Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Bolo Machete - 17 5/8in. Blade

Northern Industrial Tools Bolo Machete - 17 5/8in. Blade

Item# 19917
Tempered 17 5/8in. steel blade is 2 1/4in. wide near the point. Blade runs though handle. 22 1/4in. long overall. Sheath included. Application Machete, Material Steel, Recommended Use Light brush and foliage, Handle Included Yes.
Average Customer Rating:
3.889 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (9 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
7 of 9(78%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Northern Industrial Tools Bolo Machete - 17 5/8in. Blade
Review 1 for Northern Industrial Tools Bolo Machete - 17 5/8in. Blade
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Bad Quality

,
October 9, 2012
By LL12
from Montgomery, TX
"I Buy this Machete because has pretty good price but quality isn't good ......."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Northern Industrial Tools Bolo Machete - 17 5/8in. Blade
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

machete

,
August 13, 2012
By Buds64
from san antonio, tx
"good tool , does not come sharp. hit it with a flapper disc and hand filed. sharp enough to trim my palm trees."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Northern Industrial Tools Bolo Machete - 17 5/8in. Blade
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bobo machete

,
November 16, 2010
By JTDallas
from N. Texas
"What can you say, sharpen it on a grinder, and cut the brush down. I used it to clear some troublesom trash trees, vines, and the dreaded honeysuckle plant that was way out of control.
Works great. Comes with a sheath, so you can look like a mean dude clearing a path in the jungle.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Northern Industrial Tools Bolo Machete - 17 5/8in. Blade
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

machete review

,
November 16, 2010
By carlie595
from chelmsford, ma
"I just got the machete and am pleased with it's performance. I am using it to cut down overgrowth in my back yard and it's working just like i wanted ,it's a good buy for the money"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Northern Industrial Tools Bolo Machete - 17 5/8in. Blade
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mine was perfect

,
December 17, 2009
By thundermug
from missouri
"I've seen negative reviews on this item on other websites. I disagree with all of them. Right out of the package I used this to cut down seven rows of dried cornstalks. About 350 feet of corn. This knife cut through them like butter. I was curious to see how many cornstalks I could cut in one swing. The answer was five. I ran the blade into the ground by accident at least four times but it still maintained it's edge.
After the corn I cut down several dried sunflower stalks. Anyone who has ever done any gardening knows how hard these can be to cut. I did run into a bit of trouble here. It was taking two swings to get them down and sometimes four but it still maintained it's edge.
When the work was done I decided to have a little fun. I had some overripe zuchinnis that I threw up into the air and then cut them in two as they were falling. I enjoyed watching the pieces flying off in every direction with little effort on my part.
I like good quality tools that reduce my effort and save me energy. I highly recommend this machete."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Northern Industrial Tools Bolo Machete - 17 5/8in. Blade
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Machete

,
April 14, 2008
By Onlevel
from California
"Handles break on fist swing. We did not use these for heavy brush clearing. Not my favorite buy."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Northern Industrial Tools Bolo Machete - 17 5/8in. Blade
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Machete

,
July 11, 2007
By busterboy
from Ballwin, Mo
"Great weight, grip fit hand good. Holds a edge pretty well."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Northern Industrial Tools Bolo Machete - 17 5/8in. Blade
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Wonderful tool for the price

,
July 9, 2007
By northerntoolman
from Detroit, MI
"I have used this item for quick trimming of brush out back and trimming of pine trees used for the Holidays. It has performed well and keeps a decent edge. Would definitely recommend this as the cost vs performance ratio is outstanding."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Northern Industrial Tools Bolo Machete - 17 5/8in. Blade
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bolo Machete — 17 5/8in. Blade

,
March 7, 2007
By Lukapea
from New-Brunswick Canada
"Hello Y'all , I love this machete because of its case and the weight , i use it to make trails for snowshoeing and on my ATV , i will get another one to put in my truck to go hunting next fall , i recommend this item.........Lukapea"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.