Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Morgan Series Reconditioned Portable Vertical Air Compressor - 30 Gallon, 120/240 Volt, 5.3 CFM, Model# RE30

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Northern Tool.

Morgan Series Reconditioned Portable Vertical Air Compressor - 30 Gallon, 120/240 Volt, 5.3 CFM, Model# RE30

Item# 21114
This portable belt drive air compressor is designed for professionals and serious do-it-yourselfers who need the higher torque and RPM delivered by air tools instead of traditional electric tools. Air tools help get the job done quickly, are versatile and easily interchangeable. The Morgan Series air compressor with a 30-gallon vertical tank brings power to home workshops and jobsites in a rugged and easily transportable wheeled frame. This air compressor is factory reconditioned to perform like new. NorthernTool.com offers reconditioned tools and equipment that are equal to the standards and quality of new products, yet give you the same features at considerable savings. U.S.A. CFM at 90 PSI 5.3, Volts 120/240, Dimensions L x W x H in. 28 1/2 x 20 x 48 1/2, Air Tank Size gal. 30, Pump Cast iron, V-twin, Air Outlet Size in. 3/8, Portable or Stationary Portable, Max. PSI 155, HP 1.6, Amps 20. Belt drive
Average Customer Rating:
4.263 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (19 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
18 of 19(95%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Morgan Series Reconditioned Portable Vertical Air Compressor - 30 Gallon, 120/240 Volt, 5.3 CFM, Model# RE30
Review 1 for Morgan Series Reconditioned Portable Vertical Air Compressor - 30 Gallon, 120/240 Volt, 5.3 CFM, Model# RE30
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome air compressor

,
April 23, 2013
By Dreamski
from Green Bay, WI
" A little hesitant buying a reconditioned unit, but did anyway and have not regretted it. No issues what-so-ever and would definitely purchase reconditioned again. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Morgan Series Reconditioned Portable Vertical Air Compressor - 30 Gallon, 120/240 Volt, 5.3 CFM, Model# RE30
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than expected

,
January 30, 2013
By fyerfytr
from Des Moines, ia
" Very good compressor for the money, It does take awhile on 110 to fill tank but not a big deal.
Only had for a couple months so will see how it really holds up.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Morgan Series Reconditioned Portable Vertical Air Compressor - 30 Gallon, 120/240 Volt, 5.3 CFM, Model# RE30
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Morgan Compressors

,
October 16, 2012
By Air60
from Milwaukee, wi
" I bought a similar reconditioned Morgan and it has performed really well. From nail guns to blowing out the garage. I was concerned about buying reconditioned but I will definitely trust Northern again. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Morgan Series Reconditioned Portable Vertical Air Compressor - 30 Gallon, 120/240 Volt, 5.3 CFM, Model# RE30
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

replacement compressor

,
August 13, 2012
By diyoldman
from Texas
" I bought a reconditioned unit from Northern Tool to replace one with similar specs that was beginning to have problems. This Morgan unit has a better motor and is considerably quieter than my old unit. I run it on 120v, but it has dual voltage capabilities if it matters to you. One thing I have required recently is higher pressure and it provides that also. The original regulator wasn't as accurate as I like, so I changed it, but I have done that on my other units as well. I also like the mobility of it. Just make sure to keep the tires aired up. Overall I'm very pleased with it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Morgan Series Reconditioned Portable Vertical Air Compressor - 30 Gallon, 120/240 Volt, 5.3 CFM, Model# RE30
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great compresser

,
January 17, 2012
By cessna
from minnesota
" great compresser for the money. very well built. came in perfect condition. great value. would buy another one. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Morgan Series Reconditioned Portable Vertical Air Compressor - 30 Gallon, 120/240 Volt, 5.3 CFM, Model# RE30
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great replacement machine

,
June 15, 2011
By Vanagonfreak
from Hanahan, SC
" I used another compressor for seventeen years of the same size and output, and I was careful to look for a machine that would replace it and still not cost a great deal. The Morgan compressor has filled all those requirements and at a very-manageable price. The added warranty is reassuring that Northern Tools is willing to stand behind their product in case of problems, so the decision was easy. I am happy with the Morgan compressor and its performance. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
11out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Morgan Series Reconditioned Portable Vertical Air Compressor - 30 Gallon, 120/240 Volt, 5.3 CFM, Model# RE30
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Cheap, but troublesome

