Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet

Wel-Bilt Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet

Item# 21306
This solar-powered auto-darkening high-impact nylon welding helmet is ideal for all welding applications and designed to meet the most demanding requirements at one incredible price. A large 3.86in. x 1.73in. viewing area makes it ideal for seeing more of the workpiece at once. A lightning fast 1/25,000-second switch time automatically darkens the lens the instant you start welding. Meets ANSI and CSA standards for safety. Not related to WELBILT products of Enodis companies. Battery Included Yes, non-replaceable, Welding Processes MIG, Arc, Flux, TIG, Product Type Welding helmet, View Area W x H in. 3 7/8 x 1 3/4, Adjustable Sensitivity No, Variable Shades 9-13, UV/IR Coated Lens Yes, ANSI Approved Yes, Low Battery Indicator No, Auto Darkening Yes, Switch time sec. 1/25,000, CSE/CE Standard Yes, Power Supply Solar, Adjustable Fit Yes. Solar-powered auto-darkening lens eliminates the need to replace batteries Features shade 9-13 adjustment conveniently located on outside of helmet, allowing user to adjust without removing helmet Comfortable 5-Point adjustable ratcheting headgear with replaceable sweatband Constructed of sturdy and durable high-impact nylon Striking and stylish flame design on a black helmet Includes 2 arc sensors for auto-darkening Meets ANSI Z87.1 , CSA Z94.3 and CE EN379 standards Includes solar powered rechargeable battery Compatible for use with hard hat using hard hat adapter #26435 sold separately Not related to WELBILT products of Enodis companies
Average Customer Rating:
4.765 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(481 Reviews) 481
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (481 reviews)
5 stars
392
4 stars
75
3 stars
8
2 stars
2
1 star
4
474 of 481(99%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Review 21 for Wel-Bilt Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Deal

,
February 4, 2014
By TheSea
from TX
"Great helmet. Good adjustments and response. Would recommend for small welding projects."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Wel-Bilt Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product

,
February 4, 2014
By Partimer2
from Wright City, OK
"I have been welding on and off for around 10 yrs and really like this Welding hood. You definitely cannot beat the price for this quality of product. i have thoroughly enjoyed not having to raise the hood everytime i have to make an adjustment. I have not had it long enough to testify to the longevity but so far, it has been great."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Wel-Bilt Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Helmet. Great Price

,
January 21, 2014
By AnyNameITryHasBeenTaken
from Princeton, MN
"I'm no great welder by any stretch. This helmet makes it a lot easier than my old non-darkening helmet. I can see my work before I strike the arc so it's a lot easier to not get the stick stuck. I have a small 110V stick welder which works but isn't the greatest. This helmet makes it a lot easier and it darkens so quickly I never see any flash."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Wel-Bilt Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value Helmet

,
September 17, 2013
By Delano79
from Gravette, AR
"I've hat this helmet for a couple of years now and I'm very happy with it. It has the features of helmets costing 3 times as much and is just as good in my opinion. When or if this one breaks or gives out, I would definitely consider buying another one just like it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Wel-Bilt Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very happy after using the welding helmet

,
September 17, 2013
By 1998JeepTJ
from Salisbury Ma
"I purchased this to do some fabrication and repair on my Jeep Wrangler. I was tired of having to lift the helmet to see while I had my head wedged under the Jeep. This is my first auto-darkening helmet and I was surprised how much easier it is to weld. You never see the arc, the helmet just goes dark and you can see the weld pool. The adjustment for helmet fit works well and locks in place so it doesn't loosen up. The pivot tension is also adjustable so you can get just the right resistance. The helmet fits your head well allowing you to weld in tight places without the helmet getting in the way.
I'd recommend this to anyone who wants a good quality helmet without spending a fortune.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+5points
12out of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Wel-Bilt Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Helmet

,
September 17, 2013
By NT43
from Palmyra Maine
"I have been stick welding for years and recently got a MIG as I repair lawn tractors and to weld the decks you need a MIG, with the old helmet there were a lot of problems with positioning, this helmet is great as it saves time and material and allows me to use both hands for welding.
The adjustment for the lens is also great as I have some problems with seeing, also this helmet is much lighter then my old one.
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Wel-Bilt Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Welding Helmet

,
September 17, 2013
By bigsparky
from Ogdensburg NY
"Very good product. Light weight and fast responce time. Should have had one of these helmets years ago. Saves time and lets you weld better , great product."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Wel-Bilt Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great helmet

,
July 12, 2013
By goaticus
from Fortuna, CA
"You can't beat this for the price and auto helmets are great help for rookies. The best part is, the lame stickers come off VERY easily."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Wel-Bilt Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Still holding up

