Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA

Item# 19857
This ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater offers 99 energy efficiency and dual fuel versatility. Use it with both natural gas or propane for cost-effective comfort. BTU Output 30,000, Color White, Thermostat Included Yes, Blower Included No, Oxygen Depletion Sensor Yes, Heating Capability sq. ft. 1,000, Dimensions L x W x H in. 8 x 26 5/8 x 23 1/2, Product Style Wall heater, Includes Wall mounting bracket. Easy push-button piezo ignition Installation is easy and economical with no venting or chimney required No electricity is necessary, making it perfect for power outages Works with optional blower #173957 Use with the included wall mounting bracket or optional base legs sold separately, Item# 173958 Not for sale in California or Canada. Check your local regulations on installation restrictions and requirements. Propane use requires 100-lb. tank or larger with two-stage adjustable regulator available from gas supply company.
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (21 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
21 of 21(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA
Review 1 for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great feeiling of radiant heat

,
January 16, 2012
By TrojanHorse
from Montana
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"we have had this model for two winters in Montana and it is very comfortable to stand or sit in front of; the heater also heats the entire living area of around 700 sq ft with the setting never above 2; be sure to buy the auxillary fan if you don't have ceiling fans; the aux fan can be a little loud so we usually turn it on auto when not in that part of the house and off when sitting there. Our uint is mounted low on the wall and we built a simple faux hearth under it to conceal propane connection"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+22points
23out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 2 for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tons of heat, and humidity......

,
December 27, 2013
By nyckid
from Queens NY
"This is my 4th winter using this heater in my garage, and it is still working great. HOWEVER, you may want to think twice about buying this heater because of the “oxygen depletion sensor” and the extreme high humidity it creates in a room that is air tight.
For the first 3 winters I had this heater in a un-insulated and EXTREMLY drafty garage. The heater is so powerful it kept my garage at 70degF when it was 20degF outside. During these first 3 years, I had no problems.
This summer I finally got a chance to re-model my garage. I replaced the garage door, and fixed all the drafts. My Garage is now air tight. Making the Garage air tight caused 2 problems.
The 1st is that the “oxygen depletion sensor” would knock out the pilot light over night, every night.
I fixed this by running a fresh air vent near the heater. Now the heater has stayed on for a month straight with out a problem.
The 2nd problem I found is that I am now growing tons of mold on the bottom of my walls. The walls are un-insulated, so condensation is being formed on them and the Mold is loving it!!
The oxygen depletion sensor Is a great safety device, but if you have an air tight space you want to heat, it will keep shutting down.
One of the byproducts of Natural Gas combustion is millions of free Hydrogen molecules. Once the Hydrogen molecules hit the air in the room they combine with the free oxygen molecules in the room and create H20 vapor, which results in high humidity. For me, this means Mold and rusty tools. It's a real shame that for this heater to work well you need to pump in massive amounts of fresh air. This seams very inefficient. Bottom line though, this thing will work forever, and make more heat then you could ever ask for. It would be the perfect heater for a VERY-WELL ventilated space, or a space you will only need to heat for a few hours a week.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not too bad

,
November 4, 2013
By Chuckar
from Utah
"Price was good, use and functions are good, and the overall heating done by this little panel heater is great. The spark igniter worked for one click, and one click only. But, if you just leave the pilot light on all the time, it isn't a big issue.
I have several other brands of these types of heaters, and find this to be as good as or better quality than any of the others. I also like the radiant type heaters over the blue flame heaters. It's a personal choice, but they just seem to be better at heating overall.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
19out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 4 for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Infrared VS Blue Flame

,
November 1, 2013
By TJBJR58
from Massachusetts
"I could not decide between the 30,000 BTU infrared or the blue flame. After much home work, decided on the infrared. This unit is amazing, heats my whole house with a warm wood stove like heat, very comfortable. I did test it out using a 20 lbs tank and an old regulater which I took off a gas grill from the local land fill, works fine and it is the right size fitting, 3/8". Love the dual fuel option since I have nutural gas and a large LP tank. I would recommend this unit to any one, very cost affective, you will love it. I did purchase the optional fan, love that also.. Every one who feels the heat is purchasing one with out question.. No more oil heat.."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 5 for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great unit!

