Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet

Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet

Item# 21306
"This solar-powered auto-darkening high-impact nylon welding helmet is ideal for all welding applications and designed to meet the most demanding requirements at one incredible price. A large 3.86in. x 1.73in. viewing area makes it ideal for seeing more of the workpiece at once. A lightning fast 1/25,000-second switch time automatically darkens the lens the instant you start welding. Meets ANSI and CSA standards for safety. Auto Darkening Yes, Adjustable Fit Yes, Variable Shades 9-13, Low Battery Indicator No, Battery Included Yes, non-replaceable, UV/IR Coated Lens Yes, Welding Processes MIG, Arc, Flux, TIG, Switch time sec. 1/25,000, Adjustable Sensitivity Yes, Power Supply Solar, CSE/CE Standard Yes, ANSI Approved Yes, Product Type Welding helmet, View Area W x H in. 3 7/8 x 1 3/4. Solar-powered auto-darkening lens eliminates the need to replace batteries Features shade 9-13 adjustment conveniently located on outside of helmet, allowing user to adjust without removing helmet Comfortable 5-Point adjustable ratcheting headgear with replaceable sweatband Constructed of sturdy and durable high-impact nylon Striking and stylish flame design on a black helmet Includes 2 arc sensors for auto-darkening Meets ANSI Z87.1 , CSA Z94.3 and CE EN379 standards Includes solar powered rechargeable battery Compatible for use with hard hat using hard hat adapter #26435 sold separately"
Average Customer Rating:
4.758 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(541 Reviews) 541
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (541 reviews)
5 stars
434
4 stars
93
3 stars
8
2 stars
2
1 star
4
534 of 541(99%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 39 Answers
Customer Reviews for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Review 21 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really Nice piece!!

,
January 7, 2015
By DaddyRick
from North Texas
" I was plesently surprised at the quality of this helmet. Adjustable to a perfect fit, solor powered, NO Batteries!! Plus it just feels like a more expensive helmet than it cost. If you're within $10.-$15.00 between this one and another choice elsewhere, BUY THIS ONE!! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

auto darkening welding helmet

,
January 3, 2015
By skuhaneck666
from pennsylvania,in the woods
" Excelllent ! If I ever have to get another , I'll buy this one again!! Best buy I've come across in a long time. Is light, looks good,and works better than expected! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great!

,
December 26, 2014
By Mikeb60
from Madison, WI
" works as I would have hoped, it is very nice to not be flipping the welding helmet up and down to weld things now. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Welding helmet.

,
December 26, 2014
By BillyF
from San Antonio, Tx
" Good helmet and does the job. After using it for some time and adjuting the tightness - then loosening it to take the helmet off, the headband seems to twist to one side. But works great. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Prices

,
December 25, 2014
By jan1947
from Ruby, Va
" Helmet is outstanding. You can see where to start welding without rising helmet then lowering like other helmets. As you start welding it turns darker.
I would highly recommend this helmet.
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works just fine

,
December 10, 2014
By k3uod
from Maryland
" I'm teaching myself to weld. My previous experiencewas a short bead I did in Junior High metal shop over 50 years ago. I recall how difficult it was to strike the arc where I wanted it back then using an old fashioned helmet. This produce solved that problem very nicely. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value, works well

,
December 10, 2014
By Supersix
from Tampa FL
" Comfortable, easy to adjust. Seems to work well, instructions could be a bit more clear. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great deal

,
December 8, 2014
By Grampshurst
from Blanding, Utah
" a nice tool for a very low price. Haven't had much use yet but it looks to be as good as my last helmet that i paid three times as much for at the local welders supply. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far, so good

,
December 4, 2014
By Beeto
from Kansas
" I have only owned this helmet a few weeks, but so far it has worked very well. The auto-darkening feature works just as advertised. The price is right- great value. I bought another one for a gift. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good helmet

,
December 4, 2014
By Mrbeer
from Daleville Pa
" This is an excellent welding helmet for the home handyman. I can finally see what I am welding. It really helps me strike an arc. A little too light weight for a pro but great for home use. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far so good

,
December 3, 2014
By Sawman269
from Niles MI
" After a few weeks of use, i have nothing bad to say. Time will tell. This has great reviews and was less expensive than the HF helmet i was looking at. It's fairly comfortable, has adjustable darkening settings, came with an extra lens. Works good for me "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing equipment for a great price

,
December 2, 2014
By Alton54
from Jayess,Ms.
" I purchased this to avoid flashing my eyes while starting a weld with my mig welder. I was skeptical at first, but it really works well.I have a good clear view of electrode ( wire placement) and the lense darkens instantly as the arc is struck and welding commences.I would definately recommend this product fer any home workshop;. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Welder Hood

,
November 21, 2014
By djfjeepers
from oregon
" Works Great with a good price, it is a starter hood for my son who is in FFA. Light weight and fits him good. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works as advertised

,
November 19, 2014
By ArkansasHobbyist
from North Central, Arkansas
" I haven't had this for long, but it works great. The auto-darkening feature is perfect. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

welbilt welding hood

,
November 16, 2014
By k220marc
from knoxville tn
" everything you could ask for at a good price. adjusts for a good fit too. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

a great value

,
November 13, 2014
By DaveLV
from Vermont
" Son and I were learning to weld. Had no luck with the school's always dark helmets. Bought two of these, the price was great. The helmets work perfectly. We did much better with the auto darkening helmets. Being able to set up the work without worrying wear the helmet was made it a lot easier "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Hood for the money

,
October 30, 2014
By Radarak
from Chugaik AK
" It showed up quick which is a plus in Alaska and work great so far. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good quality and function

,
October 29, 2014
By Vog86
from Harrisburg, SD
" All around good product and couldn't beat the price "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great

,
October 29, 2014
By p112
from nm
" Works great !! Also most of all great price. All around a great product ! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great helment for the price

,
October 25, 2014
By mike555444
from asheville nc
" Fits great and has alot of veiwing space---i do alot of welding and this hement has greatly help with me being able to run a good beed,,,,buy one you will like it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.