,
March 26, 2011
By AircraftBuilder1
from Des Moines, Iowa
" If you don't mind spending a few hours working out the bugs, this unit seems to be a good value. If you're a busy professional, look for something else with a good warranty and proven service.
I had some initial issues which I resolved myself after giving up on the Morgan service center. Now that I've re-reconditioned the compressor, it's working well. It's a true 155psi compressor, and the 5.3cfm rating seems realistic. Also, it's a great size for moving around the shop or garage.
The details:
During break-in, I noticed one inlet valve was not seating well. After the first hour of operation, the valve started seating properly, and performance improved significantly.
A more insidious issue with my compressor was a check valve failure in the first hour of operation. This leak was indicated by a loud, continuous air leak from the pressure control that would start when the compressor reached full pressure and the motor turned off. Upon inspecting the check valve, I noticed that it has plastic parts inside, so I'm not surprised by the failure.
I called the service number provided in the instructions, and held for over an hour during what was supposed to be their "low volume" hours. I decided a better use of my time would be to replace the check valve myself, using parts from an old compressor. Now, after about 3 hours of total use, the unit seems to be performing as it should. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Morgan Series Reconditioned Portable Vertical Air Compressor - 30 Gallon, 120/240 Volt, 5.3 CFM, Model# RE30
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Most bang for your buck

,
March 21, 2011
By Grumpypants
from Melbourne, Florida
" I have had this unit for about 2 months, it is not loud like the oiless ones. I wish it pumped up a little faster but for the price you can't go wrong. It does everything I have asked it to do. It is a little top heavy so I have chained it to the wall to prevent anything from causing it to fall over. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Morgan Series Reconditioned Portable Vertical Air Compressor - 30 Gallon, 120/240 Volt, 5.3 CFM, Model# RE30
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can't Get Anything Better For the Price

,
March 14, 2011
By DCjetTech
from Fort Worth, Texas
" After my old oil less compressor finally gave up, I knew I wanted better, I found this one after searching all over. It's so quiet. I don't feel guilty about running it in my neighborhood like the other one. Recovery is fast, and so far, It's kept up with all my tools Even my die grinder, and air vac. It's hundreds less than any comperable unit I've priced and don't let the term "rebuilt" scare you, it's a beautiful compressor. I highly recommend it. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
12out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Morgan Series Reconditioned Portable Vertical Air Compressor - 30 Gallon, 120/240 Volt, 5.3 CFM, Model# RE30
Overall Rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5

Get the extended warranty!!

,
March 5, 2011
By GarnerEngr
from Houston, Texas
" I received the compressor and was initiall quite impressed with its performance and quiet operation. After the third use (in my race car trailer) the compressor started and wouldn't come up to pressure. Further inspection noted that the left cylinder inlet would start to exhaust once the compressor reached about 50 psig and the compressor would not go any higher. Calling the phone number on the instruction manual confirmed the 30 day warranty ( I was at 60 days at that point) would be enforced fully. They suggested it might be the head gasket (not the case) and that they would happily SELL me one at list price. I am considering buying a replacement (identical) pump assembly for $140 from another source, though I might opt for a name brand to adapt to my tank. Like I said, get the warranty! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Morgan Series Reconditioned Portable Vertical Air Compressor - 30 Gallon, 120/240 Volt, 5.3 CFM, Model# RE30
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

good machine

,
January 27, 2011
By Flenser
from Virginia
" I bought this for light duty at home. It powers my air tools with no problems. It was well packed and arrived at my local store in just a few days, Getting it out of the box was most complicated part of the setup and break in process. The thing is a lot quieter than what I expected or what I'm used to. During the break in period the open air port made more noise than the compressor. Overall I'm extremely happy with this machine.
Note that it was shipped with oil in the crank case, so be careful not to lean it over. You should also consider changing that oil after the break in period as mine turned dark almost immediately. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Morgan Series Reconditioned Portable Vertical Air Compressor - 30 Gallon, 120/240 Volt, 5.3 CFM, Model# RE30
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Value Air Compressor