,
October 31, 2013
By not2ez
from Whitehouse Station, N.J.
"Had it for 3 years now, had the fan option but quite last year, not worth the money anyway. The push button starter quite also, not a big deal, made a small hole in the screan at the bottom and get it going with a long nose fire starter, on natural gas it is cheep to run, you can heat your house when the power gos out, very dependable, no need for any other heat until dead winter, and I have a 5 bedroom house, not a cabin and the unit is downstairs.. Thermostate works great. The main heating system in my house can stay off until Jan."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
11out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 6 for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

owner of business

,
April 23, 2013
By gettrrdunn
from Pomeroy ohio
"This heater is the best I have ever used it heats our 6 office rooms in a building 42 ft X 32 ft and keep them comfortable, and uses less LP gas than other models. We have tried the 30,000 blue frame but it do not do the job as this heater does. You can not go wrong with this heater, BEST BUY EVER."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
23out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 7 for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

ProCom-5 plaque-30,000 BTU-Model# MD5TPA

,
February 9, 2013
By BadWrench
from Columbia, SC
"This heater does a great job of heating my 800 sq ft (with 25 ft ceiling) un-insulated garage, I do not have the fan option, but you can feel the radiant heat from 20ft away. My only complaint, and the reason for the 4 star rating, is that the piezo ignitor failed after approximately a dozen uses. I'm using fireplace matches until I can attempt a repair."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 8 for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highly recommended

,
December 7, 2012
By Jed51
from Albuquerque, NM
"Excellent heater, good price, outstanding customer service from Northern -- what's not to like? Heater performs well, is very efficient. Easy installation if you know how to run a black pipe gas line or have one existing. I would have liked slotted holes in the mounting bracket, and like another reviewer used my own wall anchors. Those provided are good for sheet rock, not as good for concrete block, but the bracket works well. I also installed a second lower spacer and screw, although the single one provided is sufficient. I've had no problems with the heater at just under 5000 ft. elevation, and it's doing a great job of heating three adjoining open rooms, about 700 sq. ft.in total, with a ceiling fan in the room where it's installed. The instructions are adequate. Gas inlet is on the bottom right as you face the heater. I'm very pleased and highly recommend this heater. The optional fan is well worth the price and is also recommended."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+28points
31out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 9 for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well

,
October 15, 2012
By Joeseph
from Fitchburg, Ma.
"Unit works very well, easy hook up, sits on floor or hangs on wall. Could be more attractive looking"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-5points
24out of 53found this review helpful.
Review 10 for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

30,000 BTU wall heater

,
October 15, 2012
By bubsy
from Staten Island, NY
"Fairly easy to install providing that you possess the proper tools (and if not you can always order them from northern tool to help with the installation) I installed my heater with 1/2 black pipe with a drip leg installed where it reduced to 3/8. Very satisfied with the performance of the heater, heats over 700 sq feet of basement. May buy another one for my outbuilding rather then burning wood."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 11 for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Huge money saver!!!

,
August 13, 2012
By woman
from Aberdeen, Washington
"we bought our Procom-Vent Free wall heater last yr. in Nov. we live in a home that was costing us 175-225 a month to heat with our natural gas furnace! Now our bill is 46. - 60. a month and this is winter billing! This heater was very simple to install, hook up to natural gas and put the legs on; we've sat it infront of our fireplace it heats our whole downstairs about 1200 sqt & were thinking about buying another for our upstairs! I would highly recommend this to anyone; in fact our friends have bought one and are just as happy as we are!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+23points
23out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 12 for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

heater stand

,
January 28, 2012
By PL123
from Maine
"After hiring a qualified professional to install the heater I was informed that I needed additional plumbing attached to the base of the unit. He informed me that it was necessary, in order to allow for possible condensation that might accumulate in the gas pipe. The stand that I ordered with the unit did not allow for this additional plumbing (stand to low to the floor). Therefore the unit could only be attached to the wall. Please check you plumbing codes before you purchase this unit."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-3points
17out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 13 for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

awsome love it

,
January 16, 2012
By kw1234
from Nh
"I just bought this instaled it was easy. Works great. I am buying a second one. coudln't believe it was vent free. Heats my hole down stairs."
+11points
13out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 14 for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel comfort heater

,
January 9, 2012
By avatar
from orange cty new york
"I purchased my first heater four years ago. Two months later my next and now 4yrs later im going for my third.They are incredible 100 percent comfort and efficientcy. I have one in my basement which keeps all my pipes and floors nice and warm [nice for my dog and our feet].there is one on my first floor also which keeps my boiler from coming on.The heater on the first floor is located directly under my bedroom on the second floor, which by the way keeps my bedroom nice and comfortable,The heater on the first floor heats two 12 by 12 rooms and a 12 by 15ft room nicely.The heaters have a built in thermostat that works excellant .The heater is odorless and noiseless.When they come on my dog lays right down in front and goes right to sleep. Take my word for it they are extremely efficient, affordable and maintainance free. Buy two at a time its easier."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+27points
28out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 15 for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

duel fuel heater

,
January 9, 2012
By SATISFIEDINNM
from SANTA FE NM
"Every heater i have from NORTHERN TOOLS work great.I have recommended this heater to my daughter."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 16 for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

