Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet

Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet

Item# 21306
"This solar-powered auto-darkening high-impact nylon welding helmet is ideal for all welding applications and designed to meet the most demanding requirements at one incredible price. A large 3.86in. x 1.73in. viewing area makes it ideal for seeing more of the workpiece at once. A lightning fast 1/25,000-second switch time automatically darkens the lens the instant you start welding. Meets ANSI and CSA standards for safety. Auto Darkening Yes, Adjustable Fit Yes, CSE/CE Standard Yes, ANSI Approved Yes, UV/IR Coated Lens Yes, Low Battery Indicator No, Power Supply Solar, Product Type Welding helmet, Variable Shades 9-13, Switch time sec. 1/25,000, Adjustable Sensitivity Yes, Welding Processes MIG, Arc, Flux, TIG, View Area W x H in. 3 7/8 x 1 3/4, Battery Included Yes, non-replaceable. Solar-powered auto-darkening lens eliminates the need to replace batteries Features shade 9-13 adjustment conveniently located on outside of helmet, allowing user to adjust without removing helmet Comfortable 5-Point adjustable ratcheting headgear with replaceable sweatband Constructed of sturdy and durable high-impact nylon Striking and stylish flame design on a black helmet Includes 2 arc sensors for auto-darkening Meets ANSI Z87.1 , CSA Z94.3 and CE EN379 standards Includes solar powered rechargeable battery Compatible for use with hard hat using hard hat adapter #26435 sold separately"
Average Customer Rating:
4.746 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(552 Reviews) 552
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (552 reviews)
5 stars
440
4 stars
96
3 stars
9
2 stars
2
1 star
5
544 of 552(99%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 40 Answers
Customer Reviews for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Review 21 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet

,
March 7, 2015
By Anonymous
from Athens GA
" Excellent price/value ratio. This is a quality product which surpassed my expectation. Product works as advertised with a great field of view when welding "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works well

,
February 27, 2015
By Ozbow
from Santa Ana CA
" Interesting concept and it worked well for me. It is light weight and comfortable. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Can't beat it for the price!

,
February 12, 2015
By Telfair
from Beaufort, SC
" I have only used this helmet a few times but it worked great! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Welding Helmet

,
February 9, 2015
By pj035
from Granby, CT
" Does the job and for the right price. I wish that the lens was more adjustable. It seems to dark i some conditions. For occasional use for home projects, it's good quality at the right price point. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good Helmet

,
February 9, 2015
By Gans
from Sullivan County, NY
" I like the helmet but the adjustments are a little flimsy. It works well and darkens great.
For the price though, you can't go wrong.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

1st time and loved

,
February 7, 2015
By firsttimer49
from Collierville, TN
" I have never welded before today. The helmet worked great. Could see fine before striking arc at which time it immediately went dark. Started with darkest setting and gradually lightened until I started to get a residual blue dot in my sight then darkened up a half step and it worked great. "
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

no battery

,
February 2, 2015
By jeerk1
from florida
" No battery needed was a biggie for me because I do not use this helmet every day it has preformed better than expected, that is why I bought both of my 18 yr. old twin boys there own, they kept taking mine! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bargain Helmet

,
February 1, 2015
By sporster80
from Staunton,Va
" I only weld once in a while but I wanted a new helmet that was automatic but not a"fortune" .This helmet was the bargain I was looking for and works perfectly . I don't think the one I borrowed from a friend worked any better and he paid much more for his "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

awesome value

,
February 1, 2015
By johnny1a
from belding,mi
" very good quality,functions and adjusts well,
I highly recommend
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works well, comfortable, a larger viewing area

,
January 28, 2015
By bt60
from Winston Salem NC
" It took a charge well. I put it in the morning sun for 3 days to fire up the batteries. Very pleased, viewing area slightly larger than some. I can wear my regular glasses and my safety glasses and wear a Miller LPR-100 Half Mask Respirator under my shield comfortably. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

welding helmet

,
January 17, 2015
By hobb
from Iron River,WI
" The helmet is light weight, styled nicely and it has a very comfortable fit. The lens gives a good view of the work area in all lighting conditions. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Really Nice piece!!

,
January 7, 2015
By DaddyRick
from North Texas
" I was plesently surprised at the quality of this helmet. Adjustable to a perfect fit, solor powered, NO Batteries!! Plus it just feels like a more expensive helmet than it cost. If you're within $10.-$15.00 between this one and another choice elsewhere, BUY THIS ONE!! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-3points
0out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

auto darkening welding helmet

,
January 3, 2015
By skuhaneck666
from pennsylvania,in the woods
" Excelllent ! If I ever have to get another , I'll buy this one again!! Best buy I've come across in a long time. Is light, looks good,and works better than expected! "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great!

,
December 26, 2014
By Mikeb60
from Madison, WI
" works as I would have hoped, it is very nice to not be flipping the welding helmet up and down to weld things now. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Welding helmet.

,
December 26, 2014
By BillyF
from San Antonio, Tx
" Good helmet and does the job. After using it for some time and adjuting the tightness - then loosening it to take the helmet off, the headband seems to twist to one side. But works great. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Prices

,
December 25, 2014
By jan1947
from Ruby, Va
" Helmet is outstanding. You can see where to start welding without rising helmet then lowering like other helmets. As you start welding it turns darker.
I would highly recommend this helmet.
"
Describe Yourself: Total Beginner
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works just fine

,
December 10, 2014
By k3uod
from Maryland
" I'm teaching myself to weld. My previous experiencewas a short bead I did in Junior High metal shop over 50 years ago. I recall how difficult it was to strike the arc where I wanted it back then using an old fashioned helmet. This produce solved that problem very nicely. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value, works well

,
December 10, 2014
By Supersix
from Tampa FL
" Comfortable, easy to adjust. Seems to work well, instructions could be a bit more clear. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great deal

,
December 8, 2014
By Grampshurst
from Blanding, Utah
" a nice tool for a very low price. Haven't had much use yet but it looks to be as good as my last helmet that i paid three times as much for at the local welders supply. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far, so good

,
December 4, 2014
By Beeto
from Kansas
" I have only owned this helmet a few weeks, but so far it has worked very well. The auto-darkening feature works just as advertised. The price is right- great value. I bought another one for a gift. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.