Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet

Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet

Item# 21306
"This solar-powered auto-darkening high-impact nylon welding helmet is ideal for all welding applications and designed to meet the most demanding requirements at one incredible price. A large 3.86in. x 1.73in. viewing area makes it ideal for seeing more of the workpiece at once. A lightning fast 1/25,000-second switch time automatically darkens the lens the instant you start welding. Meets ANSI and CSA standards for safety. Auto Darkening Yes, Adjustable Fit Yes, Low Battery Indicator No, Variable Shades 9-13, UV/IR Coated Lens Yes, Battery Included Yes, non-replaceable, Welding Processes MIG, Arc, Flux, TIG, View Area W x H in. 3 7/8 x 1 3/4, Switch time sec. 1/25,000, Adjustable Sensitivity Yes, Power Supply Solar, CSE/CE Standard Yes, Product Type Welding helmet, ANSI Approved Yes. Solar-powered auto-darkening lens eliminates the need to replace batteries Features shade 9-13 adjustment conveniently located on outside of helmet, allowing user to adjust without removing helmet Comfortable 5-Point adjustable ratcheting headgear with replaceable sweatband Constructed of sturdy and durable high-impact nylon Striking and stylish flame design on a black helmet Includes 2 arc sensors for auto-darkening Meets ANSI Z87.1 , CSA Z94.3 and CE EN379 standards Includes solar powered rechargeable battery Compatible for use with hard hat using hard hat adapter #26435 sold separately"
Average Customer Rating:
4.759 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(531 Reviews) 531
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (531 reviews)
5 stars
427
4 stars
90
3 stars
8
2 stars
2
1 star
4
524 of 531(99%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 38 Answers
Customer Reviews for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Review 21 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far so good

,
December 3, 2014
By Sawman269
from Niles MI
" After a few weeks of use, i have nothing bad to say. Time will tell. This has great reviews and was less expensive than the HF helmet i was looking at. It's fairly comfortable, has adjustable darkening settings, came with an extra lens. Works good for me "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing equipment for a great price

,
December 2, 2014
By Alton54
from Jayess,Ms.
" I purchased this to avoid flashing my eyes while starting a weld with my mig welder. I was skeptical at first, but it really works well.I have a good clear view of electrode ( wire placement) and the lense darkens instantly as the arc is struck and welding commences.I would definately recommend this product fer any home workshop;. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Welder Hood

,
November 21, 2014
By djfjeepers
from oregon
" Works Great with a good price, it is a starter hood for my son who is in FFA. Light weight and fits him good. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works as advertised

,
November 19, 2014
By ArkansasHobbyist
from North Central, Arkansas
" I haven't had this for long, but it works great. The auto-darkening feature is perfect. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

welbilt welding hood

,
November 16, 2014
By k220marc
from knoxville tn
" everything you could ask for at a good price. adjusts for a good fit too. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

a great value

,
November 13, 2014
By DaveLV
from Vermont
" Son and I were learning to weld. Had no luck with the school's always dark helmets. Bought two of these, the price was great. The helmets work perfectly. We did much better with the auto darkening helmets. Being able to set up the work without worrying wear the helmet was made it a lot easier "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Hood for the money

,
October 30, 2014
By Radarak
from Chugaik AK
" It showed up quick which is a plus in Alaska and work great so far. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good quality and function

,
October 29, 2014
By Vog86
from Harrisburg, SD
" All around good product and couldn't beat the price "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great

,
October 29, 2014
By p112
from nm
" Works great !! Also most of all great price. All around a great product ! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great helment for the price

,
October 25, 2014
By mike555444
from asheville nc
" Fits great and has alot of veiwing space---i do alot of welding and this hement has greatly help with me being able to run a good beed,,,,buy one you will like it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!!!

,
October 15, 2014
By Sparky64
from Iowa
" Great Product for the price!! I have used a lot of helmets and have found this to be one of the best i have used. I would recommend this to all my coworkers and friends. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value

,
October 13, 2014
By AGR4
from Lewisville Tx
" Have had this product for almost 1 year now and have had no issues. I only use it once or twice a month but it works great. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hood for home use.

,
October 3, 2014
By tbrogdon
from Parker, Co.
" I have to say this hood works well. You can't beat the price. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good value

,
September 28, 2014
By Lodust
from Huntsville, Al
" I would recommend this hood for the money, if you want to spend more for a grinder setting you may want to.
I would buy it again, it is all it's advertised to be. Not designed for a professional welder, prefect for hobby welder.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great value

,
September 20, 2014
By JimEye
from Nebraska
" Great value for the money! Works well and price is very reasonable. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Auto dakening welding helmet

,
August 20, 2014
By Psychomotors
from Bonne Terre , Mo
" I have been kicking myself in the butt ever since I got this helmet for not buying one sooner! I can not believe the difference it has made in my welding ability. While I am no "pro", my welding has improved two fold at least. Well built product, no pun intended,lol. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Weld helmet

,
August 5, 2014
By RATCA
from California
" This welding helmet was money well spent. It works just like you would expect, fully adjustable and well made. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works very well

,
July 23, 2014
By agoodyear
from Indianapolis IN
" This welding helmet works very well, adjustable darkening, solar powered, no batteries to change, inexpensive, works great for my home jobs. would recommend this helmet "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good at the price

,
July 15, 2014
By WoodsyOwl
from California
" I am a professional wood worker and novice metal fabricator. That said, I don't do a lot of welding, but but am integrating steel into more projects all the time. This helmet seems a very good unit for the price. The auto-darkening is fast enough and the variable tint is very handy. The external dial makes it easy to adjust on the fly. The shell is a bit flimsy, and it would be nice if it came back a little farther at the top, but the headband is comfortable and secure, and the decals are not too garish. Really don' t need to look like a flaming skull while welding. No need for batteries is good. The window could be bigger, but it beats my old fixed window in size and clarity. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Helmet

,
July 13, 2014
By Barndweller
from PA
" I love this helmet. Auto darkening is fast and easily adjusted tint. Headband adjusts easily. I am a home handyman and weld only on occasion but my friend who is a welder tried it and loves it also. For the price, it cannot be beat. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.