Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10-Ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001

FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10-Ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001

Item# 20859
This exceptional value pairs the Hobart Handler 190 MIG Welder with a 10ft., 150 Amp Spoolgun, resulting in one powerful welding package. You get both the 10ft., MIG gun and a 10ft., Spoolgun with this offer The Hobart Handler 190 is a powerful and portable wire-feed flux core and MIG welder designed to weld mild steel, flux core, aluminum and stainless steel. The generous operating parameters allow you to weld 24 ga. to 5/16 in. steel in a single pass. Plus it is extremely versatile and perfect for the welder who wants to work on auto body, household repairs, or even heavier farm projects requiring extra power. With an arsenal of standard features such as 7 output voltage settings and a dual-groove quick change drive roll, the Handler 190 is as versatile as it is powerful. This exceptional package also includes the Spoolrunner 100 item #20868 to make welding aluminum easier than ever before. Features Hobart's 5/3/1 industrial warranty protection. Cart No, Clamp Cable Length ft. 10, Mig Ready Yes, Regulator and Gas Hose Included Yes, Volts 230, Weld Thickness in. 24 ga. to 5/16 in. steel in single pass, Weldable Metals Steel, aluminum, stainless, Welding Wire Diameter in. 0.024, 0.030, 0.035, Wire Feed Speed Control Infinite, Amps 130 Amps @ 21.5V DC, Dimensions L x W x H in. 19 1/2 x 10 5/8 x 12 3/8, Shielding Gas Required No for Flux Core, Yes for MIG, Duty Cycle 30 @ 130A, Power Cord ft. 6. Powerful and Professional Results Operates on 230V power Amperage output 25-190 30 duty cycle @ 130 Amps Welds 24 ga. to 5/16in. steel in single pass Loaded with features 7 voltage selections, enhanced magnetics and infinite wire feed speed control offers easier fine control of the output parameters for improved arc performance with less spatter for a better bead appearance and less clean up Built-in contactor eases use and excellent safety feature which makes wire electrically cold until trigger is pulled Convenient polarity changeover with tip holder access makes it quick and easy to change polarity for solid or tubular wire. Includes convenient storage holes for spare tips Durable feed head with quick-release drive roll tension lever. Positive feed with adjustable tension plus easy accessibility to thread new wire Industrial cast aluminum drive system for extended durability Dual-groove quick-change drive roll makes it easy to change from one wire size to another. One knurled groove and one smooth groove for 030-.035 in. 0.8-0.9 mm wire Door chart with initial settings quickly reference initial settings for different wires, gases, materials and thicknesses. Provides quick starting point for novices and professionals alike Convenient Carry Handle for portability Spoolgun Included Easy setup with the SpoolRunner 100 Spool gun Item #20868, included. Spool guns enhance feedability and reduce bird-nesting associated with soft aluminum wires Integrated spool gun control circuitry is standard. No additional control box or adapter is required to connect the SpoolRunner 100 spoolgun Safety features built right in Short circuit protection protects unit against current overload Self-resetting thermal overload protects power transformer to ensure reliability Self-resetting motor protection protects wire feed system from overload, no fuses to change or circuit breaker buttons to reset Features Hobart 5/3/1 Industrial Warranty Hobart's 5/3/1 Industrial Warranty Five-year warranty on transformers, three years on electronics drive motors, rectifiers and one year on guns
Average Customer Rating:
4.931 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (29 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
29 of 29(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10-Ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10-Ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Machine for the money

,
October 7, 2014
By RoyinWA
from Washougal, WA
"I use this product for everything from equipment repair to fabrication of parts and equipment. The spool gun makes welding of Aluminum easy. I have a Miller Thunder Bolt ARC welder as well as a smaller MIG machine neither has seen any use since purchasing this machine. Actually the smaller MIG went away a week after this one arrived. I did a lot of research before making my purchase and found that Hobart is owned by Miller so you can expect the quality and customer service to be top notch. I would say this machine is all the home shop would ever need."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10-Ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good unit for the hobbyist

