Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Morgan Series Reconditioned Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 80 Gallon, 240 Volts, 14 CFM, Model# RE6580A

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Morgan Series Reconditioned Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 80 Gallon, 240 Volts, 14 CFM, Model# RE6580A

Item# 211113
This industrial-quality air compressor with an 80-gallon vertical tank is designed to power most professional-grade air tools, including nailers, spray guns, abrasive blasters, impact wrenches, sanders and more. The 3 cylinder, oil-lube pump delivers the air flow you want to get the job done right. This air compressor is factory reconditioned to perform like new. NorthernTool.com offers reconditioned tools and equipment that are equal to the standards and quality of new products, yet give you the same features at considerable savings. U.S.A. Air Outlet Size in. 1/4, 3/8, Amps 22, Max. PSI 155, Pump 3-cylinder, oil-lubricated, Portable or Stationary Stationary, CFM at 90 PSI 14.0, Volts 240, Dimensions L x W x H in. 31 1/2 x 34 3/4 x 77, Air Tank Size gal. 80, HP 4 3/4. Cast iron, single-stage
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (9 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
3
5 of 9(56%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Morgan Series Reconditioned Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 80 Gallon, 240 Volts, 14 CFM, Model# RE6580A
Review 1 for Morgan Series Reconditioned Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 80 Gallon, 240 Volts, 14 CFM, Model# RE6580A
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

junk

,
November 27, 2013
By pepper1961
from goodlettsville,tn
" had just over three months already having to buy a capacitor for it just don't want to stay running
will not buy another one from northern tool they wouldn't give me the time of day.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Morgan Series Reconditioned Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 80 Gallon, 240 Volts, 14 CFM, Model# RE6580A
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Item sold not item pictured

,
September 10, 2011
By tnguy
from Madison, TN
" I had this item drop shipped to my local NorthernTool store. When I arrived to pick it up, I found it was not like the item pictured on the web site. The web site pictured the compressor, with a built in pressure regulator and two hose connections. The one I received had none of this. The store manager was helpful, and I was given a pressure regulator and filter/lubricator for free. But I was still very disappointed, that the were not selling the item shown, and no disclaimer was mentioned any where that the item sold could vary from the item pictured "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
9out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Morgan Series Reconditioned Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 80 Gallon, 240 Volts, 14 CFM, Model# RE6580A
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Big Mo's the way to go.

,
June 13, 2011
By 5string
from Nashville, TN
" My little Husky finally died while blowing out a truck radiator core.
It was time for a real compressor. After careful review over an entire day and the fact that the moths in my wallet needed to spread their wings, I decided on the "Big Morgan".
The day arrived to fetch it at my local NT store. The air filters were slightly smashed but everything else was intact so since I already burned $24 worth of gasoline getting there I loaded that big, heavy thing in the old Chevy and headed home.
I barely got the unwieldy behemoth inside by myself.
After a few calls I contacted the right person to ship some new air cans/filters. Kudos to customer support. No hassles.
The best way to move this monster is bolted to the shipping pallet, strapped to a hand truck, with the motor and compressor removed.
The belt alignment needed tweaking anyway.
Since I was used to my obnoxiously loud 30 gal. Huskey, this 3 cylinder 5 horse black beauty seemed like a Cadillac to me.
She builds pressure quick and holds it for weeks.
So far hasn't used any oil.
I put a nice water separator on. She puts out good quality air.
The drain water is minimal and just a tiny tinge of rust coloring; mostly clear.
Since these are used units the paint finish is touched up. Not that it maters that much to me. Big Mo's main job will be to sit in the garage and collect dust and cobwebs.
I have her set to start at 120psi and shut off at 150.
FYI if you want a matching pressure gauge for your regulator I found it at NAPA. Part no. 82-516 and these are made by Schrader via Red China.
While this is only a single phase, it is perfect for my business. I am a one truck owner/driver and do all my own maintenance.
The main factor for me buying this was the cost vs. CFM or size of the unit.
As of this review I have owned this unit 6 months.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+11points
14out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Morgan Series Reconditioned Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 80 Gallon, 240 Volts, 14 CFM, Model# RE6580A
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

morgan reconditioned air compressor

,
June 13, 2011
By timbo8645
from south carolina
" I was a little weary of a reconditioned air compressor. I purchased one and hooked it up in My garage and it preforms perfectly every time. The unit was in very good condition and at a great price. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Morgan Series Reconditioned Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 80 Gallon, 240 Volts, 14 CFM, Model# RE6580A
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

questionable at best

,
March 10, 2011
By jcox
from Mt Juliet, TN
" The GOOD: shipping was very fast
The UNKOWN: the operation on a regular basis is still TBD since I had to have it wired then set up my airlines, filters etc. so I haven't had the opportunity to use it on a working level.
The BAD: The reason I give this product a low rating of 2 is because after running the tank for the first time I went to drain the tank and discovered a rusty mess was draining from the tank. I thought maybe it was some residual and that it was not much of a big deal. The second time I tried to drain the petcock was clogged and I had to remove the large cap on the bottom and replace the petcock. I had to pull the mess of loose rust and debris from the large opening from the cap underneath. So with this reason alone I have to question the quality of the product.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Morgan Series Reconditioned Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 80 Gallon, 240 Volts, 14 CFM, Model# RE6580A
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

