Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"

"ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"

Item# 19857
"This ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater offers 99 energy efficiency and dual fuel versatility. Use it with either natural gas or propane for cost-effective comfort. No venting, chimney or electricity is required, making the ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater ideal for power outages. With the push of a button, the piezo ignition makes it easy to enjoy up to 30,000 BTU of comfortable warmth. Blower Included No, BTU Output 30,000, Dimensions L x W x H in. 8 x 26 5/8 x 23 1/2, Heating Capability sq. ft. 1,000, Color White, Includes Wall mounting bracket, Oxygen Depletion Sensor Yes, Product Style Wall heater, Thermostat Included Yes. Easy push-button piezo ignition Installation is easy and economical with no venting or chimney required No electricity is necessary, making it perfect for power outages Works with optional blower #173957 Use with the included wall mounting bracket or optional base legs sold separately, Item# 173958 Not for sale in California or Canada. Check your local regulations on installation restrictions and requirements. Propane use requires 100-lb. tank or larger with two-stage adjustable regulator available from gas supply company."
Average Customer Rating:
4.71 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (38 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
37 of 38(97%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
43 Questions | 63 Answers
Customer Reviews for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Review 1 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great feeiling of radiant heat

,
January 16, 2012
By TrojanHorse
from Montana
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" we have had this model for two winters in Montana and it is very comfortable to stand or sit in front of; the heater also heats the entire living area of around 700 sq ft with the setting never above 2; be sure to buy the auxillary fan if you don't have ceiling fans; the aux fan can be a little loud so we usually turn it on auto when not in that part of the house and off when sitting there. Our uint is mounted low on the wall and we built a simple faux hearth under it to conceal propane connection "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+25points
26out of 27found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

heater

,
December 19, 2014
By 1workerbee
from tn
" looks great works great ,even when power is outgot it for a backup and aux heat in basement . i wuuld recomend these , easy to hook up and operate. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I'm going with a 5

,
December 17, 2014
By shabby
from Prescott Valley Az
" even though we don't actually have it up and running yet. But it's got a great look, clean lines & was very easy to connect and hang on wall.
We are waiting for help with the switch that takes it from Propane to our home gas line. But I am confident all is going to work out well.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Cannot get replacement parts

,
December 17, 2014
By Ada1
from CT
" I was very happy with this heater during its first winter's use. However, at the beginning of this cold season, and immediately after the warranty expired, the thermostat broke, so it must be operated manually. No longer can I put it on a low setting and go about my business, knowing it won't stay on too long. Also, turning the knob to "pilot" now shuts the pilot off. We wanted to replace the thermostat assembly, but the manufacturer's website says they cannot get spare parts at all this winter, nor are they offering any phone or email help regarding parts! I've given it two stars because it DID work fine, for a while. But based on this disappointing experience I would not buy another ProCom heater. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"

,
December 14, 2014
By 37355user
from Manchester, TN
" The unit is very efficient. Was easy to install. One major problem, the igniter did not work, had to light the unit manually with a match.
I have the unit mounted on the wall in my garage. The garage has plenty of ventilation, however the unit kept the temperature when I want it with a very low thermostat setting
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awsome Heat

,
December 3, 2014
By Tday
from ohio
" For the past 5 years me and my family have been struggling to stay warm every winter with a 10,000 BTU propane heater in a 4 bedroom house my living room and dinning area are at least over 300 sq.ft, so after receiving this 30,000 BTU 5 brick heater I can truly say my cold days are over, now we can actually sit around the house with no blankets, I never thought it was possible, it warms my house very evenly thru out, I believe I can put my elc. bills to rest and start saving again, this was the best product I have invested in in a long time, as we get older and colder in life I now have no worries, not to mention my heater was shipped as fast as possible even with the back orders that they had, and hook up was a breeze no problems connecting and hanging on wall, I would recommend to anyone that is cold or feeling chilly to try this product, it burns very efficient and will most likely save me in propane in months to come "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pro Com 30000

,
December 1, 2014
By md98620
from Wa
" This is a great heater that has dual fuel capabilities and I added a fan that also works on a thermostat. I haven't used the heater above # 2 setting and we had -12 temps.
If you need a heater I recommend this one. I had a similar heater alredy but this is the only one I use.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Set up and Day One

,
November 19, 2014
By JCham40
from Tennessee
" I purchased a new ProCon 5 panel heater and completed the connections today. I use this heater in a detached Shop. The connection was easy and I have been through a few hours of use in the shop. Everything has gone great and the heater performs as advertised. I am a satisfied customer!! I would recommend this setup to anyone needing a good heater for an open space. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Paulino

,
November 11, 2014
By Branco
from New Jersey
" i use this product on my 1200 sf open basement it work perfect. really good product. it furnace just missing a thermostat i had to work on it. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Satisfied

,
November 9, 2014
By 704abq
from Albuquerque, NM
" Very satisfied with this heater! Purchased for supplementary heat on those cold winter mornings. Product arrived in specified time, was easier to install than anticipated and lit on the first click of the igniter. With ceiling fans in every room that has distributed heat, house is warm and comfortable. I am looking forward to the next blast of artic weather to fully experience it's capabilities, but so far really good! "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awsome Heater

