Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001"

"FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001"

Item# 20859
"This exceptional value pairs the Hobart Handler 190 MIG Welder with a 10ft., 150 Amp Spoolgun, resulting in one powerful welding package. You get both the 10ft., MIG gun and a 10ft., Spoolgun with this offer The Hobart Handler 190 is a powerful and portable wire-feed flux core and MIG welder designed to weld mild steel, flux core, aluminum and stainless steel. The generous operating parameters allow you to weld 24 ga. to 5/16 in. steel in a single pass. Plus it is extremely versatile and perfect for the welder who wants to work on auto body, household repairs, or even heavier farm projects requiring extra power. With an arsenal of standard features such as 7 output voltage settings and a dual-groove quick change drive roll, the Handler 190 is as versatile as it is powerful. This exceptional package also includes the Spoolrunner 100 item #20868 to make welding aluminum easier than ever before. Features Hobart's 5/3/1 industrial warranty protection. Volts 230, Amps 130 Amps @ 21.5V DC, Wire Feed Speed Control Infinite, Weldable Metals Steel, aluminum, stainless, Dimensions L x W x H in. 19 1/2 x 10 5/8 x 12 3/8, Weld Thickness in. 24 ga. to 5/16 in. steel in single pass, Welding Wire Diameter in. 0.024, 0.030, 0.035, Cart No, Duty Cycle 30 @ 130A, Shielding Gas Required No for Flux Core, Yes for MIG, Power Cord ft. 6, Regulator and Gas Hose Included Yes, Mig Ready Yes, Clamp Cable Length ft. 10. Powerful and Professional Results Operates on 230V power Amperage output 25-190 30 duty cycle @ 130 Amps Welds 24 ga. to 5/16in. steel in single pass Loaded with features 7 voltage selections, enhanced magnetics and infinite wire feed speed control offers easier fine control of the output parameters for improved arc performance with less spatter for a better bead appearance and less clean up Built-in contactor eases use and excellent safety feature which makes wire electrically cold until trigger is pulled Convenient polarity changeover with tip holder access makes it quick and easy to change polarity for solid or tubular wire. Includes convenient storage holes for spare tips Durable feed head with quick-release drive roll tension lever. Positive feed with adjustable tension plus easy accessibility to thread new wire Industrial cast aluminum drive system for extended durability Dual-groove quick-change drive roll makes it easy to change from one wire size to another. One knurled groove and one smooth groove for 030-.035in. 0.8-0.9 mm wire Door chart with initial settings quickly reference initial settings for different wires, gases, materials and thicknesses. Provides quick starting point for novices and professionals alike Convenient Carry Handle for portability Spoolgun Included Easy setup with the SpoolRunner 100 Spool gun Item #20868, included. Spool guns enhance feedability and reduce bird-nesting associated with soft aluminum wires Integrated spool gun control circuitry is standard. No additional control box or adapter is required to connect the SpoolRunner 100 spoolgun Safety features built right in Short circuit protection protects unit against current overload Self-resetting thermal overload protects power transformer to ensure reliability Self-resetting motor protection protects wire feed system from overload, no fuses to change or circuit breaker buttons to reset Features Hobart 5/3/1 Industrial Warranty Hobart's 5/3/1 Industrial Warranty Five-year warranty on transformers, three years on electronics drive motors, rectifiers and one year on guns"
Average Customer Rating:
4.943 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (35 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
35 of 35(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 28 Answers
Customer Reviews for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001"
Review 1 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent welder

,
August 21, 2015
By
from miami
" powerful machine,used for alum. welding
.60 tubes have to be careful easy to blow holes
1/8 and 1/4 works flawlessly
this is an upgrade for 110v Lincoln 135 amp
3 times better faster machine
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big Bang for the Buck!

,
July 13, 2015
By
from Olalla, WA
" Hard to beat a deal like this! A good beefy welder at an affordable price, and with the spool gun and shipping thrown in, it's a no-brainer. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect for my purpose.

,
May 12, 2015
By
from Alaska
" For my use and future needs this quality product fits the bill perfectly. I intend to use this welder for restoration/fabrication of classic auto and motorcycles. Many parts are no longer available or repairable with the right equipment, such as the Hobart 190. It will take care of aluminum, stainless steel, and thin sheet metal, along with major structural components of MC frames in Chrome Moly.
Delivered quickly, Undamaged, with all needed information to get it rolling.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hobart Handler 190, great machine

,
March 19, 2015
By
from Brighton, IL
" I am relatively new to using a Mig welder, as I had always used a stick welder around the farm. This machine is top notch. It has done everything I've asked it to do so far with ease. I finally built a welding table and am very pleased with the strength of the welds this welder and I laid down. Shop around, Northern Tool will still be the best buy you'll find. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Handler 190

,
March 1, 2015
By
from Brunswick, OH
" The handler 190 spool gun package. The 190 welder works great for pretty much any welding job you have. The inside door chart helps with dial it in for the thickness of metal you are welding. This Is my first time using a spool gun. It was very easy to set up and use. I purchased this package because it came with a spool gun and it was right in my price range. For the price of this package, you are getting a great deal. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great welder! Spoolgun is a plus!

