Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Bolo Machete - 17 5/8in. Blade

Northern Industrial Tools Bolo Machete - 17 5/8in. Blade

Item# 19917
"Tempered 17 5/8in. steel blade is 2 1/4in. wide near the point. Blade runs though handle. 22 1/4in. long overall. Sheath included. Recommended Use Light brush and foliage, Application Machete, Handle Included Yes, Material Steel."
Average Customer Rating:
3.889 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (9 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
7 of 9(78%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Bolo Machete - 17 5/8in. Blade
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Tools Bolo Machete - 17 5/8in. Blade
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Bad Quality

,
October 9, 2012
By LL12
from Montgomery, TX
" I Buy this Machete because has pretty good price but quality isn't good ....... "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Tools Bolo Machete - 17 5/8in. Blade
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

machete

,
August 13, 2012
By Buds64
from san antonio, tx
" good tool , does not come sharp. hit it with a flapper disc and hand filed. sharp enough to trim my palm trees. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Tools Bolo Machete - 17 5/8in. Blade
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bobo machete

,
November 16, 2010
By JTDallas
from N. Texas
" What can you say, sharpen it on a grinder, and cut the brush down. I used it to clear some troublesom trash trees, vines, and the dreaded honeysuckle plant that was way out of control.
Works great. Comes with a sheath, so you can look like a mean dude clearing a path in the jungle.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Tools Bolo Machete - 17 5/8in. Blade
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

machete review

,
November 16, 2010
By carlie595
from chelmsford, ma
" I just got the machete and am pleased with it's performance. I am using it to cut down overgrowth in my back yard and it's working just like i wanted ,it's a good buy for the money "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Tools Bolo Machete - 17 5/8in. Blade
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mine was perfect

,
December 17, 2009
By thundermug
from missouri
" I've seen negative reviews on this item on other websites. I disagree with all of them. Right out of the package I used this to cut down seven rows of dried cornstalks. About 350 feet of corn. This knife cut through them like butter. I was curious to see how many cornstalks I could cut in one swing. The answer was five. I ran the blade into the ground by accident at least four times but it still maintained it's edge.
After the corn I cut down several dried sunflower stalks. Anyone who has ever done any gardening knows how hard these can be to cut. I did run into a bit of trouble here. It was taking two swings to get them down and sometimes four but it still maintained it's edge.
When the work was done I decided to have a little fun. I had some overripe zuchinnis that I threw up into the air and then cut them in two as they were falling. I enjoyed watching the pieces flying off in every direction with little effort on my part.
I like good quality tools that reduce my effort and save me energy. I highly recommend this machete. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Tools Bolo Machete - 17 5/8in. Blade
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Machete

,
April 14, 2008
By Onlevel
from California
" Handles break on fist swing. We did not use these for heavy brush clearing. Not my favorite buy. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Tools Bolo Machete - 17 5/8in. Blade
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Machete

,
July 11, 2007
By busterboy
from Ballwin, Mo
" Great weight, grip fit hand good. Holds a edge pretty well. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Tools Bolo Machete - 17 5/8in. Blade
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wonderful tool for the price

,
July 9, 2007
By northerntoolman
from Detroit, MI
" I have used this item for quick trimming of brush out back and trimming of pine trees used for the Holidays. It has performed well and keeps a decent edge. Would definitely recommend this as the cost vs performance ratio is outstanding. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Tools Bolo Machete - 17 5/8in. Blade
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bolo Machete — 17 5/8in. Blade

,
March 7, 2007
By Lukapea
from New-Brunswick Canada
" Hello Y'all , I love this machete because of its case and the weight , i use it to make trails for snowshoeing and on my ATV , i will get another one to put in my truck to go hunting next fall , i recommend this item.........Lukapea "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.