,
November 9, 2014
By ScottQhomeowner
from Tennessee
" I am completely impressed with this heater! I would highly recommend it to anyone! I bought to put in my basement and my central heat never kicks on and the heat rises from below!! Uses less gas and no electricity! My electric bill was cut by half!A plus all around! Built in thermostat kicks it on and off ! These days of higher prices for heating and electric this unit is all you need!!!!! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Winter Is Coming

,
November 7, 2014
By MRL1950
from Tulsa OK
" And if you are neither a Crow, nor a Stark, you may well need this heater. This version kept most of our house tolerably warm during a 4 week power outage. Use it to keep a cabin toasty, or a Man Cave in the garage, or the workshop. Or, be prepared for those power outages. Because Winter Is Coming. And if you need this, and do not have it, it will be too late.....
Easy enough for even me to use, and that's saying something.
If you are going to use it non-permanently, get the feet kit. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

ProCom Infrared radiant heater

,
November 3, 2014
By msc734
from Craigsville, WV
" This product came loaded with all the extra features. What is great is that it is easily adaptable to either propane or natural gas. Also, it has an automatic blower fan. Also, thermostatically controlled ! Can be easily wall mounted or freestanding with included legstand kit. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Procom Model# MD5TPA 30,000 BTU Vent Free Heater

,
October 23, 2014
By RGilbert
from West Tennessee
" Purchased two of these for LP use, one for the front of home and one for the rear. Home is approximately 1,800 Square Feet so 60,000 BTU is perhaps overkill, but better to have two much than not enough. Installed easily on wall without any issue. Have ceiling fans in each room of home and keep them running on low for ventilation and distribution of heat. I have only been using these heaters for approximately one month, but they are extremely effective in quickly heating up the house and maintaining the temperature. Temperatures in Tennessee have only gotten down to the high 30's thus far, but I am interested to see how effective they are when colder weather arrives. They are extremely efficient compared to the LP based furnace that I have been using and they do not require any electricity to operate. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Garage heater

,
October 20, 2014
By Bucky02664
from Mass
" I bought this heater to heat my garage,which I just insulated.this heater puts out way more than I needed for a 14 by 24 garage with 10 foot ceilings. Could probably have gone withe three plaque heater but more is better than not enough,wish I bought it years ago.starts every time and easy to install. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Propane / Gas Heater

,
October 6, 2014
By Pinko
from New York
" I have personally bought 7 of these type of heaters from Northern Tool all different BTU's. Using in campers, basement, garage, cabin and home. I would recommend purchasing them as they are easy to install and heat recommended areas as stated. You have to prime at first to get the gas/propane up to spark but after that they click on easily. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
16out of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value!

,
October 5, 2014
By marsue
from NW Ohio
" The price for this 30,000 BTU unit was great! The unit lit right up on the first attempt and has worked well since. It's quiet and it's looks are appealing! "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pro Com Vent Free Heater

,
September 17, 2014
By Kat80
from Tenino, WA
" I bought this product a year ago. I loved it so much I bought one for my son few weeks ago. It is the warmest heat ever and works great! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tons of heat, and humidity......

,
December 27, 2013
By nyckid
from Queens NY
" This is my 4th winter using this heater in my garage, and it is still working great. HOWEVER, you may want to think twice about buying this heater because of the “oxygen depletion sensor” and the extreme high humidity it creates in a room that is air tight.
For the first 3 winters I had this heater in a un-insulated and EXTREMLY drafty garage. The heater is so powerful it kept my garage at 70degF when it was 20degF outside. During these first 3 years, I had no problems.
This summer I finally got a chance to re-model my garage. I replaced the garage door, and fixed all the drafts. My Garage is now air tight. Making the Garage air tight caused 2 problems.
The 1st is that the “oxygen depletion sensor” would knock out the pilot light over night, every night.
I fixed this by running a fresh air vent near the heater. Now the heater has stayed on for a month straight with out a problem.
The 2nd problem I found is that I am now growing tons of mold on the bottom of my walls. The walls are un-insulated, so condensation is being formed on them and the Mold is loving it!!
The oxygen depletion sensor Is a great safety device, but if you have an air tight space you want to heat, it will keep shutting down.
One of the byproducts of Natural Gas combustion is millions of free Hydrogen molecules. Once the Hydrogen molecules hit the air in the room they combine with the free oxygen molecules in the room and create H20 vapor, which results in high humidity. For me, this means Mold and rusty tools. It's a real shame that for this heater to work well you need to pump in massive amounts of fresh air. This seams very inefficient. Bottom line though, this thing will work forever, and make more heat then you could ever ask for. It would be the perfect heater for a VERY-WELL ventilated space, or a space you will only need to heat for a few hours a week.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+30points
32out of 34found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "ProCom Vent-Free Dual Fuel Infrared Radiant Wall Heater - 5-Plaque, 30,000 BTU, Model# MD5TPA"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not too bad

,
November 4, 2013
By Chuckar
from Utah
" Price was good, use and functions are good, and the overall heating done by this little panel heater is great. The spark igniter worked for one click, and one click only. But, if you just leave the pilot light on all the time, it isn't a big issue.
I have several other brands of these types of heaters, and find this to be as good as or better quality than any of the others. I also like the radiant type heaters over the blue flame heaters. It's a personal choice, but they just seem to be better at heating overall.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+18points
30out of 42found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.