30000 btu procom heater

,
December 31, 2011
By Edthetoolman
from Cleveland ,OH
"After a considerable amount of time shopping for a ventless gas wall heater I came across the PROCOM unit. Lets just say that after 8 years of not being able to heat a back room of mine (using both a forced air unit "furnace" and a boiler system "vent tube radiant" I AM ONE HAPPY CAMPER in a pleasent 70 degree room! At 99% efficient, the room heated up to 70 within the hour.( I have been only able to maintain 64 degrees in the past) The room has 3 exterior walls and the forth is a common wall with my frigid northeastern Ohio garage, vaulted ceilings and a ton of outdated windows.... (thats another story within its self) I purchased the accessory fan and all is good. (BTW, reading the reviews of the blower fan, I think people are expecting the fan to be some sort of a powerful force.... It's only intended to make air flow) VERY VERY HAPPY with the product and look forward to seeing how my gas bill will be effected (the innefficient 80% boiler system burned up a whooping 62,000 btu's) $$$$$$. Installation was a piece of cake (as long as you know how to run black pipe) and mounting the unit was nothing more than (4) anchors and a bracket. I'll get back later to update on the gas savings, Good luck"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 17 for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great heater for us

,
November 28, 2011
By wem1
from UP Michigan
"We live in the UP Michigan, got the heater as a backup in case we lose power, need something that would heat up the house.I installed this in the large part of the house next to the patio door, as the dogs are in and out all day long. We have been using it as the main heat source for this year as the weather is only now starting to get cold. Works great, installed in to the main propane supply with 1/2 black iron pipe. We did get the add on fan to help move the heat, plan to add that to a backup generator or battery bank some time soon."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
16out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 18 for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great in Extreme Conditions

,
October 31, 2011
By CashelGreys
from Southern Colorado
"Two years ago we were looking for a safe and efficient way to heat our greyhound kennel and decided to give this heater a try. It is a very dirty environment with lots of dust and floating hair - especially in the summer when the dogs lose their soft winter undercoats. Our heater sits over the summer and with just a compressed air can we blow it out and clean the pilot. It has immediately fired back up and worked perfectly after sitting idle 2 summers now. It keeps the kennel toasty warm dispite some significant air leaks. In fact I've gone from the house to the kennel and the temp has been more comfortable in there than in the house. I would recommend this heater to anyone especially in difficult heating applications, in fact we are getting a smaller one for our puppy kennel."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
19out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 19 for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Heater

,
October 20, 2011
By XrayMan
from Brunswick, MD
"I bought this for my finished basement which is about 2500 square foot. I have it mounted in the main section of the basement where we gather, using propane. On the medium setting, it heats you out of the room! Installation was easy and I actually tapped into the gas line myself. House is still standing so I guess I did that correctly. It comes with wall anchors which are useless, so I bought my own from the hardware store. Where the gas line comes out of the unit (bottom right underneath), it sticks out quite far beneath the unit. It's just an eye sore. With the correct line couplers, it sticks out about 6-7 inches from the unit with the "trendy" yellow gas line poking out of the wall. Not something I would say is a decision breaker. The wall behind the unit does not get warm at all! That means a great design and all heat is being reflected to the living area. I had access to the wall behind where I mounted it. I braced the upper mounting bracket with a 2x12 bridged between 2 studs in the utility room. I know it was an overkill, but I had scrap from a neighbors project and easy access. I easily added the electrical outlet for the fan (more in a minute) from that room as well.
When you set the temp to a setting and it meets that setting, the heater cuts off. I thought it would only heat 2 or 3 of the tiles. No. It heats all tiles and it cuts off and then turns back on when the temperature falls below the setting. I turn off the pilot when not it use. I guess I'm cheap. Relighting is not hard, but not simple. Comes with a grill-like starter. Wife keeps me around just for lighting during the winter.
Lastly, I bought the circulation fan that mounts to the back of the unit. Even on the highest setting, I feel zero air flow. It sounds like I should feel hurricane-force winds, but all I feel are crickets chirping. That said, it turns off when the unit has turned off, and cooled off. Not sure what the room would feel like if I did not have this fan. The jury is out on that fan; heater is a great buy!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+22points
23out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 20 for ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Heater Money Can Buy

,
October 17, 2011
By hart3856
from Breckenridge, CO
"I had this cabin up in the woods, that we remodel about ten years ago. We were spending a fortune since it was electric base board heat. The wood stove was useless if we were not there.
So I got a thousand gallon propane tank delivered, bought and installed one of these heaters and have never looked back in 10 years. This one heater heats the entire 900 sq ft cabin, two floors!!
It is amazing, maintenance free and the best investment I have made in that cabin. I never worry about pipes freezing or anything else as it just keeps running and running."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+14points
21out of 28found this review helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
Lantz
Indiana 
 
Please wait while more information about Lantz is loaded.
Additional information about Lantz could not be loaded.
No Plumbing needed
May 14, 2012
"The guy who had an "expert" install a base plumbing system was obviously scammed. I have this unit in my living room and garage. Neither are "plumbed" and neither have condensation issues. It is a great product and I recomend."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)