rock, not as good for concrete block, but the bracket works well. I also installed a second lower spacer and screw, although the single one provided is sufficient. I've had no problems with the heater at just under 5000 ft. elevation, and it's doing a great job of heating three adjoining open rooms, about 700 sq. ft.in total, with a ceiling fan in the room where it's installed. The instructions are adequate. Gas inlet is on the bottom right as you face the heater. I'm very pleased and highly recommend this heater. The optional fan is well worth the price and is also recommended."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+30points
34out of 38found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well

,
October 15, 2012
By Joeseph
from Fitchburg, Ma.
"Unit works very well, easy hook up, sits on floor or hangs on wall. Could be more attractive looking"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-3points
27out of 57found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

30,000 BTU wall heater

,
October 15, 2012
By bubsy
from Staten Island, NY
"Fairly easy to install providing that you possess the proper tools (and if not you can always order them from northern tool to help with the installation) I installed my heater with 1/2 black pipe with a drip leg installed where it reduced to 3/8. Very satisfied with the performance of the heater, heats over 700 sq feet of basement. May buy another one for my outbuilding rather then burning wood."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.