Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Prince Log Splitter Detent Valve

Prince Log Splitter Detent Valve

Item# 2020
Prince Log Splitter Detent Valve for open center systems. Relief valve adjustable to 2750 PSI, preset at 2250 PSI, flow rating up to 25 gal./min. Our most popular log splitter valve. Spring centered in one direction, pressure released detent in the other direction. Automatically kicks back to neutral when cylinder completes stroke. Built-in relief valve ports. Hydraulic balanced, hard chrome plated spool. Handle can be installed in 'up' or 'down' position. Detent release pressure adjustable from 600 to 2000 PSI. Max. Flow GPM 25, Adjustable Release Pressure PSI 1,000-2,000, Inlet Port in. 3/4, Working Port in. 1/2, Max. PSI 2,750. For use with up to 5in. cylinders Built-in relief valve ports Hydraulic-balanced chrome-plated spool Detent release pressure adjustable from 600 to 2000 PSI
Average Customer Rating:
4.881 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(67 Reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (67 reviews)
5 stars
59
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
67 of 67(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
14 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer Reviews for Prince Log Splitter Detent Valve
Review 1 for Prince Log Splitter Detent Valve
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

works as promised

,
August 6, 2014
By fordsuperduty
from ellsworth, maine
"put it on, bleed out the air, and it worked great without a hitch. running 2 wood splitters alot, I would not hestiate to buy another if need be. Northern Tool, GREAT JOB, I would recommend you to anybody.Thank you"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Prince Log Splitter Detent Valve
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Log Splitter Valve

,
April 23, 2014
By Dan59
from Pa
"Exact replacement for the one I purchased from Northern 25 years ago when I built the splitter. Great quality product and quick shipping fron Northern."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Prince Log Splitter Detent Valve
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great hand valve

,
February 4, 2014
By Dan6971
from Ottawa,Illinois
"I bought this for my log splitter and it has worked flawlessly. Great valve at a great price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Prince Log Splitter Detent Valve
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great

,
February 4, 2014
By alviewonvalve
from okc, ok
"this is my second time getting this item.I looked the one I got, so i had to get my grandson one for his spliter. Both of us have had great experience with this valve.When I say experience, that means no problems with this valve.If I every have a problem with the valve, hope never, I will try to get the same valve."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Prince Log Splitter Detent Valve
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wood spliter detent valve

,
October 12, 2012
By Pappers
from Jonestown PA
"Excellent product it replaces the original valve which came on the Northern wood splitter I purchased from you about 25 years ago."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Prince Log Splitter Detent Valve
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Most efficient operation!!!

,
August 20, 2012
By NJC1
from Capay, California
"This hydraulic detent valve on my wood splitter makes it possible to split wood easier and safer when my helper is not available."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Prince Log Splitter Detent Valve
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dependable!! and AMERICAN MADE

,
August 16, 2012
By Woodeyefull
from conesus ny
"I needed to replace the valve on my old log splitter at the end of last burning season. I believe this valve would fit many different configurations and it was easy to install. I've since been using it a lot this summer splitting wood for the winter. This is a well made AMERICAN made product."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Prince Log Splitter Detent Valve
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

MADE IN AMERICA --- YEAH!!!

,
August 14, 2012
By Woodeye58
from Conesus, NY
"This works great. I put it on my old splitter near the end of last winter (3/2012) to finish some splitting for the season and have been using it regularly over the summer to add to my pile for the coming winter. Not a problem ever and I love that it's made in America. The local tool and supply company for farmers and tractor owners (you know which company I mean, right?) only sold cheaply made foreign valves and the cost MORE than this higher quality American made one. This is a great product at a terrific price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Prince Log Splitter Detent Valve
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Log splitter valve

,
January 9, 2012
By Anonymous
from Paris, Tx
"Product was as described, easily adjustable relief valve. It was over all a good product. I liked the feature of a detent return position."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Prince Log Splitter Detent Valve
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product for the price

,
June 1, 2010
By michianaflyer
from South Bend, IN
"This is the best price that I have found for a log splitter valve! It is easy to hook up and works great."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Prince Log Splitter Detent Valve
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

High Quality

,
June 1, 2010
By Dave64
from North Idaho
"I bought one for the woodsplitter I built. Have now split about 30 cords of wood since it was installed & I love it. The "detent " saves me a lot of time. With my old valve I had to hold the handle on the return stroke. Another plus is it's made in the USA."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Prince Log Splitter Detent Valve
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product, wish it had automatic return.

,
May 31, 2010
By timmer1
from Elmira, NY
"Bought this valve when my went south. Works great, easy to install. It has an automatic split which is what I think they call the detent. I wish you didn't have to hold it for the return, but that's no reason for a bad review, I didn't see any of them that had both ways detent."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-6points
0out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
jthebuilder
Deer Island, OR 
 
Please wait while more information about jthebuilder is loaded.
Additional information about jthebuilder could not be loaded.
Plumbed wrong?
July 16, 2011
"I believe you have your lines backwards as the detent should be on the return stroke not during the split cycle."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Prince Log Splitter Detent Valve
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Splitter Detent Valve

,
April 26, 2010
By jthebuilder
from Deer Island, OR
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Purchased this detent valve for my home made log splitter. Seems to be very well built and it is also made in the USA hard to find that these days. Installation was very easy as included were some of the best instructions I have seen in a long time. If you are building a splitter or need a control valve look no further."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Prince Log Splitter Detent Valve
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good product

,
February 22, 2010
By LogHomeBuilderGuy
from Crowley, LA
"I built a splitter last season using this valve. It has worked perfectly."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Prince Log Splitter Detent Valve
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product for the money

,
February 22, 2010
By Guninstructor
from Venice, CA
"I purchased this unit as a control for a home built hydraulic forging press and I was very happy with its performance. The valve works perfectly and the pressure adjustment is very easy. Make sure to purchase a pressure gauge to put into the hydraulic circuit when doing any adjustments."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Prince Log Splitter Detent Valve
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Well made part in the USA

,
February 16, 2010
By SWSofMT
from Missoula, MT
"I bought this for a log splitter I built and it works great. It is also made in the USA and good quality, something you don't see very often anymore. I would recommend this part to anyone building a log splitter."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Prince Log Splitter Detent Valve
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

High Quality, Great Price!

,
February 15, 2010
By bigpond
from s.w. GA
"Ordered this valve for a remote operated log splitter. This valve works as good as any I have seen at half the price! You will NOT be dissappionted in the quality/price of this valve."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Prince Log Splitter Detent Valve
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Value for a Log Splitter

,
February 15, 2010
By BigJoeG
from NH
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"A good valve is a must for your log splitter project. The valve is very solid and well made. I have not had a single issue with mine. The instructions were clear and well written."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Prince Log Splitter Detent Valve
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good value

,
November 2, 2009
By neiljg
from maine
"good value for an inexpensive log splitter valve. Easy to install and use"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
super66
South Jersey 
 
Please wait while more information about super66 is loaded.
Additional information about super66 could not be loaded.
control valve
March 21, 2011
"Valve was inexpensive and worked perfectly. It was exactly what I needed for 1/4 price at our local hydraulic shop."
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Prince Log Splitter Detent Valve
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

splitter valve

,
October 21, 2009
By logspltr
from Loganville, GA
"bought this to eliminate an electronic valve system. Hooked it up and it works great!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.