Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for "Nelson Rain Train Traveling Sprinkler, Model# 1865"

"Nelson Rain Train Traveling Sprinkler, Model# 1865"

Item# 212035
"This traveling sprinkler covers 13,500 sq. ft. as it travels 200 ft. at three different speeds for varying saturation. The heavy-duty cast iron body with chip resistant powder coat paint is built to last. Sprinkler Radius ft. 100, Sprinkler Coverage sq. ft. 13,500, Sprayer Type Traveling, Material Cast iron, Includes Chip resistant powder-coat paint, Coverage Diameter ft. 200, Color Yellow, Adjustable Yes. Rustproof cast iron body Travels up to 200 ft. to cover up to 13,500 sq. ft. Three-speed transmission with automatic shutoff Adjustable spray arms Works on gradual slopes"
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (28 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
26 of 28(93%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
15 Questions | 28 Answers
Customer Reviews for "Nelson Rain Train Traveling Sprinkler, Model# 1865"
Review 1 for "Nelson Rain Train Traveling Sprinkler, Model# 1865"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

In a perfect world

,
May 18, 2016
By
from Nevada
I love this sprinkler. Seems well made, heavy. Price seems adequate. I love the spray pattern.
I gave it only three stars though because unless you have a REALLY flat, even surface it flips over easily and gets stuck frequently. Running it through a lumpy orchard doesn't really work well.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for "Nelson Rain Train Traveling Sprinkler, Model# 1865"
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

durability

,
February 10, 2016
By
from Oklahoma
I have had 3 Nelson Lawn Tractors and have had the same problem with all three. The plastic gears in side break and you can not order just the gears but must order whole mechanism. Also on 2 the nut holding the wands crack and then they leak.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for "Nelson Rain Train Traveling Sprinkler, Model# 1865"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rain Train

,
November 15, 2015
By
from Midlothian,VA.
The Rain Train is a great thing to have you place the front wheel on top of the hose ,then lay the hose where it needs to be watered and just turn the water on the water Rotates the arms to water the grass and that turns gears which moves the Rain Train along watering your lawn.
I love the Rain Train.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for "Nelson Rain Train Traveling Sprinkler, Model# 1865"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

traveling sprinkler

,
July 26, 2015
By
from Idaho
I have only been using this for about one month. so far it has worked very well traveling over the lawn following the hose. i bought this because it was much cheaper than some of the "professional grade" traveling sprinklers. i should review this after the season or after one year to see how it stands up.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for "Nelson Rain Train Traveling Sprinkler, Model# 1865"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great time saver

,
April 27, 2015
By
from Reno, NV
I have had no problems with the unit yet. I understand there is some concern about the plastic parts. They have held up so far but I have not had the unit for very long. I used the older units before and this one runs the same with a handy low and high speed. The tractor keeps me from having to move sprinklers around and I get the same quality of watering as I would with my automated system. I have also saved water by not using my system in our drought.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for "Nelson Rain Train Traveling Sprinkler, Model# 1865"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great sprinkler

,
September 26, 2014
By
from Branchville, NJ
This traveling sprinkler has the ability to replace an installed permanent sprinkling system at a mere fraction of the cost. It works very well and is very easy to set up. It is superb and very cost effective. It has replaced six sprinkler heads. My wife loves it.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for "Nelson Rain Train Traveling Sprinkler, Model# 1865"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

sprinkler

,
September 5, 2014
By
from lindsay
It works great pulls really well in mud as well as grass or dry dirt
Easy ship in fast to get it over all great product
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for "Nelson Rain Train Traveling Sprinkler, Model# 1865"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works great with 1 exception

,
August 17, 2014
By
from NJ
This works great. Very much a set it and forget it, and it will water your entire lawn. The only reason I'm not giving it 5 stars is because it's very top heavy and can tip over easily. The body is cast iron, and therefore very heavy, but the wheels are plastic so there's no weight at the bottom to keep it stabilized, so if it travels across even a very slight incline it will tip over. I hang a few weights from a C clamp that I attach to the underside of the frame on the uphill side to act as a counter balance and that does the trick.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+10points
12out of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for "Nelson Rain Train Traveling Sprinkler, Model# 1865"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Tractor Sprinkler

