Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Klutch SAE and Metric Mechanic's Tool Set - 189-Pc., 1/4in., 3/8in. & 1/2in. Drive"

"Klutch SAE and Metric Mechanic's Tool Set - 189-Pc., 1/4in., 3/8in. & 1/2in. Drive"

Item# 20281
"Complete professional grade Klutch 189-pc. automotive repair set features chrome vanadium steel 1/4in.-, 3/8in.- and 1/2in.-drive 6-, 8- and 12-pt. sockets, quick-release ratchets, bit sets, drive tools and more. Klutch hand tools are built to provide long-lasting, superior performance. They are backed by an industry-leading lifetime guarantee. Handles qty. 3 1/4in.-drive 3/8in.-drive, 1/2in.-drive, Adapters qty. 3, Additional Items 14 Combination wrenches, 16 hex keys, spinner handle, drive bit coupler, Bits qty. 30 slotted, Phillips, star, hex, Pozi, Drive in. 1/4, 3/8, 1/2, Extensions qty. 6, Metric Standard Socket Size - 1/4in. Drive mm 12 6-pt. 4-13mm, Material Type Chrome vanadium, Metric Deep Well Socket Size - 1/4in. Drive mm 6 6-pt. 4-9mm, Metric Deep Well Socket Size - 3/8in. Drive mm 8 12-pt. 10-18mm, Metric Standard Socket Size - 1/2in. Drive mm 12 12-pt. 10-24mm, SAE Deep Well Socket Size - 1/4in. Drive in. 4 6-pt. 1/4in.-11/32in., Metric Standard Socket Size - 3/8in. Drive mm 11 6-pt. 9-19mm 12 12-pt. 8-19mm, Pieces qty. 189, Point Size qty. 6, 8, 12, Spark Plug Socket Size in. 5/8, 13/16, Storage Type Blow-molded case, SAE Deep Well Socket Size - 3/8in. Drive in. 7 12-pt. 3/8in.-3/4in., SAE Standard Socket Size - 1/2in. Drive in. 10 12-pt. 7/16in.-1in., SAE Standard Socket Size - 1/4in. Drive in. 10 6-pt. 5/32in.-1/2in., SAE Standard Socket Size - 3/8in. Drive in. 8 6-pt. 3/8in.-13/16in. 3 8-pt. 1/4in.-3/8in. 8 12-pt. 3/8in.-13/16in., Universal Joints qty. 1, Measurement Type Standard SAE/Metric. Chrome vanadium sockets with polished chrome finish and hi-vis markings for easy reading Teardrop quick-release ratchets have pushbutton release for fast, easy socket changes Sidewall drive sockets apply force to the walls of the fastener instead of the points, resulting in longer fastener life Chrome vanadium sockets with polished chrome finish and hi-vis markings for easy reading Teardrop quick-release ratchets have pushbutton release for fast, easy socket changes Sidewall drive sockets apply force to the walls of the fastener instead of the points, resulting in longer fastener life 1/4in. Sq. Drive 6-pt. Sockets - 10 SAE 5/32in.-1/2in. 12 metric 4-13mm 4 deep SAE 1/4in.-11/32in. 6 deep metric 4-9mm 3/8in. Sq. Drive Sockets - 8 6-pt. SAE 3/8in.-13/16in. 11 6-pt. metric 9-19mm 3 8-pt. SAE 1/4in.-3/8in. 8 12-pt. SAE 3/8in.-13/16in. 12 12-pt. metric 8-19mm 7 12-pt. deep SAE 3/8in.-3/4in. 8 12-pt. deep metric 10-18mm 2 Spark plug sockets 5/8in., 13/16in. 1/2in. Sq. Drive 12-pt. Sockets - 10 SAE 7/16in.-1in. 12 metric 10-24mm Drive Tools - 3 Teardrop quick-release ratchets 1/4in., 3/8in., 1/2in. 1 3/8in. universal joint 6 extensions 3 adapters Combination Wrenches - 7 SAE 5/16in.-3/4in. 7 metric 8-18mm Specialty Tools - 16 Hex keys 8 SAE, 8 metric 1 1/4in. drive spinner handle, 1 1/4in. drive bit coupler 30 Bits in case with belt clip slotted, Phillips, star, hex, Pozi Blow-molded case"
Average Customer Rating:
4.553 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (38 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
36 of 38(95%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Klutch SAE and Metric Mechanic's Tool Set - 189-Pc., 1/4in., 3/8in. & 1/2in. Drive"
Review 1 for "Klutch SAE and Metric Mechanic's Tool Set - 189-Pc., 1/4in., 3/8in. & 1/2in. Drive"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid tool set.