,
August 26, 2014
By BDWelds
from Central Illinois
"I've only had a month or so to use the welder, but it's been working well so far. I've welded 16ga up to 11ga, and it's handled everything I've thrown at it without issue. There's still 2 voltage taps hotter to go, as well as 2 colder, so I hope I don't have any issues welding sheet metal or thicker plate steel either. Using a 75/25 gas mix.
I haven't had the opportunity to use the spool gun, but I'm collecting the components necessary to weld alum so I should be playing around with it before too long.
My only complaint is the tapped voltages and the generic dial scheme. It would be nice to have the true ipm readings rather than the random numbers. Same goes for the voltages. This is why I left it at 4 stars instead of 5. Infinite voltage adjustment and true numbers for the dials would place it at 5 stars for me."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10-Ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Welder

,
August 15, 2014
By bd4422
from Adamsville, Alabama
"I Checked out the new Northern Tool Store that just open and picked up the hobart 190, if you are looking for a welder then you stop here, this a great welder, right out of the box. I have bought 3 welders form northern tool and they all have worked great."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10-Ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

welder

,
July 28, 2014
By RogerFC6
from Dover Pa
"This is a very professional welding machine. I am used to using bigger machines and I wasn't sure it would hold up to my expectations but I was pleasantly surprised of how well it works. I am running75/25 gas and solid wire runs as good as the bigger machines I use every day."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10-Ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little Welder

,
July 21, 2014
By DarkWing
from Birmingham
"I have a larger stick welder by another company, but I needed something that would allow me to work on really thin metal without blowing holes in it. This welder works great. I do not do that much welding, so needless to say, I have NO experience on wire welding, but this thing is great. Easy to set up and easy to use. And even easy to fix when you have the wire bend back in the feeder. I look forward to many more projects using this welder. I think I'll try aluminum next."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10-Ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great machine in all ways

,
July 10, 2014
By Bruce0777
from N.C.
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I searched around price wise and loved the Hobart prices compared to the higher dollar machines. I already had a 230 Hobart stick welder which I love So I bought this wire welder with free shipping . I bought the argon bottle at the local welder supply so now I save big time on welding wire. I do lots of welding sometimes 20 plus hours a week.. In all the time I have done some serious deep welds of thick steel it has only over heated once and a few minutes later it was ready to go again. .Very easy to find your heat and wire settings. The only bad thing I can say about it I just wish the gun was a little longer to maybe reach 12 feet or more instead of ten feet. Works well with 12 Gage sheet metal I build storm shelters and up to even half inch steel. The backhoe picture shows the new tree root ripper blade I had just made for a backhoe."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10-Ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

hobart 190

,
June 21, 2014
By mikew1861
from Warne NC
"Great machine. I have used Millers for years and this machine welds just as good. I was surprised by the small size containing the capabilities this machine has. Have not used the spool gun yet but it looks like it should perform as well as the rest of the machine. Can't be beat for the price. Northern Tool shipped quickly. P.S. Don't worry about the ground clamp. It works fine and can be easily replaced if it should fail."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10-Ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hobart Handler 190 - WOW!

,
June 16, 2014
By KubotaGuy99
from Farmington, NM
"When it comes to welding, I'm just a bit above a novice. I've had a cheap HF wire feed unit for a few years, and I managed to stick metal together. Not pretty, but usable.
I got in the Hobart 190 about 5 days after I ordered (great shipping, came in just when they said) and tried the flux wire that it came with. WOW! I'd never laid a bead like that with the old box. The thickness gage inside the cover is great - size your thickness, set the feed rate and current, and it works great! a few days later, I went and purchased a 80 CF tank of Argon / 25% Co2, and a spool of mild steel wire. Even better! tacked two pieces of 3/16 plate, and then ran the bead. very little splatter, and no porosity. WOW! haven't tried the gun yet, but when I can get 100% Argon, I'll try the aluminum welding. If you need a medium duty welder, get this unit! You won't be sorry!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10-Ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mig welder

