Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet

Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet

Item# 21306
"This solar-powered auto-darkening high-impact nylon welding helmet is ideal for all welding applications and designed to meet the most demanding requirements at one incredible price. A large 3.86in. x 1.73in. viewing area makes it ideal for seeing more of the workpiece at once. A lightning fast 1/25,000-second switch time automatically darkens the lens the instant you start welding. Meets ANSI and CSA standards for safety. Auto Darkening Yes, Adjustable Fit Yes, Low Battery Indicator No, Variable Shades 9-13, UV/IR Coated Lens Yes, Battery Included Yes, non-replaceable, Welding Processes MIG, Arc, Flux, TIG, View Area W x H in. 3 7/8 x 1 3/4, Switch time sec. 1/25,000, Adjustable Sensitivity Yes, Power Supply Solar, CSE/CE Standard Yes, Product Type Welding helmet, ANSI Approved Yes. Solar-powered auto-darkening lens eliminates the need to replace batteries Features shade 9-13 adjustment conveniently located on outside of helmet, allowing user to adjust without removing helmet Comfortable 5-Point adjustable ratcheting headgear with replaceable sweatband Constructed of sturdy and durable high-impact nylon Striking and stylish flame design on a black helmet Includes 2 arc sensors for auto-darkening Meets ANSI Z87.1 , CSA Z94.3 and CE EN379 standards Includes solar powered rechargeable battery Compatible for use with hard hat using hard hat adapter #26435 sold separately"
Average Customer Rating:
4.759 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(531 Reviews) 531
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (531 reviews)
5 stars
427
4 stars
90
3 stars
8
2 stars
2
1 star
4
524 of 531(99%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 38 Answers
Customer Reviews for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Review 1 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works well

,
February 27, 2015
By Ozbow
from Santa Ana CA
" Interesting concept and it worked well for me. It is light weight and comfortable. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can't beat it for the price!

,
February 12, 2015
By Telfair
from Beaufort, SC
" I have only used this helmet a few times but it worked great! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Welding Helmet

,
February 9, 2015
By pj035
from Granby, CT
" Does the job and for the right price. I wish that the lens was more adjustable. It seems to dark i some conditions. For occasional use for home projects, it's good quality at the right price point. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Helmet

,
February 9, 2015
By Gans
from Sullivan County, NY
" I like the helmet but the adjustments are a little flimsy. It works well and darkens great.
For the price though, you can't go wrong.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

1st time and loved

,
February 7, 2015
By firsttimer49
from Collierville, TN
" I have never welded before today. The helmet worked great. Could see fine before striking arc at which time it immediately went dark. Started with darkest setting and gradually lightened until I started to get a residual blue dot in my sight then darkened up a half step and it worked great. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

no battery

,
February 2, 2015
By jeerk1
from florida
" No battery needed was a biggie for me because I do not use this helmet every day it has preformed better than expected, that is why I bought both of my 18 yr. old twin boys there own, they kept taking mine! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bargain Helmet

,
February 1, 2015
By sporster80
from Staunton,Va
" I only weld once in a while but I wanted a new helmet that was automatic but not a"fortune" .This helmet was the bargain I was looking for and works perfectly . I don't think the one I borrowed from a friend worked any better and he paid much more for his "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome value

,
February 1, 2015
By johnny1a
from belding,mi
" very good quality,functions and adjusts well,
I highly recommend
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works well, comfortable, a larger viewing area

,
January 28, 2015
By bt60
from Winston Salem NC
" It took a charge well. I put it in the morning sun for 3 days to fire up the batteries. Very pleased, viewing area slightly larger than some. I can wear my regular glasses and my safety glasses and wear a Miller LPR-100 Half Mask Respirator under my shield comfortably. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

welding helmet

,
January 17, 2015
By hobb
from Iron River,WI
" The helmet is light weight, styled nicely and it has a very comfortable fit. The lens gives a good view of the work area in all lighting conditions. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really Nice piece!!

,
January 7, 2015
By DaddyRick
from North Texas
" I was plesently surprised at the quality of this helmet. Adjustable to a perfect fit, solor powered, NO Batteries!! Plus it just feels like a more expensive helmet than it cost. If you're within $10.-$15.00 between this one and another choice elsewhere, BUY THIS ONE!! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

auto darkening welding helmet

,
January 3, 2015
By skuhaneck666
from pennsylvania,in the woods
" Excelllent ! If I ever have to get another , I'll buy this one again!! Best buy I've come across in a long time. Is light, looks good,and works better than expected! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great!

,
December 26, 2014
By Mikeb60
from Madison, WI
" works as I would have hoped, it is very nice to not be flipping the welding helmet up and down to weld things now. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Welding helmet.

,
December 26, 2014
By BillyF
from San Antonio, Tx
" Good helmet and does the job. After using it for some time and adjuting the tightness - then loosening it to take the helmet off, the headband seems to twist to one side. But works great. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Prices

,
December 25, 2014
By jan1947
from Ruby, Va
" Helmet is outstanding. You can see where to start welding without rising helmet then lowering like other helmets. As you start welding it turns darker.
I would highly recommend this helmet.
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works just fine

,
December 10, 2014
By k3uod
from Maryland
" I'm teaching myself to weld. My previous experiencewas a short bead I did in Junior High metal shop over 50 years ago. I recall how difficult it was to strike the arc where I wanted it back then using an old fashioned helmet. This produce solved that problem very nicely. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value, works well

,
December 10, 2014
By Supersix
from Tampa FL
" Comfortable, easy to adjust. Seems to work well, instructions could be a bit more clear. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great deal

,
December 8, 2014
By Grampshurst
from Blanding, Utah
" a nice tool for a very low price. Haven't had much use yet but it looks to be as good as my last helmet that i paid three times as much for at the local welders supply. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far, so good

,
December 4, 2014
By Beeto
from Kansas
" I have only owned this helmet a few weeks, but so far it has worked very well. The auto-darkening feature works just as advertised. The price is right- great value. I bought another one for a gift. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good helmet

,
December 4, 2014
By Mrbeer
from Daleville Pa
" This is an excellent welding helmet for the home handyman. I can finally see what I am welding. It really helps me strike an arc. A little too light weight for a pro but great for home use. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.