Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554

FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554

Item# 20861
The Hobart Handler 190 is a powerful and portable wire-feed flux core and MIG welder designed to weld mild steel, flux core steel, aluminum and stainless steel. The generous operating parameters allow you to weld 24 ga. to 5/16 in. steel in single pass. Plus it is extremely versatile and perfect for the welder who wants to work on auto body, household repairs, or even heavier farm projects requiring extra power. With an arsenal of standard features such as 7 output voltage settings and a dual-groove quick change drive roll, the Handler 190 is as versatile as it is powerful. Connect the optional Spoolrunner 100 item #20868 to make welding aluminum easier than ever before. Features Hobart's 5/3/1 industrial warranty protection. Mig Ready Yes, Power Cord ft. 10, Regulator and Gas Hose Included Yes, Volts 230, Weld Thickness in. 24 ga. to 5/16 in. steel in single pass, Cart No, Clamp Cable Length ft. 10, Weldable Metals Steel, aluminum, stainless, Welding Wire Diameter in. 0.024, 0.030, 0.035, Wire Feed Speed Control Infinite, Amps 130 Amps @ 21.5V DC, Dimensions L x W x H in. 19 1/2 x 10 5/8 x 12 3/8, Shielding Gas Required No for Flux Core, Yes for MIG, Duty Cycle 30 @ 130A. Powerful and Professional Results Operates on 230V power Amperage output 25-190 30 duty cycle @ 130 Amps Welds 24 ga. to 5/16 in. steel in single pass Loaded with features 7 voltage selections, enhanced magnetics and infinite wire feed speed control offers easier fine control of the output parameters for improved arc performance with less spatter for a better bead appearance and less clean up Built-in contactor eases use and excellent safety feature which makes wire electrically cold until trigger is pulled Convenient polarity changeover with tip holder access makes it quick and easy to change polarity for solid or tubular wire. Includes convenient storage holes for spare tips Durable feed head with quick-release drive roll tension lever. Positive feed with adjustable tension plus easy accessibility to thread new wire Industrial cast aluminum drive system for extended durability Dual-groove quick-change drive roll makes it easy to change from one wire size to another. One knurled groove and one smooth groove for 030-.035 in. 0.8-0.9 mm wire Door chart with initial settings Quickly reference initial settings for different wires, gases, materials and thicknesses. Provides quick starting point for novices and professionals alike Convenient Carry Handle for portability Spoolgun Ready Easy setup with the SpoolRunner 100 Spool gun Item #20868, sold separately. Spoolguns enhance feedability and reduce bird-nesting associated with soft aluminum wires Integrated spoolgun control circuitry is standard. No additional control box or adapter is required to connect the SpoolRunner 100 spoolgun Safety features built right in Short circuit protection protects unit against current overload Self-resetting thermal overload protects power transformer to ensure reliability Self-resetting motor protection protects wire feed system from overload, no fuses to change or circuit breaker buttons to reset Features Hobart 5/3/1 Industrial Warranty Hobart's 5/3/1 Industrial Warranty Five-year warranty on transformers, three years on electronics drive motors, rectifiers and one year on guns
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (10 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 of 10(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554
Review 1 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hobart Handler 190 - Fantastic

,
September 24, 2014
By 6GunMatt
from Southern California
"I have not used this all that much yet, but can tell with certainty this is a quality welder. Made in the USA, this thing makes mig welding so easy anyone could do it. No complaints so far."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great welder

,
February 5, 2014
By machinefix
from Dobson NC
"I have had the strongest welds with this welder over the other brand I owned before. You will not be disappointed with this welder at all."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Welder!

