Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet

Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet

Item# 21306
"This solar-powered auto-darkening high-impact nylon welding helmet is ideal for all welding applications and designed to meet the most demanding requirements at one incredible price. A large 3.86in. x 1.73in. viewing area makes it ideal for seeing more of the workpiece at once. A lightning fast 1/25,000-second switch time automatically darkens the lens the instant you start welding. Meets ANSI and CSA standards for safety. Auto Darkening Yes, Adjustable Fit Yes, CSE/CE Standard Yes, ANSI Approved Yes, UV/IR Coated Lens Yes, Low Battery Indicator No, Power Supply Solar, Product Type Welding helmet, Switch time sec. 1/25,000, Adjustable Sensitivity Yes, Welding Processes MIG, Arc, Flux, TIG, View Area W x H in. 3 7/8 x 1 3/4, Variable Shades 9-13, Battery Included Yes, non-replaceable. Solar-powered auto-darkening lens eliminates the need to replace batteries Features shade 9-13 adjustment conveniently located on outside of helmet, allowing user to adjust without removing helmet Comfortable 5-Point adjustable ratcheting headgear with replaceable sweatband Constructed of sturdy and durable high-impact nylon Striking and stylish flame design on a black helmet Includes 2 arc sensors for auto-darkening Meets ANSI Z87.1 , CSA Z94.3 and CE EN379 standards Includes solar powered rechargeable battery Compatible for use with hard hat using hard hat adapter #26435 sold separately"
Average Customer Rating:
4.746 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(550 Reviews) 550
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (550 reviews)
5 stars
438
4 stars
96
3 stars
9
2 stars
2
1 star
5
542 of 550(99%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 40 Answers
Customer Reviews for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Review 1 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Variable shade, Auto darkening, Welding helmet

,
June 24, 2015
By studebakersareus
from Washington State
" Purchased for home use and for the price you could not ask for a better product. It does exactly as what it is advertised to do. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

helmet

,
June 15, 2015
By bnfde
from delaware
" very nice helmet. darkness is fully adjustable and works great . for the money it is one of the better ones out there. would recommend to any welder"s out there "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Welding hood

,
June 5, 2015
By Jgowan
from Phoenix,AZ
" Excellent product. No batteries needed, with the solar technology, low cost and works just as good if not better than the high dollar hoods. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

OK

,
June 4, 2015
By hrdrk
from ny
" had to figure out how it worked and learn the adjustments but after my eyes stopped burning I got it right "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

welding helmet

,
June 1, 2015
By kelcom
from Poconos
" Used while Mig welding, works really good.no battery feature is great. adjusting strap needs work, keep coming undone, kinda get aggravating at times, but for the price and how much I weld, ill make do.. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great helmet for the price

,
May 19, 2015
By Bigdaddy6344
from Birmingham Al.
" This helmet looks good and works great. The adjustment needs more movement to keep your face from being so close to the glass. otherwise i would have given 5 stars. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good quality

,
May 15, 2015
By jater25
from Ridgecrest, CA
" Auto-shading is good. Good adjustable fit.
Problem is that it keeps face too close to the lens.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too Dark

,
May 10, 2015
By POHandyman
from Oklahoma City, OK
" I purchased a new Hobart 140, and this welding helmet. Today is the first time I have used them. I love the Welder, but this helmet, I will be returning. It is great with the auto dark feature, however, it darkens your work project too much, all you can see is the spark of the welder, you cannot see the actual project, nor how your weld is puddling, cant see the where you are actually welding. What good is a auto darkening helmet that darkens so much you cant see the project, your weld, the puddle, etc. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

My first auto-darkening welding helmet

,
April 25, 2015
By miner409er
from ocean city nj
" As an entry level helmet it had features above the expected. Like the ability to not only adjust to your head, but to adjust the up and down location of the viewing plate. The only downside is when using a drop light the auto-darkening activates if the light is too close to your work. Very good helmet. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

welding hood

,
April 22, 2015
By ajung4542
from Norwich, ND
" I can't give 5 stars, everything can be improved, but I like it. It work like its intended to, and takes. I like that there is adjustment on the darkness of it. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Owner

,
April 9, 2015
By Gundeals
from Trenton, NJ
" Great helmet for a great price. Can't ask for more.
Thanks,
Lee
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

welding helment

,
April 8, 2015
By sandbug
from ararat nc
" I
got this for my husband he loved it he like it was solar and when he went to use it was ready nice looking with stripe to hold it on your head that was ajustable great product
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

FAST ACTING

,
April 6, 2015
By SINGLESHOT
from MISSISSIPPI
" THIS HELMET IS VERY SENSITIVE TO LIGHT FLASHES FROM ANY SOURCE. THE REFLECTION FROM MY CELL PHONE SCREEN IS ENOUGH TO CAUSE IT TO DARKEN. THIS SENSITIVITY IS A PLUS IN MY OPINION. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Helmet!

,
March 19, 2015
By Wigi
from South Carolina
" Nice product, works great. I would have given 5 stars if the viewing area was a little larger, but if you're like me the price was right and it does a great job! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great bang for the buck

,
March 15, 2015
By flatheadind
from Greenville, SC
" This is a great product for the price. One can easily spend a lot more for a comparable product. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what I needed

,
March 14, 2015
By tannie20
from Andover, MN
" This is just what I needed for the occasional welding that I do. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well

,
March 12, 2015
By Jim9640
from Lincoln, Vt
" This helmet works very well but it isn't as rugged as others I've used. A good one-owner or homeowner helmet. I let a first-time welding student use it, not expecting a comment, and he said, "I love this helmet!" 'Nuf said! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

AWESOME

,
March 9, 2015
By RickRenee
from IA
" This is a great helment for the price,I use it quite often and no probs with it, I just do lite welding and works great..would want my friends to have one..
Rick "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet

,
March 7, 2015
By Anonymous
from Athens GA
" Excellent price/value ratio. This is a quality product which surpassed my expectation. Product works as advertised with a great field of view when welding "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works well

,
February 27, 2015
By Ozbow
from Santa Ana CA
" Interesting concept and it worked well for me. It is light weight and comfortable. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.