Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet

Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet

Item# 21306
"This solar-powered auto-darkening high-impact nylon welding helmet is ideal for all welding applications and designed to meet the most demanding requirements at one incredible price. A large 3.86in. x 1.73in. viewing area makes it ideal for seeing more of the workpiece at once. A lightning fast 1/25,000-second switch time automatically darkens the lens the instant you start welding. Meets ANSI and CSA standards for safety. Auto Darkening Yes, Adjustable Fit Yes, Variable Shades 9-13, Low Battery Indicator No, Battery Included Yes, non-replaceable, UV/IR Coated Lens Yes, Welding Processes MIG, Arc, Flux, TIG, Switch time sec. 1/25,000, Adjustable Sensitivity Yes, Power Supply Solar, CSE/CE Standard Yes, ANSI Approved Yes, Product Type Welding helmet, View Area W x H in. 3 7/8 x 1 3/4. Solar-powered auto-darkening lens eliminates the need to replace batteries Features shade 9-13 adjustment conveniently located on outside of helmet, allowing user to adjust without removing helmet Comfortable 5-Point adjustable ratcheting headgear with replaceable sweatband Constructed of sturdy and durable high-impact nylon Striking and stylish flame design on a black helmet Includes 2 arc sensors for auto-darkening Meets ANSI Z87.1 , CSA Z94.3 and CE EN379 standards Includes solar powered rechargeable battery Compatible for use with hard hat using hard hat adapter #26435 sold separately"
Average Customer Rating:
4.758 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(541 Reviews) 541
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (541 reviews)
5 stars
434
4 stars
93
3 stars
8
2 stars
2
1 star
4
534 of 541(99%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 39 Answers
Customer Reviews for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Review 1 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

welding hood

,
April 22, 2015
By ajung4542
from Norwich, ND
" I can't give 5 stars, everything can be improved, but I like it. It work like its intended to, and takes. I like that there is adjustment on the darkness of it. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Owner

,
April 9, 2015
By Gundeals
from Trenton, NJ
" Great helmet for a great price. Can't ask for more.
Thanks,
Lee
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

welding helment

,
April 8, 2015
By sandbug
from ararat nc
" I
got this for my husband he loved it he like it was solar and when he went to use it was ready nice looking with stripe to hold it on your head that was ajustable great product
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

FAST ACTING

,
April 6, 2015
By SINGLESHOT
from MISSISSIPPI
" THIS HELMET IS VERY SENSITIVE TO LIGHT FLASHES FROM ANY SOURCE. THE REFLECTION FROM MY CELL PHONE SCREEN IS ENOUGH TO CAUSE IT TO DARKEN. THIS SENSITIVITY IS A PLUS IN MY OPINION. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Helmet!

,
March 19, 2015
By Wigi
from South Carolina
" Nice product, works great. I would have given 5 stars if the viewing area was a little larger, but if you're like me the price was right and it does a great job! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great bang for the buck

,
March 15, 2015
By flatheadind
from Greenville, SC
" This is a great product for the price. One can easily spend a lot more for a comparable product. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I needed

,
March 14, 2015
By tannie20
from Andover, MN
" This is just what I needed for the occasional welding that I do. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well

,
March 12, 2015
By Jim9640
from Lincoln, Vt
" This helmet works very well but it isn't as rugged as others I've used. A good one-owner or homeowner helmet. I let a first-time welding student use it, not expecting a comment, and he said, "I love this helmet!" 'Nuf said! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME

,
March 9, 2015
By RickRenee
from IA
" This is a great helment for the price,I use it quite often and no probs with it, I just do lite welding and works great..would want my friends to have one..
Rick "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet

,
March 7, 2015
By Anonymous
from Athens GA
" Excellent price/value ratio. This is a quality product which surpassed my expectation. Product works as advertised with a great field of view when welding "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works well

,
February 27, 2015
By Ozbow
from Santa Ana CA
" Interesting concept and it worked well for me. It is light weight and comfortable. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can't beat it for the price!

,
February 12, 2015
By Telfair
from Beaufort, SC
" I have only used this helmet a few times but it worked great! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Welding Helmet

,
February 9, 2015
By pj035
from Granby, CT
" Does the job and for the right price. I wish that the lens was more adjustable. It seems to dark i some conditions. For occasional use for home projects, it's good quality at the right price point. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Helmet

,
February 9, 2015
By Gans
from Sullivan County, NY
" I like the helmet but the adjustments are a little flimsy. It works well and darkens great.
For the price though, you can't go wrong.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

1st time and loved

,
February 7, 2015
By firsttimer49
from Collierville, TN
" I have never welded before today. The helmet worked great. Could see fine before striking arc at which time it immediately went dark. Started with darkest setting and gradually lightened until I started to get a residual blue dot in my sight then darkened up a half step and it worked great. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

no battery

,
February 2, 2015
By jeerk1
from florida
" No battery needed was a biggie for me because I do not use this helmet every day it has preformed better than expected, that is why I bought both of my 18 yr. old twin boys there own, they kept taking mine! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bargain Helmet

,
February 1, 2015
By sporster80
from Staunton,Va
" I only weld once in a while but I wanted a new helmet that was automatic but not a"fortune" .This helmet was the bargain I was looking for and works perfectly . I don't think the one I borrowed from a friend worked any better and he paid much more for his "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome value

,
February 1, 2015
By johnny1a
from belding,mi
" very good quality,functions and adjusts well,
I highly recommend
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works well, comfortable, a larger viewing area

,
January 28, 2015
By bt60
from Winston Salem NC
" It took a charge well. I put it in the morning sun for 3 days to fire up the batteries. Very pleased, viewing area slightly larger than some. I can wear my regular glasses and my safety glasses and wear a Miller LPR-100 Half Mask Respirator under my shield comfortably. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

welding helmet

,
January 17, 2015
By hobb
from Iron River,WI
" The helmet is light weight, styled nicely and it has a very comfortable fit. The lens gives a good view of the work area in all lighting conditions. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.