,
August 15, 2014
By
from Rio Frio, Texas
Great product, great service, super price! Would recommend this for everyone.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
4out of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for "Nelson Rain Train Traveling Sprinkler, Model# 1865"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Robot you ever owned

,
July 18, 2014
By
from Carolinas
Works just great! Has very good coverage, automatic shutoff when it reaches the terminator, which you can place anywhere on the hose. Duteously follows the hose path where ever it is positioned. Very Happy worth every cent.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for "Nelson Rain Train Traveling Sprinkler, Model# 1865"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nelson Rain Train Traveling Sprinkler

,
June 28, 2014
By
from Corbin, KY
easy set up, works well sometimes it gets off the hose ramp so needs to be watched some.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for "Nelson Rain Train Traveling Sprinkler, Model# 1865"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Rain Train

,
May 20, 2014
By
from Knoxville
It's called the Rain Train, even though it looks like a tractor. Don't let that bother you though, because this thing is the best-kept secret in lawn care! Lay out a path with your hose, attach the tractor & align the front wheel with the hose. Turn on the spigot and the tractor follows the hose path while watering the lawn!
Another thing...you can't tell from the images, but this thing is relatively big (like a Christmas tree stand) and heavy (it's cast iron).
l can't believe I've lived this long without knowing about this product!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for "Nelson Rain Train Traveling Sprinkler, Model# 1865"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid product

,
May 18, 2014
By
from North Vancouver, BC
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
I have four days that I use on my pitch and putt golf course. I even use these on my greens and have had excellent results. With the price of water these days it is certainly a benefit to be able to only put water where one needs it. If I could improve only one thing about this unit it would be to have a faster speed available. On it's fastest setting it still moves very slowly and gives a very good soaking. It would be nice to be able to give a light dusting of water. All in all this is one of the best sprinklers I have ever seen.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+9points
13out of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for "Nelson Rain Train Traveling Sprinkler, Model# 1865"
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor quality

,
November 18, 2013
By
from Texas
It only took 2.5 hours of use before the plastic gears were stripped. Was used on a level yard with no obstructions and I made sure it wasn't having to pull too much hose. It now just sits in one place and clicks.
Hopefully, the Nelson customer service outperforms their product.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for "Nelson Rain Train Traveling Sprinkler, Model# 1865"
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Does fine on flat ground

,
September 17, 2013
By
from Broadway, VA
This product works on flat ground and on grass. It will not work in dirt/mud or up even a slight hill. I gave 4 stars because if you use as intended, it's fine.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for "Nelson Rain Train Traveling Sprinkler, Model# 1865"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nelson Rain Train Sprinkler

,
September 13, 2013
By
from Brentwood, TN
15 years with my current product used during the grass growing season. I have just ordered a second Nelson Rain Train for the back yard and a couple of spare parts to render the old model back to like new. Unbelievably durable and dependable. The best investment you can make for a green lawn and flower beds.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for "Nelson Rain Train Traveling Sprinkler, Model# 1865"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

nelson rain train

,
August 13, 2012
By
from PA
new home, wish i had known about this product last summer. works better with 1/2" hose than 5/8'. reccomend it highly.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
-8points
9out of 26found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for "Nelson Rain Train Traveling Sprinkler, Model# 1865"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome watering system

,
August 13, 2012
By
from Maryland
Works great on lawns and gardens of all shapes and sizes, steers around corners and shuts off automatically.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for "Nelson Rain Train Traveling Sprinkler, Model# 1865"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Built to Last

,
August 13, 2012
By
from Northern VA
I purchased this watering tractor about a year ago and I couldn't be happier. This lawn tractor is built like a tank which is really refreshing in this age of cheaply produced goods designed to break after a year of use.
It follows along the hose wherever you lay it out. You can adjust the rate of travel to suit your desired watering depth. You can even set it to shut itself off automatically at any point. What else could you want.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for "Nelson Rain Train Traveling Sprinkler, Model# 1865"
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Sprinkler

,
May 14, 2012
By
from Garner, NC
Very solid construction. Easy to use. Sure beats having to constantly move traditional sprinkler heads arounf the yard!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.