Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Midland Handheld GMRS Radio - Pair, 36-Mile Range, Waterproof, Model# GXT1000VP4

Midland Handheld GMRS Radio - Pair, 36-Mile Range, Waterproof, Model# GXT1000VP4

Item# 200824
This pair of Midland handheld GMRS radios allows you to keep in communication up to 36 miles apart during extreme outdoor activities. These feature-loaded radios include NOAA weather alert to automatically inform you of severe weather hazard information 24/7. Waterproof protection from splashing water and built-in SOS siren for emergencies. Privacy Codes qty. 387, Water Resistant Yes, waterproof, Charger Included Yes, AC & DC, Range miles 36, Channels qty. 50, Pairs qty. 1, Call Alert Yes-10, Battery Included Yes, 8 AA. JIS4 waterproof protection against light rain or splashing water Voice privacy scramble Whisper allows receiving radio to receive whisper at full volume Dual watch monitors 2 channels Direct Call allows user to contact one person without alerting entire group NOAA weather alert with weather scan SOS siren to send distress signals Channel scan Silent operation Hi/Med/Lo power setting X-TRA TALK power 10 call alerts Auto squelch Roger beep 9-level eVOX handsfree operation Vibrate alert Channel scan 22 channels plus 28 extra channels Bright backlit LCD display Keypad lock Keystroke tones Battery life extender Mic and headphone jacks On/off control knob Monitor Each operates on 4 AA batteries Dual power Drop in charger capable
Average Customer Rating:
4.444 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (9 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
8 of 9(89%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer Reviews for Midland Handheld GMRS Radio - Pair, 36-Mile Range, Waterproof, Model# GXT1000VP4
Review 1 for Midland Handheld GMRS Radio - Pair, 36-Mile Range, Waterproof, Model# GXT1000VP4
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't Waste Your Money

,
June 17, 2013
By Raginglou1
from Indiana
"I purchased two sets of the Midland GXT 1000VP4's Handheld GMRS Radio - Pair, supposed 36-Mile Range,,, for a trip with my family. I tried them with a friend and couldn't get over 1.5 miles with any combination of the 4 radios. If your looking for 36 Miles or even Half,,, LOOK ELSEWHERE!!!! These don't cut the mustard..."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Midland Handheld GMRS Radio - Pair, 36-Mile Range, Waterproof, Model# GXT1000VP4
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Radio

,
October 15, 2012
By banjo98
from Virginia
"Use these for hunting all the time. Very useful radios! Many handy features! I hunt deep in the Mountains, and I never have had a range problems. Easy to use, good range, great features, great batteries, and exceptional all around quality! A must buy. I prefer these over Motorola's."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Midland Handheld GMRS Radio - Pair, 36-Mile Range, Waterproof, Model# GXT1000VP4
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Radios

,
August 13, 2012
By ESL1
from Portland, OR
"These radios are really great. More functions than I'll ever need but they stand up to wet weather and are great for staying in touch with the house when out in the woods or out hunting."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Midland Handheld GMRS Radio - Pair, 36-Mile Range, Waterproof, Model# GXT1000VP4
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great distance

,
January 9, 2012
By Clay1970
from Wappapello,MO.
"I maintain the campgrounds at lake Wappapello, and these radios have been a necessity. We use them when we are out on the campgrounds. On the lake in a boat the range has never been reached, and always work. In the mountains and heavily wooded areas, they are heard all the way to the camp house. We took one down the road in a vehicle to see just how far they will reach, and we made it all the way up to the bus stop, which is probably a mile, through insane hills, and super thick forest. They will definately work everywhere I would travel here. They have been a great benefit to us, and we even loan them to campers to stay in touch. We are going to try the base camp radio and purchase two more sets now that we have used these."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Midland Handheld GMRS Radio - Pair, 36-Mile Range, Waterproof, Model# GXT1000VP4
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

insane

,
June 14, 2011
By martay
from Chestnut Ridge, NY
"these radios are great and easy-to-use. I even connected channels with my cousins who have a different brand radio set. I haven't even had the chance to try out all the settings. it has loud and quiet volumes and when you whisper it comes out loud and clear at the other end. you can get weather reports to tell you when it starts raining or gets colder. these radios are highly recommended and are worth having if you get lost or need help. they are also great for around the house. the additional headphone jacks make using these radios fun and easier. it also makes it so that noone around you can hear what the other guy is saying."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Midland Handheld GMRS Radio - Pair, 36-Mile Range, Waterproof, Model# GXT1000VP4
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great radios AAA+++

,
March 14, 2011
By bonecrusher
from CT
"These radios are the best for the money. I've used many 2-war radios over the years but these are by far the best. 50 channels, full output power, excellent range, can be on one channel while monitoring and talking on another (very nice if others in your group have radios with less than 50 channels), long battery life from the rechargeable battery packs, the perfect radios for skiing and keeping in contact with your group and if someone is on the other side of the mountain you can relay messages from one to another. We use these everywhere, the mall, biking, around the yard, on road trips... Don't expect these radios to go through mountains or many city blocks of buildings, no radio no matter how expensive can do that without a repeater station. Definitely worth the money (I bought two sets) no regrets."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Midland Handheld GMRS Radio - Pair, 36-Mile Range, Waterproof, Model# GXT1000VP4
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hand Held Radio

,
March 14, 2011
By krb9rtp
from Raleigh
"I have used this hand held radio numerous times since my purchase and have been very impressed in the quality of the sound produced. This past winter when the power at our house was off and on, I used these radios to communicate with my wife when I was out in the snow. I have really enjoyed using them as well as the NOAA alert to know in advance what type of weather to expect. They worked great and I was really grateful that I had made the decision to purhcase this equipment for Christmas. I am still on my first set of batteries, even though it comes with a charger, and I can say that they have been much more reliable than the use of my cell phone!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Midland Handheld GMRS Radio - Pair, 36-Mile Range, Waterproof, Model# GXT1000VP4
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Bear Hunt

,
March 14, 2011
By 7908
from Breckenridge, Colorado
"Last year, in the mountains of Colorado, on my first black bear hunt I never thought that this radio would be so helpful. This product is so simple to use and the features are endless. I especially like the silent call feature, when I can send a message without any annoying beeps or whistles. The party feature is especially helpful since I ran into a jam on the mountain and the rest of the party came to my rescue. This radio truly deserves a 5-Star rating for saving me . I will definitely tell all my friends about this radio."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Midland Handheld GMRS Radio - Pair, 36-Mile Range, Waterproof, Model# GXT1000VP4
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

2-way Radios

,
November 16, 2010
By scapitan
from Groveland. CA
"We use them all the time for traffic control. They work great. They are used on our Golf Course. On our work boat we have no problem communicating from boat to shore. They are priced right. We even purchased a second set, and they are all on the same frequency so we can all communicate with out depending on our regular handheld Motorola radios."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.