Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10-Ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001

FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10-Ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001

Item# 20859
This exceptional value pairs the Hobart Handler 190 MIG Welder with a 10ft., 150 Amp Spoolgun, resulting in one powerful welding package. You get both the 10ft., MIG gun and a 10ft., Spoolgun with this offer The Hobart Handler 190 is a powerful and portable wire-feed flux core and MIG welder designed to weld mild steel, flux core, aluminum and stainless steel. The generous operating parameters allow you to weld 24 ga. to 5/16 in. steel in single pass. Plus it is extremely versatile and perfect for the welder who wants to work on auto body, household repairs, or even heavier farm projects requiring extra power. With an arsenal of standard features such as 7 output voltage settings and a dual-groove quick change drive roll, the Handler 190 is as versatile as it is powerful. This exceptional package also includes the Spoolrunner 100 item #20868 to make welding aluminum easier than ever before. Features Hobart's 5/3/1 Industrial warranty protection. Welding Wire Diameter in. 0.024, 0.030, 0.035, Volts 230, Wire Feed Speed Control Infinite, Cart No, Shielding Gas Required No for Flux Core, Yes for MIG, Weldable Metals Steel, aluminum, stainless, Power Cord ft. 6, Weld Thickness in. 24 ga. to 5/16 in. steel in single pass, Amps 130 Amps @ 21.5V DC, Duty Cycle 30 @ 130A, Clamp Cable Length ft. 10, Dimensions L x W x H in. 19 1/2 x 10 5/8 x 12 3/8, Mig Ready Yes, Regulator and Gas Hose Included Yes. Powerful and Professional Results Operates on 230V power Amperage output 25-190 30 duty cycle @ 130 Amps Welds 24 ga. to 5/16in. steel in single pass Loaded with features 7 voltage selections, enhanced magnetics and infinite wire feed speed control offers easier fine control of the output parameters for improved arc performance with less spatter for a better bead appearance and less clean up Built-in contactor eases use and excellent safety feature which makes wire electrically cold until trigger is pulled Convenient polarity changeover with tip holder access makes it quick and easy to change polarity for solid or tubular wire. Includes convenient storage holes for spare tips Durable feed head with quick-release drive roll tension lever. Positive feed with adjustable tension plus easy accessibility to thread new wire Industrial cast aluminum drive system for extended durability Dual-groove quick-change drive roll makes it easy to change from one wire size to another. One knurled groove and one smooth groove for 030-.035 in. 0.8-0.9 mm wire Door chart with initial settings quickly reference initial settings for different wires, gases, materials and thicknesses. Provides quick starting point for novices and professionals alike Convenient Carry Handle for portability Spoolgun Included Easy setup with the SpoolRunner 100 Spool gun Item #20868, included. Spool guns enhance feedability and reduce bird-nesting associated with soft aluminum wires Integrated spool gun control circuitry is standard. No additional control box or adapter is required to connect the SpoolRunner 100 spoolgun Safety features built right in Short circuit protection protects unit against current overload Self-resetting thermal overload protects power transformer to ensure reliability Self-resetting motor protection protects wire feed system from overload, no fuses to change or circuit breaker buttons to reset Features Hobart 5/3/1 Industrial Warranty Hobart's 5/3/1 Industrial Warranty Five-year warranty on transformers, three years on electronics drive motors, rectifiers and one year on guns
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (12 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 of 12(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
7 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10-Ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10-Ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

handler 190 w/spool gun

,
February 6, 2014
By jj38
from MI
"very well built unit easy to use every bit that i expected would recommend to any one looking for this size welder"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10-Ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Terrific Welder

,
February 5, 2014
By Ran1947
from Topeka, KS
"I bought this welder to use repairing my home equipment: lawnmowers, vehicle frames, suspension brackets and lots of other small projects. I had to buy a smaller wire feed spool (that should have been included) and I got the alum. spool gun that I have not used yet but am looking forward to playing with it.
It has worked perfectly each time I have used it, could not ask for better. I would recommend this welder to anyone."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10-Ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hobart handler 190

,
February 5, 2014
By 37chevypickup
from Alvarado, Texas
"The Hobart Handler 190 is a fantastic piece of equipment for the novice home car builder and semi-professional. You can spend 2-3 times the money for a bigger welder if being used for longer constant duty. This is just about perfect for the non professional. The spool gun works really great for welding aluminum a/c condensers, aluminum evaporator cores and aluminum intake manifolds. One piece of equipment that you can't do without. Have not encountered any problems what-so-ever."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10-Ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I needed

,
February 4, 2014
By JBS1
from Phoenix
"After having a 110 Welder at home for years I finally got tired of the Limitations and upgraded. Wow what a difference. I highly recommend this welder. It is actually a bargain in my opinion."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10-Ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hobart welder

,
February 4, 2014
By ml001
from Milwaukee, Wisconsin
"I needed an affordable welder with a good name, and northern tool delivered. I was using the aluminum spool gun the same night I picked up the welder and have been using the wire feed daily. Very reliable and a great welder."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10-Ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handler handles everything

