Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet

Wel-Bilt Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet

Item# 21306
This solar-powered auto-darkening high-impact nylon welding helmet is ideal for all welding applications and designed to meet the most demanding requirements at one incredible price. A large 3.86in. x 1.73in. viewing area makes it ideal for seeing more of the workpiece at once. A lightning fast 1/25,000-second switch time automatically darkens the lens the instant you start welding. Meets ANSI and CSA standards for safety. Not related to WELBILT products of Enodis companies. Auto Darkening Yes, ANSI Approved Yes, Battery Included Yes, non-replaceable, Adjustable Fit Yes, Power Supply Solar, Product Type Welding helmet, UV/IR Coated Lens Yes, Variable Shades 9-13, CSE/CE Standard Yes, Low Battery Indicator No, View Area W x H in. 3 7/8 x 1 3/4, Welding Processes MIG, Arc, Flux, TIG, Switch time sec. 1/25,000, Adjustable Sensitivity No. Solar-powered auto-darkening lens eliminates the need to replace batteries Features shade 9-13 adjustment conveniently located on outside of helmet, allowing user to adjust without removing helmet Comfortable 5-Point adjustable ratcheting headgear with replaceable sweatband Constructed of sturdy and durable high-impact nylon Striking and stylish flame design on a black helmet Includes 2 arc sensors for auto-darkening Meets ANSI Z87.1 , CSA Z94.3 and CE EN379 standards Includes solar powered rechargeable battery Compatible for use with hard hat using hard hat adapter #26435 sold separately Not related to WELBILT products of Enodis companies
Average Customer Rating:
4.763 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(498 Reviews) 498
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (498 reviews)
5 stars
404
4 stars
80
3 stars
8
2 stars
2
1 star
4
491 of 498(99%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Review 1 for Wel-Bilt Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good value

,
September 28, 2014
By Lodust
from Huntsville, Al
"I would recommend this hood for the money, if you want to spend more for a grinder setting you may want to.
I would buy it again, it is all it's advertised to be. Not designed for a professional welder, prefect for hobby welder.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Wel-Bilt Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great value

,
September 20, 2014
By JimEye
from Nebraska
"Great value for the money! Works well and price is very reasonable."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Wel-Bilt Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Auto dakening welding helmet

,
August 20, 2014
By Psychomotors
from Bonne Terre , Mo
"I have been kicking myself in the butt ever since I got this helmet for not buying one sooner! I can not believe the difference it has made in my welding ability. While I am no "pro", my welding has improved two fold at least. Well built product, no pun intended,lol."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Wel-Bilt Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Weld helmet

,
August 5, 2014
By RATCA
from California
"This welding helmet was money well spent. It works just like you would expect, fully adjustable and well made."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Wel-Bilt Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works very well

,
July 23, 2014
By agoodyear
from Indianapolis IN
"This welding helmet works very well, adjustable darkening, solar powered, no batteries to change, inexpensive, works great for my home jobs. would recommend this helmet"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Wel-Bilt Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good at the price

,
July 15, 2014
By WoodsyOwl
from California
"I am a professional wood worker and novice metal fabricator. That said, I don't do a lot of welding, but but am integrating steel into more projects all the time. This helmet seems a very good unit for the price. The auto-darkening is fast enough and the variable tint is very handy. The external dial makes it easy to adjust on the fly. The shell is a bit flimsy, and it would be nice if it came back a little farther at the top, but the headband is comfortable and secure, and the decals are not too garish. Really don' t need to look like a flaming skull while welding. No need for batteries is good. The window could be bigger, but it beats my old fixed window in size and clarity."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Wel-Bilt Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Helmet

,
July 13, 2014
By Barndweller
from PA
"I love this helmet. Auto darkening is fast and easily adjusted tint. Headband adjusts easily. I am a home handyman and weld only on occasion but my friend who is a welder tried it and loves it also. For the price, it cannot be beat."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Wel-Bilt Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

self-darkening welding helmet

,
July 12, 2014
By Rammey
from Prescott
"Worked fine right out of the box. Fits large head (7-3/4) fine. Probably not sturdy enough for a professional welder, but okay for DIYers. Adjustments for size holds the setting. Had no problem with the helmet slipping on my head."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Wel-Bilt Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

