Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet

Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet

Item# 21306
"This solar-powered auto-darkening high-impact nylon welding helmet is ideal for all welding applications and designed to meet the most demanding requirements at one incredible price. A large 3.86in. x 1.73in. viewing area makes it ideal for seeing more of the workpiece at once. A lightning fast 1/25,000-second switch time automatically darkens the lens the instant you start welding. Meets ANSI and CSA standards for safety. Arc Sensor qty. 2, Auto Darkening Yes, CSE/CE Standard Yes, Grind Mode No, Product Type Welding helmet, Low Battery Indicator No, Power Supply Solar, ANSI Approved Yes, UV/IR Coated Lens Yes, Adjustable Fit Yes, Variable Shades 9-13, Switch time sec. 1/25,000, Adjustable Sensitivity Yes, View Area W x H in. 3 7/8 x 1 3/4, Battery Included Yes, non-replaceable, Welding Processes MIG, Arc, Flux, TIG. Solar-powered auto-darkening lens eliminates the need to replace batteries Features shade 9-13 adjustment conveniently located on outside of helmet, allowing user to adjust without removing helmet Comfortable 5-Point adjustable ratcheting headgear with replaceable sweatband Constructed of sturdy and durable high-impact nylon Striking and stylish flame design on a black helmet Includes 2 arc sensors for auto-darkening Meets ANSI Z87.1 , CSA Z94.3 and CE EN379 standards Includes solar powered rechargeable battery Compatible for use with hard hat using hard hat adapter #26435 sold separately Not related to WELBILT products of Enodis companies"
Average Customer Rating:
4.862 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (29 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
29 of 29(100%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 47 Answers
Customer Reviews for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Review 21 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

NI Solar-powered Auto Darkening Welding Helmet

,
April 18, 2008
By
from THE VILLAGES FL
Looks are good. The fit is good and worked great. Don't think you can beat it for the price. Good quality and well worth the money.
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Ind. Solar-Power Auto-Darkening Welding H

,
April 15, 2008
By
from Lucasville, OH
This is the first auto darkening helmet I've had, and I gave it 5 stars because I don't know how it could be any better. It is so much easer to start welding when you can see where to start. Also the helmet seems to be of excellent quality. I recommend this helmet to all my welding freinds.
Virg
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

northern industrial auto darkening welding shield

,
April 14, 2008
By
from canada
I am a professional welder of forty-four years and find this to be an exceptional
value. It works very well and the lense shade adjustment is in a very handy position to reach and adjust while welding. The helmet is compfortable and lightweight The auto darkening works very well.Although I use this at home in the garage and not on my job I would strongly recommend this product for the home welder or handyman..
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Industrial Solar-Powered Auto-Darkening W

,
April 14, 2008
By
from Lipan, Tx
This helmet works great. Very light, easy on the neck. Auto darkening works flawlessly. Great price too.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Industrial solar powered welding helmet

,
July 10, 2007
By
from Burbank, Il
I give this helmet 5 stars. I like the fact that you don't have to keep raising the helmet up to see what you are doing. With the helmet down you can see to line things up and also see where the welding rod is before it starts its arc. I also like the way the lens will darken the instant the arc starts. This helmet has made welding a much easier task for a novice like me. Definately worth the money.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

N.I. Solar-Powered Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet

,
July 9, 2007
By
from Utah
Great Auto Welding Helmet. Best I have used for the money. Equal to other helmets costing 3 or 4 times as much
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Northern Industrial Solar-Powered Auto-Darkening W

,
July 9, 2007
By
from Gainesville, Ga
This is a great helmet, it works great and last longer than most of the more expensive helmets. It has lot of adjustments for comfort. I will be using this helmet for all my welding needs from now on. 5 stars!!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this Helmet

,
June 24, 2007
By
from Lusby, MD
I highly recommend Northern's Auto darkening helmet, Item# 1649902. Adjustable darkness from 9 to 13, low/high sensitivity and slow/fast reaction speeds allow me to easily adapt to my welding environment's ambient light levels. With Sharp looks, an extra Lens, and comfortable fit, this helmet is worth much more than Northern charges.
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOW COST WELDING HELMET

,
March 7, 2007
By
from PA
I NEVER USED 1 OF THOSE HIGH $ AUTO-DARKENING WELDING HELMETS, BUT I DON'T SEE WHAT COULD POSSIBLY BE BETTER ABOUT THEM THAN NORTHERN INDUSTRIES TECMEN SOLAR-POWERED AUTO-DARKENING WELDING HELMET. I THINK IT IS GREAT!
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Reviews 21-29 of 29