Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet

Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet

Item# 21306
"This solar-powered auto-darkening high-impact nylon welding helmet is ideal for all welding applications and designed to meet the most demanding requirements at one incredible price. A large 3.86in. x 1.73in. viewing area makes it ideal for seeing more of the workpiece at once. A lightning fast 1/25,000-second switch time automatically darkens the lens the instant you start welding. Meets ANSI and CSA standards for safety. Not related to WELBILT products of Enodis companies. Auto Darkening Yes, Adjustable Fit Yes, Product Type Welding helmet, UV/IR Coated Lens Yes, Variable Shades 9-13, View Area W x H in. 3 7/8 x 1 3/4, Welding Processes MIG, Arc, Flux, TIG, Switch time sec. 1/25,000, Adjustable Sensitivity No, ANSI Approved Yes, Battery Included Yes, non-replaceable, CSE/CE Standard Yes, Low Battery Indicator No, Power Supply Solar. Solar-powered auto-darkening lens eliminates the need to replace batteries Features shade 9-13 adjustment conveniently located on outside of helmet, allowing user to adjust without removing helmet Comfortable 5-Point adjustable ratcheting headgear with replaceable sweatband Constructed of sturdy and durable high-impact nylon Striking and stylish flame design on a black helmet Includes 2 arc sensors for auto-darkening Meets ANSI Z87.1 , CSA Z94.3 and CE EN379 standards Includes solar powered rechargeable battery Compatible for use with hard hat using hard hat adapter #26435 sold separately Not related to WELBILT products of Enodis companies"
Average Customer Rating:
4.761 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(507 Reviews) 507
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (507 reviews)
5 stars
410
4 stars
83
3 stars
8
2 stars
2
1 star
4
500 of 507(99%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Review 1 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

welbilt welding hood

,
November 16, 2014
By k220marc
from knoxville tn
"everything you could ask for at a good price. adjusts for a good fit too."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

a great value

,
November 13, 2014
By DaveLV
from Vermont
"Son and I were learning to weld. Had no luck with the school's always dark helmets. Bought two of these, the price was great. The helmets work perfectly. We did much better with the auto darkening helmets. Being able to set up the work without worrying wear the helmet was made it a lot easier"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Hood for the money

,
October 30, 2014
By Radarak
from Chugaik AK
"It showed up quick which is a plus in Alaska and work great so far."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good quality and function

,
October 29, 2014
By Vog86
from Harrisburg, SD
"All around good product and couldn't beat the price"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great

,
October 29, 2014
By p112
from nm
"Works great !! Also most of all great price. All around a great product !"
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great helment for the price

,
October 25, 2014
By mike555444
from asheville nc
"Fits great and has alot of veiwing space---i do alot of welding and this hement has greatly help with me being able to run a good beed,,,,buy one you will like it."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!!!

,
October 15, 2014
By Sparky64
from Iowa
"Great Product for the price!! I have used a lot of helmets and have found this to be one of the best i have used. I would recommend this to all my coworkers and friends."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value

,
October 13, 2014
By AGR4
from Lewisville Tx
"Have had this product for almost 1 year now and have had no issues. I only use it once or twice a month but it works great."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hood for home use.

,
October 3, 2014
By tbrogdon
from Parker, Co.
"I have to say this hood works well. You can't beat the price."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good value

,
September 28, 2014
By Lodust
from Huntsville, Al
"I would recommend this hood for the money, if you want to spend more for a grinder setting you may want to.
I would buy it again, it is all it's advertised to be. Not designed for a professional welder, prefect for hobby welder.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great value

,
September 20, 2014
By JimEye
from Nebraska
"Great value for the money! Works well and price is very reasonable."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Auto dakening welding helmet

,
August 20, 2014
By Psychomotors
from Bonne Terre , Mo
"I have been kicking myself in the butt ever since I got this helmet for not buying one sooner! I can not believe the difference it has made in my welding ability. While I am no "pro", my welding has improved two fold at least. Well built product, no pun intended,lol."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Weld helmet

,
August 5, 2014
By RATCA
from California
"This welding helmet was money well spent. It works just like you would expect, fully adjustable and well made."
Describe Yourself: Professional
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works very well

,
July 23, 2014
By agoodyear
from Indianapolis IN
"This welding helmet works very well, adjustable darkening, solar powered, no batteries to change, inexpensive, works great for my home jobs. would recommend this helmet"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good at the price

,
July 15, 2014
By WoodsyOwl
from California
"I am a professional wood worker and novice metal fabricator. That said, I don't do a lot of welding, but but am integrating steel into more projects all the time. This helmet seems a very good unit for the price. The auto-darkening is fast enough and the variable tint is very handy. The external dial makes it easy to adjust on the fly. The shell is a bit flimsy, and it would be nice if it came back a little farther at the top, but the headband is comfortable and secure, and the decals are not too garish. Really don' t need to look like a flaming skull while welding. No need for batteries is good. The window could be bigger, but it beats my old fixed window in size and clarity."
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Helmet

,
July 13, 2014
By Barndweller
from PA
"I love this helmet. Auto darkening is fast and easily adjusted tint. Headband adjusts easily. I am a home handyman and weld only on occasion but my friend who is a welder tried it and loves it also. For the price, it cannot be beat."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

self-darkening welding helmet

,
July 12, 2014
By Rammey
from Prescott
"Worked fine right out of the box. Fits large head (7-3/4) fine. Probably not sturdy enough for a professional welder, but okay for DIYers. Adjustments for size holds the setting. Had no problem with the helmet slipping on my head."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

HOME OWNER

,
July 2, 2014
By GREEGREE
from greerparts@hotmail.com
"GREAT PRODUCT FOR THE PRICE. I CHECKED OTHER PLACES AND TO GET THE SAME QUALITY THE COST WAS TOO MUCH FOR HOME USE. IT IS VERY ADJUSTABLE IN ALL ASPECTS AND EASY TO USE AND ADJUST. I WOULD RECOMMED IT TO ANYONE USING A WELDER."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

auto-dark helmet

,
July 2, 2014
By JackNJ
from NJ
"Great response times. No hints of flashing. Being able to see the work, steady the stick and start the arc with two hands on the stickholder makes it easier to produce a nice-looking weld. The variable auto-dark feature is a definite improvement over fixed auto-dark helmets. I also found that in its undarkened state, the auto-dark glass is dark enough for most mapp or acetylene work if the two small flash detectors are covered with tape --- just don't forget to remove the tape for electric work. Jack E/NJ"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Extremely please, but I am a light duty welder

,
June 13, 2014
By Creedo14
from Harrisburg, PA
"I am only a weekend welder so I haven't really put the helmet threw extreme conditions. However, I think the quality and functionality of this helmet are very good. I am very pleased with the performance. It suits me fine and a I would think it would suit someone who welds more often than I do."
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.