,
February 4, 2014
By Ejbw
from Rogersville, Mo
"I weld at work and home and have worked on a few different types of welders. I bought this one for my jobs at home. This welder has never failed me and makes clean welds. It is an awesome choice for new and experienced welders! I have already recommended it to a few friends of mine."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Welders

,
February 4, 2014
By Bobbie55
from Wichita, Ks
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I bought a Hobart 187 #500525, it is still working great. No problems with it. I think it was replaced with the 190 unit. I ran the 032 Wire to do spot welds and weld sheet metal on my 55 Chevy 3100. The first thing I built was a cart for it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent welder

,
February 4, 2014
By MacDave06
from Vacaville, CA
"Quality built welder. Welded 1/4" just fine. Also works great on sheetmetal. Good range of adjustment. No problems yet."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Sweet welder

,
September 17, 2013
By Duke21
from Warner Robins Ga
"I am a true beginner. I absolutely love this welder. My neighbor got me started wanting one. His was a small cheapie. This should weld anything I ever want to weld. It is a learning process, but Hobart makes it easier. The book plus the chart is a huge plus. I would buy this welder again in a snap. You won't be sorry. Just do it."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Hobart 185

,
April 23, 2013
By CaptGrizz
from southeast Texas
"I have the Hobart 185 medium duty wire welder, or light duty if you usually weld stuff over a half inch in thicknes. But for fab shops and custom car and bike building sheet metal welding and making small tanks and light duty trailers I have found this to be one of the most stable and easy to regulate welders I have ever owned as I have used it on a wide veriety of projects and it has always preformed exceedinly well. Assuming the 190 is a very simalar upgrade of the 185 I would have no problem recomending this welder to anyone with a home shop or a small custom shop. One note I should make as I travel alot I have noticed that having a stable power supply is very important to the proformance and wire feed regulation of any small wire welder. I have been in several places where I had to hook my welder up to my 10KW diesel generator because the local power was either to unstable or too low voltage to properly power the welders I was using."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

American made welder

,
September 24, 2012
By kencal51
from Ga.
"I researched heavily for a Mig welder. There are so many brands available, so the choice was not easy. I looked at several of the multi-mode units including the Northern Tool Hybrid and the Thermal Arc 181i models. These two units sounded good, but it came down to wondering about getting parts and service after owning either of these for some years. I then looked at the Hobart 190 and decided for the price and the reputation of this brand and the fact it is made in the USA, I decided to get it. You can tell when you take this unit out of the box by the weight that this is a solid piece of equipment. After getting a bottle of gas and a 10 lb. spool of wire, I did some test runs with the new machine. It is easy to setup and the welds are just what you expect from a quality machine. I like that it is 230 volts and will handle up to 5/16" metal. I would recommend this welder to anyone looking for a decent size MIG machine that is quality made."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great machine for the price

,
February 16, 2012
By JoeCJ5
from Gypsum, Colorado
"I bought this machine after having to get rid of my Millermatic 185 to move out of state. This machine has a nice smooth arc and is very well constructed, not to mention the attractive price it has. I use the welder for general Jeep fabrication/restoration with a little art in the mix as well.
I debated between this machine and the Northern Tool Hybrid MIG/Stick machine for quite some time. There was also another Chinese multi-process machine that was also in the running. Ultimately the Hobart won, mainly due to my past experience with a Miller machine, and being able to buy consumables locally. The warranty is great as well, but I'm not concerned as this machine is very well made.
I will say that the gas regulator is made in China and not the USA, however it appears well made."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+17points
20out of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for FREE SHIPPING - Hobart Handler 190 - 230V Flux Cored/MIG Welder - 190 Amp Output, Model# 500554
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great mid-level MIG

,
January 17, 2012
By DesertYeti
from Tucson, AZ
"I was told by both hobby and professional fabricators that the only welders to even consider were the "big 3" —Lincoln, Miller, Hobart—and this one was a great deal on sale at Northern Tool.
This machine worked flawlessly right out of the box. I did add a gas tank to it before I even fired it up, so I can't comment on the flux core welding, but as a standard MIG (I'm working with fairly thick mild steel for off-road vehicle fab) it's a great machine. I'm also teaching myself how to weld and this machine is great for beginners too because it's so simple to run."
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+12points
17out of 22found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.