Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Powerhorse OHV Horizontal Engine - 414cc, 1in. Dia. x 3 1/3in.L Shaft

Powerhorse OHV Horizontal Engine - 414cc, 1in. Dia. x 3 1/3in.L Shaft

Item# 20599
This Powerhorse OHV Horizontal Engine is the perfect all-around engine choice for a variety of applications. Cast iron cylinder sleeve for durability and better oil control and dual crankshaft bearings to reduce wear. Recoil start w/compression release for easy pulls. Cooling System Air, Air Cleaner Type Paper/foam, Bore x Stroke in. 3.54 x 2.56, PTO Height in. 5.2, Shaft End Tapped Diameter in./Threads per inch 3/8/24, Ignition System Electronic, EPA/CARB Approval California Air Resource Board Yes, Cylinders qty. 1, Low Oil Alert Yes, Displacement cc 414, Shaft Dimensions Diameter x L in. 1 x 3 1/3, Lubrication System Splash, Engine Type Gasoline, Shaft Output 18.02 ft. lbs. gross torque, Fuel Pump No, Fuel Tank Capacity qt. 3.8, Muffler Included Yes, Charging System Amps None, Application Utility, Start Type Recoil, Governor System Mechanical, Max. RPM 3,600, Dimensions L x W x H in. 19.1 x 15.8 x 17, Cylinder Bore Cast iron, Bolt Circle in. 5, 6.5, Shaft Keyway in. 1/4, Mounting Base L x W in. 3.7 x 7.7, Carburetor Float/choke, Shaft Rotation From PTO Shaft Side CCW, Oil Capacity qt. 1.2. Cast iron cylinder sleeve for durability and better oil control Dual crankshaft bearings to reduce wear Sound pressure balanced muffler Recoil start w/compression release for easy pulls Low oil alert Pleated paper air filter and foam pre-cleaner for superior protection
Average Customer Rating:
3.571 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (7 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
1
4 of 7(57%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer Reviews for Powerhorse OHV Horizontal Engine - 414cc, 1in. Dia. x 3 1/3in.L Shaft
Review 1 for Powerhorse OHV Horizontal Engine - 414cc, 1in. Dia. x 3 1/3in.L Shaft
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Powerhorse gone bad 414cc

,
July 5, 2013
By Scottso1
from Conroe TX
"Bought it about one year ago and the connecting rod bolt came out."
Video Review:
(click on the play button to start movie)
A bad day with my engine
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
9out of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Powerhorse OHV Horizontal Engine - 414cc, 1in. Dia. x 3 1/3in.L Shaft
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Ran great till the connecting rod bolts came out

,
July 4, 2013
By Scottso1
from Conroe TX
"I bought 414cc Powerhouse for a Go Kart I was building and ran great and was easy to start. One day I go out to ride it and went about a 1000 feet and the engine lock up. When I open up the crankcase I saw that the bolt to the connecting rod were both coming out. I always thought that Husqvarna made quality product. I don't believe I will ever buy another one."
Video Review:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Powerhouse 414cc gone bad
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
13out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Powerhorse OHV Horizontal Engine - 414cc, 1in. Dia. x 3 1/3in.L Shaft
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerhorse OHV Horizontal Engine - 414cc

,
May 14, 2012
By bgiorgi1234
from Plymouth, Ma
"Great little engine. Starts easy and is as reliable as engines costing twice as much. I would reccomend this engine to anyone as a replacement or a project engine."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
6out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Powerhorse OHV Horizontal Engine - 414cc, 1in. Dia. x 3 1/3in.L Shaft
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing engine

,
May 9, 2012
By Hydrolix
from Oswego, IL
"I had found this engine on northerntool after doing a bit of research for engines, I was debaiting for a while on whether I should purchase a new or used engine, this engine made my decision for me. I have purchased it for the Go-Kart I had made in my High School metals class and it was perfect for what I wanted right in the price range and the right amount of power. I was very scared when I first started it but I gave it one good pull and it started right up with no problems! I love this engine and would reccomend to anyone!"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Powerhorse OHV Horizontal Engine - 414cc, 1in. Dia. x 3 1/3in.L Shaft
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

bad motor

,
January 13, 2012
By 1woodguy2
from detroit, mi
"this has to be the worst motor that i have ever experienced! only had the motor for a yr and i've been thru 3 carburetors, new plugs, air filter, fuel line, drained and cleaned tank several times and still no results! when it does run it only runs on full choke, it will stall out when you take it off & it will stall out on choke after about a minute running! Unit was used on a log splitter."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-19points
5out of 29found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Powerhorse OHV Horizontal Engine - 414cc, 1in. Dia. x 3 1/3in.L Shaft
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A work horse

,
January 9, 2012
By ScrapperMike
from Tonopah, Nevada
"I installed this engine on a home made knucle boom that I make out of a back-hoe attachment off a Tractor. I was very please as to the easy of starting and how quiet it runs. As long as I remember to turn on the fuel it starts pretty much on the first pull just like the Red ones do. And it gets down in the single digits here. Great unit and cant beat the price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+8points
12out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Powerhorse OHV Horizontal Engine - 414cc, 1in. Dia. x 3 1/3in.L Shaft
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really good buy!

,
May 24, 2010
By funfixerupper
from Washington, CT
"I bought this motor to power my log splitter and was very impressed with the power it has. I also liked how quiet it is. The discription was correct and I liked that the all specs were listed with no guessing. Good motor for the money and it looks cool too."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
22out of 35found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.