60 Gallon Compressor

,
September 15, 2010
By Brokebiker
from North Texas
" Earlier this year I ordered the 60 gallon Morgan refurb compressor and had it shipped to the nearest store to me. When I went to pick it up it had already been unboxed. When I got it home I noticed the pressure gauge did not have a lens. Once I wired it up I found it would not run, but immediately tripped its breaker. This is the only device on that breaker. I checked my wiring, nothing wrong there. I decided to check the capacitors on the motor. To my surprise, one was missing! Just two wires inside the capacitor housing. By this time the generous 30 day warranty had expired, So I went to the local Granger store and purchased a pair of capacitors that matched the one that was on the motor. Once these were installed, the compressor ran fine and reached 155psi fairly quickly. As per the instructions, I let the compressor run without holding air for over half an hour. Once it was holding air, it would not recharge. Starting from empty is no problem, but once enough air has been used to trigger the motor to restart, it tries to start then stalls until the overload button on the motor kicks out. Once the motor has cooled and the tank emptied, it will run again. As a consequence, when using this compressor, I run it until full, then turn it off. Then use the air until the pressure has dropped below the tool requirement, drain the tank, and start over from scratch. Not the best possible solution. I should have spent more and gotten a new machine. Someday I'll learn. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+16points
19out of 22found this review helpful.
Read Comment (1)
Customer Comments
Customer Avatar
RagenRat
Aurora 
 
Please wait while more information about RagenRat is loaded.
Additional information about RagenRat could not be loaded.
RE: 60 Gallon Compressor Brokenbiker
October 16, 2010
" HELLO
Hope you read this. Two very easy things are wrong with your compressor. The new start up capacitor is bad. -NOT SO LIKELY-
or the check valve is bad or stuck open holding the high pressure on the head of the pump. -MOST LIKELY- No compressor will start with this problem. This valve in most cases is at the top of the tank just below the copper line connection from the pump or after-cooler.
This can be gotten from most compressor repair shops for about 20.00.
Good Luck
RagenRat
"
0points
0out of 0found this comment helpful.
Customer Comments
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Morgan Series Reconditioned Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 80 Gallon, 240 Volts, 14 CFM, Model# RE6580A
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Morgan air compressor

,
August 25, 2010
By James42
from FLORIDA
" this compressor was full of rusty water and oil, had some broken cooling fins,
was missing a plug in the side, and the instructions are vague.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Morgan Series Reconditioned Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 80 Gallon, 240 Volts, 14 CFM, Model# RE6580A
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great compressor at even better value!

,
August 10, 2010
By SmithAutoPaint
from Linwood NC
" I came accross this compressor wile searching for a new air compressor for my small automotive restoration shop. The size was good, and the performance was within what I needed but I still felt like I needed something more. Over the next three weeks I looked at around 100 compressors of this size. Everything from on-line retail to custom made units. This compressor offered the most "bank for the buck" but I was still worried that the performance numbers may be over inflated, and if not for Northern tool's outstanding customer service I may have passed on this nice compressor.
So, I took a chance and ordered this compressor and im very glad I did. This compressor is outstanding. It runs smooth and quiet. It was delivered quickly and showed no signs of it being used before. I use it 5 days a week to do automotive refinishing work. It handles all my HVLP sprayers fine, many types of sanders and grinders and has ran both my sandblasting cabinet and my soda blaster with ease. This compressor is as good, if not better then models that cost twice as much.
I just ordered a 2nd one becuase I plan to expand my shop and don't believe it will handle multiple heavy air usage tools at once for long periods of time (ie: sand blaster and sander) witch now I need.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Morgan Series Reconditioned Stationary Vertical Air Compressor - 80 Gallon, 240 Volts, 14 CFM, Model# RE6580A
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

refurbished compressor from Morgan

,
February 22, 2010
By pw1340
from Thunder Bay, Ontario
" an excellent compressor, will run all my air tools including DA sanders, impact guns and air blowers with no trouble. Lots of air output. Have used this product daily for three weeks and performs better than anticipated. I recommend this to anybody the unit may be refurbished but it is like new. Enjoy "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
12out of 18found this review helpful.