,
May 11, 2014
By DennisN
from NW Indiana
"Not much to say. It's a tool kit and I can say nothing against it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Klutch SAE and Metric Mechanic's Tool Set - 189-Pc., 1/4in., 3/8in. & 1/2in. Drive"
This review is from: Northern Industrial Chrome Vanadium Tool Set - 189-Pc. SAE and Metric Set
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good basic tool set.

,
October 8, 2012
By Berkeley549
from Jamestown, SC
"I would prefer individual screwdrivers in addition to the handle with bits, but this was known before purchase. Otherwise, they seem to be quality tools which is the norm for Northern. 4 stars instead of 5 because there is nothing to set it apart from any other quality tool set."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for "Klutch SAE and Metric Mechanic's Tool Set - 189-Pc., 1/4in., 3/8in. & 1/2in. Drive"
This review is from: Northern Industrial Chrome Vanadium Tool Set - 189-Pc. SAE and Metric Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Complete Portable Set

,
August 24, 2012
By dk312
from Chicago, IL
"Bought this set back in April of 2009. Have used it many times. Love having everything in one simple case. No searching tool box for sockets or wrenches. Very convenient to throw it in the car when you have to assist a friend or relative. All the pieces look the same today as when I first purchases. Finish really holds up."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for "Klutch SAE and Metric Mechanic's Tool Set - 189-Pc., 1/4in., 3/8in. & 1/2in. Drive"
This review is from: Northern Industrial Chrome Vanadium Tool Set - 189-Pc. SAE and Metric Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

tool set

,
May 14, 2012
By herman038
from miami fl
"a pretty complete set,good quality, i keep it in the truck at all times.you can do some damage with this set."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for "Klutch SAE and Metric Mechanic's Tool Set - 189-Pc., 1/4in., 3/8in. & 1/2in. Drive"
This review is from: Northern Industrial Chrome Vanadium Tool Set - 189-Pc. SAE and Metric Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tool set for professional or homeowner

,
May 7, 2012
By rh1223
from CT
"This tool set is truly fantastic. The quality of the product is much higher than anticipated. three different size socket wrenches allow to chose the right size for each individual job. A great value at this price"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for "Klutch SAE and Metric Mechanic's Tool Set - 189-Pc., 1/4in., 3/8in. & 1/2in. Drive"
This review is from: Northern Industrial Chrome Vanadium Tool Set - 189-Pc. SAE and Metric Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Professional appearance and Quality too

,
January 19, 2012
By Packrat74871
from Stonewall, Oklahoma
"I purchased 4 of these sets a year ago for Christmas for my 3 older sons, and of course I had to have one too. Other than marking them so we know one set from the other, we have used these tools, have put "cheaters" on the wrenches, cheaters on the ratchets and used 3/8" and 1/2" impacts on whichever sockets we need and have not cracked or damaged the first one yet. They have a nice polished appearance and have held up better than our other name brand sets. We work on Trucks and trailers everyday, so these aren't just handyman tools."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for "Klutch SAE and Metric Mechanic's Tool Set - 189-Pc., 1/4in., 3/8in. & 1/2in. Drive"
This review is from: Northern Industrial Chrome Vanadium Tool Set - 189-Pc. SAE and Metric Set
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

On farm use

,
January 9, 2012
By 7760
from Mississippi Delta
"Theses tools are decent tools just to keep in the tool box on a truck. The quality of them is what you would expect in this price range. I have no complaints except they were back-ordered for two months when I ordered mine."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for "Klutch SAE and Metric Mechanic's Tool Set - 189-Pc., 1/4in., 3/8in. & 1/2in. Drive"
This review is from: Northern Industrial Chrome Vanadium Tool Set - 189-Pc. SAE and Metric Set
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Rachet problems

,
January 9, 2012
By AMCC
from Baton Rouge, LA
"The rachet for the 3/8" sockets "hangs up" and the lever cannot be switched. Have to "tap" the rachet against something in order to flip the lever over so that the rachet can be operated again in the opposite direction."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for "Klutch SAE and Metric Mechanic's Tool Set - 189-Pc., 1/4in., 3/8in. & 1/2in. Drive"
This review is from: Northern Industrial Chrome Vanadium Tool Set - 189-Pc. SAE and Metric Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I was amazed.

