Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet

Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet

Item# 21306
"This solar-powered auto-darkening high-impact nylon welding helmet is ideal for all welding applications and designed to meet the most demanding requirements at one incredible price. A large 3.86in. x 1.73in. viewing area makes it ideal for seeing more of the workpiece at once. A lightning fast 1/25,000-second switch time automatically darkens the lens the instant you start welding. Meets ANSI and CSA standards for safety. Auto Darkening Yes, Arc Sensor qty. 2, CSE/CE Standard Yes, Grind Mode No, Power Supply Solar, ANSI Approved Yes, UV/IR Coated Lens Yes, Product Type Welding helmet, Low Battery Indicator No, Adjustable Fit Yes, Variable Shades 9-13, Switch time sec. 1/25,000, Adjustable Sensitivity Yes, View Area W x H in. 3 7/8 x 1 3/4, Battery Included Yes, non-replaceable, Welding Processes MIG, Arc, Flux, TIG. Solar-powered auto-darkening lens eliminates the need to replace batteries Features shade 9-13 adjustment conveniently located on outside of helmet, allowing user to adjust without removing helmet Comfortable 5-Point adjustable ratcheting headgear with replaceable sweatband Constructed of sturdy and durable high-impact nylon Striking and stylish flame design on a black helmet Includes 2 arc sensors for auto-darkening Meets ANSI Z87.1 , CSA Z94.3 and CE EN379 standards Includes solar powered rechargeable battery Compatible for use with hard hat using hard hat adapter #26435 sold separately Not related to WELBILT products of Enodis companies"
Average Customer Rating:
4.741 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(575 Reviews) 575
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (575 reviews)
5 stars
456
4 stars
101
3 stars
11
2 stars
2
1 star
5
567 of 575(99%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 47 Answers
Customer Reviews for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Review 1 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent value for the home welder

,
January 30, 2016
By
from Houston, TX
I once borrowed one of these helmets from a friend and bought one for myself without hesitation. For the homeowner who does occasional welding, this helmet does the job. It darkens reliably, allows you to adjust brightness and is comfortable. Only if I were making a living through welding would I see the need for something more rugged.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet

,
January 25, 2016
By
from SoMD
Works Great for me. My Second Helmet and it works just as good as the one I had paid more for from the welding shop..
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great Entry Level Hood

,
January 12, 2016
By
from Connecticut
Purchased this entry level AD hood to go with the Hobart 140 I bought my son who is a HS welding student. He has a $200+ Hobart hood he wears at school but needed something at home to use on his new machine. For an entry level helment it works fantastic. Wouldn't want to wear it for 8+ hour days but for general home use it meets all our needs. Auto darkening works flawlessly and provides great protection. Would recommend to anyone looking for a budget helment that has all the features of the some more expensive hoods. Perfect for the general handyman, hobbyist or weekend warrior.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Must have

,
January 10, 2016
By
from Ky
This is a must have. No more flipping a hood down and guessing where you are striking an arc. I love it.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great value Welding Helmet

,
January 7, 2016
By
from Minnesota, west metro
It's hard to beat the quality for this price. These helmets make using auto-darkening technology possible in my shop since they're affordable. They can take a pretty good beating, too. If they do break, we're not out much money, either. The auto-darkening feature makes welding safer, too.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good starter Helmet

,
January 5, 2016
By
from New Orleans
This is all you need for light use. Auto darkening is great. I would have given 4 stars except my head band broke the first time I put it on. Thankfully a call to Northern customer service was quick and easy. They offered to replace the whole helmet or send a replacement head band. I chose the ladder and it was an easy repair.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Auto Darkening Welding Helmet

,
January 5, 2016
By
from Charlotte NC
This helmet works as well as the more expensive ones! No problems with arc flash and wears well. Good buy for the price!
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

welding helmet

,
December 31, 2015
By
from Cedar City, Ut
Great product, great price, just the product I Was looking for. Very pleased with purchase!!
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

autodarkening helmet

,
December 30, 2015
By
from Greece NY
This product work very well It take a little getting use to the auto-darkening feature but it aids in welding process by allowing the worker to instantly see clearly the work without having to take helmut off.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

welding helmet

,
December 28, 2015
By
from metro Atlanta
Great helmet!! and a really good price. The Auto darkening feature works perfect.Also just as important, Northern carries replacement lens at a good price.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellant Helmet

,
December 10, 2015
By
from Chesapeake VA.
I have used two other helmets previously.
This one fits better and works Great
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Product

,
December 5, 2015
By
from Tulsa,OK
Lightweight, could use a better sweatband but works well for the everyday user or occasional hobbyist. would recommend to others.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this Helmet!

,
December 4, 2015
By
from Omaha, NE
Boy, does it work great! I'm a beginning welder, and had never actually used a welding helmet before. The helmet has a dial for shades which is easy to set, and when they state in the manual that it takes 1/25,000 for the shade to darken, boy, they weren't lying! First time I used this I thought someone had punched out the lights :)
Love the helmet!
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

welding helmet

,
November 19, 2015
By
from ohio
this is one fine welding helmet. used it the minute i got it.the lense adjustment knob is terrific . the price is perfect . would recommend this to anyone who needs a great helmet.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Great

,
November 5, 2015
By
from Baltimore, MD
Comfortable and works exactly as expected. Always something to weld around the farm and this was my first auto-darkening helmet. Makes it a lot easier to strike a good arc.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Helmet

,
October 22, 2015
By
from TN
Works as good as the name brand ones and lighter. I ordered another one to leave with another welder.
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Welding mask

,
October 13, 2015
By
from Pinellas County, Fl
The mask auto darkened every time without fail. There are two issues that I had with the mask.
First, the sweat band, head band is made out of plastic. On the left side there is a small nub that locks the band to the helmet. This nub did not secure the band to the helmet and I had to tape it.
Second, the plastic internal protective covering became scratched after the second use. I have no idea why but the only difference was I was wearing a ball cap the second time and that is when the screen became scratched.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Weekend Handyman

,
October 12, 2015
By
from OR
I have used this welding helmet for one large project. I like the variable darkness feature. The lens darkens very quickly when the arc starts. The lens takes a bit longer to lighten when the arc stops than my old helmet, but is OK once I got used to it. It is a comfortable helmet to wear.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Variable Auto Shade Auto Tint Welding Helmut

,
October 6, 2015
By
from Seabeck, WA
Shipped promptly.
Works great.
the adjustments on the size of the helmut work very well.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome

,
October 3, 2015
By
from Hazel Green, AL
Awesome helmet. Great price and great quality. Would recommend to anyone.
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.