Northern Tool Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Northern Tool

Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet

Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet

Item# 21306
"This solar-powered auto-darkening high-impact nylon welding helmet is ideal for all welding applications and designed to meet the most demanding requirements at one incredible price. A large 3.86in. x 1.73in. viewing area makes it ideal for seeing more of the workpiece at once. A lightning fast 1/25,000-second switch time automatically darkens the lens the instant you start welding. Meets ANSI and CSA standards for safety. Not related to WELBILT products of Enodis companies. Auto Darkening Yes, Adjustable Fit Yes, Product Type Welding helmet, UV/IR Coated Lens Yes, Variable Shades 9-13, View Area W x H in. 3 7/8 x 1 3/4, Welding Processes MIG, Arc, Flux, TIG, Switch time sec. 1/25,000, Adjustable Sensitivity No, ANSI Approved Yes, Battery Included Yes, non-replaceable, CSE/CE Standard Yes, Low Battery Indicator No, Power Supply Solar. Solar-powered auto-darkening lens eliminates the need to replace batteries Features shade 9-13 adjustment conveniently located on outside of helmet, allowing user to adjust without removing helmet Comfortable 5-Point adjustable ratcheting headgear with replaceable sweatband Constructed of sturdy and durable high-impact nylon Striking and stylish flame design on a black helmet Includes 2 arc sensors for auto-darkening Meets ANSI Z87.1 , CSA Z94.3 and CE EN379 standards Includes solar powered rechargeable battery Compatible for use with hard hat using hard hat adapter #26435 sold separately Not related to WELBILT products of Enodis companies"
Average Customer Rating:
4.758 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(516 Reviews) 516
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Summary (516 reviews)
5 stars
415
4 stars
87
3 stars
8
2 stars
2
1 star
4
509 of 516(99%)would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 35 Answers
Customer Reviews for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Review 1 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works just fine

,
December 10, 2014
By k3uod
from Maryland
" I'm teaching myself to weld. My previous experiencewas a short bead I did in Junior High metal shop over 50 years ago. I recall how difficult it was to strike the arc where I wanted it back then using an old fashioned helmet. This produce solved that problem very nicely. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value, works well

,
December 10, 2014
By Supersix
from Tampa FL
" Comfortable, easy to adjust. Seems to work well, instructions could be a bit more clear. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

great deal

,
December 8, 2014
By Grampshurst
from Blanding, Utah
" a nice tool for a very low price. Haven't had much use yet but it looks to be as good as my last helmet that i paid three times as much for at the local welders supply. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

So far, so good

,
December 4, 2014
By Beeto
from Kansas
" I have only owned this helmet a few weeks, but so far it has worked very well. The auto-darkening feature works just as advertised. The price is right- great value. I bought another one for a gift. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good helmet

,
December 4, 2014
By Mrbeer
from Daleville Pa
" This is an excellent welding helmet for the home handyman. I can finally see what I am welding. It really helps me strike an arc. A little too light weight for a pro but great for home use. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

So far so good

,
December 3, 2014
By Sawman269
from Niles MI
" After a few weeks of use, i have nothing bad to say. Time will tell. This has great reviews and was less expensive than the HF helmet i was looking at. It's fairly comfortable, has adjustable darkening settings, came with an extra lens. Works good for me "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing equipment for a great price

,
December 2, 2014
By Alton54
from Jayess,Ms.
" I purchased this to avoid flashing my eyes while starting a weld with my mig welder. I was skeptical at first, but it really works well.I have a good clear view of electrode ( wire placement) and the lense darkens instantly as the arc is struck and welding commences.I would definately recommend this product fer any home workshop;. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Welder Hood

,
November 21, 2014
By djfjeepers
from oregon
" Works Great with a good price, it is a starter hood for my son who is in FFA. Light weight and fits him good. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works as advertised

,
November 19, 2014
By ArkansasHobbyist
from North Central, Arkansas
" I haven't had this for long, but it works great. The auto-darkening feature is perfect. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

welbilt welding hood

,
November 16, 2014
By k220marc
from knoxville tn
" everything you could ask for at a good price. adjusts for a good fit too. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

a great value

,
November 13, 2014
By DaveLV
from Vermont
" Son and I were learning to weld. Had no luck with the school's always dark helmets. Bought two of these, the price was great. The helmets work perfectly. We did much better with the auto darkening helmets. Being able to set up the work without worrying wear the helmet was made it a lot easier "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good Hood for the money

,
October 30, 2014
By Radarak
from Chugaik AK
" It showed up quick which is a plus in Alaska and work great so far. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good quality and function

,
October 29, 2014
By Vog86
from Harrisburg, SD
" All around good product and couldn't beat the price "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

works great

,
October 29, 2014
By p112
from nm
" Works great !! Also most of all great price. All around a great product ! "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great helment for the price

,
October 25, 2014
By mike555444
from asheville nc
" Fits great and has alot of veiwing space---i do alot of welding and this hement has greatly help with me being able to run a good beed,,,,buy one you will like it. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!!!

,
October 15, 2014
By Sparky64
from Iowa
" Great Product for the price!! I have used a lot of helmets and have found this to be one of the best i have used. I would recommend this to all my coworkers and friends. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Value

,
October 13, 2014
By AGR4
from Lewisville Tx
" Have had this product for almost 1 year now and have had no issues. I only use it once or twice a month but it works great. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5

Hood for home use.

,
October 3, 2014
By tbrogdon
from Parker, Co.
" I have to say this hood works well. You can't beat the price. "
Describe Yourself: Professional
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good value

,
September 28, 2014
By Lodust
from Huntsville, Al
" I would recommend this hood for the money, if you want to spend more for a grinder setting you may want to.
I would buy it again, it is all it's advertised to be. Not designed for a professional welder, prefect for hobby welder.
"
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Wel-Bilt Variable-Shade Auto-Darkening Welding Helmet
Overall Rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5

great value

,
September 20, 2014
By JimEye
from Nebraska
" Great value for the money! Works well and price is very reasonable. "
Describe Yourself: Home Handyman
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.