,
February 14, 2015
By
from Aquilla, TX
" I purchased this machine for my home shop. it has all of the features I was looking for including a spoolgun. It does everything that I need it to do. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Machine for the money

,
October 7, 2014
By
from Washougal, WA
" I use this product for everything from equipment repair to fabrication of parts and equipment. The spool gun makes welding of Aluminum easy. I have a Miller Thunder Bolt ARC welder as well as a smaller MIG machine neither has seen any use since purchasing this machine. Actually the smaller MIG went away a week after this one arrived. I did a lot of research before making my purchase and found that Hobart is owned by Miller so you can expect the quality and customer service to be top notch. I would say this machine is all the home shop would ever need. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good unit for the hobbyist

,
August 26, 2014
By
from Central Illinois
" I've only had a month or so to use the welder, but it's been working well so far. I've welded 16ga up to 11ga, and it's handled everything I've thrown at it without issue. There's still 2 voltage taps hotter to go, as well as 2 colder, so I hope I don't have any issues welding sheet metal or thicker plate steel either. Using a 75/25 gas mix.
I haven't had the opportunity to use the spool gun, but I'm collecting the components necessary to weld alum so I should be playing around with it before too long.
My only complaint is the tapped voltages and the generic dial scheme. It would be nice to have the true ipm readings rather than the random numbers. Same goes for the voltages. This is why I left it at 4 stars instead of 5. Infinite voltage adjustment and true numbers for the dials would place it at 5 stars for me. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Welder

,
August 15, 2014
By
from Adamsville, Alabama
" I Checked out the new Northern Tool Store that just open and picked up the hobart 190, if you are looking for a welder then you stop here, this a great welder, right out of the box. I have bought 3 welders form northern tool and they all have worked great. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

welder

,
July 28, 2014
By
from Dover Pa
" This is a very professional welding machine. I am used to using bigger machines and I wasn't sure it would hold up to my expectations but I was pleasantly surprised of how well it works. I am running75/25 gas and solid wire runs as good as the bigger machines I use every day. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great little Welder

,
July 21, 2014
By
from Birmingham
" I have a larger stick welder by another company, but I needed something that would allow me to work on really thin metal without blowing holes in it. This welder works great. I do not do that much welding, so needless to say, I have NO experience on wire welding, but this thing is great. Easy to set up and easy to use. And even easy to fix when you have the wire bend back in the feeder. I look forward to many more projects using this welder. I think I'll try aluminum next. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great machine in all ways

,
July 10, 2014
By
from N.C.
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
" I searched around price wise and loved the Hobart prices compared to the higher dollar machines. I already had a 230 Hobart stick welder which I love So I bought this wire welder with free shipping . I bought the argon bottle at the local welder supply so now I save big time on welding wire. I do lots of welding sometimes 20 plus hours a week.. In all the time I have done some serious deep welds of thick steel it has only over heated once and a few minutes later it was ready to go again. .Very easy to find your heat and wire settings. The only bad thing I can say about it I just wish the gun was a little longer to maybe reach 12 feet or more instead of ten feet. Works well with 12 Gage sheet metal I build storm shelters and up to even half inch steel. The backhoe picture shows the new tree root ripper blade I had just made for a backhoe. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

hobart 190

,
June 21, 2014
By
from Warne NC
" Great machine. I have used Millers for years and this machine welds just as good. I was surprised by the small size containing the capabilities this machine has. Have not used the spool gun yet but it looks like it should perform as well as the rest of the machine. Can't be beat for the price. Northern Tool shipped quickly. P.S. Don't worry about the ground clamp. It works fine and can be easily replaced if it should fail. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hobart Handler 190 - WOW!

,
June 16, 2014
By
from Farmington, NM
" When it comes to welding, I'm just a bit above a novice. I've had a cheap HF wire feed unit for a few years, and I managed to stick metal together. Not pretty, but usable.
I got in the Hobart 190 about 5 days after I ordered (great shipping, came in just when they said) and tried the flux wire that it came with. WOW! I'd never laid a bead like that with the old box. The thickness gage inside the cover is great - size your thickness, set the feed rate and current, and it works great! a few days later, I went and purchased a 80 CF tank of Argon / 25% Co2, and a spool of mild steel wire. Even better! tacked two pieces of 3/16 plate, and then ran the bead. very little splatter, and no porosity. WOW! haven't tried the gun yet, but when I can get 100% Argon, I'll try the aluminum welding. If you need a medium duty welder, get this unit! You won't be sorry!
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Mig welder

,
June 16, 2014
By
from North Texas
" I rebuild old cars & trucks. Welder works great for body panels and frame work. Compact size is a plus. Would recommend to anyone. Haven't tried spool gun yet. Could use a longer power cord & ground cable. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent combo

,
June 9, 2014
By
from Northern California
" Much better punch than the 120 volt units. The addition of the spool gun, makes this a great combo! Very quick set-up and change over, enjoying some aluminum projects......Happy with this purchase. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

190 hobart welder

,
June 4, 2014
By
from Nappanee IN
" This welder works great. I build small 4x8 aluminum trailers and aluminum cabnets and I have no complaints what so ever. You can't go wrong with everything it does and the package that's included for being able to weld steel and aluminum for the price. Buy the same set up from Miller or Lincoln and pay over twice as much and you still have same performace. I've welded with them all. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great deal

,
May 22, 2014
By
from Mary-D, Pa
" I had an older Mig welder that failed after years of use and I needed something new. I checked out several makes and models and settled on the Hobart Handler 190. This is a great deal at the price and the addition of the Spool gun really opens up my options on what I can now do. The welder functions perfectly and I was able to dial it in very quickly. I have used it a few times now and have no complaints. Next step is getting the Argon and try my hand at aluminum welding with the spool gun. If the gun works like the welder has then I should have no problems. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent machine

,
May 21, 2014
By
from DE
" Great welder for the price. Performs as well as more expensive models from Miller and Lincoln. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder with Included SpoolRunner 100 10ft. Spoolgun - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554001"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

big welder in a small package

,
May 11, 2014
By
from rocky ford co
" used it for he first time this weekend to rebuild the brackets and linkages on a skid loader and it performed excellently would recommend this welder to anyone who needs a nice small welder with lots of power. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.