,
October 18, 2011
By John21
from Woodstock, GA
"Coming from a mechanics family I've owned nothing but craftsman and snap on for years, these have out lasted both of them. Believe me when I use a tool I USE a tool! Any 3/8 ratchet that can stand up to breaking loose a hub nut on a medium duty truck is a keeper. If you have doubts, just buy 'em you won't be disappointed."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for "Klutch SAE and Metric Mechanic's Tool Set - 189-Pc., 1/4in., 3/8in. & 1/2in. Drive"
This review is from: Northern Industrial Chrome Vanadium Tool Set - 189-Pc. SAE and Metric Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent set

,
August 30, 2011
By JJH03
from NC
"I've had this set for about 2 years now and it's received ample abuse (USE). In the past a 3/8th ratchet would last me about 6 months - this one lasted 2 years before I finally wore it enough to retire it for a new one. Took it to my local NT store and they swapped it right out for me no questions!
I'd say I'd buy another set but I believe the tools themselves will outlast me.
My only gripe is that I wish they sold spare cases - mine has seen its better days!"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for "Klutch SAE and Metric Mechanic's Tool Set - 189-Pc., 1/4in., 3/8in. & 1/2in. Drive"
This review is from: Northern Industrial Chrome Vanadium Tool Set - 189-Pc. SAE and Metric Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Work at home

,
June 16, 2011
By 95TBird
"I bought this set so I could work on my vehicles at home. So far they have been great. I worked on me 96 Honda passport, the reason I had to do the valve cover gaskets on it, and got to work the set worked great I got the job done and right the first time so the set is awsome for home use. I am also in the prosess of doing work on my T-Bird but will tell you about it another day."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for "Klutch SAE and Metric Mechanic's Tool Set - 189-Pc., 1/4in., 3/8in. & 1/2in. Drive"
This review is from: Northern Industrial Chrome Vanadium Tool Set - 189-Pc. SAE and Metric Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

tool set

,
March 14, 2011
By welder26
from roaring river, nc
"i got the tool set to keep in my truck to have on jobs. It works very good all the tools that you need to do most things in flied. I recommend this for any one for home,truck,shop. VERY GOOD TOOLS."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for "Klutch SAE and Metric Mechanic's Tool Set - 189-Pc., 1/4in., 3/8in. & 1/2in. Drive"
This review is from: Northern Industrial Chrome Vanadium Tool Set - 189-Pc. SAE and Metric Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Snap-On clones

,
March 14, 2011
By Carrieve
from Port Wing, Wisonsin
"I have $30K in Snap-On tools at my shop, but when I went to work on my airplane I never brought the right or had enough tools. These are great tools for a great buy. I can leave them in the hangar and I always have a decent set of tools. I was a little apprehensive at first but the feel and the quality are much better than the price suggests. If I have but one complaint it is the plastic box the tools come in. It makes it hard to get the tools out easliy. I am looking at a small tool box at your store and will purchase it when I am in the store again."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for "Klutch SAE and Metric Mechanic's Tool Set - 189-Pc., 1/4in., 3/8in. & 1/2in. Drive"
This review is from: Northern Industrial Chrome Vanadium Tool Set - 189-Pc. SAE and Metric Set
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Northern Industrial Tools - 189-Pc. Set

,
November 27, 2010
By abatebreezy
from Little Chute, WI
"Very pleasedwith the tool set. With the plastic tool case, allowes me to carry the tools anywhere needed. I now noof at least 3 othere people that have this tool kit and also have the same or similar opinions I have."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for "Klutch SAE and Metric Mechanic's Tool Set - 189-Pc., 1/4in., 3/8in. & 1/2in. Drive"
This review is from: Northern Industrial Chrome Vanadium Tool Set - 189-Pc. SAE and Metric Set
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Okay not great