,
May 7, 2013
By SumthinWikid
from MN
"This hood has been one of the best I have used. The only problem that I have with it, as I do with most auto-darkening hoods, is that the lens with "flash" from dark to light in certain light situations. This only causes a problem when I am welding inside a container or underneath a chassis. Other than that minor problem, there is absolutely nothing bad to say about this product. When and if this hood finally goes to the welding gods, I certainly plan on buying another just like it."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Wel-Bilt Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Does what it is suppose too

,
April 27, 2013
By Stanprophet
from Hampton VA
"Based on the reviews I decided to give this helmet a try and I am no disappointed. Works great."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Wel-Bilt Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Product

,
April 24, 2013
By Timetoupgrade
from Minnesota
"I do not weld very often but had a project to do. Still a had the old style flip down type. Thought for the money this was worth taking a chance on. Worked great."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Wel-Bilt Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Supertastic

,
April 24, 2013
By san4d0402
from Wilder, Id.
"I received the product fully secure is packaging. Product performs as described in survey. Would recommend to all looking for an affordable and reliable helmet to get the job done."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Wel-Bilt Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great

,
April 24, 2013
By CatHerder
from Northern New Mexico
"Works great, I have not been flashed. The silly designs are stickers, they come right off. The only problem is that occasionally, when I have lifted it up, it tends to fall back on my face on its own. For the price that I paid for it that's not that big of a problem."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Wel-Bilt Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

works fine

,
April 24, 2013
By Ed66
from South Louisiana
"was received in a timely manner and works as expected-no problems"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Wel-Bilt Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Auto Welding Helmet

,
April 23, 2013
By BOBMAN
from Broadway NC
"I'm used to the old helmets flip up down up down. I couldn't be happier with this one. If they all work like this one why spend the extra bucks. Works good enough for me."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Wel-Bilt Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

WEL-BUILT SELF DARKENING WELDING SHIELD

,
April 23, 2013
By JW226488
from PHENIX CITY, AL.
"I BOUGHT 1 OF THESE HELMENTS ABOUT 5 YRS. AGO WHEN THEY WERE ON SALE. AFTER USING IT FOR AWHILE I STOPPED IN AT THE MACON, GA. STORE AND BOUGHT 3 MORE FOR CHRISTMAS PRESENTS. ALL 4 HELMENTS ARE STILL IN USE TODAY, AND WE STILL ENJOY THEM VERY MUCH. CHEAPER SURE DOESN'T MEAN POOR QUALITY.
GREAT PRODUCT!!
"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Wel-Bilt Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Terrific welding helmet at the price

,
April 23, 2013
By KrazyKarl
from TX
"While I've only had a little experience with welding helmets, this one is as good as any I've ever used, and at an unbeatable price. The auto-darkening is fast, and I can see very well both while setting up, and while welding. My eyes never bother me after welding with this thing on.
One tip - don't be like me and fail to notice the protective film on the inside of the lens. I used it for a while and was getting frustrated that I could barely see when setting up the weld (while welding it was fine, though). Once I found that film and removed it, everything was perfect!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Wel-Bilt Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wish I had years ago

,
April 23, 2013
By Anonymous
from Great Lakes, IL
"I've been use to wearing a old flip style mask and one day I was handed one of these bad boys to do some body work and found myself wishing I spent the money on one years ago. Couldn't beat the auto darkening feature just made pre-strike placement that much easier to maintain."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Wel-Bilt Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Once you've tried it, you'll never go back

,
April 23, 2013
By zombieprepared
from Largo, Florida
"I learned to weld on one of the all dark all the time welding helmets from the 70s. It worked for what it was, I never got flash burn and it was ok.
Then I tried my buddy's auto darkening helmet a few years ago. This was before the technology really caught up to how fast they had to react and I'd still find myself with eye strain after a few hours welding with it as the constant on and off of the flash wasn't quite as quick as it needed to be.
Then the same buddy got this model and showed me how much better it was. It's like day and night. The on flash is instant. I can weld for 8 hours and never feel my eyes burning. The headbang is adjustable and pretty comfortable. I like that you can dial in the settings for welding/grinding/plasma cutting/etc.
After buying one for myself, I don't know how I could ever have done without it. My welds look better because I can go from hot to cold instantly without messing with the mask, tacking things in, mask up, mask down stuff. It just works!"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Wel-Bilt Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

No more head nodding

,
April 23, 2013
By DJ24
from NC
"As a beginner welder, this is a must have. No more having to nod your head to position the helmet prior to arc strike --- just align your pieces and start welding. You can adjust the darkness for gas cutting to MIG welding and only need to keep up with this one helmet."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.