,
February 4, 2014
By OldHoss
from Louisiana
"Easy set up. Easy to use. Running professional beads in just a few passes. Buy a gauge to make sure of your metal thickness. Very happy with the welder."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10-Ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Jeep Build

,
February 4, 2014
By atswilson
from Newport, TN
"I purchased this welder for my Chevy conversion in my Jeep Wrangler. I use the Argon CO2 gas with this unit.
This welder really lays a great bead. The weld penetration if very good. I was able to weld new frame mounts into my jeep to support the heavier Chevy engine. I have not had any issues with cracked welds or any other problems with this welder. I like the way you can use the large or small spools of wire. Easy change over.
I have used much larger welder in factories and this one is very comparable when welding anything up to 1/4"
I would recommend this welder to anyone.
Thank You
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10-Ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome welder

,
February 4, 2014
By be123
from rogers, mn
"I bought this welder because i needed a MIG machine for my shop at home. I have used Hobart alot at our shop and have always been pleased so i figured this would do the trick. With the additional spool gun this welder far exceded my expectations it has a ton of power for being under 200 amps and it lays a great bead. I would say its totally worth the money."
Describe Yourself: Professional
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10-Ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

The One Welder To Own If You Can Only Have One

,
September 24, 2013
By SkipW
from North Carolina
"The Hobart 190 Handler is perhaps the single best welder you can own for all but the professional welders who do it for a living. This welder handles 11 pound spools of wire, meaning wire changes are not needed very often compared to the 2 pound variety, and handles wire gages up to 0.035" easily.
As a skilled, but novice, welder, I have found the Handler 190 to offer the range of power and feeds sufficient to handle every job I have asked of it, including welding 24-guage sheet metal to itself (without burn-thru) and up to ¼" thick angle, welding ½" plate to structural angles, channels, and beams (using multiple passes), and a wide variety of repairs of mild steel, stainless steel, and aluminum articles (with the included spool gun).
Set-up of the welder couldn't have been easier. Out of the box it needed only a proper plug attached, gas tank attached, and wire spool installed. It took considerably more time to assemble the welder cart I purchased with the welder than it took to set up the welder itself! With the included metal thickness gauge and attached welding settings chart, my first setup worked perfectly for both voltage and wire feed speed. After a small amount of experience with the Handler 190, I rarely have to refer to the setup chart to determine the correct voltage or feed speed. The unit is very forgiving and stable.
The included spool gun is a real boon to those wanting to have flexability in their welding. I have used it successfully to weld 0.035" aluminum sheet to itself without burn-thru, as well as heavier gauge aluminum shapes to themselves and other aluminum articles. Penetration is good - and controllable - and changeout of the gas bottle for aluminum is a breeze.
If your budget only allows you to own one welder, the Handler 190 is that welder. It has the power and versatility to handle virtually any welding job at a price the home owner can handle. I strongly recommend it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10-Ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Powerful welder, easy to use

,
September 17, 2013
By CKRSLC
from Salt Lake City
"The welder was delivered so fast it was amazing. Got it up and running in a few minutes and was welding with flux wire right away. I mainly stick weld so the spatter wasn't a big deal. Switched the electrodes and hooked up the C02 and bang, that machine can weld. I am glad I got the extra power of the 190. I have used the 140 before and it was just a bit underpowered for me. The 220v welder was the way to go for me. I mainly do fix it stuff 1/8-1/4 mild steel but I can't wait to fire up the spool gun for some aluminum. Great buy, great price, super customer support Northern"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10-Ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Greal Deal on a Great Product

,
April 16, 2012
By NDSafecracker
from North Dakota
"I had been using a Lincoln 110 volt wire welder for years. Last year finally upgraded it to inert gas to get away from the flux core mess. That was a big waste of money. With the problems I began to have, decided it was time to upgrade to a 220 volt unit. All roads led to the Hobart Handler 190. When they included the SpoolRunner 100 for just a few dollars extra, that clenched the deal. Welding with the Handler 190 is fun and it has all the power I need for many projects my old Lincoln couldn't handle. If you're still using a 110 volt MIG welder, you don't know what you're missing."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+24points
24out of 24found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10-Ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hobart Handler 190

,
January 25, 2012
By DC79
from Richmond, VA
"I purchased this welder after my old mig machine died. I had my eye on this machine for about 2 years and when the opportunity came to upgrade, I jumped on it. I could not be happier with this mig welder.
The spool gun option is fantasitic. I had wanted to try welding with aluminum and the spool gun made it so easy. Just add a 100% argon gas cylinder and you're ready to go.
I briefly tried this machine using flux wire and it did great. But when using steel wire and an argon/co2 mix shielding gas, this machine made very neat weld beads with almost no spatter.
If you are looking for a powerful welder at an affordable price, then this is the machine for you.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+38points
38out of 38found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.