,
November 23, 2010
By Kevincad
" Bought this compressor new. It's been a good working compressor with no problems. "
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Morgan Series Reconditioned Portable Vertical Air Compressor - 30 Gallon, 120/240 Volt, 5.3 CFM, Model# RE30
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great unit

,
November 17, 2010
By rgmc
" great compressor physically bigger than I expected but moves alot of air, is quite quiet for it's power. I did alot of hunting and could not come close to touching this much cfm in this quality iron compressor for the money. "
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Morgan Series Reconditioned Portable Vertical Air Compressor - 30 Gallon, 120/240 Volt, 5.3 CFM, Model# RE30
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great deal

,
November 16, 2010
By DHiers
from Austin, TX
" I have had this compressor for about 2 months now, Works great, not too loud, works on 110v or 220v and will hold air for a long time without leaking. The delivery took a while (not in stock at my location) but overall very pleased with the product. Items missing that should be included, rubber feet for legs, ball valve for hose attachment. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Morgan Series Reconditioned Portable Vertical Air Compressor - 30 Gallon, 120/240 Volt, 5.3 CFM, Model# RE30
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Robust machine for a small price

,
June 4, 2010
By Harrell
from Woodruff, SC
" I mainly do weekend projects but from time to time I need plenty of air volume with some of my tools. This compressor has the ability to keep up with that demand without breaking the bank. This machine is not as loud of some comnpressors I've used in the past and can be used with either 120V or 240V. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Morgan Series Reconditioned Portable Vertical Air Compressor - 30 Gallon, 120/240 Volt, 5.3 CFM, Model# RE30
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Air compressor

,
June 2, 2010
By FortWorth
from Fort worth
" It was delivered to the local store fairly promptly. Break in was easy and the pump is quiet compared to my previous compressor. It came with a broken valve that I had to replace. I used the part from my old one instead of taking the thing back to the store. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Morgan Series Reconditioned Portable Vertical Air Compressor - 30 Gallon, 120/240 Volt, 5.3 CFM, Model# RE30
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

I was surprised

,
June 1, 2010
By EastTexasMike
from Dallas Texas
" After a small compressor I owned reached the end of its life I decided to find a larger one. Most were out of my budget range but the Morgan reconditioned 30 gallon seemed like it would suit my needs. The price was attractive but I was somewhat concerned as to its quality. I have now used this compressor for over 6 months and it has performed flawlessly. I am impressed with the volume of air it supplies and the speed with which it recovers from heavy usage of air tools. If you need a small footprint but large duty compressor for home use I think you will be happy with this Morgan 30 gallon unit. It is about the largest capacity you can get that works on a normal 115 volt 15 amp outlet. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Morgan Series Reconditioned Portable Vertical Air Compressor - 30 Gallon, 120/240 Volt, 5.3 CFM, Model# RE30
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Buy!!!

,
March 1, 2010
By DanTheHandyMan
from Clarion, PA
" I purchased this air compressor for occasional use in the garage (impact wrench, air ratchet, cutoff tool, die grinder, tire filler, etc.). It has exceeded my expectations already and I have only had it for 2 weeks. It provides continuous air for the tools that I need and the belt drive make is very quite compared to my dad's CH 26 gallon direct drive. Another great feature is the size. It fits very well in a corner out of the way and has a small footprint.
I did some reasearch online and everyone said to follow the manufactures instructions for break in. I opened the book and there it was plain as day. run for 30 minutes straight with the valve open. It is just that easy.
I am very happy I purchased this compressor and am excited to use it this summer with framing, finishing, and roof nailers when I build my new storage shed. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Morgan Series Reconditioned Portable Vertical Air Compressor - 30 Gallon, 120/240 Volt, 5.3 CFM, Model# RE30
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Shop compressor

,
February 23, 2010
By Anonymous
from Dunstable Ma
" I bought this compressor to provide air for my shop . It arrived on time and in excellent shape. Plumbed the shop and garage and it works great. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.