Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Metro Machine Selector Valve, 1/2in. Port, 20 GPM Flow"

"Metro Machine Selector Valve, 1/2in. Port, 20 GPM Flow"

Item# 2071
"This Metro Machine 1/2in. selector valve is made of high-strength cast iron with a chrome-plated, pressure-balanced spool. The 6-port double selector valve diverts two flows in either of two separate circuits. Enables you to run two cylinders with one value. 3000 PSI. Measures 5.88in.L x 2.44in.W including knob x 3.62in.D. U.S.A. Material Type Cast Iron, Max. Flow GPM 20, Max. PSI 3,000, Port Size in. 1/2. High strength cast iron construction Open crossover type valve with a chrome plated, pressure balanced spool When the spool is moved and one pair of outlet ports start closing, the other pair of outlet ports will open Small, reliable and easy to install 5.88in.L x 2.44in.W including knob x 3.62in.D Port Size 1/2in. - 14 NPT Max Flow 20 GPM Max PSI 3,000"
Average Customer Rating:
4.857 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(14 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (14 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 of 14(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Metro Machine Selector Valve, 1/2in. Port, 20 GPM Flow"
Review 1 for "Metro Machine Selector Valve, 1/2in. Port, 20 GPM Flow"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

1

,
October 30, 2014
By pccoc
from Carey, Ohio
" Product works as expected, absolutely no issues. Used on tilt bed trailer to accommodate a hydraulic powered rear gate, by tying into existing hydraulics on trailer. Original electric controller used to do both functions with this product in line to switch from one to the other. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Metro Machine Selector Valve, 1/2in. Port, 20 GPM Flow"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hydralic selector switch

,
July 21, 2014
By Chu555
from WV
" Excellent product. Works perfectly for my application. Would definitely recommend this product for use when the need arises to operate two hydralic systems from a single remote. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Metro Machine Selector Valve, 1/2in. Port, 20 GPM Flow"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

TRACTOR LOADER SELECTOR

,
July 14, 2014
By ROLLEN
from PHILIPPI WV.
" GOOD PRODUCT, EASY TO INSTALL
ONLY ISSUE SELECTOR HARD TO SHIFT BUT OTHER THAN THAT WORKS GREAT.
FOR A BEGINNER MIGHT WANT TO INCLUDE SOME PLUMBING SCHEMATIC'S TO HELP WITH LOCATING THE VALVE.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Metro Machine Selector Valve, 1/2in. Port, 20 GPM Flow"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Splitss between Power roller and level wind.

,
October 8, 2012
By gwj12
from Ninilchik, AK
" Works well to use one valve for two functions. Just have to remember to coat with grease when not ion use in marine environment. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Metro Machine Selector Valve, 1/2in. Port, 20 GPM Flow"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Selector valve

,
May 7, 2012
By saltshaker1
from Saint Maries, Idaho
" Like others before me I needed to divert hydraulic pressure and this valve did the job. And like others it would be great if the manufactuer would wake up, re the reviews, and include instructions!
All in all this valve works flawlessly, on my Yanmar 240D to run either the front bucket or a small backhoe.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Metro Machine Selector Valve, 1/2in. Port, 20 GPM Flow"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Selector Valve

,
June 3, 2010
By JerryP
from Helena, Montana
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" Just put the valve on and it seems to work great. There were no instructions, but it was pretty easy to figure out how the valve worked. I was using quick couplers to switch between the two cylinders. The quick couplers were restricting the oil flow to the cylinders too, so the cylinders are now moving much faster now. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Metro Machine Selector Valve, 1/2in. Port, 20 GPM Flow"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Selector Valve Flexibility

,
February 18, 2010
By jd5400
from Winfield, Kansas
" Needing an additional pair of hydraulic connections on my tractor, I installed the selector valve between the tilt cylinders on the front loader and the tree push cylinder on the three point tree saw. The valve was placed at a convienent location on the tractor and makes it easy to shift between operating the front loader or tree saw. It allowed me to increase the utility of my tractor at minimal expense. The valve has easy action with no leaks. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Metro Machine Selector Valve, 1/2in. Port, 20 GPM Flow"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Selector Valve

,
March 17, 2009
By Mules4me
from Ansley, NE
" I purchased this selector valve for installation in an International 1256. I use a snow plow on the front and a large bale handler on the rear. This valve eliminated the constant changing this winter from one set of hoses to the other. The valve was economically priced and I found that the selector valve saved me time. The valve is well made and adaptable for many applications. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Metro Machine Selector Valve, 1/2in. Port, 20 GPM Flow"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hydraulic Selector Valve Review

,
August 11, 2008
By Farmer319
from Eastern Washington State
" I installed the selector valve on a tractor loader for the purpose of switching from the bucket tilt arms control to the grapple hydraulics on a hay bale loader. Only two hydraulic remotes on the tractor and this valve allowed for double use on one of the remotes. Installed two hydraulic flow regulators on the lines for slower action on load placement. Works great and saves a lot of bale handling.
The valve came without a flow diagram. What I assumed was correct but had to check it out on the internet to verify how to hook up the hoses.
Vic
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Metro Machine Selector Valve, 1/2in. Port, 20 GPM Flow"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Farmer / Operator

,
April 21, 2008
By Johnner
from Le Sueur MN
" Tractor I operate has a full Hydraulic loader. Before I purchased your selector valve, I was forced to disconnect and reconnect my hydraulic bucket hoses under pressure, which most of the time is not an easy task. Now I just move the control knob to change from bucket to Planter in the Spring, and during the Winter months I switch from bucket to hydraulic spout swing on my snow blower. This Valve works GREAT wish I had purchased it years ago, worth its weight in Gold!!!! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Metro Machine Selector Valve, 1/2in. Port, 20 GPM Flow"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good valve good price

,
February 29, 2008
By IndustrialRepairman1
from Milwaukee WI
" I am testing this valve in Industrial equipment for a High Psi chemical supply system and it is working still it is such a simple valve and it is inexpensive I changed the knob out and am shifting it with an air cylinder for automatic shifting good little valve. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Metro Machine Selector Valve, 1/2in. Port, 20 GPM Flow"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

,
January 16, 2008
By tbear
from minneapolis mn
" Excellent product!!! Works perfectly every time!!! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Metro Machine Selector Valve, 1/2in. Port, 20 GPM Flow"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Selector Valve

,
January 14, 2008
By dnick2
from Iowa
" I installed this selector valve on my compact JD tractor to control both the rotation and angle of my 3-point snow blower discharge from a single control leaver. I also added flow control valves to throttle the rate of travel of the two cylinders. Everything works just the way I wanted it to. The parts work smoothly and there are no leaks in the system. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Metro Machine Selector Valve, 1/2in. Port, 20 GPM Flow"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Metro Machine Selector Valve, 1/2in. Port, 20 GPM

,
October 16, 2007
By rpalladin
from VA
" I used the valve to contol a grapple on my tractor bucket. the valve works fine but there were no markings to show input output high and low pressure. had to guess requiring a redo. also the plastic pull knob was not sufficient to operate the valve so i had to replace it with a lever. that said it works fine and the price is right "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.