,
June 16, 2014
By HotRodTx
from North Texas
"I rebuild old cars & trucks. Welder works great for body panels and frame work. Compact size is a plus. Would recommend to anyone. Haven't tried spool gun yet. Could use a longer power cord & ground cable."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10-Ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent combo

,
June 9, 2014
By oneadobe
from Northern California
"Much better punch than the 120 volt units. The addition of the spool gun, makes this a great combo! Very quick set-up and change over, enjoying some aluminum projects......Happy with this purchase."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10-Ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

190 hobart welder

,
June 4, 2014
By Trailers
from Nappanee IN
"This welder works great. I build small 4x8 aluminum trailers and aluminum cabnets and I have no complaints what so ever. You can't go wrong with everything it does and the package that's included for being able to weld steel and aluminum for the price. Buy the same set up from Miller or Lincoln and pay over twice as much and you still have same performace. I've welded with them all."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10-Ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great deal

,
May 22, 2014
By MadCat2112
from Mary-D, Pa
"I had an older Mig welder that failed after years of use and I needed something new. I checked out several makes and models and settled on the Hobart Handler 190. This is a great deal at the price and the addition of the Spool gun really opens up my options on what I can now do. The welder functions perfectly and I was able to dial it in very quickly. I have used it a few times now and have no complaints. Next step is getting the Argon and try my hand at aluminum welding with the spool gun. If the gun works like the welder has then I should have no problems."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10-Ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent machine

,
May 21, 2014
By CCDE
from DE
"Great welder for the price. Performs as well as more expensive models from Miller and Lincoln."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10-Ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

big welder in a small package

,
May 11, 2014
By krk190
from rocky ford co
"used it for he first time this weekend to rebuild the brackets and linkages on a skid loader and it performed excellently would recommend this welder to anyone who needs a nice small welder with lots of power."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10-Ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

welder

,
May 4, 2014
By mjss
from iowa
"great welder loaded with extras easy setup and easy to use"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10-Ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little welder!

,
April 28, 2014
By Wkndworrier1974
from Stafford, ct
"I have had this welder for 2 months now and it has come in handy. It has very nice features and is easy to use every thing is made very nice. The spool gun is a bit bulky but made well and was worth the extra money over all a great welder."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10-Ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good welder.

,
March 31, 2014
By sam85
from Houston,Tx
"I used this welder a few times and welding aluminum is a breeze. Welder comes with spool gun which is like $200 if you buy it separate. I expect this welder to last a while. Hobart is a great brand and I have nothing negative to say about this welder."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10-Ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

handler 190 w/spool gun

,
February 6, 2014
By jj38
from MI
"very well built unit easy to use every bit that i expected would recommend to any one looking for this size welder"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10-Ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Terrific Welder

,
February 5, 2014
By Ran1947
from Topeka, KS
"I bought this welder to use repairing my home equipment: lawnmowers, vehicle frames, suspension brackets and lots of other small projects. I had to buy a smaller wire feed spool (that should have been included) and I got the alum. spool gun that I have not used yet but am looking forward to playing with it.
It has worked perfectly each time I have used it, could not ask for better. I would recommend this welder to anyone."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10-Ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hobart handler 190

,
February 5, 2014
By 37chevypickup
from Alvarado, Texas
"The Hobart Handler 190 is a fantastic piece of equipment for the novice home car builder and semi-professional. You can spend 2-3 times the money for a bigger welder if being used for longer constant duty. This is just about perfect for the non professional. The spool gun works really great for welding aluminum a/c condensers, aluminum evaporator cores and aluminum intake manifolds. One piece of equipment that you can't do without. Have not encountered any problems what-so-ever."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.