,
September 9, 2010
By crclawn
from San Antonio
"If money is tight and you need a set that has alot for the money or if you want a set for on the go or back up, get it. If you are looking to build a quality home set up or a mechanic that turns whrenches all day, look elsewhere. That being said, this set will let you do alot and get you going. The combination wrenches are definatley not as good as the other Northern sets they sell; I would definatley add a nicer set with more sizes in both metric an SAE if this is going to be your main set at home. I would also add a set of impacts and breaker bar/impact gun to this set. My other socket set has deeper sockets (the pocket where the nut sits when you placed the socket of the nut). I was going to keep this set at my house and have my other one at my girlfreinds house, but its going to be the other way around. This set includes alot of extension bars for the ratches. It nice to see both sizes for spark plugs in this set. The ratches seem to be of average build in the industry. The handle of the bit driver (screw driver) is small, would have liked to see it a larger diamater for better torque. Also, you have to add the socket to the driver to use the supplied bits. My other bit driver in my other set is ready to accept the bits withoud sticking the socket on. To sum up, if money is thight or you need a back up, go with it. If you want a very nice home set or a daily mechanic go with something else."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for "Klutch SAE and Metric Mechanic's Tool Set - 189-Pc., 1/4in., 3/8in. & 1/2in. Drive"
This review is from: Northern Industrial Chrome Vanadium Tool Set - 189-Pc. SAE and Metric Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Value for This Wide Ranging Set

,
June 11, 2010
By CoastGuardCoastie
from South Florida
"I purchased this set because I work on many different types of outboard engines in the Coast Guard. Sometimes we don't have all the necessary tools, so I decided to buy my own set for the station. I needed a wide variety of sockets, wrenches, and drivers that were tough as nails and affordable. As a Guardian I have a limited budget and I am very rough on my tools. This set has not only met all of my expectations, it has exceeded my expectations and fit the criteria listed above. I even asked my Coast Guard station to buy a couple of sets for the shop. This set is great, a Grade AAA buy."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for "Klutch SAE and Metric Mechanic's Tool Set - 189-Pc., 1/4in., 3/8in. & 1/2in. Drive"
This review is from: Northern Industrial Chrome Vanadium Tool Set - 189-Pc. SAE and Metric Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Highly recommended

,
May 20, 2010
By pql1
from Minnesota
"Great set, everything I need and more. Have used it numerous times on my sons car and have been quite forceful on some rusted bolts - no problems. So far it has handled everthing we've thrown at it and I don't anticipate anything the tools can't handle. Quality equipment at a price you can't beat!!! Thanks Northerntool !!!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for "Klutch SAE and Metric Mechanic's Tool Set - 189-Pc., 1/4in., 3/8in. & 1/2in. Drive"
This review is from: Northern Industrial Chrome Vanadium Tool Set - 189-Pc. SAE and Metric Set
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

These tools can't take a beating at my shop

,
February 18, 2010
By Abdul
from Houston, TX
"I guess for a home handyman these tools ain't too bad, but on a professional level they ain't good. The first week, the ratcheting maneuver failed on the 1/2" drive ratchet. The 12 point sockets are trash, they strip bolts. Even one of the 6 point 3/8" drive sockets slightly stripped a bolt and got stuck in the socket, I had to hammer the bolt out. These tools can't handle a lot of torque. The little bit set is ok, but the bits are soft. One of the flat head bits already warped. The wrenches are too small, you can't apply any torque. The 6 point sockets are ok. You get extensions for 1/2" and 3/8" but only a useless tiny one for the 1/4". These tools will not last at a mechanic shop. Period. For usage every once in a while, it's alright, but on a professional level and in the automotive field, no good."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-4points
4out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 19 for "Klutch SAE and Metric Mechanic's Tool Set - 189-Pc., 1/4in., 3/8in. & 1/2in. Drive"
This review is from: Northern Industrial Chrome Vanadium Tool Set - 189-Pc. SAE and Metric Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great tools at a great price

,
November 2, 2009
By CowwFace
from Colorado
"I got this to fill all the "gap's" in my tools I've managed to cause over the past 10 years. I used them to drop and re-install a transmission in a Rx300 and they performed great.
The sockeds are all six sided, and I have to admit I was not thrilled with that at first, but after using them more I have not even come close to rounding off anything. The extentions have a bit of a wobble built in as well, and that came in handy.
The ratchets are a bit stiff at first, but have loosened up nicely. Overall I would recommend this kit."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for "Klutch SAE and Metric Mechanic's Tool Set - 189-Pc., 1/4in., 3/8in. & 1/2in. Drive"
This review is from: Northern Industrial Chrome Vanadium Tool Set - 189-Pc. SAE and Metric Set
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

construction worker

,
August 20, 2009
By boo3447
from pa
"I bought this set to have in my car, within a week it made it to my work truck. The quality of the ratchets and sockets is outstanding. The wrenches are not as pollished as the others but still work fine, and I'm not afraid to torque on them in a tight spot. I ended up ordering two more sets for coworkers. For this price don't hesitate."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.