HOME OWNER

,
July 2, 2014
By GREEGREE
from greerparts@hotmail.com
"GREAT PRODUCT FOR THE PRICE. I CHECKED OTHER PLACES AND TO GET THE SAME QUALITY THE COST WAS TOO MUCH FOR HOME USE. IT IS VERY ADJUSTABLE IN ALL ASPECTS AND EASY TO USE AND ADJUST. I WOULD RECOMMED IT TO ANYONE USING A WELDER."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Wel-Bilt Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

auto-dark helmet

,
July 2, 2014
By JackNJ
from NJ
"Great response times. No hints of flashing. Being able to see the work, steady the stick and start the arc with two hands on the stickholder makes it easier to produce a nice-looking weld. The variable auto-dark feature is a definite improvement over fixed auto-dark helmets. I also found that in its undarkened state, the auto-dark glass is dark enough for most mapp or acetylene work if the two small flash detectors are covered with tape --- just don't forget to remove the tape for electric work. Jack E/NJ"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Wel-Bilt Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Extremely please, but I am a light duty welder

,
June 13, 2014
By Creedo14
from Harrisburg, PA
"I am only a weekend welder so I haven't really put the helmet threw extreme conditions. However, I think the quality and functionality of this helmet are very good. I am very pleased with the performance. It suits me fine and a I would think it would suit someone who welds more often than I do."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Wel-Bilt Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

trailers

,
June 6, 2014
By Trailers
from Nappanee IN
"This is a great product. It's light weight, and comfortable, and the auto darking is great. have no complaints."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Wel-Bilt Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great for handyman

,
June 4, 2014
By rickcee
from NH
"I thought auto darkening helmets would be more expensive. For the price, this is the only way to go. Fully adjustable and works great."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Wel-Bilt Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Satisfied!

,
June 4, 2014
By DDC47
from Claremont, NH
"Very good helmet for the money. When you hit the arc, it darkens up the way it is supposed to. Also is very comfortable."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Wel-Bilt Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Welding helmet

,
May 31, 2014
By BigAl444
from Brainerd, MN
"This helmet is cheaply made but for the price that's what I expected. It may feel and look a little cheap but everything functions perfectly so I would still buy it again."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Wel-Bilt Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

shop supervisor

,
May 28, 2014
By dkim
from coalville,ut.
"we purchased one previous and liked it so much we had to get another one. the product preforms very well and is comfortable to use."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Wel-Bilt Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

It Works

,
May 8, 2014
By Mathiass
from Texas
"Never owned a welding mask before this one. Seems comfortable enough and works fine. My only complaint would be that when I raise it up, it doesn't really stay up unless I lean my head back. But that isn't a big deal considering this is a budget item."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Wel-Bilt Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT DEAL

,
May 1, 2014
By kingkong0315
from TX
"WAS A LITTLE LEARY OF THIS HOOD DUE TO PRICE...APPEARED TO BE TO GOOD TO BE TRUE...BUT I TOOK A CHANCE....AFTER USING THE WELDING HOOD I COULD NOT TELL THE DIFF FROM THE NEW HOOD TO MY OLDER AND 4 TIMES FOR EXPENSIVE ONE... LOVE IT"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Wel-Bilt Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Purchased with Hobart Handler 140

,
March 18, 2014
By pmgunner
from Central Pa.
"Instantly darkens and stays in place on head. Highly recommend especially for the price."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Wel-Bilt Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

better than expected for the price!!

,
February 5, 2014
By hfdpyle
from Houston, tx
"I gifted this helmet to my father in law, who has been a jack of all trades for all his life. He has really raved about this helmet from the comfort to the instant darkening. He says there is even room for him to wear his prescription glasses while wearing his helmet. I feel pretty good about his Christmas gift this year."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.