Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"

"ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"

Item# 19857
"This ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater offers 99 energy efficiency and dual fuel versatility. Use it with either natural gas or propane for cost-effective comfort. No venting, chimney or electricity is required, making the ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater ideal for power outages. With the push of a button, the piezo ignition makes it easy to enjoy up to 30,000 BTU of comfortable warmth. Blower Included No, BTU Output 30,000, Dimensions L x W x H in. 8 x 26 5/8 x 23 1/2, Heating Capability sq. ft. 1,000, Color White, Includes Wall mounting bracket, Oxygen Depletion Sensor Yes, Product Style Wall heater, Thermostat Included Yes. Easy push-button piezo ignition Installation is easy and economical with no venting or chimney required No electricity is necessary, making it perfect for power outages Works with optional blower #173957 Use with the included wall mounting bracket or optional base legs sold separately, Item# 173958 Not for sale in California or Canada. Check your local regulations on installation restrictions and requirements. Propane use requires 100-lb. tank or larger with two-stage adjustable regulator available from gas supply company."
Average Customer Rating:
4.702 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (47 reviews)
5 stars
36
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
46 of 47(98%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
44 Questions | 64 Answers
Customer Reviews for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Review 1 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cost savings on Gas bill

,
January 8, 2015
By Shoptech101
from Walton NY
" This heater has reduced my heat bill by 25-50%. Don't have to worry about heat going out when I lose power. I have this unit in my garage and have one in my house as well. Love it! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Toasty Heater

,
January 7, 2015
By CindyLou
from Denham Springs, LA
" This item was bough for a friend, but I do have one and truly LOVE it. I would recommend this product to anyone that's looking for a heater. It's works very good.
Very easy to operate. The cost is not bad at all.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

May want to add Thermostat controlled in title

,
January 5, 2015
By Chief71
from NC
" Heater works as advertised. Initial burn off was more than expected. Heats my 900 sq foot area very well waiting for cold weather for true test. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

gas heater

,
January 4, 2015
By fredricka
from tennessee
" staying warm, loving the heat. It didn't take as long as I thought to install it and it is working good, hoping to save me lots of money on my fuel bill. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

2nd purchase

,
December 31, 2014
By Scarab
from Illinois
" The first one works so well I bought a second one for the downstairs living area. Just have to move the thermostat. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pro com vent free heater

,
December 27, 2014
By sharon88
from Port Crane, NY
" This heater works really well. Shipping was faster than expected. Bought this as a gift for my daughter and she loves it. Was really easy to install also. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Procom duel vent wall heater

,
December 26, 2014
By jrey55
from Noxapater Ms
" I would definitely recommend this heater to someone else it heats wonderfully and I love the fact it has a thermostat very unlike our old one and you can have as many or as few grates burning. Our old one was giving us headaches and would burn one, three, or five grates at a time. Nothing in between and it was either too hot or too cold. I love this heater!! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this heater

,
December 22, 2014
By Max58
from Jackson,MS
" After my husband installed the heater I was worried I wouldn't like it because I was used to turning the heater down using two grates.
But after using the heater a couple of days wouldn't have anything else.We bought the blower as well.Couldn't be any more pleased and staying warm.
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

excellent

,
December 22, 2014
By hoppy10
from pa
" can use natural gsa & propane vent free have very good price "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

heater

,
December 19, 2014
By 1workerbee
from tn
" looks great works great ,even when power is outgot it for a backup and aux heat in basement . i wuuld recomend these , easy to hook up and operate. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I'm going with a 5

,
December 17, 2014
By shabby
from Prescott Valley Az
" even though we don't actually have it up and running yet. But it's got a great look, clean lines & was very easy to connect and hang on wall.
We are waiting for help with the switch that takes it from Propane to our home gas line. But I am confident all is going to work out well.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Cannot get replacement parts

,
December 17, 2014
By Ada1
from CT
" I was very happy with this heater during its first winter's use. However, at the beginning of this cold season, and immediately after the warranty expired, the thermostat broke, so it must be operated manually. No longer can I put it on a low setting and go about my business, knowing it won't stay on too long. Also, turning the knob to "pilot" now shuts the pilot off. We wanted to replace the thermostat assembly, but the manufacturer's website says they cannot get spare parts at all this winter, nor are they offering any phone or email help regarding parts! I've given it two stars because it DID work fine, for a while. But based on this disappointing experience I would not buy another ProCom heater. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"

,
December 14, 2014
By 37355user
from Manchester, TN
" The unit is very efficient. Was easy to install. One major problem, the igniter did not work, had to light the unit manually with a match.
I have the unit mounted on the wall in my garage. The garage has plenty of ventilation, however the unit kept the temperature when I want it with a very low thermostat setting
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awsome Heat

,
December 3, 2014
By Tday
from ohio
" For the past 5 years me and my family have been struggling to stay warm every winter with a 10,000 BTU propane heater in a 4 bedroom house my living room and dinning area are at least over 300 sq.ft, so after receiving this 30,000 BTU 5 brick heater I can truly say my cold days are over, now we can actually sit around the house with no blankets, I never thought it was possible, it warms my house very evenly thru out, I believe I can put my elc. bills to rest and start saving again, this was the best product I have invested in in a long time, as we get older and colder in life I now have no worries, not to mention my heater was shipped as fast as possible even with the back orders that they had, and hook up was a breeze no problems connecting and hanging on wall, I would recommend to anyone that is cold or feeling chilly to try this product, it burns very efficient and will most likely save me in propane in months to come "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pro Com 30000

,
December 1, 2014
By md98620
from Wa
" This is a great heater that has dual fuel capabilities and I added a fan that also works on a thermostat. I haven't used the heater above # 2 setting and we had -12 temps.
If you need a heater I recommend this one. I had a similar heater alredy but this is the only one I use.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Set up and Day One

,
November 19, 2014
By JCham40
from Tennessee
" I purchased a new ProCon 5 panel heater and completed the connections today. I use this heater in a detached Shop. The connection was easy and I have been through a few hours of use in the shop. Everything has gone great and the heater performs as advertised. I am a satisfied customer!! I would recommend this setup to anyone needing a good heater for an open space. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Paulino

,
November 11, 2014
By Branco
from New Jersey
" i use this product on my 1200 sf open basement it work perfect. really good product. it furnace just missing a thermostat i had to work on it. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Satisfied

,
November 9, 2014
By 704abq
from Albuquerque, NM
" Very satisfied with this heater! Purchased for supplementary heat on those cold winter mornings. Product arrived in specified time, was easier to install than anticipated and lit on the first click of the igniter. With ceiling fans in every room that has distributed heat, house is warm and comfortable. I am looking forward to the next blast of artic weather to fully experience it's capabilities, but so far really good! "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awsome Heater

,
November 9, 2014
By ScottQhomeowner
from Tennessee
" I am completely impressed with this heater! I would highly recommend it to anyone! I bought to put in my basement and my central heat never kicks on and the heat rises from below!! Uses less gas and no electricity! My electric bill was cut by half!A plus all around! Built in thermostat kicks it on and off ! These days of higher prices for heating and electric this unit is all you need!!!!! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Winter Is Coming

,
November 7, 2014
By MRL1950
from Tulsa OK
" And if you are neither a Crow, nor a Stark, you may well need this heater. This version kept most of our house tolerably warm during a 4 week power outage. Use it to keep a cabin toasty, or a Man Cave in the garage, or the workshop. Or, be prepared for those power outages. Because Winter Is Coming. And if you need this, and do not have it, it will be too late.....
Easy enough for even me to use, and that's saying something.
If you are going to use it non-permanently, get the feet kit. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.